We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort and Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Royal Sands to your Saves list
The Royal Sands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100US Resort Credit FREE
Ranked #24 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Resort and Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Sands is a wonderful, well maintained resort. Management always goes the extra step to ensure all is in order, from greeting and quickly processing customers, to maintaining the grounds. I've stayed at this resort before, and plan to return there in future years.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at the resort. All have an ocean view. However, I like rooms toward the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    376
    148
    64
    28
See reviews for
698
519
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Loved our week at the Sands! Our villa was 1500+sw ft of marble and excellence! All inclusive room service, drinks and food are so easy to manage! GO to other resorts in the Royal collection, and you will always return to the Sands! The staff are so friendly, and our personal concierge, Hanna...is wonderful! Wr ferl at home here...and its only bern 3 days!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I were invited to stay with our friends at their timeshare here at the Royal Sands. I have to say, it was one of the most relaxing vacations we have been on. And its all due to the resort. We had the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom Suite, the pictures I uploaded says it all, huge bedrooms, walk in closets, full kitchen, nice living and dining room and the balcony was amazing!! We loved that it was so quiet at night, we are early risers and early to bed and did not hear any partying at all.
Both pools were very nice and clean. The smaller pool was more mellow and the large pool had the music, activities and seemed to be where the All inclusive people would hang out. The pool staff is nice, none of them went out of their way to give excellent customer service, but they were efficient and got our drinks to us in a timely manner. (I would not tip extra to get better service, you tip when you close out your tab).
The La Veranda restaurant was OK, it was nice to eat there when you did not feel like going out. But its just your regular Buffet, nothing special.
There is a full Market in the resort with a coffee bar that serves Starbucks. The gift shops are nice high end stores. The front desk also exchanges dollars to pesos, its very convenient.
The travel center was nice to have in the resort for setting up excursions, but beware, they are not very friendly and tell you what you want to here. We spent $140.00 a couple, on a show at the Backstage. We specifically asked if it was the 80's rock show, she said it was and when we got there, and ate our horrible dinner, the show started and it was a Circus show, that was not very good.
We also used the gym, but they charge you $13.00 a person per day to use it. They offer other packages that include the gym use and 2 massages for $400.00 or $53.00 for a week.
My husband and I are going to plan another trip to Cancun and we will be staying at The Royal Sands, we would recommend this beautiful place to anyone!

Room Tip: The rooms around the 2nd phase pool are quieter. The large pool plays loud music all day, but ends a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pros: Bang for your buck, fantastic beach, warm water, location
Cons: The all inclusive beer selection needs to have a few more added to it.
Location: There's two malls with in walking distance (for some lol) and several clubs, I highly recommend Senor Frogs, that place was crazy after 10-11.
Honestly I didn't want to do a cruise or go to Mexico, that was my belief. Well, a few things came up so we decided to go to Cancun Mexico and give it a try. After exhausting research I decided that The Royal Sands All Inclusive was the place that was right for this trip.
The room: a nice simple room, easy, clean, has the all the stuff you need.
Staff: friendly, helpful, English was good, we didn't have one problem. Each room has a personal concierge, they will make reservations, help with tours blah blah, if you use them great, if you don't plan on using them just say so and they will leave you alone.
Food: They have 6 places to eat. a buffet & a sports bar at the resort, I'm not a big fan of buffets but this was actually decent with a variety of dishes and made to order stations. They DO NOT make things spicy (appealing to the masses) but they will no problem if you request it. Sisal is the restaurant next door, good food. Down the street they have 2 (Captains Cove & Pancho and Willies) which are really good, right on the water if you like outdoor seating. One more in the Royal Mayan, we didn't go, but friends went and said it was great. Besides the restaurants you can get food at the 2 swim up bars, on the beach, pool side. Now that I've been here, the warm golden beach, bathtub warm water of the ocean, and the friendliness of the people, I will be returning again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our visit to the Royal Sands was 3 weeks long and still not enough. Even though they have gone all-inclusive we were not required to partake in it.
As usual the resort was immaculate in and out. The only thing we could see that needed the attention of management was the furniture in the villas. This is our 10th year there and still the furniture remains the same.
We cannot say enough about the people at the Sands. They go above and beyond to make your stay fantastic. From Fher who works in La Veranda, Javier the bellman and too many more to mention are all great.
I did notice a slip in food quality but I have hopes that things will improve with time.
We did make a trek to Wal-Mart since the prices at the market in the Sands is too high.
We love going to the Sands and will continue to do so because they make you feel like part of a bigger family.
So thank you once again for a fantastic trip and we are already counting down til next year.

