We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned within 3 weeks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Cancun to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
CINCO DE MY OH MY-40% OFF
Ranked #16 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Returned within 3 weeks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We vacationed with family at the Hard Rock Hotel in Cancun in early May and loved it! My wife and I enjoyed it so much that we returned (just the two of us) three weeks later (May 31-June 7). We arrived at the resort and were greeted by bell boys with courteous smiles and cool towels. When we checked in at the front desk, we were given a Jacuzzi suite with two double beds and an ocean view. This was not the reservation I had made as “Legendary Members,” which asked for a room on the concierge level (12th floor) with an ocean view. We requested to speak with the Front Desk Manager and were greeted by Amaury Gonzalez, Front Desk Assistant Manager. After hearing our concerns and displeasure, Amaury explained that the resort was completely sold out and that he would not be able to accommodate our request for Friday night, but would work hard to change our room the very next day. Amaury worked diligently with us to ensure that we had a Jacuzzi suite with a king bed and ocean view on the 12nd floor since there would be guest departures the next day. On Saturday, Amaury came to our room to personally assure us that he had a vacancy on the concierge level (12th floor) with an ocean view. Amaury was very professional, pleasant, and courteous throughout our contacts with him. Amaury turned what could have been a negative experience for us into a very positive experience. Throughout the remainder of our stay whenever he saw us at the front desk/lobby area, Amaury always inquired if we were enjoying our stay which, of course, we were happy to tell him that everything was going wonderfully. He even asked for our input/suggestions on anything we felt the resort could improve on, displaying his effective leadership skills!
While we had some rainy days during our stay, Amaury and the entire staff at the resort were very willing to make our stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible. We were still able to enjoy the pool, the beach, and the various restaurants; and on the days we were too tired from the excursions, room service dinner was hot and tasty.
Below are some of the many staff members who really stand out as Hard Rock ambassadors and made us feel valued and welcomed as guests at their awesome resort:
Lupita Ordonez--our housekeeper always ensured our room was clean and that we had plenty of towels and bath toiletries. Daily, she made various animal displays from towels, adorning our bed. Lupita is quite an artist with the elephant, rhino, giraffe, and monkey characters she would create for our enjoyment.
Virgilo--our waiter at the “Market” Buffet restaurant always ensured that we had our coffee cups and water glasses filled. He would also help us carry our food plates to our breakfast table. He made it a point to memorize our coffee “likes.” Quite impressive!
Nelson Bouchot--the resort Sommelier would stop by our dinner table at “Zen” or Ciao” to recommend a fine bottle of wine to complement our dinner selections, adding to the experience. “Pollo” and his assistant made our Ciao dinners memorable with their attentive service.
Leonardo--our waiter at Zen’s restaurant was very courteous and professional when serving us and accommodated any food and drink requests made.
There were always plenty of activities to do at the pool, in the Smash Bar, or at the nightly shows held at the outdoor amphitheater. Also, the 1½ hour massages at the salon were exceptional.
In addition to getting to know Amaury Gonzalez, the Front Desk Assistant Manager, he introduced us to his supervisor, Chrystian Rodriguez. Chrystian also displayed a very professional and welcoming demeanor. In getting to know both of these outstanding young men, we experienced how important we are as “Legendary Members” and even more significant as guests of the resort. We are confident that these gentlemen, along with the other resort staff, will always help make our future vacations at the Hard Rock Hotel Resort, Cancun, memorable, fun, and outstanding! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Greetings from the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun LenandChris! Thank you very much for your awesome review, it is very reassuring to hear from our Legendary members, such great comments about the service, and moreover to learn how the rockstar treatment from Amaury Gonzalez turned what could have been a negative occurrence into a true rock star experience. Thank you again for sharing your fabulous experience with us, and for taking the time to mention so many of our crew members, we will let each of them know that they rocked your world! Were so happy to know that despite any inconveniences, you had a great stay and to know that we hit our mark and raised the bar!
We can’t wait for you to come back and make you feel at home and give you the royal treatment and spoil you rotten in your next visit to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun!
Keep on rocking!
