We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, quiet, and scenic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cancun Clipper Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cancun Clipper Club to your Saves list
Cancun Clipper Club
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 9 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Mustang, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, quiet, and scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This place is located in a pretty busy area of Cancun, at the "elbow" of the "seven" in Hotel Zone. The drive in did not look promising, the access is the alley between Mextreme and Marinero's, and rough and broken looking roadway. The entrance to the hotel is gated and guarded (which is good thing if you think about it...)

The front desk service was very polite and prompt. Even though we arrived a bit early for check in, they had rooms ready to go for us. Each room is given a remote control for the tv, and two towel cards for the beach or pool. You must turn these back in at the end of your stay, or pay a fine if you lose them.

The rooms are very spacious (we stayed in the deluxe room with the dining area.). We had a large table to eat at, and the bedroom had a King size bed (firm, but comfortable), a ceiling fan, and a very cold air conditioner (the room was very comfortable during the high heat of the afternoon).

The fridge in the room is typical of most places: small, no real shelf space, and not very cold. In short, it was manufactured in Great Britain! (Just kidding, but seriously, the upper freezer section couldn't solidify water!)
Also, make sure you seal and protect your food, and wipe up any messes! You will attract ants, and they have advisories in the room cautioning you about leaving food in the sleeping area.
The floors are covered in about 2 inch irregular ceramic tile. This is not an even surface, so, if you have problems walking barefoot over stuff like this, wear flip flops.
The shower was great, it had great pressure, and washed all that beach sand right off (though, for the sake of the hotel plumbing, rinse off in the outside showers near the pool.

The pool was large, but disappointingly, uncomfortably warm! Hot tub warm! Warmer than the 92 degree weather going on around us! Not very refreshing, sad to say. And, even though the hours posted said it was closed at 10, I was hearing loud activity (including small children!) at 2 am.

Iguanas roamed the property, but they kept to themselves, and I didn't mind them (fascinating creatures!). However, those wonderful "rats-with-wings", AKA pigeons, were always sure to come around and hassle you if you ate poolside.

Ray's has a standard menu of touristy fare, and a full bar. The breakfast we were allotted on our plan was pretty "ghetto"-fruits I don't like, dry Mexican pastries, and watery "orange drink". Didn't eat it after the second morning.

The grounds are immaculate, very nicely groomed, with topiary, green lawns, and border hedges. Very pretty view of the lagoon. Our rooms got new towels daily (even though the card in the room said that we would get them about every three days). Some drawer space, and a closet with a safe (never used the safe).

Hotel was within walking distance of two ATMs, several restaurants, a very large souvenir shop called "Plaza La Fiesta", several other shops, 2 Oxxos (where you can get water at much cheaper prices than "Plaza", as well as Coca Cola, candy, hot dogs, and the other stuff you get at your local "Circle K", including ice!).
If your are looking for the bus, walk through the aforementioned alleyway, and turn right at the corner of Mextreme. It's just past the restaurant (if you are heading up the zone back toward the direction of the airport). If you need the bus going downtown, cross the street, walk through the much noisier alley past the ATMs (you will be hassled by vendors, time share people, and waiters trying to get you to eat at the restaurants, but stay resolute!), cross that street, and walk past the Coco Bongo (watch your step! I kept tripping over weird outcroppings in the sidewalk and almost did a face plant in concrete).

To get to the beach, use the access point between the Club Mandala and Coco Bongo. 10 minute walk from the hotel, using the preceding instructions.

Overall, a great place to stay, if you are wanting a quiet, relaxed location to stay. It's not the Four Seasons, but it's not Motel 6, either.

Room Tip: Get the room with the dining area. We stayed in building 13, which was close to the front, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    134
    76
    24
    24
See reviews for
68
79
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Nice area with a good Mexican restaurant and shops nearby. Really liked the rooms, nice and big and air conditioned. Our electricity didn't work but seeing as we were only there for one night it didn't bother us. Really enjoyed the pool, nice and relaxing with all the palm trees surrounding it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor of one of the buildings which was difficult with all our heavy suitca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higganum, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked here because the conference at the conference center listed them as a choice. It was pretty cheap for cancun, so we were very happy that we got a "lagoon view room". Well, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, but lagoon... You need to look pretty hard to see it. If you are looking for a budget hotel, this is it. We were disappointed that there was no WiFi in the room, no elevators (we had to carry the luggage to the fourth floor). Breakfast is included, but it was terrible, to say the least. You need to pay 75 pesos to get a more decent breakfast. To get the Wifi, you need ot be in the lobby, which was very hot and uncomfortable.

I should say that though the Expedia terms did not allow us to cancel the reservation, the person at the desk agreed to. So I contacted Expedia and they called him and I got the refund. We moved to a substantially expensive, but one of the best, beachside hotel, Westin Lagunamar!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fussa, Japan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Want to explore Cancun and don't necessarily need a luxurious hotel to stay? This is your place. GREAT LOCATION next to tons of restaurants, transportation and nightlife. We stayed here while we explored the region, and then move to an all inclusive hotel to relax. The pool is really good, the location is incredible, and the hotel is really clean. However keep in mind, this place is an older timeshare. It needs a lot of upgrading, but it has everything you need, and more (kitchenette). The bed is hard, there are popcorn walls and ceilings, the restaurant is OK, but free wireless wi-fi throughout most of the hotel, friendly staff, nice pool, great views of the lagoon...and again great price and location. I would definitely stay here again, as long as I am not planning to stay in the hotel the entire time. Don't expect much...you didn't pay that much! Stay here, and explore Cancun.