Room Tip: Any room has a great view of both the pool and the ocean but a higher floor is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthedocks
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was our 4th time at this beautiful resort in a 2 bedroom suite, 1st time on the all inclusive package. Since we are Royal Resorts members from the Simpson Bay Resort & Marina in St. Maarten, it costs $75 per person per day otherwise non members are $95. Still worth it either way. The only gripe I had was the room was allowed only 2 bottles of water a day! So I called to order more and they said if you order a meal thats the only way to get extra water to the room, which we did. Just silly, and Im sure after they read this thread at least 4 waters will be added. Time and time again everything about this resort is amazing. From the friendliness of everyone there, to the cleanliness everywhere you look and the amazing food. The pools were great. Swim up bars are perfect. Beach is awesome and each hut has their own flag to alert the waiter's when your ready for your favorite cocktail. "Banana Monkey" was my favorite drink. The all inclusive package was great because you were able to eat at the other Royal Resorts also. At the Sands you had Hacienda Sisal which was very good. Daily breakfast and lunch at La Veranda was also great. Captain's Cove was a 5 minute ride away and was awesome! We ate outside overlooking the bay. Try the Porterhouse!! Only a $9 surcharge , you will not be disappointed. Right next door is Pancho & Willy's and we had some drinks before our dinner at the Cove. Our favorite restaurant was the El Conquistador at the Royal Islander, very attentive and just excellent waiters and food. Also we ate at the Royal Cancun at La Trattoria. Very good food there, except for the chicken parmesian that wasn't cooked! Staff weren't really attentive but otherwise ok. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

It was our first time at the Royal Sands. We just came back two weeks ago. Staff is great, especially our waiter at the beach (Jorge Pech!... Holà Jorge!! Great guy.

We stayed in a studio (exchange with Interval). The room was very nice (no musty smell), very clean (they even changed the shower curtain mid-stay to another clean one), bathrobes, efficient A/C, amazing view of the ocean (we were in block H 5520). Balcony is very small however, but we managed to fit a small table with 2 chairs, The amenities were great: I used the gym several times and I enjoyed it. There is A/C as well as fans. Also started my week with an amazing massage at the spa (gorgeous place!!). I felt so zen and it was such a great start to my week!
The beach is absolutely STUNNING!! It is cleaned every evening so there are no seaweeds on the beach ever during the day. Might be tricky to find beach chairs if we don't go before 9:30 am. We can reserve a max of 2 hours with towels, but after that security removes them (they keep checking if people get back). This is a good thing.

Also visited the Royal Hacienda property (stunning!) and spend a few hours at the beach there (much smaller than Royal Sands though, but nice). We had breakfast at la Palapa restaurant and it was great! Excellent selection of all kinds of fresh fruit, cheeses, cooked dishes... very nice!

The only down-side was the fact that one has to sign each time when we order food, even if the balance is 0$. It's such a nuisance! I wish they would automate the process somehow to make it easier on everyone, especially the staff!!

The food is very good, even had lobster night once at La Veranda Restaurant on site. The breakfast was my favorite with fresh fruits, omelette made by chef, even had freshly made wafels and french toasts. Room service is very efficient (we ordered several times for breakfast and dinner). Their chicken fajitas is to die for!

We went for Sunday brunch at the Hacienda Sisal restaurant, right outside the main lobby and it was fresh and amazing. We had dinner again there and we took the surf & turf... the meat was too tough (mexico is known not to have the best steaks, but we tried anyhow... it was a miss). The fish however was great.

Two other restaurants we went to were El Conquistador and Captain's Cove (we went there by shuttle provided by the hotel).

El Conquistador had excellent food (lamb was fantastic as well as their chocolate volcano dessert!!!), but the service was over the top that it made us uncomfortable. We felt observed all the time (especially by the maître d'hotel). Live music was great (amazing soloist guitar player), very nice place.

Captain's Cove was very good also (we went twice) and they had very good calamari, great fresh salad, and their carrot cake was to die for!!

Overall very nice experience and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a breathtaking beach location, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for a week of Royal relaxation.The Royal Sands® sits at the center of Cancun’s spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;