We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you say "Paradise"?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Royal Sands to your Saves list
The Royal Sands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100US Resort Credit FREE
Ranked #23 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
“Can you say "Paradise"?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I loved my stay at Royal Sands. The staff's friendliness rates an "excellent." The sound of the waves 24/7 were a soothing, blissful cadence. What a view! The food was first-rate. The breakfast buffet chef was amazing! My bed was very comfortable. The elevators were efficient. The weather was close to perfect. I loved the lap pool-great exercise. Room was very clean and comfortable.
I would have enjoyed lounging on the sand but the chairs always had towels on them. I have an intolerance to wheat gluten so couldn't order a mixed drink w/o paying way too much.
Enjoyed the "back of the house" tour. Quite interesting.
Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We're so glad to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Our resorts have a policy that asks members and guests not to leave towels on beach chairs they are not using. Thank you for reporting this, we will continue to enforce this policy.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    384
    149
    65
    28
See reviews for
704
530
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just returned from a week at the royal sands in Cancun. Overall, we had a fantastic week, great weather, great location and generally positive about the royal sands hotel.

Pros:

Great staff, Gerardo at the char hut pool bar (phase II) is a legend... Really looked after us!
The pool waiters serve you drinks and even bring you your lunch to your lounger which is really cool...

Everyone staying there was really friendly with us...lots of American couples who own the timeshare units... Lovely people..

It's really good that the all inclusive restaurants are spread out, the main one on site buffet style as normal, but then 3 offsite, captains cove which is fantastic, hacienda sisal which is pretty good and el conquistador which we didn't get to try but we heard good things about it.

Great location with free shuttle service between the other royal hotels (and all incl restaurants)
Great food throughout
Good amenities on site
Lovely pool area / pool bars
Great beach, see can be a bit rough though
Clean throughout

Cons:

We found the rooms themselves to be more 4* standard, the overall hotel is a good 5* standard otherwise. Clean and totally fine with nice sea views, just quite basic decor though and not in keeping with rest of the resort.

The all inclusive setup is still quite new we understood and as yet I would say they havent found the right way of managing it.. The resort is primarily timeshare for Americans, so we were only one of a few people with all inclusive. Even though you have a wristband, you still have to give in your card and sign a printed bill for every single thing you have...

Probably the main con for us was that you seem to get disturbed a lot whilst in your room... We had the personal concierge call on us the 1st evening asking to go to the welcome meeting, fine no issue...but then started trying to get us to go on a boat trip, then attend a timeshare presentation (albeit under the guise of something else). Then at 7.30am the next morning, she called our room asking if we had decided if we wanted go on the boat trip... once we asked reception to stop disturbing it it was ok.

In general, the royals sands is a great place to stay, we would go again just for the people experience alone (staff and other guests). Hopefully they will get the all inclusive thing sorted soon, otherwise definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We'll make sure to praise Gerardo and the rest of the staff at Char Hut for doing such a good job and giving you the best of the Royal Experience. As you pointed out: Our resort is a mixed use resort which could lend itself to a few challenges we appreciate your kind comments as they are very important in order to make the necessary adjustments to provide all our guests memorable experiences.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I and our two kids ( ages 23 and 18 ) did a family vacation on 1/26/13-2/2/13. This resort was absolutely beautiful and meticulously clean. We couldn't have been happier with the Villa, food, restaurant varieties and service. The Char-Hut was our favorite lunch spot the fish tacos were amazing...Our server Miguel was so sweet and welcomi6ng every afternoon we wanted to take him home!!!!!
My only complaint would be the "members" are rude and obviously feel entitled...they would get up at the crack of dawn to throw towels down to save ALL the pool and beach chairs!!!!there is a sign that says security monitors this but the chairs continued to be saved day after day!!!the resort needs to come up with another way to prevent this...It would be one thing if they were being used but they sat empty all day!!!!!!!
I would definately go back to this resort in fact we are planning another trip for next year!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments about our resort.

We are so happy to learn you enjoyed your vacation. We'll praise Miguel for doing such a great job. We know he's a nice guy and we're happy to have staff members like him who are willing to provide the best of the Royal Experience.

Our resorts have a policy that asks members and guests not to leave towels on beach chairs they are not using. Thank you for reporting this, we will continue to enforce this policy.

We're waiting to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards!

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Royal Sands is a beautiful hotel right on the Caribbean. Crystal clear blue water with clean white sand beaches. They actually have people every morning go out on the beach and gather seaweed and pick up trash. The beach is gorgeous! The hotel is clean and the food is amazing. I can't wait to go back! There's a market right in the hotel-very convenient! We stayed in a villa. The villa had 2 bedrooms, a living room, kitchen and large patio overlooking the pool and the ocean. Maid service was unbelievable. The maid comes in everyday but Sunday and cleans & makes your beds. I've never seen anything like this in a hotel in the US. Royal Resorts is First Class!

Room Tip: All rooms look to be Pool & Ocean View- There is Phase 1 & Phase 2....looking out to the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post about our resort.

We're happy to learn you had a great time during your stay at our resort. We are already looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was a wonderful place. The only thing I could possible complain about is the spotty wifi, but hey, you're on vacation in Mexico, you don't need to be online all day anyway. The place was clean (spotless,really), safe, and friendly. Will DEFINITELY come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments.

We're happy to learn you had a great time during your stay on our resort. We're always listening to our customers feedback and rest assured yours won't be an exception and we'll find ways to improve.

We hope to see you again soon and welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We brought my son and his new wife down and rented a suite from an owner facing the ocean. We had an all inclusive at another facility for 3 days prior to coming to the Sands. I have been coming the royal resorts for 11 years with my family. My brother is buidling with the Grand Residence. You cannot beat the Royal resorts, my son was so disappointed in the all inclusive where we stayed, when we arrived at the Royal Sands he was amazed. Great service, great food. Clean facility. Absolutely loved it. We will be back every year. Close to everything which made it easy for the kids to jump a bus.

Room Tip: Loved the ocean view much quieter than the villa my brother owns facing the pool. Though windy love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our resort.

We're always glad to learn stories about families coming for years and years to our resorts. It's very important for us to provide good service in order to become part of your family and welcome you into ours.

We are already looking forward to welcome here at your home away from home.

Warm regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Myself and 4 girlfriends rented a timeshare from a friend for the week.
Check in was quick and effortless. As a guest of an owner, we were not required top purchase the all inclusive package and chose not too. As such, they provided us all with room keys which were specific to each of us so that we could all make our purchases.
The Market is a small grocery store that has everything in it.......from booze to groceries to deli items (the guacomole is awesome). Prices at the market were very fair.
Activities- I swam laps in the ADULTS ONLY lap pool (adult only was a nice touch). We played Bingo poolside, did water aerobics and played bocchi ball. It was all really fun!!!
Our room was beautiful and clean. Plenty of towels to go around for us 5 girls.
The view was breathtaking.
The area clean and safe and lots of shopping within walking distance.
This was my first trip to Cancun and I will be back.
Thank you Royal Sands for such a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share this kind words about our resort.

We are very happy to learn you and your fellow travellers had a great time at Royal Sands. We appreciate you noticed the hard work done by our staff in order to keep the facilities clean and enjoyable.

Don't forget to share some pictures from that view ;).

We are looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to the Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a breathtaking beach location, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for a week of Royal relaxation.The Royal Sands® sits at the center of Cancun’s spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.