We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best staff in cancun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sands

Save Saved
You added The Royal Sands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Sands
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100US Resort Credit FREE
Ranked #25 of 174 hotels in Cancun
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best staff in cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The royal sands was great. We stayed in a villa that was extremely clean and had great furniture . The resorts staff was great. They took care of every need and pampered us everyday. The food choices on this resort was great but the true enjoyment was being able to eat at other local restaurants that were included in our all inclusive. The sports bar staff was great and made your night time enjoyable before you head out on the town. The pools were warm and clean. The maintenance staff at the sands was amazing. Everyday the cleaned the entire grounds and nothing was every out of place . The villas are great everyone one of them has an ocean view and a huge balcony. The beds were very comfortable and cleaned everyday.

The only things that could have been improved was the temperature of the breakfast buffet, it was a little cool. The other thing is that there is nothing to do at the resort after midnight, but there is plenty to do on the hotel strip of cancun.

Everyday was great at the royal sands and I will be going back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,075
    360
    139
    63
    26
See reviews for
673
492
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

First everything you have read about how great the beach, pools, staff resort is, are true. Problem, unless you are a Royal Resorts Owner you have to do the all inclusive. Ok why would you stay at a resort with a full kitchen and then do an all inclusive? Second $105 per day per person, for 6 of us that would be $4410 per week. We ate out all meals except breakfast, including drinks and eating at very nice places for dinner and spent under $2500 for the whole week. Hopefully they will come to their senses and stop the mandatory. They say it is what the owners wanted but I asked owners who where there and they said they had no say they were just told this is how it will be but as an owner you can opt out. All inclusives are bad for the local economy, no reason to patronize places outside the resort and no $ for the buses or taxis since you stay on site. As long as they are all inclusive I will never go back, the day they stop that requirement I will book a return trip! By the way because I booked prior to July 2012 I was able to opt out of the all inclusive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

- Week long stay in May '12 using a friend's exchanged time share; 2 bedroom villa in Phase II

My stay here was great and I would definitely return. The room was spacious, clean, and the staff was very professional and friendly. The market downstairs was perfect -- it provided almost all of our groceries and drinks.(We did venture to WalMart for a bigger selection--the bus ride there was a little long, though.) We tried the hotel's restaurant (awesome quesadillas & wings) and the Mexican restaurant right in front of the Royal Sands (delicious fajitas). Both of the property's pools are gorgeous and relaxing, and the views of the beach are perfect! The drinks at the pool bar weren't THAT great, so I'd suggest spiking them a little (lol). The location is a little ways from downtown, but this gives it a more secluded feel. The bus stop is right outside of the hotel and takes you to all the shopping areas and clubs for only a couple pesos. We booked various activities through the Royal Sand's Sports Desk and had a great time jet skiing, parasailing, driving speedboats & snorkeling.

Sidenote: Phase II's lobby had a constant aroma circulating throughout the space, and it smelled soo good! It was very therapeutic during check-in, check-out, and account handling.

A Coco Bongo employee comes around the beach/pool area and registers guests for tickets and roundtrip transportation to the club...if you see her, sign up! We got a nice deal, including open bar, and danced the night away at this Cancun hotspot. We also visited Senor Frogs and a few other bars in the downtown area. Definitely a fun time.

Room Tip: Beach-facing room on the 5th floor provided an unforgettable view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

There are some pros and cons about the Royal Sands. Overall, I can’t recommend this resort because the all-inclusive food cost is just too high for what you get and outweighs the benefits of the resort.

The pros:
• resort is clean and grounds are manicured.
• rooms are big with nice balconies and views of the ocean.
• two big pools so it’s easy to get a chair in the sun.
• big, clean beach area (although the beach chairs can all fill up).
• well-stocked market on the resort for snacks and beverages.
• near public transportation and the buses are inexpensive.
• on-site travel agency is very convenient.
• health spa is nice (but there is a daily charge to use it).

The cons:
• all-inclusive requirement is too expensive and yet there are still surcharges for some items.
• food is only mediocre despite high prices.
• very few restaurants on site.
• rooms are a little outdated and could use some refurbishing.
• if you get a room far from the lobby you have to walk quite far to get to and from your room (this could be a problem especially if you have kids so ask for a room close to the lobby).
• some other guests complained that their concierges were too pushy, but I personally did not have a problem with our concierge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The service at the sands is by far the best I've ever seen. Everyone who works there is so willing to please you feel like a queen.
The rooms were beautiful and spotless. The food was delicious. It was close to everything you needed. Prices in the giftshop were reasonable.
Only negative I'd have to say is we got the all inclusive but couldn't have the day specials without paying a surcharge. They had shrimp quiesidillas for special and we had all inclusive and still had to pay. Really wasn't fair.
But I did have a fabulous time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have been owners at the Sands since 2005 and although we have a choice to go somewhere else, we always end up here. The combination of the gorgeous beaches of Cancun and the people at the Sands make a total difference in our decision when choosing a location for vacationing. You see, there may be lots of beautiful places to choose from when you vacation, but in reality the five-star service that you get at the Sands is incredible and makes a difference. From the bellboys who greet you, to the maid service, the bar tenders, the activities advisors, the attention to detail is impeccable. What truly tells you about a company is the fact that they are able to keep the people who work for them. We've had our maid (the same one) year after year... Rodolfo our waiter at la Veranda, treats you with the same gracious service... the girls at the activities center are also very kind to our kids. For us, it truly is a no brainer where would we want to go an truly relax every year.
Rooms: Our villa has always been well kept and every year they keep on improving. The beds and pillows are super nice that you truly have a nice rest. The villas are kept very tidy every day. You get maid service every day with the exception of Sunday. For a family or four, like us, the kitchen has everything we need to fix a nice meal. We get our groceries from the market (on site) and can fix anything from breakfast to an elaborated meal. The rooms are spacious with lots of storage. If you buy at the Sands, you also get the option of splitting the use of your villa. The villas accommodate 6. However, if you are not going to be using the 2nd bedroom, you can lock it out and rent it. The 2nd room has a mini fridge, plates, coffee maker and a microwave. It also has a balcony. The master bedroom is very spacious and as mentioned before, that side of the villa comes fully equipped with all the amenities of a private condo. Every single villa has ocean view.
The Food: At La Veranda, everyday they have a different special, however, their a la carte choices are excellent. I particularly love their chicken marsalla. If you don't want to eat at La Veranda, you can go to the other Royal resorts restaurants by simply taking a free Royal Shuttle. They leave approximately every hour to the other resorts. Also, if you want to eat out, you are minutes away (walking distance) to fine restaurants located in the Hotel Zone.
The Spa: where do I start... I had an incredible time there. The sun has to go down at some point, and before you go and venture out into Cancun's night life, you can actually have literally Royal Treatment at a the Spa. The hosts are knowledgeable and depending on your needs and concerns they can build you a package specifically for you. I tried the Lomi Lomi, the Hot Stone massage, got a Vitamin C invigorating facial, and a hydrating wrap... I thank Cecilia, Cristina and Lidia who pampered me while there. All the staff at the Spa, as at the resort, pay attention to detail... they all made sure that I was having the time of my life while there. Next time I will venture and do a 90 minute swedish massage under the stars... This time it was really hard for me to decide between the gorgeous view of the ocean under a "palapa" being tended like royalty or being papered at the Spa.
Concierge: you have your personal concierge who is always finding ways to make your vacation more enjoyable. If you don't need him/her, its also fine. You can just do your thing without anyone interfering in your "me" time. However, if you have not been in Cancun before, they can arrange an array of activities to make the most out of your visit.
In any event, there is a place you can call your "home away from home" at the Royal Sands. It really is!

Room Tip: Villas on Phase II are quieter... I prefer our floor level villa... from there your bar tenders and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I am an owner in Florida, and traded my week for the Royal Sands. The place is not lavish, could use updating, but it was nice enough and was very clean. The service all over was excellent, front desk, servers, housekeeping, bellman, everyone.
A personal concierge is assigned to you when you arrive, however beware!! They are really there to convince you to buy their packages. I know the guy had a job to do, but after the third day, we felt were being stalked. (including while laying at the pool)He called on the phone and we did not answer.....he was supposed to make reservations for us and when he did, he came to our room to give us the reservation number which was NOT needed.........basically a ploy to see us, to try again to get us to go to their "presentation". At one point he even said " do this for my kids". We finally had to put the guy in his place and basically tell him to leave us along.
Unless you are an owner there you HAVE to buy the food plan (started in October) and its 740.00 per person......NOT worth it. The drinks although good, were weak....they would not deliver drinks to your room unless it included a food order....how stupid is that ? So we were forced to order food that we had no intention of eating and threw it away...Steaks and some seafood were additional charges, all the food at the Veranda was average, including the breakfast buffet. There are not many restaurants on property to choose from, but they do have restaurants off property to go to, that they shuttle you to and were very good.
The rooms were not very soundproof... I heard toilets flushing and showers running as if they were in my own room.
We did visit the spa, as they had great promotions and we had wraps, massages, facials and foot massages. The Spa, and treatments as well as the staff were ALL wonderful.
If it was not for the sales tactics and the food plan I would go back......but those 2 things made me gave this a thumbs down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a breathtaking beach location, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for a week of Royal relaxation.The Royal Sands® sits at the center of Cancun’s spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Royal Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.