We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed impressions, overall OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive to your Saves list
The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Saint Valentine's Offer!
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mixed impressions, overall OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Royal Sands Cancun and returned with mixed impressions.
Our vacation in this resort got off on the wrong foot - when we first arrived to check-in we discovered that we were assigned a room on the first floor in front of the pool. One of the reasons we chose this ocean-front resort in the first place was to enjoy a nice quiet room with an ocean view, and needless to say that a room on the first floor right over the pool will provide us neither.
We asked the receptionist to change to a different room and the guy called someone on the phone to inquire about options. At that point a whole debate broke out between our receptionist, the colleague next to him in the reception and the third guy on the phone. They spoke in Spanish but little did they know that my wife speaks Spanish and understood every word they said. It seems that they had other rooms available but our receptionist decided that we were not nice enough to have them, and argued with his colleagues that urged him to give us one of the rooms. After my wife decided to join the conversation and told him that we understood every word that he's saying, an alternative room was magically found and was offered to us. Alas, the adventure didn't end there - The guy then told us that since this is a timeshare based resort, all the rooms should be cleared on Saturday and we'll have to move to a different room on Saturday noon. Knowing that it will be hard to switch to a different hotel at that point in time, we decided to take the room and just learn our lesson (BTW - Upon returning home I did find out that somewhere at the bottom of the hotel's fine print it is mentioned that this may happen)

Now to other impressions from our stay:
- The resort itself is not bad, the rooms were clean and it was obvious that they keep the public areas very clean as well. Most of the employees (other than the receptionist...) where quite nice, especially the waiters in the La Veranda (Alejandro was our favorite waiter - so kind and friendly that he made us feel right at home, well done!)
- The room switch on Saturday was smooth. The guy came within the time window and was very efficient. Still it was annoying to wait in the room for the process, especially since it's a 2 hour window in the middle of the day.
- The room description mentions a "wired high speed Internet" which was crucial for me for doing some work, unfortunately upon arrival I discovered that the hotel does NOT have any wired Internet connection and the only option is Wifi.
- We had a chance to try the "Hacienda Sisal" restaurant which was included in our package and it was very good. The fact that you can sometimes have a dinner outside the resort is a big plus, as there are no other decent alternatives around the resort.
- OTOH the location of the hotel is not bad, approx 15 minutes walk from the La Isla mall.
- If you think about calling room service - plan ahead of time. I tried to use them once and called to ask for a bottle of water. 30 minutes later no bottle in sight, so I called to confirm. An hour later still nothing in sight, so I called to cancel and went down myself to buy a bottle in the market (which is quite handy actually). Half an hour later - the guy from room service came with the water that I asked 2 hours earlier...
- We didn't like the fact that every time we ordered something we had to give our room key and then wait for the bill. Not a big deal but kinda annoying considering the fact that we already have a bracelet... Maybe this is the way that all-inclusive works these days, but it's surely not as fun as it used to be a few years ago.

All in all - we had a decent time in this hotel but learned a couple of important lessons from this vacation:
1. If your vacation includes a weekend - don't go to a resort... or at least make sure, upon reservation, that you won't have to switch rooms in the middle of your stay.
2. One rude receptionist can really put a damper on your whole vacation... If you happen to deal with one during check-in, don't let him ruin your day - simply ask for someone else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding the service at our resort.

We are very sorry and kindly ask your apologies for those incidents during your vacations, this it is not the kind of impression or welcome way we want to project to our guests. However I am addressing your comments to our Guest Service Manager and Food and Beverage Manager in order to take the right measures to improve our customer service.

We are happy to learn you had an overall good experience and sincerely hope to have another chance to welcome you and give you the best of The Royal Experience.

Kind regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    433
    172
    76
    29
See reviews for
807
602
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We traded in our time-share for a week at The Royal Sands. Our first complaint was that we traded in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit w/ living area and kitchen and ended up with the "B" unit which is a nicely appointed hotel room but does not have a living/sitting area. We were in Phase I and on a positive note our view from the room was stunning - overlooking the pool area and straight out to the incredibly blue ocean. As a time-share swap we were required to participate in the "all-inclusive" package which had it's positives and negatives. Positives: all food/beverages included except for premium items on the menu; nice buffet breakfast with something for everyone in La Veranda; not too much decision making on where to eat dinner (why pay real money when you can eat at one of the 4 that are part of the package). Negatives: felt a bit like 2nd class citizens when some of our beverages came out in styrofoam cups and others were getting bottles (coco-colas, beers); took us a day or two to figure out that our dinner reservations could only be made day of and were limited to 5 pm, 6 pm and around 8 pm - either way too early or a bit later than preferred. With the exception of the All-Inclusive we thought the resort was amazing - gorgeous setting, nice beach, incredibly friendly and helpful staff who will do absolutely anything for you. We took advantage of some of the day trips and loved them. Also loved Fernanda and Jankiel - our concierge folks - they took great care of us. We would definitely return to a Royal Resort and to Cancun. As a side note: great to watch the Superbowl in the Side LIne bar and our hometeam won. What could be better!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post about our resort.

We value your opinion and will make sure your comments are reviewed by the appropiate channels so that our service may improve. We'll make sure to praise Fernanda and Jankiel for providing such an amazing service.

We hope to have another chance to give you the service you come to expect from Royal Resorts.

