We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't let my reception experience spoil the rest of my trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquamarina Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aquamarina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 4.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 173 Hotels in Cancun
Belize
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“didn't let my reception experience spoil the rest of my trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had bought a package to stay here for a birthday weekend with family and friends (in total 4 double rooms) We had additionally booked tickets for a pirate ship cruise on Saturday night (which happened to be convenient because the port where we had to go to is like 2 blocks away from this hotel). Our transportation got us to Cancun at 6:00 am in the morning and check-in time is not until the afternoon, so we decided to kill time by walking around Cancun and buying some stuff...we reached the hotel around 1:00 pm. and were told that we had to wait a 'little while' because they were still cleaning 2 rooms. The little while waiting turned out to be literally around 3 hours and half. Everytime we asked, they said that either the rooms were still being cleaned or even that the people that were in the room had not checked out yet! By then, other guests had arrived and the lobby was full of mad guests that had to wait for hours along with us just to check-in. We were already tired from the all night travel and all we wanted was a shower and bed to be able to go out later that night, so much so that 1 of my friends even fell asleep and woke up back on 1 of the lobby seats. We called the rest of the group that were to reach the next day andgave them our room numbers so they call us when they got there. The next day, (not surprisingly) the rest of the group was downstairs from around 1:30 pm and they called form reception to our rooms to let us know they were there. They had them and other people waiting too with the same excuse, but they were a bit 'luckier' because to calm down the angry group, they gave them their all inclusive bracelets and told them they can start enjoying the resort and that they would go for them when the rooms were ready. (The day before, they didnt even give us our bracelets until the time we checked in).
Anyway, we did not let all that mess up our trip, we truly had a blast and for the rets of the trip, we made sure we had some fun enjoying the great food & drinks, the nice pool, played volleyball and soccer sports with other guests etc etc. I fell in love with a dirnk they prepare called the 'mangorita'. You should definately try it!

Room Tip: If you are a fan of margaritas, try the mangorita drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    159
    100
    63
    80
See reviews for
83
110
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harleston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Have just come back from 12 days at this hotel and we loved it. The staff were the friendliest people ever, nothing is too much trouble. Yes the hotel is not very new but it is spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfy and the rooms are a good size with sea views. This hotel is probably not suitable for young singles although there were some there when we were and they seemed happy enough and the animators do take groups to a different club every night if they want. We would definately visit this hotel again as we loved the friendly vibe of both the staff and other guests so much nicer than these huge high rise blocks where you probably don't see the same person twice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Aqua marina is a nice little hotel right on the beach... but is only good for couples and family's... it is not good for a group!! It a cab or bus journey away from all the clubs and bars and is not very lively around the bar at night or during the day... Thou the Staff are 100% fantastic and cannot do enough for you!! i would defiantly go back but only with family or partner..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hi, Well ignore bad reviews,this hotel is very clean and the food is amazing,the bar staff excellent,ok lets name names ,Louis ,Asterio,Josie are A1,the hotel and facilities are ideal for families and couples with evening entertainment every night,.Breakfast i think best,fresh omelettes,overall siitting on balcony watching pirate ship on carribean, whats not to like....5*

Room Tip: ocean view good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just arrived back to snowy england having spent 2 weeks at this hotel, i read mixed reviews before travelling but have to say most were unfounded.
All the staff were really helpfull friendly and attentive with thanks to Lois, Jose Lois and Pedro fot the ever flowing drinks all aware of our regular tipple within a day of arrival.
The entertaiment staff were on hand for the younger vacators for clubbing and did not take offence if we declined the daily activities.
The foowd was plentiful even for a fussy eater like my husband who always found something edible (try the omelettes at breakfast you will not be dissapointed)
In a couple of words give this Hotel a chance and dont read all the negative reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

basic rooms, no fridge, but absolutely spotless, staff so pleasant and helpful, luis who runs the pool bar would spot us and have our drinks poured and ready, the food was always freshly cooked and delicious, would definitely go back...beware at the airport though, we had booked transfer and an airport official told us to come along with him, then proceeded to spend half an hour flogging a day trip, which ended up as a very hard sell for time share!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A great choice for the money. Clean, very friendly staff.. even when I had a problem. Food was plentiful and well cooked with a good choice each day. Book tours with Brad Tours across the main road from the hotel, really excellent tour and cheaper than the outfit just outside the hotel. The beach is quite small which doesn't leave much room for sunbathing when others want to play beach volleyball . Would check and not go during 'spring break' next time as it did get much noisier during our second week. would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquamarina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarina Beach Hotel

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 4.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquamarina Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aquamarina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aquamarina Beach
Aquamarina Beach Cancun
Aquamarina Beach Hotel Cancun
Cancun Aquamarina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquamarina Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.