We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sands

Save Saved
You added The Royal Sands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Sands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This resort is well maintained and run professionally. From the moment that you check in to check out, you will be treated with courtesy and feel specal. Amenties include pool, beach, restaurants, bars, spa, market, boutique, jewelry store, business center, tennis courts, sports desk & childrens programs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you take to review our services. We are always listening to our customers feedback and your comment will not be an exception.

We hope to welcome you again soon and give you the service you deserve.

Warm regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,031
    340
    136
    63
    24
See reviews for
631
474
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rye Brook, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife, son, and I stayed at The Royal Sands from 1/19-1/26 this year. Our apartment was superb - clean, large, and with a great view of the pool and the ocean. The hotel offers an all-inclusive plan which may not be good for everyone but we were able to find 3 very good restaurants for dinner - Hacienda Sisal, El Conquistador, & Captain's Cove. Buffet breakfast at La Veranda and lunch on the beach for all very good. Service is impeccable at this hotel. the staff always smiles and eventually knows your name. The place is spotless and constantly being maintained. Great sugary beach and three huge pools. Lots of exciting activities going on all week long. A shuttle transfers you conveniently to all their other properties.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide a personalized experience to our visitors and we are glad to know you got it from our staff.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Girt, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We exchanged our time share for a week at the Royal Sands in Cancun. We were scheduled to be there from Nov. 24 to Dec. 1 of 2012. About 3 weeks before we were scheduled to fly out we were informed that the Royal Sands had just become an "all inclusive" and that we would be paying $150.00 per person per day for food and drinks as non-owners... no choice. We didn't think too much about it because we heard that the food was great and we had everything booked so it was too late to switch.
The hotel was lovely and very clean, but for $150.00 a day each we did get a great breakfast and that was where it ended. There were very few choices of restaurants to go to and those had special menu selections for the all inclusive...if you like to eat chicken every day you had no problem. If your favorite alcoholic drinks were "house" wines and liquors you were fine! (As a non-drinker I figured about $15.00 a glass for iced tea.) The only people who could possibly break even on this would be someone who wanted to literally eat and drink ALL DAY long.
Frankly this experience so turned us off that we were glad to leave and will never go back to Cancun again.
A very bad business decision on the part of the Royal Sands Resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding the service at our resort. We value your opinion and will make sure your comments are reviewed by the appropriate channels so that our service may improve.

Our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges. Regardless, we hope to always achieve a high level of satisfaction and are sorry we were not able to during your stay. We feel it is important to point out that customers who exchange into our property are charged $105 per adult per day, not the $150 you mention in your review, perhaps these numbers were accidently transposed. If you believe you were charged $150 rather than $105, please contact us so that we can investigate what may have occurred.

Best regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A two bedroom villa - all ocean view and poolside is a real plus. It is the cleanest property I have ever experiences. Value is tremendous for a villa vs. a room at a hotel. There is no comparison how nice it is to have a full kitchen and two bathrooms, grocery store, etc. Service is exceptional!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We enjoyed a week of bliss at The Royal Sands Resort! Exceptional staff! Our concierge, Antonio, was very helpful by telling us about some places to visit. We were able to go to other Royal Resort locations. We were invited to go on a Sunset Cruise one night, which was included in our all-inclusive package. It was a lot of fun and the sunset was gorgeous, even with the clouds. We didn't encounter ANY pressure in attending a presentation to buy a timeshare! Very relaxing and enjoyable vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a midwinter getaway. We were able to get a great all inclusive deal online and the price was much less than other all inclusive in Cancun. The hotel is not short of beautiful views that will make all your friends back home jealous. The decor is less contemporary and more conservative as they cater more to families. But with 2 pools and plenty of bars,there's ample room to enjoy yourself without feeling like your babysitting.

Disclaimer: This hotel is mostly occupied by Time Share owners so its mostly retirees and families. That being said, it was still a great spot to spend a few days with friends. We were up later than most of the other guests but never seemed to bother anyone. The bars and restaurants do close early (11pm being the latest) but this worked out great for dinner and drinks before heading out to the clubs.