Best Regards,

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I loved my stay at Royal Sands. The staff's friendliness rates an "excellent." The sound of the waves 24/7 were a soothing, blissful cadence. What a view! The food was first-rate. The breakfast buffet chef was amazing! My bed was very comfortable. The elevators were efficient. The weather was close to perfect. I loved the lap pool-great exercise. Room was very clean and comfortable.
I would have enjoyed lounging on the sand but the chairs always had towels on them. I have an intolerance to wheat gluten so couldn't order a mixed drink w/o paying way too much.
Enjoyed the "back of the house" tour. Quite interesting.
Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We're so glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Our resorts have a policy that asks members and guests not to leave towels on beach chairs they are not using. Thank you for reporting this, we will continue to enforce this policy.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just returned from a week at the royal sands in Cancun. Overall, we had a fantastic week, great weather, great location and generally positive about the royal sands hotel.

Pros:

Great staff, Gerardo at the char hut pool bar (phase II) is a legend... Really looked after us!
The pool waiters serve you drinks and even bring you your lunch to your lounger which is really cool...

Everyone staying there was really friendly with us...lots of American couples who own the timeshare units... Lovely people..

It's really good that the all inclusive restaurants are spread out, the main one on site buffet style as normal, but then 3 offsite, captains cove which is fantastic, hacienda sisal which is pretty good and el conquistador which we didn't get to try but we heard good things about it.

Great location with free shuttle service between the other royal hotels (and all incl restaurants)
Great food throughout
Good amenities on site
Lovely pool area / pool bars
Great beach, see can be a bit rough though
Clean throughout

Cons:

We found the rooms themselves to be more 4* standard, the overall hotel is a good 5* standard otherwise. Clean and totally fine with nice sea views, just quite basic decor though and not in keeping with rest of the resort.

The all inclusive setup is still quite new we understood and as yet I would say they havent found the right way of managing it.. The resort is primarily timeshare for Americans, so we were only one of a few people with all inclusive. Even though you have a wristband, you still have to give in your card and sign a printed bill for every single thing you have...

Probably the main con for us was that you seem to get disturbed a lot whilst in your room... We had the personal concierge call on us the 1st evening asking to go to the welcome meeting, fine no issue...but then started trying to get us to go on a boat trip, then attend a timeshare presentation (albeit under the guise of something else). Then at 7.30am the next morning, she called our room asking if we had decided if we wanted go on the boat trip... once we asked reception to stop disturbing it it was ok.

In general, the royals sands is a great place to stay, we would go again just for the people experience alone (staff and other guests). Hopefully they will get the all inclusive thing sorted soon, otherwise definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We'll make sure to praise Gerardo and the rest of the staff at Char Hut for doing such a good job and giving you the best of the Royal Experience. As you pointed out: Our resort is a mixed use resort which could lend itself to a few challenges we appreciate your kind comments as they are very important in order to make the necessary adjustments to provide all our guests memorable experiences.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I and our two kids ( ages 23 and 18 ) did a family vacation on 1/26/13-2/2/13. This resort was absolutely beautiful and meticulously clean. We couldn't have been happier with the Villa, food, restaurant varieties and service. The Char-Hut was our favorite lunch spot the fish tacos were amazing...Our server Miguel was so sweet and welcomi6ng every afternoon we wanted to take him home!!!!!
My only complaint would be the "members" are rude and obviously feel entitled...they would get up at the crack of dawn to throw towels down to save ALL the pool and beach chairs!!!!there is a sign that says security monitors this but the chairs continued to be saved day after day!!!the resort needs to come up with another way to prevent this...It would be one thing if they were being used but they sat empty all day!!!!!!!
I would definately go back to this resort in fact we are planning another trip for next year!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments about our resort.

We are so happy to learn you enjoyed your vacation. We'll praise Miguel for doing such a great job. We know he's a nice guy and we're happy to have staff members like him who are willing to provide the best of the Royal Experience.

Our resorts have a policy that asks members and guests not to leave towels on beach chairs they are not using. Thank you for reporting this, we will continue to enforce this policy.

We're waiting to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards!

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Royal Sands is a beautiful hotel right on the Caribbean. Crystal clear blue water with clean white sand beaches. They actually have people every morning go out on the beach and gather seaweed and pick up trash. The beach is gorgeous! The hotel is clean and the food is amazing. I can't wait to go back! There's a market right in the hotel-very convenient! We stayed in a villa. The villa had 2 bedrooms, a living room, kitchen and large patio overlooking the pool and the ocean. Maid service was unbelievable. The maid comes in everyday but Sunday and cleans & makes your beds. I've never seen anything like this in a hotel in the US. Royal Resorts is First Class!

Room Tip: All rooms look to be Pool & Ocean View- There is Phase 1 & Phase 2....looking out to the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post about our resort.

We're happy to learn you had a great time during your stay at our resort. We are already looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was a wonderful place. The only thing I could possible complain about is the spotty wifi, but hey, you're on vacation in Mexico, you don't need to be online all day anyway. The place was clean (spotless,really), safe, and friendly. Will DEFINITELY come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments.

We're happy to learn you had a great time during your stay on our resort. We're always listening to our customers feedback and rest assured yours won't be an exception and we'll find ways to improve.

We hope to see you again soon and welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a breathtaking beach location, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for a week of Royal relaxation.The Royal Sands® sits at the center of Cancun’s spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.