We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rivemar

Rivemar
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rivemar to your Saves list
Rivemar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tulum con Crisantemos | lotes 49-51, Sm 22 Mz7, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is located near ADO bus station so great position for backpackers traveling onwards. It is 10 minutes by walk. The rooms were simple but nice and clean which reflect the price. We booked online through booking.com as the best deal but the price per room is 525 pesos anyway at the hotel. Receptionist did not speak english but was friendly. The first night there was some noise probably from the near by club and the airconditiong coming from the coridor. The second night at the end of our trip was quiet. I can recomend it is a cheap and good option.

Room Tip: We asked for a quite room the second night which was one located inside the hotel so no window. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klarusskka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very basic. Clean, quiet and simple, located in the central cancun area (near the bus station!!!), affordable and friendly. However, if you want a high class hotel with a high class travel agency best to stick to the pricey beach strip, this hotel caters to those looking for affordable essentials. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D-K-M696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is one of the oldest in Cancun, a city that with its 40 years is relatively young. The rooms are very simple, but clean and quite spacious. They have everything you need, plus mine had a nice balcony to the side of the building. It is great value for money, and I found the staff exceedingly friendly and helpful. Of course, this hotel is located in the center of the city and not close to the beach. If you want the latter, you would need to book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Perhaps the sides and back might be quieter than the front. My room went out to the side of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimicri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It was really good for the price! Big room, clean. There was a trouble with hot water (you have to wait for it about 10 minutes), but it's ok if you're not in hurry. Internet connection and speed was perfect, except for 1 day, when it didn't work at all. Staff was ok, but they don't really know how to get to places, where you can get food and things like that.
Also the hotel is just in front of a bus stop and just 5 minutes walking from ADO station. So from the airport you can take a bus for $5 and then just walk to the hotel. I recommend it!
On front there there is a girl who sales tours. You can get good discount from her, but the explanation she gives for a tour is not exactly what you gonna get.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anatoli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Good room for the price - large, clean, TV, a/c, big bed. It's also in a good location walking distance to the bus station and the Plaza Americas (with a Cinepolis) and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately the room was a little dark and dank, the common area was nothing special and overall the place had a bit of a depressing feel (maybe because I think I was the only person staying there). Got a bit loud one day when a "band" played in the lobby all day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#108 of 180 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
2.5 mi away
ibis Cancun Centro
ibis Cancun Centro
#89 of 180 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel del Sol
Hotel del Sol
#110 of 180 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Imperial Las Perlas Cancun Condos
3.6 mi away
Los Cuates de Cancun
Los Cuates de Cancun
#106 of 180 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Batab
Hotel Batab
#79 of 180 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivemar

Address: Avenida Tulum con Crisantemos | lotes 49-51, Sm 22 Mz7, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 180 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rivemar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Rivemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing