We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vacation Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive to your Saves list
The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I read reviews by other guests and wonder how visits can vary completely. Granted this was my first time staying at an all inclusive resort, but I absolutely enjoyed my stay. At no point during my trip did I feel that owners at the resort were treated better than my friends and I. The maid service was excellent. It didn't matter to me what time each day they arrived, but they did arrive every day to straighten up, and every night for turn down service. There were papers available upon registration listing all available activities which occurred daily (except Saturdays and Sundays). There were constant activities - volleyball, bago, bingo, and poker. There was even an entire section for kids with painting and arts and crafts.
I thought the food was good, not excellent, but very good on site. The food off site (esp. Captains Cove) was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,389
    486
    198
    80
    34
See reviews for
873
663
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Let's start by saying.... This is not a resort. This is a %1000 timeshare/ retiring home. If you are get here Saturday to Saturday, then you are all set, otherwise get ready to move to a different room on Saturday, which by the way will take over 2 hrs of your day. We booked through expedia as an all inclusive resort, well this is not a resort. "All inclusive" means a plan meal and many subchargers. It is a very clean place with kind servers but the front desk people are rude. They acted as they were doing us a favor by having us here. They stressed to us how they were not a resort but a timeshare and were not sure why we thought they rented rooms as a resort. Food was very good, I must say. However, buffet style was only offered for breakfast unless you were here as a timeshare owener. We went to one of the "best" restaurants of this place, hacienda Sisal...... Well, let me tell you, I have had better Mexican meals at restaurants in NYC. This was a Mexican restaurant with very mediocre Mexican food. I'm not even going to mention my meal but my husband had a sub charged meal witch include an over cooked filet mignon with boxed dried mashed potatoes. Also, if you look at their web site, it claims to have great entertainment. Well, they have volleyball on Fridays, no entertainment it all on Saturday and very minimal on Sunday. Must places in cancun have great entertainment every day.. So I wish you luck staying at this place. Yes, it is clean and nice, but nothing as it as perceived on ther web site or other sites, so if you decide to stay here, good luck to you. However, there are many wonderful places in cancun to stay.

Room Tip: This is a retirement place with a timeshare name
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I contacted our Customers Services Manager, Jesus Arguelles and he wrote this letter for you:

“Dear Deana,

I‘m sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations during your most recent visit to The Royal Sands.

As you point out we are a timeshare property with the additional concept of meal package or “all inclusive” option. As a time share we offer our members the choice of taking the “all inclusive” package or to order from the regular menu, our guests who have purchased the “all inclusive package” they have the same option as well, for example; some dishes like fine cut steaks and lobster are not included, but they’re available for you with a surcharge.

About the front desk attitude, I offer you my sincere apologies. There’s no reason to mistreat our guests we take pride on our guests satisfaction levels and we assure you that measures will be taken to prevent this from happening again.

I will share your comment also with our Foods and Beverages Director in order to look into The Hacienda Sisal procedure of cooking and light up the standards.

We appreciate your feedback and will take this as an opportunity to improve our quality in service.

Thank you.”

