We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for you if you expect to be pampered! Believe the reviews!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cancun Clipper Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cancun Clipper Club to your Saves list
Cancun Clipper Club
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 9 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not for you if you expect to be pampered! Believe the reviews!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked thislackingknowing the bad reviews and expected certain aspects of this place to be deficient. Therefore I will not complain about those aspects but they are listed below.
Beds are hard - yes
Service is terrible - yesI almost unwelcoming.
Restaurant is lacking - very much so.

These are not complaints. Me and my wife expected this. What really bothered me is that we paid extra for a kitchenette which yes there is a kitchen but no stove and dishes! When I asked about this the front desk clerk argued that I was wrong about the definition of a kitchenette and to talk to our booking agency. Also, we were told a we woukd receive a complumentary continental breakfast. When we went to have breakfast we were charged $170 pesos for 4 pieces of watermelon, some papaya, and a coffee.

Would I cone here again? Probably not as I wanted a kutchette. This place doesn't offer much more than a hostel. A hostel might even be cleaner!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    139
    76
    24
    24
See reviews for
69
79
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

1) hotel is very close to the heart of hotel strip so it's FANTASTIC in terms of location.

2) the rooms are minimalistic. But bright and clean and does not feel grimy.

3) the beach towels feel great and are much better than towels in the room.

Recommendations

1) purchase the 20L water, comes with dispenser and what not for 50 pesos. You will find it's worth the price compared to you getting a bottle everywhere you go.

2) bring shampoo and conditioner and soap. They have one bottle of 2 in 1 and that's it.

3) beach towels are redeemed at front desk and NOT by the pool.

4) don't bother with the safe. It's a metal box which they have to give you a lock for. It's so flimsy you might as well not use it.

Complaints:

1) the water in the shower! Omg. It was like being sprayed from the hose of a riot tank. The pressure is so strong I've learned to take 2 minute showers and I emerge super red as if I'm beginning to bruise!

2) water was not hot at all. We used only the hot water tap and turned it up the highest to get water that was lukewarm and marginally acceptable.

Overall

It was decent for the amount we paid. Dependant on what you were in cancun to do, this may or may not be a good hotel for you. If you're always going to be out on the beach, on excursions or partying; this is definetly where you want to stay. It's close to Everything and you're able to stay for relatively cheap and use the money elsewhere in your travel. If you're looking for a relaxation and pampering trip, full of luxury and fine dining, you're DEFINETLY at the wrong hotel. It does its job of giving you a place to wash up and sleep. Don't expect goose feather pillows and a slave fanning you with a leaf.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 via mobile

Horrible service, they charge you for everything! AC was not working! Beds were so uncomfortable, hard as a rock! Location was great. But the service at the hotel from the staff was horrible. Will not be staying here ever again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

This hotel was exactly what we were after - safe, great location, very reasonable for price, friendly and helpful staff, clean and decent rooms, and not overly cramped by others.

It is less than 10 minutes walk from the main shopping and club areas and the same for the closest beach called Chac Mool. It was great that they had a pool with swim-up bar and plenty of seats/sun loungers. The restaurant was also very handy and had good prices when we didn't fancy venturing out. Very useful beach towel exchange system, as we needed to change them often. Also great that we had a safe in our room that we only needed to put a deposit down for.

No issue with any crocodiles in the lagoon, which we had read about - found out from a waiter that the government monitors and controls them and during the peak season i.e. spring break time, they relocate them further away, and in any case they shy away from the hotel zone.

There's no wifi in the rooms, as far as we're aware, and the air-con can be quite loud but it's better than being hot. Our shower heads made the water quite sharp and the walls were also very thin in the bathroom. There aren't any mini fridges in standard rooms but this isn't much of a problem as the restaurants are fairly cheap.

I would definitely come back to this hotel if I came back to Cancun!

Room Tip: Could maybe ask to have a room near the restaurant/main reception as there are wifi hubs there so ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel is perfect if you want to be close to the clubs and shopping. It's a real fun area and the beach is awesome...The prices are a little higher than I expected about the same or more than the states as this is a tourist area....The hotel is clean, kept up nice and the food and breakfast okay and the pool is nice..You will see the croc's in the water which is something to see. Don't feed them...The staff is very helpful and courteous........

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

next to Coco Bongo and other disco clubs and good restaurants. Beach at just a few minutes walk. Good general impression, swimming pool, tennis court. Quiet also at night even if close to disco clubs.

Room Tip: I was close to the lagoon and the restaurant. but no great difference i suppose
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We came to Cancun to party and do some shopping at La Isla Mall. We didn't spend much time in the hotel but is was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The front desk staff are courteous and very helpful. On our last day we tool advantage of the free continental breakfast, which consisted of different pastry breads. It tasted good. The location of this hotel was also key to our plans. It is located in the heart of the Party Center so getting to the nightclubs took only two minutes. We will stay here again soon.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cancun Clipper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cancun Clipper Club

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 9 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cancun Clipper Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Cancun Clipper Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Clipper Club Hotel Cancun
Cancun Clipper Hotel
Best Western Cancun
Cancun Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cancun Clipper Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.