The staff was extremely accommodating with any needs that we had. They never hesitated to drop whatever they were doing to walk us to a restaurant or point us toward the gym. The service is the main reason why I would return to this hotel.

The all inclusive package offered food and drink that was far superior to what I've experienced elsewhere.. The only buffet was the breakfast at the main restaurant, La Veranda, but even that had some great options. There is a surcharge for some menu items but more than enough options that had no surcharge so it was never an issue.

The Char Hut right on the pool was our daily stop for afternoon snacks and drinks. Great tacos and bar food with many options on the menu. However some of the portions were on the smaller side, especially the appetizers. We did have 1 issue with the manager asking us to remove a few items from our order, although we ordered 16 plates of food for 5 people so we had no problem obliging (eyes bigger than the stomach syndrome). Also a great place to enjoy a drink at the swim up bar.

La Veranda restaurant is a popular choice for last minute dinner if you didn't make reservations anywhere else. The wait staff was extremely professional and didn't seem to mind if we came in towards the end of the night. Good food and drinks and the outside seating by the pool offered a great setting for a casual meal.

La Hacienda Sisal was my least favorite of all the restaurants. The place is beautiful and fully decked out in traditional Mexican hacienda style. The food however did not match the decor. The guacamole was OK, but nothing special. I ordered the chicken mole enchiladas as my main course and the mole was so sweet that I didn't even finish. The desserts were alright but I've had many better tres leches cake. They did have a flaming coffee that another table ordered that was impressive to watch. Also, they do a buffet dinner on weeknights that we didn't see so maybe our experience would had been different if we had.

My favorite dinner spot was definitely The Captains Cove. This is short shuttle ride away from the Royal Sands but is still part of the all inclusive package. The waiters were professional but funny and went out of their way to give us a great experience. All of the seafood was fresh and prepared using local ingredients. I recommend the grouper that was prepared Mayan style with tomatoes and onions on top. We even received a complimentary amuse-bouche and round of shots. Definitely worth the trip over.

Since our group was 5 people we were able to book a sweet with 2 rooms, a living room, kitchen, 2 baths, and a balcony. On the 8th floor we had an incredible view of the ocean and overlooked the smaller of the 2 pool areas. Hanging out on the balcony on our less raucous nights was perfect for just relaxing and playing cards. Coming back to a meticulously cleaned room after a long day at the beach was truly a luxurious experience. And the chocolates the maid left on the beds with the message "dulces suenos" for turn down service gave a very personal touch.

The pools and beach always had chairs available and if not, you don't have to look far to find someone to scrounge them up for you. The main pool with the disappearing edge had the most picturesque view, but we spent more time at the smaller pool next to the Char Hut. Be sure to get out early and claim your spot on the beach as the slew of early risers here start putting their towels down at around 7. Also, unless you feel like participating in the water aerobics class, avoid the main pool at around 11am.

The gym is well equipped with lots of treadmills and cardio machines and a surprising amount of free weights. They even had a bench press machine. Its much less crowded at night than in the morning so if you can hold off until the PM you'll have less traffic.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a great all inclusive hotel in Cancun without a high price. A $10 cab ride will get you to the strip in about 5 minutes which makes this a great option if you're looking to hit the clubs at night. I would not recommend this for anyone looking to stay up late into the night partying in their room before you go out as there are many older guests and the place is a ghost town after 11pm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
ear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this extensive review about our resort.

We're glad to read your kind words about receiving such a good service from staff. We always strive to provide a personalized touch to our guests' experiences at Royal Resorts and we are happy to learn that you felt that way during your vacation with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during when you visit Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This resort is nice and the food is great! We had a 2 bedroom villa which was spacious and clean. The only thing we did not like was we had to change rooms on our third night because we were not leaving on Saturday. Pools are nice and clean. Love the swim up bar! Great atmostphere. Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Sands, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. Your comments are very important for us.

Our resort is a mixed use resort, reason why you had to change rooms on saturday. We understand your discomfort but rest assured we will put more attention on such details in order to improve our service.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#27 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a breathtaking beach location, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for a week of Royal relaxation.The Royal Sands® sits at the center of Cancun’s spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.