TAKE TIME TO BE KIND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,457
    770
    342
    138
    84
See reviews for
1,270
1,220
43
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A friend of us recommended to stay at the hard rock hotel. It was an awesome, an beautiful experience we had at hard rock hotel; the restaurants, the staff members, all activities including theater, and pool activities were so amazing. Me and my family we would to recommend this hotel to all of our family and friends.
We came across with excellent and amicable services from Noel, Valentin, Alfredo, of La Marketa Restaurant, at the same time with Nelson Espinosa the Wine Expert

Room Tip: If you are looking for a good time just book your vacations at hard rock hotel, you won't regret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Robert H! Thank you for your amazing review! We are glad to know that you had a blast and that being a Rock Star is so wonderful! Thank you for the mentions to our fabulous staff members: Noel, Valentin, Alfredo and Nelson; be sure we will let them know that they ROCKED! We hope to see you soon on stage once more! Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and roll out the red carpet! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
Strum your air guitar!!
-LOVE ALL SERVE ALL-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to the Hard Rock in February as a couple. I can write a long review, but instead I'll just say our vacation was so great that we are booked to return with friends in June and again in July with the entire extended family. We were having so much fun that we didn't want to check out after 7 days and we extended our stay. We have been to other "all inclusives" and this one by far is the best...room, food, drinks, pool, spa, beach and more. Most important the hotel staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and special. We got to know some of them well and they greeted us each day with smiles and special individual service. Everyone was nice but several really stood out...Rolando, Conchis and Martha were awesome at the lobby bar, Lucy took good care of us as a hostess at the Market buffet and other restaurants, Vladimir was great as a waiter during our breakfasts at the Market and a shining star was Tomas, our elegant and professional waiter, with whom we exchanged life stories and many laughs...he truly treated us as his family. Thank you to them for a great time. We can't wait to see them all again on our upcoming trips. Overall, not one negative about The Hard Rock.

Room Tip: Make sure you request ocean front...the breeze at night is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello there Art M! Wow! Thanks for your amazing review! We can really see that you are a real Rock Star! We would like to thank you for your many mentions to our great staff and we are glad to hear that they made particular efforts to roll out the red carpet an extra mile. Be sure that we will let Rolando, Conchis, Martha, Lucy, Vladimir and your shining star Tomas know that they rocked your world upside down and made you feel like family! We are ecstatic to know that you are coming back on stage and please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and roll out the red carpet! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
-ALL IS ONE-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have to give props where they are due!
Our presidential suite was really beautiful, great views from both rooms and nice size living room entertaining. But the best part of all was having our very own butlers!!!
Really nice touch.
Things are coming around for Hard Rock Cancun.
They also have addressed the booking process by assigning members a employee that is dedicating to you and getting your trip booked (Lourdes Lores, awesome).
Made a world of difference finally seeing the value in my presidential membership purchase.
A special thanks goes out to all the waiters and staff.
Caroline!! Pollo! and our butlers Manuel, Isaac, and Jacob. You really care about your customers and now friends. Hope to see you all soon!
If anyone has any questions please feel free to email me jonnygym@charter.net

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Jonnygym! Thank you for your great review! We are glad to hear that you had a rock star experience and that you found our improvements to be exceeding your expectations. Be sure we will let Caroline, Pollo, Manuel, Isaac and Jacob know that they made you feel like a true celebrity and also like family! We hope to have you on stage soon! Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and roll out the red carpet! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
Rock on!!
