We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NYX Hotel Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NYX Hotel Cancun to your Saves list
NYX Hotel Cancun
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We chose the all-inclusive amenity and stayed for two weeks. We had a two bedroom, three bath unit for five adults which accommodated us just fine. It is one of the smaller hotels in the Hotel Zone and we liked it for that reason. I am surprised at some of the negative comments I have read from reviewers as we felt that we had excellent service as well as better than average food. Of special note was the chef's willingness to prepare items in the evening that were not listed on the all-inclusive menu. Manuel Valdez, Beverage and Food Manager was especially helpful as well as Eleuterio Deloya and Nallely Perez, the servers who most often helped us.
This is not a five star hotel and thus we did not expect food or service one may have at such a facility; perhaps that is one reason why we enjoyed our stay so much.
The main pool was well maintained and the landscaping on the beach was lovely. We used the bus on two occasions (bus-stop just a block away) to go into town for shopping. What a bargain! $1.00 US. No one should pass up a chance to ride on a bus in Cancun as it is an experience of a life time.
All in all, I hope I have given some helpful advice about the hotel. By the way, the hotel changed hands in the not to distant past and the new owners are planning a huge room renovation.
As a final comment, Francisco, (sorry but I do not remember his last name) was available and helpful in answering any questions we may have had.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hola Rosemarie!

We are delighted to read such positive impressions from your stay at our gorgeous NYX Hotel Cancun. We will keep on the hard work and we hope that on your next visits to the area, you consider us as your number 1 option.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    165
    101
    44
    46
See reviews for
119
194
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Good location, but the room had a moldy smell. The room very shield at night for lack of lighting, only two lamps. No room service, we had to go out on the street at 1 am in the morning because there wasn't any bottled water available for the guests. One morning, the maid knocked insistently on the door at 8:30 to tidy the room! we were sleeping and woke up frightened with that attitude! really unforgivable!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hola Elizabete!

We thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at NYX Hotel Cancún. We indeed to have an amazing location, with a fantastic beach of which we are extremely proud.

I have taken note of your lighting recommendation, and we will consider it for our next rooms renewal.

About your situation with the water, we do provide some bottled water upon arrival in the rooms, and have a store that works from 7am through 11pm, 16 hours in a role, without a lunch break so that guests can plan their shopping, considering its conveniently located in the lobby, and avoid situations like the one you went through.

We do have room service, but like most Non All Inclusive hotels, it offers service during day time. which in our case is from 7am through 12pm.

I have already talked to my House Keeping manager about the door knocking situation, we also thank you for bringing this to our attention. We'll reinforce our procedures with the maids, but, to avoid being awaken at a time that you do not consider appropriate, I suggest you to place the "Do not Disturb" tag that almost every hotel provides, in our case, we place it in the inside door knob, it is placed there for your convenience, and to respect your sleep.

We hope you consider us during your next visit to Cancún. We'll be more than happy to try to correct what ever wrong idea you might have of us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiahoma, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed from July 22-July 25 2014. We reserved a room with a KING bed, a balcony and breakfast.

Rooms,.. old (not sure where the newly remodeled ones they talked about on their web site were but the TWO i stayed in were certainly not that. Yes I did say TWO. We reserved a room with a KING sized bed and a balcony. The first night I got a double bed and a view of a wall through a high window. The bathroom did not have ANY towels or wash cloths of any sort. The "kitchen" did not have any sort of towels either paper or dish even though they had a sink. The hairdryer was SCARY!! It had one burnt through on one side of it. The next morning we went tot the desk and told them what we had reserved. They said they were full but would see what they could do. The second room was better. It had a balcony. It looked out to the same wall but at least you could step out on the balcony and see the beach and ocean. Still never got the KING bed. I did get ONE bath towel but no wash cloths or dish towels for the kitchen.

The beach area was great. Although I found it strange that they wanted to charge us for the use of the umbrellas and beach beds on the property!

The Pools....They were very acceptable. But they were HOT!!!! A little cool water would certainly make them more bearable.

The restaurant was very good. We had fajitas at one meal and they were great! Another evening we had their "special" It was a seafood marinara pasta dish for 130 pesos. It was great as well. One of my last meals there was a fish sandwich "baguette" as they called it. It was 165 pesos. Certainly for the taste I would stick with the pasta.

