We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rivemar

Rivemar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rivemar to your Saves list
Rivemar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tulum con Crisantemos | lotes 49-51, Sm 22 Mz7, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel is located near ADO bus station so great position for backpackers traveling onwards. It is 10 minutes by walk. The rooms were simple but nice and clean which reflect the price. We booked online through booking.com as the best deal but the price per room is 525 pesos anyway at the hotel. Receptionist did not speak english but was friendly. The first night there was some noise probably from the near by club and the airconditiong coming from the coridor. The second night at the end of our trip was quiet. I can recomend it is a cheap and good option.

Room Tip: We asked for a quite room the second night which was one located inside the hotel so no window. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very basic. Clean, quiet and simple, located in the central cancun area (near the bus station!!!), affordable and friendly. However, if you want a high class hotel with a high class travel agency best to stick to the pricey beach strip, this hotel caters to those looking for affordable essentials. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is one of the oldest in Cancun, a city that with its 40 years is relatively young. The rooms are very simple, but clean and quite spacious. They have everything you need, plus mine had a nice balcony to the side of the building. It is great value for money, and I found the staff exceedingly friendly and helpful. Of course, this hotel is located in the center of the city and not close to the beach. If you want the latter, you would need to book elsewhere.

Room Tip: Perhaps the sides and back might be quieter than the front. My room went out to the side of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It was really good for the price! Big room, clean. There was a trouble with hot water (you have to wait for it about 10 minutes), but it's ok if you're not in hurry. Internet connection and speed was perfect, except for 1 day, when it didn't work at all. Staff was ok, but they don't really know how to get to places, where you can get food and things like that.
Also the hotel is just in front of a bus stop and just 5 minutes walking from ADO station. So from the airport you can take a bus for $5 and then just walk to the hotel. I recommend it!
On front there there is a girl who sales tours. You can get good discount from her, but the explanation she gives for a tour is not exactly what you gonna get.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Good room for the price - large, clean, TV, a/c, big bed. It's also in a good location walking distance to the bus station and the Plaza Americas (with a Cinepolis) and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately the room was a little dark and dank, the common area was nothing special and overall the place had a bit of a depressing feel (maybe because I think I was the only person staying there). Got a bit loud one day when a "band" played in the lobby all day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

There is a travel agency at the front desk of the Hotel Rivemar that sells fake tours. My partner and I decided to accept one of their offer for Chichen Itza tour with "Mayan Gate" company, which offered free water, towel for the cenote and lunch at a hotel. But to start, nobody showed up at 7am to pick us up, instead, after 1 hour waiting in the terrible heat, they rang the man at the front desk and asked him to put us into a cab that brought us to plaza caracol where the bus was supposed to be awaiting for us, but instead, there was a mini-van which I thought was a little uncomfortable as there was not much leg room and it was a bit hot even with the aircon switched on. The min-van did NOT belong to the Mayan Gate company, they never gave us water and towels and the lunch was NOT at a hotel as they said, and it was NOT even buffet service as we have been told when we bought this trip. The trip itself in the end wasn't bad, but it is just annoying when you buy a certain tour and get a different one without the privileges at the end.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivemar

Address: Avenida Tulum con Crisantemos | lotes 49-51, Sm 22 Mz7, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rivemar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rivemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivemar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.