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We just returned from a trip to the Royal Sands on 11/7/13. First, the good. The resort's common areas were well kept and attractive and the view from any room is awesome. Our suite, while nice, was not as depicted on their website. The kitchen looks like something you would find in low-income housing. Other than that, it was nice and comfortable. Especially the balcony which was very roomy with comfortable furniture and unbelievably clean. And of course the view can't be beat! All of the food, while limited in options, was delicious. Most of the staff were very nice, although that would mostly include staff in "tipping" positions. More about that later. I also consider that the timeshare hard sell was not that hard, as a plus. Our room was ready before 4:00pm, which I consider a huge plus. Now for some of the bad. As a "guest" and not an owner at this timeshare, you have to buy the all-inclusive option and are required to wear uncomfortable, plastic wristbands for your entire stay. Our check-in was anything but smooth. It was a rainy week, so we arrived tired and wet from an incredibly long trip from the airport, to an incredibly long check-in line. More staff should be put on the front desk for check-in and maybe a dedicated check-in line with separate lines for questions. After 30 minutes standing in line, the clerk took a family, who was not in line at all, ahead of us. It was very frustrating. When I complained the clerk explained that the family was a guest of an "owner". It became the theme of the week. Owners, who have not already paid for their food and services, were catered to while all-inclusive guests are ignored, unless the staff think a tip is involved. Also, the check-in process was way too long and our clerk, Erica, was a horror. She was totally rude, making our first impression of the resort a negative one. While giving us our bands, she threatened us with a $150 fine if we lost them. What!?! As far as "all-inclusive" - it's not! The food and services are of a lesser quality. And every time you have a meal or request a drink, you are required to hand over your room key and give your room number. You are then presented with a "bill" with a zero balance to sign, with a line for a tip, and you have to total the balance. So either you fill in $0 for the tip and total it, or, as they expected with this dumb trick, you fill in a tip every time. Every time. Even for a bottle of water. Even though the all inclusive language claims to include tips, tips are solicited everywhere you go. There are tip envelopes in your room every day for the maid, they insist on carrying your luggage and will not take no for an answer and nothing is including without you signing a "bill". I'm not against tipping a second time for excellent service, but they make it mandatory. It makes you wonder why you are forced to where the $150 plastic band. I've been to all-inclusives before, and the band is all you need to receive your prepaid services. At the Royal Sands, the plastic band is just used to single you out for less service. I watched the same bartender make an "owner" a bloody Mary with olives and celery in a glass that looked good so I asked for one and got plastic cup with no garnish. All-inclusive guests eat from the buffet, while "owners" get to pick from the menu. Room service was supposed to be included, but twice I ordered it and it never showed up. The first time was when we checked in. We got to our room tired and thirsty, but the mini bar that was supposed to be stocked, was not. We requested beverages through room service and were told that it would take 45 minutes. It never showed up! We then called the hotel manager to complain and our mini bar was stocked within 15 minutes. The second time we ordered room service, we decided to eat dinner in our room and ordered meals for the number of people in our room. The person taking our order, said "wow, that's a lot of food you are ordering!" Really!?! Then it never showed. When we called back to find out what happened, they had no record of our order so we had to order again, but from the even more limited menu this time because it was "after hours". The daily maid service was so erratic. We didn't get shampoo and toiletries until the third day, so assumed it was not included. The turn down service and chocolate (2 Hershey kisses) only happened half of the nights we were there and the time they came to clean varied from 9am to 4pm. One day we had to call to see if they were even coming at all that day. I don't know what "activities" were included because no one ever offered any. Each day when we went to the activities center to "rent" towels (along with threats of extra large charges if our towels were stolen) the only activities that were offered were excursions that you had to pay for. Up sales were everywhere - from these tours to pictures on the beach or with an iguana, to the grocery store where you can buy food that is not included in your all inclusive! While meals were included, there were only 2 restaurants on site and one only served dinner. So you are pretty much stuck with the buffet restaurant three times a day. It gets tired fast. There were a couple of restaurants included at their other properties but you had to take a shuttle bus that only ran every hour and didn't start until after breakfast. You also have to "sign up" for the bus an hour in advance to secure a seat. We did this only once because of the hassle. The bus we signed up for was over booked because they allowed last minute "owners" who did not sign up, get on. We had to put our 10 and 13 year old children on our laps. We would have had to wait 45 minutes for the return bus, so just took a cab for $15. Now for the Ugly. The Royal Sands does NOT welcome children. There are "no kids allowed" signs on several of the facilities that we thought we were paying for, such as the pool bar and lap pool. The only free activity I ever saw was the daily exercise in the main pool, where children were not allowed. I would not recommend the Royal Sands to families.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your comments and we have already send it to the appropriated channels so that our service may improve. Please rest assured Erika's attitude is not one we encourage nor promote, we will take all the corrective measure needed to insure no other customer feels this mistreated again.

We hope you've enjoyed the rest of your visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Royal Sands met all of our expectations of being one of the top resorts in Cancun. My wife and I have been to Cancun several times, and the Royal Sands was the best. The beach was fantastic with more than enough palm umbrellas and lounge chairs to go around. The staff was pleasant and accommodating and there wasn't any real pressure to sit thru a 90 minute timeshare presentation. We had a 2 bedroom suite, which was spacious, with a nice kitchen, dining area, and living space. We invited another couple, who had the lockoff bedroom, which gave them both privacy and separate amenities such as their own private bathroom/shower, microwave, tv and small frig. We had a ocean front unit which was unbelievable, and the spaceous balcony became our favorite place. We also took advantage of the free shuttle service provide between the 5 Royal resorts and 2 off-premise restaurants. On site is the Thomas Moore Travel Agency, and we used them to book a tour to Chichen Itza, snorkeling, and a shuttle to Playa del Carmen (and shuttle to and from the airport). Their sevice was bove average, but not perfect. Also on site was a medium-size food market, but the prices were a little high, so we took the local bus to Walmart down town - $1 dollar or 9.5 pesos each way. Overall, the Royal Sands deserves the top rating and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Royal Sands September 21-28, 2013. This was the best all-inclusive plan I've ever used. You had the choice of the buffet, which each night was a different theme. Or you could choose your meal straight from the menu. You could also choose to have room service for no extra charge. This was the most flexible I've ever experienced and the food was ALWAYS exceptional. We also used the spa 2X. . . incredible!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a wonderful stay 11/2-11/5/13. Everyone was so kind and helpful. We were told repeatedly by the staff "Welcome home". The resort was always clean, it did not feel crowded and the food and service was excellent. We opted for the all inclusive plan and were impressed by the quality of the food and drinks. We had many restaurant choices and took advantage of all of them. We'd love to come back very soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

When you combine a great vacation 'home' with a spectacular beachfront location, in the heart of the hotel zone, and add the friendliest staff imaginable, including bell staff, wait staff, housekeeping and even security and maintenance staff, all of whom can converse in English (for those of us who need it), you've got The Royal Sands, Cancun. It's our choice every year and this year we will call it home for 4 weeks. Today is absolutely missable weather and the whole place is still paradise, You will not be disappointed by choosing The Royal Sands for your next Cancun visit.

Room Tip: Every room has a great ocean / beach and pool view - there are no bad rooms / villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands(R), All-Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.