-SAVE THE PLANET-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was there for a week ..the weather was not good so we could not do a whole lot at hard rock........need more pool tables by the bar ..and install a indoor pool or a jacuzzi....Need to get rid of the hotels credits....not worth the $1500.00 they "give you" there is a service fee to us it...the vacation planners team was not helpful at all..they seemed bothered everytime time we approached them with a question..need better plumbing in the top floors and also need a exhaust fan in bathroom......limited entertainment during bad weather.....on the plus side houskeeping and all the waiters during the week gave us 5 star treatment....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi VACATIONMAN1127! Thanks for your review! We are sorry to hear that the weather was not in your favor! We passed on your comments and suggestions to our management team as we strive to always provide the best experience to our valuable rock stars! On the other hand we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the housekeeping and waiting staff services! We hope to host you once more and show you our improvements! Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and spoil you rotten.! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
-TAKE TIME TO BE KIND-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just returned from Hard Rock Cancun. I reviewed it last year after our visit. We are members and have stayed at this resort multiple times, even when it was Cancun Palace. The updated facilities are very nice with the lobby being the greatest change. The lobby bar offers a great place for people to hang out and has 2 billiard tables, shuffleboard, and many board games are available for those who want to play. Love the newly updated rooms. The wait staff are still excellent, friendly, and very quick to help. Some of our friends from last year are still here but there are many new faces. We were disappointed in the entertainment staff, except for Roberto who is responsible for part of the evening shows and DJ'ing at night. Last years staff was much better at getting the crowd involved, for example when last years staff did line dances poolside they worked really hard (and were successful) at getting a lot of people up there to join. This years entertainment staff just "performed" the line dances and didn't ask for involvement from the crowd. Cesar is no longer with this resort and he is greatly missed. That being said, Manuel at the pool bar does a great job and made some great drinks. Carolina and Amalia are 2 of the best wait staff poolside and on the beach. Food is still great. Unfortunately we experienced a tropical depression during our stay so it rained daily. In my opinion, the hotel did attempt to move activities inside to help entertain all of us being moved indoors. Noel the water in the Market restaurant is also excellent. We were VERY disappointed that the dancing in the night club now starts at 12 midnight, after sitting for 2 hours after the evening show one gets tired and the dancing was one of our favorite points of our time here. Sadly, we were only able to wait it out a couple of nights out of the whole week. We did finally get some reasonably timed dancing at Senor Frogs one night but like to be able to stay at the resort for this. In the past, dancing started around 10 after the evening show. This was much better for us and we heard the same comment from many of the other returning guests (many of them members as well). Overall, we still like to vacation here but don't feel like all of the changes were positive ones.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Cheri G! Thanks for your review! We are always glad to hear from our valuable members! We are happy to know that you fell in love with our new revamped décor. Be sure we will let Roberto, Manuel, Amelia and Noel know that they rocked! We would like to mention that we passed your comments about the entertainment and dancing hours to our management team and they did improve the schedule. The Night Club is now available after the night shows. Obviously, since they are not always on a fixed schedule and end up earlier than 10 o’clock, our dear guests still have to wait for the Night Club to be set; nevertheless we opted for a more accommodating schedule and implemented live music in the Smash Bar right after the night shows to keep everyone entertained. We hope to have the chance to host you once more on stage and show you our improvements. Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and spoil you rotten! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
-LOVE ALL SERVE ALL-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just came back from our week vacation in Cancun and we have stayed in Hardrock. It was raining most of the time that we were there so there is really nothing much we can do. Shows were cancelled and you cant go for a swim cause its raining. Here are my suggestions to improve their service:
1. They should have more space for the bar because its too small, we would like to watch the show or activities they have by the bar but it's too crowded.
2. There were only 2 billiard table by the lobby and you have to wait for hours so you can use it. So please add more billiard table or any other entertaining stuff. Why don't you convert the office of Legendary Vacations as a room for shows or put billiard table there after office hours. YOU NEED MORE INDOOR ACTIVITIES!!! Especially if you know its gonna rain the whole day.
3. You should built an indoor swimming pool
4. There should be exhaust fan in the toilets for the rooms.
5. The resort credit is not worth it. You have to pay service fee everytime you use it and everything was overprice.
6. Please make the rooms soud proof you can hear everything going on in the hallway from your room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Lexie C! Thanks for your review! We would like to thank you for your comments and suggestions! We passed them on to our management team as we strive to improve our dear rock stars’ experience! We are sorry to hear that Mother Nature was not on your side. We hope to host you on our stage and show you our improvements. Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and roll out the red carpet! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
-SAVE THE PLANET-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
#21 Family Hotel in Cancun
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a complete rockin’ renovation, Cancun Palace debuted as the all-inclusive Hard Rock Hotel Cancun in October 2012. Featuring enhanced, new facilities and guestrooms and located in the heart of Cancun's hotel zone, Hard Rock Hotel Cancun boasts unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double Jacuzzis, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. The beachfront property also features Hard Rock's signature Rock Star Suite and showcases an extensive collection of authentic memorabilia from international and local music artists, while incorporating diverse music genres throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Resort
Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.