We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opinion of Aquamarinebeach hotel, Cancun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aquamarina Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Aquamarina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 4.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Opinion of Aquamarinebeach hotel, Cancun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

we looked for a hotel having as follows:
- reasonable price, all inclusive with good quality food,
- fullequipment of room ie. bathroom.wc, clima,
- silent region (no traffic to hear!)
- balcony with seaside viev perferably

Aquamairne Hotel fulfills all of a/m conditions.
Additionally sevice personnel including maids and other auxiliary personnel was very polite with smile, creating family-like climate.
Very good location Busstop, church, boat harbour

Good conditions for swimming - there were no strong vaves on sea bay in spite of winy water.
Bottom of bay partially sandy only, there were some sea plants. However, they did not bother in swimming, but in walking-in-water.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    168
    102
    64
    81
See reviews for
86
113
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was our first time to Mexico, we went for 2 weeks and were on a budget. So I thought £850 pp was quite a good deal. The hotel is fine, room big, nice big beds (not 2 squished together), satelite tv,very clean etc. plenty of space to hang up clothes. However no facilities for tea/coffee/fridge but this did not really matter. It is 3 not 4 star. Our only complaint was noisey neighburs and this was delt with swiftly, be warned this is a base camp for young mexican and young American revellers, if you cant beat em join them?

Food was was ok, breakfast was probably the best, eggs cooked anyway you want, if you ask nicely someone will get you some crispy bacon...Nice touch. Themed food nights yet still repetitive meals, there was always somene on the grill, cooking the 'theme' to order. The salads were great and vast selection meant there was always something to eat. There was a a la carte resturant, that we only discovered on our second week there, better food, and I think we didn't pay any extra for it. If we did it wasnt much. The staff are brilliant, if you have kids the entertainment team will keep them happy. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is not the hotel for you. Boom Boom music from 9am till night fall, and very repetitive. We just wanted to chill, and didnt feel that you could do this here.

The beach.... well lack of it. You can't really swim in the sea as there was so much seaweed. If you have it in your mind that coming to cancun will mean white sandy beach for miles...... this is not the hotel for you as it is on a bay. Book elsewhere. This was not the end of the world beause we like going on an adventure.

We went out every day on the bus in searh of better beaches, we found them beautiful and quiet. Nice waters etc. Not too much hassle from locals, just the usual, cigars, drugs etc. Just shrug them off, fruit ladies always welcome. If you pitch far enough away from a bar, you wont be hassled.

Trips, dont book with Thomas Cook, we booked with Brad across the street, to Chichen Itza, a great day and half the price of Thomas Crook.

We found a great bar called El somboero's, a chap called Victor was very accomodating, and did not give us the hard sell, we enjoyed his banter and went back most days. We said we wanted to swim with the dolphins, he said no problem, this was an amazing experience, again cheaper than TC. We also went on a catamaran day to Isla Mujeres, with a lobster lunch ( lunch not so great) but the day was fab.

overall the hotel is fine, it just depends what you want from your stay, it was a great base to go and explore and when it rained for a whole day we took advantage of the open bar, and great service from the staff, boy they can mix up a good cocktail. My partner lost his sun glasses one day and another day his wallet, both were handed in which was a nice touch. We asked who handed them in and gave them a nice tip, rude not to.

Go if the price is right.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INorth Huntingdon, Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Went here on a budget for my 60th Birthday with My Daugther and a Friend, We arrived about 4 pm and the Desk up Graded us to a Suite on the 4th floor with an Ocean View, I told her that this was my first visit to Cancun we usually stay in Riviara Maya. The staff had a Birthday cake ready for me at 7 am the next moring. They also had our toast ready for us every morning. (People tipping goes a long way). Not alot to do but it was very relaxing, Food and Staff were Excellent!!

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed here at the Aquamarina Hotel in early January 2012. This Hotel was not our first choice and we were restricted by flight availability more than budget. Overall this Hotel was not a Hotel that we considered and read a few reviews and felt apprehensive. On our arrival check in was fuss free and our room was spacious and more than adequate for 2. There was an interconnecting door in room and the walls were thin and kids regularly rattled door! this could be off putting and was noisey !!. I did not like the hand basin being outside the bathroom and there was no fridge, kettle or no hair dryer available in the room. The hair dryer was requested and sent up to the room by reception .
The Hotel has 2 lovely swimming pools and beach bars and snack bar and main resteraunt. The beach directly in front of the Hotel has kayaks for use of those staying at the aquamarina hotel and these were fun. The sand is white and powdery and lovely underfoot. I would recommend walking to the left and up the beach for more suitable places to enter the sea as there is seaweed in places and if you like to walk out a while before swimming then defnitely choose your spot. When we went on a trip to an underwater BOB there was a beautiful beach there and we also passed a public beach which looked lovely. I found the Hotel food very mis-matched it went from ok too not great! whilst I enjoy trying other dishes it was hard to compliment them with the right thing!. The beach bars were great and always willing to mix up a cocktail. This Hotel is not in my opinion four star and could do with an indoor pool, gym, entertainment room with all consoles and TV / DVD and games. The lift was broken for a few days so we used an alternative. I saw that their was a crazy golf and table tennis area and as long as the weather was fine it seemed well used. Had one bad day of weather and the Hotel staff seemed to be mopping and trying hard to manage the sheer volume of water - it was everywhere and the resteraunt had to corner off areas !.
I would not return too this hotel as I thought it was just average but it did have good points.

Room Tip: Sea view was lovely to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The facilities were clean ( better than more upscale resorts in Rivera Maya). Located at the marina so jet ski's and boat trips to Isla Mujeres were simple. Not much to do at the hotel. A great week for relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Nice clean inexpensive great food. What more do you want?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We chose this resort as we had a limited budget as staying anywhere over Christmas is going to be really expensive. We had a great holiday. The beach is lovely and we felt we had it all to ourselves as it was really quiet. The staff are very attentive and friendly - ask for Angel who is situated on the beach when you want to book up trips as he's very honest and knowledgable. If you do become tired of the food in the evenings, go across the road to the Oxxo store and jump on a bus. 10 minutes down the road you have all the bars, restaurants and clubs you could ever wish for. Try Coco Bongo for a cracking night out.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room they give you, ask to change straight away. Its no bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquamarina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquamarina Beach Hotel

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 4.5 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquamarina Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aquamarina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aquamarina Beach
Aquamarina Beach Cancun
Aquamarina Beach Hotel Cancun
Cancun Aquamarina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquamarina Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.