We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Sands - Going All-Inclusive for Non-Owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive to your Saves list
The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
All Inclusive + 2 Tours!
Ranked #21 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Fredericton, New Brunswick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Royal Sands - Going All-Inclusive for Non-Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Royal Sands is a beautiful resort located directly on the Caribbean. The Sands is located on the long arm of the 7 (shape of hotel zone).

As always the people of Mexico are very kind and gracious hosts. The concerns of safety is really not an issue in Cancun. The bottom line is you need to be cautious even in your home cities, so if you are stumbling out of a bar at 3AM you are not going to be any more at risk in Cancun than at home!

Wireless internet is part of the package although it is a rather slow speed, but it is free and very convenient for checking in at home.

The resort is well maintained with staff constantly cleaning and working around the resort.

Beach vendors are not allowed into the palapa area unless invited by one of the guests so you don't have to constantly shoo away pesky vendors.

There is a market on site which has all of your essentials including liquor and a small drug store. The prices are a bit higher than the local Wal-Mart but it is convenient for items that you may have run out of at meal times.

As always in Cancun getting around the city is very easy with buses and taxis.

Because of the location there is a fair bit of surf and undertow at different times. This would be a big concern for small children so great care would be required. There are lifeguards and security on the beach until 5 PM each day so there are safeguards for the surf. There are a good number of palapas on the beach although the front row seats begin to disappear after 6 AM, by 7 AM the front row and most of the second rows are gone.

We had meals at both the Captains Cove and the Hacienda Sisal which are part of the Royal chain. Food and service were excellent at both locations. The Hacienda Sisal has shows two nights of the week so ask your concierge which nights are better for the entertainment. At the Captains Cove there are two alligators who will come into the area around the deck to get some food so again find out from the concierge when you are most likely to see the two alligators.

It should be noted, as pointed out in the title, that a recent decision has been made by the Board of Directors whereby all non-owners who rent any part of the villas will be required to purchase an all-inclusive package. In talks with one of the staff members it is going to range up to $150 per day per person. So a couple will spend an extra $1000 per week minimum for a stay plus what ever it cost you to rent. For example we stayed in a full suite for two weeks at a cost of $2800 adding on the minimum all-inclusive for a couple would have added another $2000 for a total of $4800 plus our airfare which is about $900-1000 per person. Unfortunately this is going to make the cost of the Sands uneconomical when compared to an all inclusive vacation. For example a family member stayed at an 5 star All-inclusive resort for $1000 per week per person, which would equate to $4000 for a two week stay.

All in all a beautiful resort, with great staff and an opportunity for a great beach vacation.

Room Tip: Go on line to Royal Resorts to get a site map and you can verify where the room is that you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm delighted to read that you had such a great time during your stay. Thank you for your very detailed review! I'm sure the information will come in handy for other travelers.

Regarding the All Inclusive, I'd like to inform you that details and prices will not be published until July 2, 2012. Therefore, any information you may have received is incorrect and we encourage you to wait for our official announcement. For more information about this, feel free to visit our website; we've got a section called "Packages" with all the information to help clear any misunderstandings.

Warm regards from Cancun,

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Royal Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    420
    162
    72
    28
See reviews for
779
580
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

2 weeks at the Royal Sands is not enough. We made our annual spring break trip to Cancun and the trip could not have been better. We have been owners since it opened in 2000 and it is one of the highlights of our year. The staff and service are fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becker, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very clean, pool and beach were great. Sports bar was a good place to watch basketball. Liked the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I own week six at the Royal Sands. I am on the fourth floor of the second phase. When I do stay there on my week, it is pure heaven. The Veranda in my opinion is the best Restaurant of all the Royal Restaurants. I am not saying that they all aren't good, but to me the Veranda is the best. My 1500' Villa is just awesome. More spacious than some of the best Hilton or Marriott suites that I've stayed in. The maids, the housekeepers, the maintenance people and everyone and anyone who works there are pleasant, curteous and always looking to please you and make your experience unforgettable. I have had to switch my regular week for a few years and will still have to switch for a few more but I can''t wait to get back to my regular week at the Sands. To me, this is the Crown Jewel in the Royal Resorts family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about the Royal Sands - Cancun!!
Great location, great service, great pool and beach and the fish taco's are to die for.
My kids want to know when we are going back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view. If you are with you family you want to request Phase II
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This isn't really a hotel. That said, we were not pushed into a meeting from the time share staff. The best things about the hotel are location, quiet rooms, great facilities (supermarket on site), service from staff and quality of food. The few things that were not great included people staking out deck chairs. It was literally impossible to find a seating around the pool or on the beach if you didn't go down at 6-8am and secure a spot with your green towel. One morning in particular we went for a swim at 9am and hardly a soul around but all the chairs are taken. Also the rooms are very 80'ish decor and one of our beds was worn out. These were minor issues though in a 4 star experience. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Section 2 is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Sands March 24-31. My wife, my 17 year old son and his friend, my 13 year old daughter and my mother. Everyone really enjoyed the week. The weather was perfect the entire week. The resort is very clean and spread out so you don't feel crowded. If you are looking to take your family to a place where you can relax by a beautiful pool or beach, this is a great place. Also, because It is a timeshare, many of the guests eat many of their meals in their rooms so the restaurants were not crowded. Never waited for a table once!

