We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice beach, fabulous staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive to your Saves list
The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mother's Day Special
Ranked #25 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean, nice beach, fabulous staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We found this hotel to be extremely clean. Like other reviewers, I constantly saw staff members cleaning all areas of the hotel. We didn't see a single bug.

We loved the amount of space in our 2-bedroom villa. It was wonderful to be able to have the young kids nap in one room while others were awake in the other areas of the villa.

The sushi made two of our family members sick. I guess that's our own fault for eating sushi in Mexico! Besides that, we didn't have any issues with the food.

The staff, particularly the waitstaff in La Veranda restaraunt, were fabulous. Fehr and the other waiters took good care of us and were happy to accommodate requests such as lids or straws for children's cups. The waitstaff are busy, but I didn't feel that service was any slower than in typical American restaurants. Some may not realize that people are expected to ask for their check (in many countries, it would be considered rude if the waitstaff brought the check before the customer requested it, and this seemed to be the case in Mexico). Perhaps this contributes to some peoples' perception of slow service.

The check-in process, reached after a long travel day, took about 20-25 minutes for some reason. There was no line, but there was a LOT of assorted typing by the desk staff in between the check-in steps. This was the only time we really felt a lack of service.

The large children's pool was absolutely fabulous for us (with kids ages 2 & 5). The beach area was also wonderful. My kids particularly enjoyed searching for seashells.

Unlike some other reviewers, we never had an issue with "the towel game" or finding a place to sit near the pool or on the beach. Walking to breakfast each morning, I never saw more than one or two towels by the pool. Maybe this situation varies by week or something.

We had a lovely vacation week. I would recommend this property overall and would not hesitate to stay here again, but I would avoid the sushi next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    475
    190
    80
    32
See reviews for
853
653
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just returned from our 8 day stay at Royal Sands. We have been travelling to Cancun at least once a year over the last 10 years but it was our first experience with ALL INCLUSSIVE at a time share resort. We could tell the difference the minute we arrived. We travelled as a family of 7 and were to stay at 2 suites. Two weeks prior to our trip I emailed the hotel with a request to have the two suites close to each other. When we arrived, it turned out that our suites were in different phases. After about an hour of waiting, the gentleman at the reception ( who was very professional and friendly) was able to place us in one building but on different floors. I tried to push for rooms on the same floor but was explained by the manager on duty that this is time share hotel and we basically get what is left over. Plus we had to move to a different suite the day before our departure – we were expecting this and we were fine with that.

ACCOMODATIONS: The hotels has one/two bed room suites and studios. The suites are basically one/two bed room apartments with kitchen, living area with two loft beds for kids, huge balconies with outstanding views. Studios are regular your regular hotel rooms with much smaller balcony but same great view. Pay attention when you make a reservation as I saw a few unhappy folks who arrived expecting a huge balcony when they paid for a studio. The rooms are clean with morning and evening maid service. We had hot water with great pressure all throughout the stay, some problems with bath tub drainage in one of the rooms. The fridge does not always get restocked with water so we had to brings a couple of extra bottles from the restaurant.

BEACH: It is your typical Cancun beach with big waves and tide currents most of the time. It was well maintained and plenty of palapas for all.

FOOD. We mostly ate at Le Veranda restaurant. The food was good – not any better that other ALL INCLUSIVE resorts we stayed at. In fact the buffet was much smaller compared to other hotels we stayed at. We were surprised to find NO BUFFET for dinner on at least three occasions meaning we had to order off of a menu or wait in line at the show cooking station. We travelled with 3 kids (9,7 and 3) so it was an issue for us. One night we waited for an hour (I am NOT exaggerating) to get the food we ordered. And kids had to wait even longer. We were done eating when kids were finally served their nuggets and fish fingers. We enjoyed our dinner at Captain Cove. We also dined at Hacienda Sisal twice since it was so close to the hotel grounds. Both restaurants have some sort of partnership with the hotel. They are not a part of the resort but you can make reservation through your concierge before noon and with your ALL INC bracelet and key it is free expect for surcharges on a few items. To get to Captain’s Cove you have to get on the list for the hotel bus. The waiting list opens at 6 pm for 6:30 departure and is done by the bell boy at the hotel entrance. We were there at 6pm sharp and there were people already waiting to get on the list. The bus was full when it left the hotel and on the way back to the restaurant.

SERVICE. The restaurant on the hotel grounds is understaffed big time. I do not get it how management does not see it. Sometimes we waited for 10 minutes before a waiter had a chance to stop by and take order for drinks after we were seated or to get our key back. We are very easy going and appreciate the hard working folks in Mexico. We spent at least $150 on tips. The hotel personnel is friendly except for this one hostess at La Veranda who gave us a super dirty look when we went in for a late night dessert after we had a dinner there about 3 hours prior to that. She made it very clear without saying it that we should limit it to one visit per meal. That was very disappointing. I hope management take notice of it – this is an ALL INCLUSIVE resort after all.

ANIMATION is nonexistent at this place and it was a disappointment for us. We are not your party folks, not even close, but it was boring even for us. There are no evening shows. Monday through Friday ONLY they have bingo at 2 pm, pool volleyball at noon and beach volleyball at 3 pm. That is it for entertainment. NO music at the pool, nothing happening at the beach. On the bright side – if you choose to go to sleep at 9 pm – you will have no issue doing so – it is very quiet out there all throughout the day except for bingo time at 2 pm.

