We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Royal Sands stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive to your Saves list
The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Special Price Tours!
Ranked #19 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another great Royal Sands stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Traded my Sands week 47 for week 25, 7 amazing days. We brought our friends and their daughters age 12 & 10 along with my wife and daughter age 12 and the stay couldn't have been better. You are always greeted when you arrive with a welcome crew who tells you "welcome home" and that's how we feel at the Sands. As always the hotel and grounds are keep beautifully, the staff goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful. We had a beach front villa, which made the stay even more special.The kids joined me for water aerobics with Uzi and Pepe each morning, they played Mexican lottery and bingo for prizes each day, and we learned to Salsa dance with Pepe. The welcome party at the pool on Sunday was fun, (all the beer and rum and cokes you can drink for an hour) At 3pm its happy hour and drinks are half price (get a Leaping Lizard)Unlike some other hotels there is no charge for louges on the beach and plenty of umberlla's. Our maid was amazing, the room sparkled and she would make different figures out of the hand towels and leave them on the table for us each day. We went to the taco party at the VCI to see the renovations and were impressed with the updates to the rooms. We had great meals at the Hacenda Sisal and Paco's Taco's (with prices below what we pay at our Marriott timeshare), and the always resonable Tradewinds. Though the beaches along the coast had been wiped out at some resorts the beach at the Sands was fine.

There was no evidence of swine flu, it seemed to be totally blown out of proportion, and because of that there were no waits at restaurants, deals on things like dolphin swims and other day trips. We never get tired of going to the Sands and look forward to being back next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    405
    150
    67
    28
See reviews for
737
559
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

WEEK 24, unit 5141, : ( .. ahhh,,that s ok,,,,wonderfull view to the pool, no elevator or stairs.FAST Check In , giantastic pools and poolbar, no words, relaxing.... maid service, maid service, mmm, daily , except sunday, but ,if you are lucky and has as maid, Martha Patricia, every thing would be 120% clean, so tip her as she reserve and do it direct to her. she is great doing what your kids make a disaster. so Royal resorts must feel proud having employes like Paty. the suroundings, shine as the heaven. Everything is close at the resort, so you are not worry to have fun, take the local bus to downtown, and see the other face of Hotel Zone, The only mandatory here, is. rent a car.... Go to *Chichen Itza, stop on valladolid to have tipical hot as hell habanero breakfast * *Merida-paseo montejo, and get some HENEKEN Tequila, couple of shots and fly to the real mayan culture, dont forget to apreciate the colonial architecture on town, * Tulum--waooo 5 star or GT mayan templo mayor, castillo, they knew how to have fun,( with out paying taxes, memberships or maintnence fees)-thanks Kukulcan**Hel-ha and Xcaret_be on time on all the shows, recomended.next 7th world wonders. and then THE Check Out.. do it and pay your total a day before departure,, it is the only zoo here. otherwise, again a 120% GT rate.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

As soon as we walked in the door we knew this vacation was going to be amazing. Greeted with a free bottle of water then taken to your room with your own concierge. We ordered food online to be stocked in our room so we got to our room with a nice cold beer. The rooms are so nice and roomy, the balcony very nice as well.
The pool bar is great! We stayed in phase II all week, it seemed much more personal and we became friends with the staff who provided fabulous service! Happy hour is great, half price drinks that are very strong and delicious! We ate lunch there as well, not bad prices and the steak quesadilla's are amazing!! Hands down one of the best foods I've have ever had, if you like cheese, juicy steak and fresh tortillas! All the food is great though! We loved how we didn't need to leave the resort to get our meals although we did go to Captain's Cove which you should definitely visit!
If you want to do snorkeling, do the the jungle tour, its $50 and you get to drive your own boat to this beautiful reef, truly breathtaking! I'd also recommend the booze cruise, totally worth the money, it is just something you can't experience anywhere else.
The only cons are the rock hard beds and the fact that you have to pay for the fitness center but both are worth it for this resort! I would definitely recommend this place, just avoid the timeshare presentations and you will be fine. This was our first trip to Cancun and if we come back we will most likely stay at this one, it is the best of the Royal Resorts in our opinion! This is not a resort for teenagers however, it is a family atmosphere. Also, be careful of the public bus, we got ripped off every time we rode it although by only 50 cents or less.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed with friends of ours who own three weeks at the Sands. Having never been to Mexico we didn't know what to expect. Well, were we surprised!!! The Sands is so beautiful, so clean and so welcoming we never wanted to go home. The units were large and that outside balcony...let's just say I wanted to hang out there all the time. The pools were large and always clean and the ocean being just steps away was perfect. We were impressed with everything at the Royal Sands and are looking to rent a week next year and share a unit with our grown children and then stay the 2nd week with our friends again!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

