We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive to your Saves list
The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Special Price Tours!
Ranked #19 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Absolutely everything about this resort is wonderful. It is not only beautiful in layout and its landscaping, but it is also kept up and extremely clean. I am always impressed that they clean every area so thoroughly. The pool is meticulously maintained throughout the day and they clean the pool patios every night. I am a gym regular and they not only have great equipment but it is the cleanest gym I have ever been to. I just love it!

The entire staff is friendly and always says hello and when they are able to, they go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.

They have the grocery store on site which is so convenient. We also love the convenience of the coffee/frappe/gelato shop. My dad has been an owner for 12 years and I have been going for 6 years and we have never been disappointed. I travel a great deal and always find myself comparing other timeshares and hotels to the high standards of The Royals Sands.

Thank you for another beautiful and memorable vacation!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words which we found very rewarding. As you may know: our motto is In Search Of Excelence and we always strive to provide our customers the highest satisfaction levels and we're happy to learn we achieved that goal with you and your family. We hope to welcome you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

The only thing left to say is: Thank you for being part of The Royal Family and for sharing your experience with the world.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    405
    150
    67
    28
See reviews for
739
559
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I have been a member of the Royal Sands Resort for the past 12 years. We love spending time here so much that we just purchased a 2 week. We have referred family and friends and they have purchased (5 additional sales). We have made numerous friends over the years and look forward to seeing them on our return. The Villas well appointed and clean, the grounds are well kept and the employee’s we come in contact are all fantastic. They always make feel like this is our second home.
Over the past few years the Royal Sands, to our disappointment, has taken a few steps backwards. The meals orders off their restaurant menu are not the quality of the past. My wife, guest and I order prime rib and were all disappointed in with the quality of that cut. We all felt we could have received better at one our local restaurant at a much lower price. What really upset me was the time it took when having lunch (again when order off their menu) it always took an hour or longer. If you were having the buffet this was not an issue. Service at the pool bar has always been great in the past. This year I think this has slipped some. Rumor is staff reduction.
A big disappointment was the big change of the welcoming party on Sunday afternoon. Member and guest participation was almost null thanks to the cuts and changes made there. I feel it’s going the way of the taco party of past.
The Royal Sands is making a couple changes. One: there are replacing Interval International with RCI. I’m not sure what this means to members, but I can’t help thinking the Sands will benefit more than its members. The sales staff had meeting with the members to inform us of the changes and ever one we talked with was of the same opinion, the sales staff didn’t have the knowledge to present this to its members. They could not answer many of the questions the members present and misinformed some. Two: They are incorporating “All Inclusive” and for many this will fulfill their needs and for others, such as my wife and self, would be a disaster and force us to trade out of the Royal Resort properties. As long as All Inclusive remains an option to members we will continue to vacation at the Sands.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We always take seriously the feedback we receive from our customer and yours won't be an exception. We strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our customers and we regret to learn we didn't achieve this goal with you. We'll make sure to put extra attention to service at Pool Bar. We take pride on our service's warmth and reading this comment is unacceptable according to our quality standards, we'll conduct an investigation around this subject to insure none of our customers will ever feel this way. Finally: There's no plan to make All Inclusive mandatory for any of our members. All Inclusive will remain optional.

We honestly hope you've enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Cancun and are looking forward to welcome you again here at provide you the service you've come to expect from Royal Resorts.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingsw
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

As always another fantastic vacation with the family at the Sands. Been a member for 9 years and I love everything about Cancun, Mexico and the Royal Sands. We had great dinners at Thai and La Palapas on the bay with moonlight and music. The kids love the kids club and volleyball! Does it get any better? Oh Yes the beach at the sands, the service, the people, and the pool. It's just what I needed. Phase 1 party all day and Phase 2 relax and rejuvenate! Can't wait till next year!

Room Tip: Beach front is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This resort has changed dramatically over the last few years so when reviewing these reviews be sure that they are current.

First off the drink menu at the pool bar does not list prices for drinks. When asked the servers most of the time do not know the prices themselves and have to go ask.

This resort counts towels and it is very difficult to get more towels than one per person.

On the pool deck their are not enough umbrellas. When requested the security staff said they would look into it and get back to us which did not happen.

The pool in phase II was full of kids. Kids are to be in the kids pool. Security continually allowed kids throughout splashing water and being very loud. Rules were not enforced.

On a positive note the beach is great. It is very well taken care of with the sand groomed nightly.
The staff is very friendly and most know english very well although I attempted to speak as much spanish as possible. The gym/spa was the highlight of the resort! Great sauna, jacuzzi, showers, and weights. The coffee shop was great as well.

Room Tip: The rooms are very basic. Nothing very special to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have stayed at all of the Royal Resports in Cancun and are an owner at the Simpson Bay Resort in St. Maarten which is affiliated with Royal Resorts. Their slogan is, "In Search of Excellence" and the management and staff really do seem to strive for this goal.

The Royal Sands is probably the premier location in Cancun among the five resorts located here.The onsite restaurants are very good and have a nice variety among gourmet (read, "expensive"), inexpensive and in-between. Best of all the villas are very comfortable so you won't mind staying in and preparing your own meals some nights to relax before the next beach day. They have an in-house travel agency, Thomas Moore, with whom you can arrange airport transfers from home and an assortment of various day tips and activities.

The large pool is spectacular and the entrire resort is well suited to families. The beach is exquisite and only a few steps from the pool. It is clear management tries to foster a family atmosphere while allowing for a reasonable amount of "fun" with two swim up bars int he main pool.

What has always amazed me is that staff performing even the most menial, tedious tasks do so diligently. They really do appreciate the value tourism brings to the area and do not want to risk seeing it diminish.

We will return to Cancun and hopefully a Royal Resort here many more times in the future.

Room Tip: The onsite store has a good variety of essentials but you may want to plan a start of the vacation r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We value your kind words and we find them very rewarding. We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction available and we're glad to learn you've really enjoyed your stay. As you point out: we are always In Search of Excellence and we know that the hard work done by our staff is the greatest component to the greatest results.

We are already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We love the Royal Sands in Cancun! It is a beautiful destination spot, with the beautiful aqua blue water and the white sand beaches! We enjoyed staying at the hotel because the rooms are lovely and the grounds and areas of the hotel are so clean. The restaurants included in the all inclusive package are wonderful! We didn't take advantage of the all inclusive but we did eat at some of the restaurants offered and the food was excellent!
You can't go wrong with the Royal Resorts Sands Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words and sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Cancun. We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to this resort for 6 years and while the location and the oceanfront view hasn't changed the amenities and service have gone so far downhill it was a chore to stay there. The linens are so thin I thought I was at Motel 6. We used to enjoy "steak night" but since they have gone all-inclusive the food is mediocre and the steak was inedible. The drinks are in smaller cups and there is no alcohol in them. They do not provide any toiletries or paper towels. There are many other choices that offer much more value for the money and have the ocean view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

Our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. Nevertheless, we always strive to provide the highest level of satisfaction and we regret that we didn't achieve this goal with you. We are sharing this information with the management so we can examine all of your comments as a team and provide a prompt answer to insure this perception is not shared by all of our guests and visitors.

We sincerely hope you've enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Cancun.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a breathtaking beach location, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for a week of Royal relaxation.The Royal Sands® sits at the center of Cancun’s spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.