KIDS CLUB. Our kids tried it once and that was it. There were no kids there and the staff was not engaging what so ever. For parents travelling with kids a good kids club is a big bonus. We stayed at some hotels (Dreams, Gran Caribe Real) where our kids pretty much lived at the Kids Club and that made for much more relaxed vacation for parents.

GYM. Workout equipment is top notch with mostly machines and some free weights. Very high quality treadmills.

AIRPORT TRANSPORTAION. I ordered a private service by van through the hotel (Thomas Moor). IT was $105 for round trip. The service was great. Please note that they only provide service from hotel to the airport on 20th and 50th of an hour (for example, 12:20 or 12:50 – you cannot leave at 12:40).

Overall, Royal Sands provides very comfortable accommodations with no entertainment. I think for the money we should get both.

Room Tip: Phase 2 would be more quiet during the day. All rooms have great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Sands is a wonderful, well maintained resort. Management always goes the extra step to ensure all is in order, from greeting and quickly processing customers, to maintaining the grounds. I've stayed at this resort before, and plan to return there in future years.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at the resort. All have an ocean view. However, I like rooms toward the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Loved our week at the Sands! Our villa was 1500+sw ft of marble and excellence! All inclusive room service, drinks and food are so easy to manage! GO to other resorts in the Royal collection, and you will always return to the Sands! The staff are so friendly, and our personal concierge, Hanna...is wonderful! Wr ferl at home here...and its only bern 3 days!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I were invited to stay with our friends at their timeshare here at the Royal Sands. I have to say, it was one of the most relaxing vacations we have been on. And its all due to the resort. We had the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom Suite, the pictures I uploaded says it all, huge bedrooms, walk in closets, full kitchen, nice living and dining room and the balcony was amazing!! We loved that it was so quiet at night, we are early risers and early to bed and did not hear any partying at all.
Both pools were very nice and clean. The smaller pool was more mellow and the large pool had the music, activities and seemed to be where the All inclusive people would hang out. The pool staff is nice, none of them went out of their way to give excellent customer service, but they were efficient and got our drinks to us in a timely manner. (I would not tip extra to get better service, you tip when you close out your tab).
The La Veranda restaurant was OK, it was nice to eat there when you did not feel like going out. But its just your regular Buffet, nothing special.
There is a full Market in the resort with a coffee bar that serves Starbucks. The gift shops are nice high end stores. The front desk also exchanges dollars to pesos, its very convenient.
The travel center was nice to have in the resort for setting up excursions, but beware, they are not very friendly and tell you what you want to here. We spent $140.00 a couple, on a show at the Backstage. We specifically asked if it was the 80's rock show, she said it was and when we got there, and ate our horrible dinner, the show started and it was a Circus show, that was not very good.
We also used the gym, but they charge you $13.00 a person per day to use it. They offer other packages that include the gym use and 2 massages for $400.00 or $53.00 for a week.
My husband and I are going to plan another trip to Cancun and we will be staying at The Royal Sands, we would recommend this beautiful place to anyone!

Room Tip: The rooms around the 2nd phase pool are quieter. The large pool plays loud music all day, but ends a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pros: Bang for your buck, fantastic beach, warm water, location
Cons: The all inclusive beer selection needs to have a few more added to it.
Location: There's two malls with in walking distance (for some lol) and several clubs, I highly recommend Senor Frogs, that place was crazy after 10-11.
Honestly I didn't want to do a cruise or go to Mexico, that was my belief. Well, a few things came up so we decided to go to Cancun Mexico and give it a try. After exhausting research I decided that The Royal Sands All Inclusive was the place that was right for this trip.
The room: a nice simple room, easy, clean, has the all the stuff you need.
Staff: friendly, helpful, English was good, we didn't have one problem. Each room has a personal concierge, they will make reservations, help with tours blah blah, if you use them great, if you don't plan on using them just say so and they will leave you alone.
Food: They have 6 places to eat. a buffet & a sports bar at the resort, I'm not a big fan of buffets but this was actually decent with a variety of dishes and made to order stations. They DO NOT make things spicy (appealing to the masses) but they will no problem if you request it. Sisal is the restaurant next door, good food. Down the street they have 2 (Captains Cove & Pancho and Willies) which are really good, right on the water if you like outdoor seating. One more in the Royal Mayan, we didn't go, but friends went and said it was great. Besides the restaurants you can get food at the 2 swim up bars, on the beach, pool side. Now that I've been here, the warm golden beach, bathtub warm water of the ocean, and the friendliness of the people, I will be returning again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our visit to the Royal Sands was 3 weeks long and still not enough. Even though they have gone all-inclusive we were not required to partake in it.
As usual the resort was immaculate in and out. The only thing we could see that needed the attention of management was the furniture in the villas. This is our 10th year there and still the furniture remains the same.
We cannot say enough about the people at the Sands. They go above and beyond to make your stay fantastic. From Fher who works in La Veranda, Javier the bellman and too many more to mention are all great.
I did notice a slip in food quality but I have hopes that things will improve with time.
We did make a trek to Wal-Mart since the prices at the market in the Sands is too high.
We love going to the Sands and will continue to do so because they make you feel like part of a bigger family.
So thank you once again for a fantastic trip and we are already counting down til next year.

Room Tip: Any room has a great view of both the pool and the ocean but a higher floor is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands(R), All-Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.