We ate breakfast there only one morning. It was just okay at best. Their scrambled eggs were plain. The "sausage" looked more like a Vienna sausage.

When we were checking out they said there was an outstanding charge on our account for 840 pesos. We asked what it was for and they said the breakfast! They said it wasn't included with our room. We said it said it on the website but since we couldn't prove it we paid the bill. I will say though that we made the reservation through "Hotel Club" so the breakfast charge could be a problem with the web site and not the hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Director de Relaciones Públicas at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hola!

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at NYX Hotel Cancun. We're sorry about the lack of towels in the bathroom, we will be reinforcing our housekeeping standards. About the "kitchen", be aware that no where in our sales channels we advertise our rooms as equipped with a kitchen, that's why they don't have a kitchen, it just a sink. Dishes and paper towels are available upon request, but, since we do not provide a kitchen, they're not located by default in the room.

We'll be checking the condition of all our hairdryers, thanks for pointing this out. We hope you consider us for your next vacations.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very inexpensive. Great location. Good service. Good food. 4 star pools, 2.5-3 star rooms. 4 star lobby.
Okay, now. Rooms,.. old. Some very old. Had so much mold in our room on the bathroom walls, wife and kids felt a little sketchy. When a raw sewage smell came out of the A/C unit in the master bedroom, for the second night in a row (first night it dissipated) that only got worse, I asked to be moved to different accommodations and was dealt with very politely and quickly. The offending room was a 2 bedroom (9403) in the front of the hotel (older section) streetside. Didn't see the newer rooms on the beach side. Their beach area is kept up immaculately, with semi-private bed/cabanas available along with plenty of regular chaise lounge type, with, of course, pristine fine white sand. With all the choices out there, not sure if I would chance it again.

Room Tip: ask for a newer room beachside, and there is no elevator, so if you can't do stairs........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Director General at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at NYX HOTEL CANCUN. We are very concerned by what sounds like a disappointing visit at our hotel.
Your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity.
Our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations.
With kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I recently stayed at NYX hotel in Cancun on July 2-6 2014. I reserved a room fro 4 days for $73 a night.
Pros: Cheap price, The hotel was good for the price. Location was great .5 miles from main drinking/eating area mall was closel.
Pool was amazing. This was the only area in Cancun that had palm trees and beds on the beach (AMAZING).
Restaurant was good.
Architecture was Spanish style. The only hotel with this type of look.

Cons: Service was horrible. Front desk people were rude and acted like I was a burden.
Air condition started to smell weird like sewage. Thankfully this happened the night we were leaving.
Sheets were dirty and our the room must have not been insulated because the room stayed moist. Our swim trunks never dried.

Overall if you want a budget hotel this is the one for you. If you are looking for a high end hotel this is not the one for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Director General at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your disappointment, we are very sorry that your experience was not as expected.
Your comments are highly appreciated since they help us to improve our areas of opportunity.
Our commitment to provide the best service for that reason we are verifying the details mentioned, in order to meet their needs and fulfill your expectations.
Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

There were not any stairs but other than that it was a great place to stay at a great price. It had an excellent pool and the room was very clean. I would definitely stay here again just beware if you are not prepared to climb the stairs day in and day out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Director General at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review of our hotel; we truly appreciate your comments. We hope that you will return again very soon.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a great stay. Jesus at the front desk started our stay off by exceeding our expectations. The girl in the lobby bar was exceptional and made a great mango margarita. All the service staff at the restaurants were great. It was a cute boutique feeling hotel. Small pool. But the ocean is just so gorgeous and clear there. Even the guy giving out towels and knowing when we needed an umbrella was awesome. Fun times.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaNYX, Director General at NYX Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review of our hotel; we truly appreciate your comments especially to our staff. We hope that you will return again very soon.

Again we thank you for your valuable feedback.
With kind regards

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NYX Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYX Hotel Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan, Km 11.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NYX Hotel Cancun 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Groupon, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your NYX Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Grand Cancun Hotel Cancun
Avalon Grand Resort
Cancun Avalon Grand Hotel
Avalon Cancun
Avalon Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYX Hotel Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.