We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idylic beach, comfy resort, touristy nearby venues” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive to your Saves list
The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Special Sale!
Ranked #27 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Idylic beach, comfy resort, touristy nearby venues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Been to alot of beaches and this is one of the most idylic endless stretches of pure white sand against pure blue waters. ...Definitely the major attraction of Cancun.

The resort is set up for comfort:
- higher end with all the ammenities but without wasteful glamour
- convenient/safe cashless system where everything is billed to each individual's account
- on-site market so you can cook in your own villa
- very helpful and friendly staff throughout (catering to repeat business)
- only one main road to easily pick up buses to nearby bars/restaurants
- or remain in the refuge of the resort

Cancun in general is obviously very touristy so expect all the resulting pros/cons from nearby venues: all the partying spots, shopping, and excursions on sale 24x7

Room Tip: The resort is shaped like two horseshoes wrapped around the pool areas offering everyone some view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    463
    184
    80
    31
See reviews for
842
635
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardner, KS
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying as owners guests here every couple years for the last 10 years. The week was great and the service was good. The best thing about this resort is watching the sunrise.

If you have younger kids you may notice that the kids pool in phase 1 is always crowded. Go over to phase 2 and use that kids pool, it is twice the size and seems to be vacant most of the time.

We did notice a few changes with the all inclusive. There were a few more people there during week 50, the drinks are not as strong, and twice we noticed a little more of a drunken atmosphere in the early evening which was not so great for our kids.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Best and only place I've ever been in Cancun. Don't do a timeshare preso unless you have to.
beach great. water great. pool great. rooms great. food, meh... go into town. service great. new tvs just installed. ping pong tournament too for those wanting a challenge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from a family vacation at the Royal Sands. The beach and pool are very pretty as is the view from an Oceanfront villa. A few more palapa's and extra umbrellas for the beach would solve the tendency of some to horde. The villa was clean with more than adequate space for 4 adults. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is excellent; away from the more commercial end of the strip, but within walking distance of several good restaurants. Rented directly from an owner so did not have to purchase the all inclusive plan. Made our own breakfasts in the villa (the Market is well stocked); lunch in the poolside restaurants or the beach was acceptable if not inspired; and had our dinners out at several nice restaurants. Gym is well equipped (daily or weekly pass extra) and the Spa is attractive. Free WiFi available, but slow.

Room Tip: Oceanfront villas have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from a family vacation in Cancun, Mexico. There were two adults and four teenagers in our group.

We were greeted at the airport by the airport transportation company recommended by the resort. Thomas Moore (the agency) gave us professional, punctual, and courteous service, upon arrival and departure.

Once at the resort, we were thrilled by all the holiday decorations and the fresh scent at the reception desk. We were checked in quickly, our bags were delivered to our room by the bellmen and we were escorted to our villa by our concierge, Rob. He was friendly and enthusiastic, but he was not “pushy” like some of the comments I read on this site regarding the concierge. I explained that we were not feeling well and had no interest in any welcoming receptions. He was respectful of our wishes and left our villa, after giving us a welcoming gift.

Our villa was perfect for a family of six. The rooms were immaculate, the beds and furniture were comfortable. We did think the villas needed some updating, but the villa was enjoyable overall and the balconies and views were most appreciated. We really liked the use of the kitchen and living area and we made breakfast all seven days of our vacation. (We made our reservations in April, before the resort became all-inclusive.) We loved the convenience of the market and visited it frequently. The prices were reasonable, the shelves were well-stocked with the necessary items and the staff was helpful and cheerful.

We noticed how the staff worked so diligently to keep the resort neat and tidy. Norma was the maid who tended to our villa and really went out of her way to make us feel at home. I never saw any trash of any kind on the grounds and somebody was always cleaning something. You could feel the pride of the resort staff.

The pools and the beach were pristine and made our stay memorable. We did not have any problem getting lounge chairs on the beach or at the pools, except for Christmas Day, so we just adjusted a little with no worries.

We did go parasailing, body surfing, swimming, sunning and boogie boarding all at the resort. The girls had their hair braided by Laura and really enjoyed her talents. Two of the kids went sailing with Carlos, who was helpful and fun. He went out of his way to tend to our needs and wants. I got a 90 minute, deep tissue massage at the spa and it was the best I have ever experienced. In addition, three of the kids went to the arts and crafts area and painted pottery, which we picked up before our departure.

We ate almost every lunch at The Char Hut (swim-up restaurant at the pool) and had a delicious meal every time. The chef was excellent, as was the entire staff. Jose, Miguel, Eduardo and all the other staff were consistently pleasant, friendly and attentive. We really looked forward to seeing them each day.

We would most definitely recommend this fine resort. We had an excellent vacation and look forward to returning! We would not return, if our only option was all-inclusive, since we enjoy supporting the local eateries and having the freedom to dine outside the resorts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel was beautifully maintained. We stayed in part B of a members share. Our accommodations were very good...it was very spacious & good layout. However, our part didn't have access to the private deck & we had an old tube-style (not flat screen) tv! There were 2 places to eat, La Veranda & The Hacienda Sisal (Mexican). La Veranda had the same menu for both lunch and dinner! The Hacienda Sisal was excellent but if you do not make a reservation ahead of time, you would not get a table as a walk-in. The policy for the chairs by the pool & beach are not enforced and like the other reviews, the guests wake up at the crack of dawn, put a towel on the chairs/huts and leave them there for hours unused. I feel when you have the all-inclusive wrist band you get less waiter service than those that are not all-inclusive. Unlike other all-inclusives, the gratuity is not included so you are constantly in need of bringing cash with you everywhere for the gratuities. The wi-fi was practically non-existent. There was no complimentary business center. If you wanted to use a pc to print out boarding passes you needed to go to the on-site market which was extremely expensive! AND in order to purchase anything in the market, you have to open line of credit at the front desk, you cannot just charge a purchase or use cash/pesos which was extremely inconvenient. Unfortunately, the inconveniences of the hotel policies will keep me from returning to this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First let me emphasize that I own a timeshare at the Royal Resorts(Royal Caribbean) and this was an exchange to see what the newer resort was like. Let me say in the future it is back to the Royal Caribbean. While the service for the most part was excellent, we found the villa dirty and it took a complaint on the third day to get the maid to really clean it up. We had an infant with us and there was bird excrement on the terrace floor that required a complaint to management to clean up. Also we found that security that in the Royal Caribbean did not allow chairs and umbrellas to be reserved without people there, we saw groups going out at 7am to take 8 chairs and 3 umbrellas. The remainder of the resort was the usual excellent and kind service that we have come to love on our stays at Royal Resorts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sands(R), All-Inclusive, one of the best All-Inclusive resorts in the area, sits at the center of Cancun's spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. With a privileged location, five-star luxury, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for your next Caribbean vacation. Enjoy fine dining, activities and amenities offered by the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.