My wife and I went to Cancun and stayed at the Royal Sands for a week. We traded a lockoff via II and were given a lockoff at Royal Sands. We had a very nice, relaxing week and truly enjoyed the pool areas at the resort. Some quick notes:

Room: Not all lockoffs are created equal. We traded one that has a mini-kitchen (fridge, microwave, oven, dishes, silverware, cookware, dishwasher, etc.) for essentially a hotel room. We had planned on eating most breakfasts and lunches in the room but that became much more difficult without any plates or silverware.

Beach: The water was beautiful and warm, and not too rough. A small area in front of Phase I was open all week and the last two days another small area in front of Phase II was also open. We walked the beach in both directions and didn't find much other areas open for swimming. It was somewhat difficult to walk due to the narrowness and steepness of the beach. I would say that if the beach is a very important part of your vacation, then you should go elsewhere.

Restaurants: We had the breakfast buffet once and it was very good. We ate a couple of lunches at the Phase II pool bar and they were very good. We ate one dinner at the Sports Bar and it was below average. In general, we found that better food and values could be had off site.

Grocery store: It was nice to have it available and in general the prices were not bad. They were out of bread one day.

Staff: Uniformly friendly and professional. Service was great at all times.

Crowds: Cancun was deserted. Royal Sands was at 55% capacity. No battles for chairs at the pool, or need for reservations at restaurants.

Summary: I understand why the people who have bought here rave about this place. The pool areas are great and the service is top notch. However, I think it will be some time before we return to Cancun mostly because there are so many other places we could trade and go to. If we do return to Cancun, we would certainly consider staying at the Royal Sands, although not in a lockoff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh nc
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Great hotel for families with large and active pool are for children.
One of the few hotels that actually have a beach with waves until the renourshment project is completed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Personal disclaimer: I am a Royal Sands time share owner.
That being said, I am also in the restaurant/hotel business and have a critical eye when it comes to this business. I reviewed several trip advisor comments before our most recent trip and found most reassuring, however, I was concerned when I read the post from "Crazy Traveling Texan" concerning the poor beach conditions, and the rough hospitality from the personel. Most of all, I was concerned about the beach, which is what we go there for.
The "Crazy Texan" has grossly overstated the beach condition. True, the beach after Wilma is not as expansive and as deep-it had been picture perfect, but it was not full of rocks either. There is a sufficient area free of rocks where body surfing is completely safe and enjoyable. There are beach personel there to insure that swimmers do not go astray.
Our first encounter with the Royal Sands was on a vacation while staying at the Ritz Carlton (next door). The villas are self sufficient and very complete-especially for those wishing to dine in. It is not to be compared to a luxury hotel however, and it is owner oriented, which is to say, a higher level personal responsibility is expected of the guest and members. In short, it is not for "spring breakers". Our children now 18 and 19, accompanied us as usual. They connected with many kids their age and no doubt have expanded their facebook contacts. Having a place where your children want to vacation with you, is an added benefit which I did not consider years ago, but now appreciate.
When we purchased our time share about 10 years ago, our salesman pointed out the company was founded by former Marines. I took this to be a good thing. The management is cordial, professional, and consistantly helpful.
One of the best things about the Royal Sands is it's close proximity to truely fine restaurants-Harry's and Puerto Madera to name two. We did venture to another major hotel for lunch and found the huge and very beautiful facility deserted, and the food and service was the worst I have experienced in Cancun. The Royal Sands, even in hard times is consistently a good value and the food, while not stellar, more than fills the bill for what it is.

On a personal note, as a Texan from Fort Worth originally, I did not recognize this Crazy person to be a Texan. Just crazy.

  • Liked — Convenience, friendliness and location
  • Disliked — Organized pool events are noisy and somewhat obnoxious
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a breathtaking beach location, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for a week of Royal relaxation.The Royal Sands® sits at the center of Cancun’s spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.