We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good Vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Cancun to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
CINCO DE MY OH MY-40% OFF
Ranked #15 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“Overall Good Vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had visited Cancun 2 years prior at a different hotel that was not in the hotel zone, but wanted to come back and experience the hotels/beach in this area. And what better way than to stay at the famous Hard Rock Hotel. After reading pretty decent reviews, we decided to go with this hotel.

Overall, the vacation was good. A little below my expectations, but still a decent hotel. First off, every single staff member of this hotel is extremely friendly and courteous. They go out of their way to make sure you're enjoying yourself and having a good time. The check-in/check-out process was fast and seamless. We arrived way before check-in time and were still able to get a room. The rooms for the most part were nice. They tried to modernize the decor in an already run down room/hotel, but I will give them an "A" for effort. We had a room facing the pool/ocean so the views were spectacular. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels. The bed sheets on my bed the first night smelt of mildew, so I requested they be replaced with new ones for night two, which they were and was fine the rest of the trip. The pool chair situation is like any at a resort - unless you're down there at the crack of dawn with a towel reserving your spot, there will be no chairs left come 11am. Fortunately enough, we were out there early enough each day to secure good seats on the entertainment side of the pool. The entertainment staff was outstanding. They had daily activities going on all day long and were always dancing and trying to get people involved. It was very enjoyable sitting by that side of the pool. The beach was very beautiful. The sand was white and soft and there were always available loungers. The ocean was a little rough at times but you were still able to go in. The food was better than expected for an all-inclusive and there were plenty of options to choose from. The only food complaint was the breakfast. Either at the buffet or from room service, the food was ALWAYS cold. We were very impressed with the nightly entertainment. The shows put on at this hotel were above average. The Michael Jackson show in particular was amazing - so much so, the person playing Michael received a standing ovation at the end of his performance.

My biggest complaint and annoyance was the hallways/elevators situation. There was no air-conditioning in the hallways or elevators, which doesn't sound so terrible, except for when you wait for an elevator for 10 minutes. There are 12 floors in this hotel....with 4 elevators. One of which was broken, so 3 elevators. Again...doesn't sound so terrible, but it was. We were on the 6th floor and when we pressed the button to go down, if the elevator was already on a floor below us, it would go all the way back up to 12 to come down to 6 ...and by then, the elevator was packed with no room...there, starting the viscous cycle. At one point we went on the UP and took the ride up and back down just to secure a space on the elevator. It was extremely, extremely frustrating. Especially the morning we left. We had to catch a shuttle back to the airport and waited almost 20 minutes to catch an elevator that would fit us and our luggage.

All in all, I enjoyed myself very much at the Hard Rock. If they can figure out a way to work out the elevator glitch (perhaps adding a few more) - the hotel would be top notch.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a room facing the ocean - it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,467
    770
    343
    139
    86
See reviews for
1,275
1,225
44
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very lovely and friendly place. The service is amazing, rooms are super duper, food was great. Incredible facilities and crazy parties. Lot of entertainment programs that suits singles, couples and families. One of the best vacations I've had. Strongly recommended

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadi B, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Rabih S,
Thank you very much for your comment and recomendation, we are thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing time with us, there is certanly always something going on to have fun, we hope to se you on your next vacations to trat you as the rockstar that you are.
Chadi Bou Said
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANDLER
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A great destination for fun, entertainment as well as great food and drink. The staff is determined to make your visit memorable with exceptional service. Rooms are comfortable and include a jacuzzi. Great beach. Live bands plus DJ's during the week.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadi B, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello CAROLYN J,
Thank you for your short and sweet review, I enjoy hearing and reading our loved guests comments and even more to hear that you were pleasantly enjoyed our staff service; certainly you love our rock n roll style! I appreciate that you shared your vacation experience. Thanks again for your comments and hope welcoming you back to the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.
Chadi Bou Said
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I loved the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun! This was my second year for a vacation with a large group. They handled our visit extremely well and were well organized. The staff was great to work with and loved the beach staff who waited on us, particularly JJ and Raul. Our butlers were the best - shout out to Jakob and Louis. The spa was a great treat and the food selection and entertainment was great! Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadi B, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Kim,
Thank you very much for your comment and for choosing us again for your group vacation, also thank you for taking the time to mention JJ, Raul, Jacob and Luis, they will be more than happy to knowe they rock your stay. We can wait to welcome you and your group again next year.
Chadi Bou Said
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great service...friendly staff. Above and beyond expectations. Best beach experience ever. Fantastic water and sand. Great for long walks! Everything it was advertised to be and more! Younger crowd seemed very happy! Even us old folks enjoyed the vibe.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadi B, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Douglas V,
Thank you so much for your short and sweet review, I am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, looking forward to pamper you on your next visit.
Chadi Bou Said
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Although the majority of your staff go out of their way to make the Hard Rock experience a special one, Patricia went above and beyond to deliver the ultimate experience. We love her professionalism and dedication!

Thank you Patricia!!!

From the Gonzalez family

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadi B, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Gonzalez family,
I am pleased to read your comments, we all at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun enjoy guests as you who love and live the rock 'n roll experience in all its magnitude and the service privide by Patricia, once again thank you for taking the time to share with us your impressions of your visit, sincerely I invite you to return on a future holiday
Chadi Bou Said
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

As soon as we entered Verna greeted us with a big smile and made us feel like rockstars. It's nice to know that you can still receive excellent service in resorts. I appreciated that we weren't just a number . Every time he saw us around the resort he greeted us by name . Everything we needed he made possible. The Hard Rock should consider themselves lucky to have someone that cares and takes pride in giving the best service possible. Verna is one of the reasons that we would return.

Thank you from the Gonzalez Family

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadi B, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Hoseman74,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our resort, also thank you for mentioning Verna, He will be more than glad to hear from you, we hope to welcome you again soon.
Chadi Bou Said
General Manager
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
#21 Family Hotel in Cancun
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a complete rockin’ renovation, Cancun Palace debuted as the all-inclusive Hard Rock Hotel Cancun in October 2012. Featuring enhanced, new facilities and guestrooms and located in the heart of Cancun's hotel zone, Hard Rock Hotel Cancun boasts unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double Jacuzzis, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. The beachfront property also features Hard Rock's signature Rock Star Suite and showcases an extensive collection of authentic memorabilia from international and local music artists, while incorporating diverse music genres throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Resort
Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.