Room Tip: Stay close to the Palapa for free wi-fi in your room (kitchenette area).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks. I was very happy to have chosen this hotel. The room was spacious with a splendid view. There was everything what a guest needed:a fridge,microwave oven,coffee machine,spoons,forks,knives,plates,cups...I enjoyed staying at the hotel,I really felt at home..

Room Tip: a room with a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I booked the hotel online, check in time said 1pm, we showed up at 1 and was told that check in was 3pm. After I pointed out that the registry said 1pm the hotel clerk proceeded to insult me and point out that check out was 12pm and that I should be more logical and think that one hour was an impossible time to clean up. We originally booked two rooms and asked that they be next to each other, he said that was not possible and proceeded to only give me one room as the other was being cleaned but would be in a different story of the same building. All 6 of us walked into the room we were given and were disgusted by the smell of sewerage being expelled from the bathroom, after talking to the clerk he said it was the only room he had and therefore we had to take it. Leaving us with no choice we had to put up with the smell. We did have a full day of activities planned out for the next day so we didn't really stay much in the room. Hotel stay comes with complimentary breakfast which only consists of bread, fruit, coffee and orange juice. I've had better at least expensive hotels. Only good thing about this hotel is the location as is it a really close walk to clubs like Coco Bongo. Oh and they do have a nice pool

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you are on a budget, enjoy getting value for your money, want to boycotte large all-inclusive hotels, enjoy cooking yourself once in a while, while being in a spacious, clean apartment in a top location then this hotel is for you!

My partner and I only paid 600 euros p.p round trip for 16 days at this hotel including a flight from Amsterdam. For this reason only, I am simply not allowed to complain!

I'm a very picky traveler and am used to alot of luxury. Sure, Cancun Clipper Club isn't luxurious but the apartment room is spacious, tidy and extremely clean. You are located right in the center of places like Coco Bongo, Hard Rock cafe and the beach etc but you don't hear any of the party scene as the hotel is tucked away at the lagoon side.

Beds and pillows are great, there is enough storage for clothes/luggage, the kitchen is fully equiped with everything needed, fridge with ice cubes, lagoon view from window, shutters to divide the kitchen area from your bedroom. TV has some English channels.

Bathroom shower pressure is something you need to get used to..lets just say it will wash every bit of sand from your body in 5 seconds.

When it comes to the hotel atmosphere, don't expect much. I've been to places like Bali where local music is playing at the lobby, you're welcomed with a cocktail and a cold towel and you instantly feel like a princess. Haha put your expectations aside and don't expect any of that here.

It's all about your own attitude and how cozy you make your stay.

At first you might be shocked when you arrive at the lobby when your shuttle bus drops you off. Especially having dropped off people at fancy large all-inclusive hotels. You will pass a construction area that was possibly hit by a hurricane and the hotel lobby at Clipper Club needs a big make-over. I did see someone paint the purple walls white so I suppose this is all work in progress.

Everything is very simple and luckily for us it was very quiet end of May.

Initially I was terrified that this would be a low budget hotel that would attract crazy drunk teenagers. In reality there were local families chillin by the pool and a couple of Dutch couples late 20's early 30's.

We didn't make use of the restaurant as we enjoyed cooking ourselves and didn't want to gain weight on holiday. As I said the location is great. Most all-inclusive hotels are located outside town and its a hassle getting anywhere.

The bus stops right infront of the hotel and we went to Walmart for all our groceries.

The beach is also right across from the hotel, but skip it and take a bus to Playa Delfines. This is the best beach in Cancun if you ask me. Quiet, clean, beautiful for pictures (we saw alot of brides)..make sure to bring food and drinks, go to Oxxo across the street to grab a frappuccino and water before you go. :-)

The pool at the hotel was fine, but again it could use a touch up. Only used it twice as we went to the beach most of the time.

The gardens surrounding the hotel were pretty, great for an afternoon nap and watching the sunset by the boat area.

WiFi actually worked in our kitchen (yay) as we were located near the Palapa Ray wifi connection and if that didn't work we picked up the Clipper Saloon wifi instead.

Advice: don't be lazy, walk and/or take the bus! You don't need a taxi or rent a car at all here (we visited Isla Mujeres, Playa del Carmen and Tulum all by bus)

Don't pay in USD anywhere.. I don't know why some people are too lazy to just pay in Peso's. You will save so much more money acting like a local. The convertion rate to USD is much higher as well.

Do not book an all-incl. boat trip (600 pesos p.p) to Isla Mujeres take the ferry!! (22 USD) (sold across the street at Mocambo seafood retaurant) it's one big nightmare party on the boat, people puking, bad cocktails, then when finally arriving at the all incl. resort it turns out to be a primitive abandoned hotel, aweful food, loud music and constant entertainment through a mic, located at the wrong side of the island, hardly any time on the island as they leave at 3.45PM. Everything is organized and scheduled in groups. Luckily we received a refund and only paid a ferry fair.

In my opinion this hotel has great potential and could be a great 4-5 star boutique hotel if only they would give it a proper make over! It kinda reminded me of being in a Greek Santorini style room, but it was missing the finishing touches. My hands were itching to show the manager a redesign of what the hotel could look like. If anyone from management is reading this, feel free to contact me and I'll work with you on the redesign :-)


All in all we had a great value for money holiday and enjoyed the combination of relaxing and exploring.

PS: as for the weather.. it's Mexico and it will rain heavily from time to time. Don't sweat it, it usually only lasts from 6am till 11 am and hey, this way you'll appreciate sunny days even more and won't look like a sunburned lobster

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cancun Clipper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cancun Clipper Club

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 9 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cancun Clipper Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Cancun Clipper Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Clipper Club Hotel Cancun
Cancun Clipper Hotel
Best Western Cancun
Cancun Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cancun Clipper Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.