We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“diamond in the rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mia Cancun

Save Saved
You added Mia Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mia Cancun
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Avalon Baccara Cancun)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Roseneath, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“diamond in the rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

over all not a lot of issue's ,the bed was hard and the floors were dirty and there are stairs . The location is perfect the beach is beautiful and not crowded. the staff were great its a private hotel because of the size we felt like we were the only ones there .almost everything was in walking distance . We didn't eat there so i can't comment but there was a great mexican canteen next to the hotel .We would defiantly go back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    101
    41
    24
    32
See reviews for
46
175
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the high season. I think that the location is probably the best feature. There were a number of restaurants within a 15 minute walk, but it wasn't loud and full of nightclubs. The beach behind the hotel was wide and uncrowded. Like most of the eastern edge of the island, the waves here are stronger than they are on the north side.
Our room was a good size, with a huge closet (since the building was originally built as a time share). The bed was wide and firm. But we faced a bunch of giant air conditioner units which made a lot of noise all night. Some of the rooms though do have nice balconies that overlook the ocean. The pool is very nice, and there is a small poolside bar. There is a small restaurant in the hotel, and they did a nice breakfast. Free wi-fi in the lobby. There is free parking, but there is a crazy steep driveway that you need to go up to reach it. Be warned that there are a lot of stairs and no elevator.
The folks at the front desk were nice but not very knowledgeable about tours, activities, etc. So we had to spend the better part of an afternoon walking from marina to marina to find out about snorkeling trips. Also they do not seem to have any fold-out beds. So if you are sharing a 4 person room with two teenage children, they will have to share a big bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked this hotel as we were looking for something a little different for our final night in Cancun and by its description this sounded like it fitted the bill perfectly. First impressions weren't bad, the entrance to the hotel was at the back which faced onto the busy highway through Cancun, however we were met by a very polite and helpful employee and reception dealt with our booking efficiently and quickly. The reception area was large and airy with a beautiful tiled floor and superb views of the ocean, however on closer inspection you could see the tiles were cracked and lifted in many places and what on earth was a huge pool table doing sitting in the middle of the room, it totally detracted from what the hotel seemed to be trying to achieve. We were taken to a room at the top of the hotel by way of a narrow staircase. The room was a real let down. Small, not too clean and chipped and damaged furniture. A 20 year old microwave and cupboards swinging on hinges didn't add to its charm. A towel had been placed under the fridge to catch drips and towels had been laid at the foot of the cracked and somewhat dirty shower to stop any leaks ! The bed itself was clean but Oh My Goodness, I have never spent a more uncomfortable night. Not only was the bed rock hard but the sound from the road almost deafened us, coupled with the humming of the large outdated fridge in the room equalled zero sleep for either myself or my husband. The balcony was filthy with hair and cracked tiles and no seats had been provided outside. We did decide to have breakfast at the hotel as we were too tired to go and look anywhere else. This is where it redeemed itself. We were served by the same cheerful and helpful employee who helped us with our bags on arrival and enjoyed a massive breakfast of omelletes, fresh coffee, sausage, sweet pastries and fresh Orange Juice all for a very reasonable price indeed. I imagine this hotel was once a gem but it has been left to go to seed and needs some serious money spending on it. Some may say "shabby chic" we just say shabby ! The pool area was really quite pretty but you could again see many cracked tiles and rust marks, the hotubs that we could see all looked unused and broken and the sunbeds all looked like they could do with a good clean. The owners of the Avalon brand should really pay this little hotel some attention - it could be amazing, as it is its only " sad " . Such a shame !!

Room Tip: One facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you are looking for glitz and glamour this place is not for you! However if you are looking for a more authentic Mexican, quaint, laid back Hotel stay, convenient to all this place you will find just charming. This is my third time and would not think of staying anywhere else. The staff is great and the beach and pool area fantastic!

It has been recently sold so that is why may have dropped of some websites but the Hotel hopefully will only improve without losing its charm.

Now that being said there are no elevators and not all rooms are created equal so an email or phone call to thr Hotel maybe worthwhile.

Room Tip: Email or call some rooms while they have a balcony have a jacuzzi with no place for lounge chairs. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Sitting in the old style lobby at the moment listening to lovely music with the sun shining and hearing the waves outside. That's holiday. :)
Anyway, as I said the hotel is a typical old fashioned Caribbean style I would say. I love the bedroom which has a big window overlooking the ocean with a huge window sill, where one can sit and watch the sea. The bed is not a piece of furniture but made of concrete in the room with a mattress on top.
The living room/lounge is also very spacious with a TV and a live in kitchen. Mine overlooked the main street. There is a balcony with a jacuzzi with hot and cold water. Unfortunately the jacuzzi didn't work. Although everything was very clean, there was a cigarette butt on the balcony. :(
Free Wifi is available in the lobby. There doesn't seem to be breakfast. At least I didn't have it included. They have a restaurant though. From the lobby you can go out on the terrace and overlook the beach and ocean and see the sunrise.
Across from the hotel is a small store for snacks and a shopping centre. There is more within walking distance. The "Routa 1" bus to Cancun downtown and along the entire hotel zone leaves along the street and takes about 20-30 min. To get to the airport is possible directly by taxi or one has to take the Routa 1 bus back to the ADO bus terminal in downtown and take the ASO bus from there. Taxis are 350 pesos. The Routa 1 bus 8.50 and the ADO to the airport 52 pesos.
I love this hotel. So much better than the huge boring structures of the big chains.

Room Tip: Get from room at least 2nd level so you have full view of the ocean. I had a side view, but still go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed just one night after an incredible week in Tulum...wanted to be closer to airport for our mid-morning flight. Was looking for a smaller "boutique" like hotel...something other than the huge all-inclusive spring break mega-properties all over in Cancun. While yes, there were definitely some charming details about the property...I've never slept on a more uncomfortable bed in all my life. I truly think sleeping on the tiled floor would have been equally as comfortable as that poor excuse for a mattress/bed. This hotel could definitely stand some pretty major renovations/upgrades...definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have a trip booked and paid for this coming February. It has disappeared off the Avalon website and all the other travel companies. We are a little concerned that we may not have a place to stay. The hotel has not returned any correspondence as of yet. Any information will be greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mia Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Avalon Baccara Cancun)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#68 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mia Cancun 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mia Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Baccara Cancun Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Hotel Cancun
Avalon Baccara Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.