The airport transfer- avoid the first group of sales folks that approach you when you exit baggage claim. They are trying to sell you tickets and are very aggressive. Go past them until you find the Thomas Moore ground transportation outside area. Gold color shirts.

The rooms- very spacious and having a full kitchen was great. The beds were not very comfortable, too soft for us and the sofa and chairs were adequate, not very comfortable either. They could use an upgrade. We did get wifi in the room but it was slow and you need to launch your Internet browser each time you want to access their wifi.

The beach- Awesome! The sand was soft and didn't get too hot. The ocean waves were great for body surfing. My daughter and I loved playing in the water together. The beach is very clean and the water was also fairly clean, some seaweed in the ocean. The water temperature was great, warm and enjoyable. Waves can get rough at times.

The pool- awesome! However, you need to get up by 7:30am to put towels on the chairs you desire. The pools are very large and nice. They don't use too much chlorine. The waiters are mostly very attentive and get you food and drinks throughout the day. We chose the pool that was quieter and really enjoyed it.

The fitness area- lots of gym equipment. However the recumbent bikes are in need of repair or replacement. I just wish they didn't charge you $12 per day or $50 for the week. As a business traveler, I am not used to paying extra for the fitness center. Few hotels are still charging for access to the fitness area.

The restaurants- We really enjoyed the Hacienda Sisal. Great Mexican food. We also ate at the La Verdanda on Italian buffet night and the food was fairly good. Fish tacos at the Char Hut by the pool were excellent. However, our favorite restaurant was Harry's, about two blocks from the Royal Sands. Their steaks and seafood were outstanding but expensive. My daughter loved the food as well as the pop up clothes before the entree and the cotton candy they bring you when they deliver the check. Avoid the La Habichuela's Sunset restaurant and Mexican show. Food was awful, service was slow and the show was lame.

Fishing excursion- DON'T book a fishing trip through Thomas Moore. We had a bad experience. They told us the marina was 20 minutes away and it took 50 minutes. The taxi driver got lost. The last mile was on an unpaved road with lots of rocks and holes. The fishing equipment was subpar, the reel fell apart and the lines were too light for the barracudas, who broke the line while we tried to reel them in. The worst fishing trip we have ever experienced and when we told Thomas Moore's rep at the hotel, she blew us off. No apology and no sympathy. She didn't care, which was the most disappointing part of the whole experience. Book your fishing trips elsewhere!

The Royal Hacienda Timeshare in Riviera Maya- We took the day trip to this newer Royal Resorts property about 45 minutes from the Royal Sands. After getting a tour of the rooms and property, we were given the sales pitch on buying time shares with them. We then spent the rest of the day at their resort. The rooms are nicer than the Sands and the property is really nice. My daughter loved the hammicks. We went snorkeling, which was not much fun due to the small number of fish we actually saw. We learned that the beach is more rocky and a lot more dirty. We liked the beach at the Royal Sands better. They were not overly aggressive with their timeshare pitch, which we appreciated as we were not interested in buying one.

The buses- We used the R2 bus to go to WalMart (and took the taxi back) and that worked out well. It was safe and the prices at WalMart were much cheaper than the resort grocery store. For example, the sunscreen at the resort store was almost double the price at Walmart. We also took the bus to the mexican flea market and bought jewelry at good prices after haggling. Coral Negro is the name of the market. It was fun shopping there. We also took the bus to Harry's.

The personal concierge- We were very pleased with this service. We dialed 172 from our room and they made dinner reservations every night for us. Liugi was our concierge for the week and he was responsive and helpful.

Areas for improvement for the resort management to consider: 1) I liked being able to use our room card to charge things to our room but hated all of the paper receipts. I had a pile of them by the end of the trip. Very wasteful! 2) having to check out towels was annoying. Trust people to return them without signing them out. 3) don't require the guest to have to come to the front desk in the middle of the week when the amount of expenses exceed the credit amount taken at time of check in. Your guests should not have to spend their time in the middle of the week with payment issues. They should only have to deal with the bill once before they leave. 4) offer an all- inclusive room, food and fitness price so we don't feel nickeled and dimed for everything. 5) compete Thomas Moore excursion desk. I believe they would have been a lot more caring if they felt providing a bad experience for the Royal Sands customers could cost them their exclusive desk at the resort.

Overall, we had a great time and was able to relax at this resort during spring break. This is not a place for teenagers looking to meet other teenagers. Mostly for adults or families with small children.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the ocean, room I 5526, and the view was amazing. We sat on the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan km 13.5, No. 32, Seccion A, Segunda Etapa | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a breathtaking beach location, a world-class Spa, tempting dining choices and activities for all ages, The Royal Sands has everything you need for a week of Royal relaxation.The Royal Sands® sits at the center of Cancun’s spectacular Caribbean shoreline with breathtaking views of white sand and turquoise waters. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other creature comforts with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Sands Hotel Cancun
Royal Sands Cancun
Cancun Royal Sands Resort
Royal Sands Resort Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Sands Resort & SPA All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.