We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get around. Food and service exceptional.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Cancun to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% OFF + $1,800 CREDIT
Ranked #19 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Easy to get around. Food and service exceptional.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our third day here. Food is excellent. Pizza from wood oven delicious. Tacos and churros at Frida Mexican restaurant outstanding, the corn tortillas are made fresh in front of you. Breakfast buffet excellent, I think it opens at seven. We saw the circus show, it was a lot of fun. Our nine year old loved it. The talent was impressive. The bar tenders at the swim up bars are on the ball, quick and funny. Wilberth has a great sense of humor. Our room was cleaned by 10 this morning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello JBlairTN! Thanks for your short and sweet comment. We are glad that so far you had a blast and would recommend our hotel for its services, amenities and facilities. We are glad to hear that you enjoy the food, as we are particularly proud of our different menus. We hope to be able to host your on our stage once more. Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and roll out the red carpet! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
-TAKE TIME TO BE KIND-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,969
    622
    289
    118
    79
See reviews for
1,039
993
32
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just returned home from a fantastic stay at the Hard Rock! For a all Inclusive hotel in Mexico they do it right! Modern decor, great restaurants, top shelf drinks, very clean, and had a very friendly staff. We booked through our friends who are Legendary members, and got the VIP perks during our visit. Ocean front room, upgraded mini-bar, and the concierge will bring you anything you need in a matter of minutes. Some of the negative reviews are pretty harsh, if you're looking for quiet and romance don't book a Hard Rock Hotel "anywhere" ! This resort was not a over top party place but it did have a great upbeat vibe! A special shout out to Armadour in the Market Restaurant and Carolina at the pool, your service was outstanding!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front, higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi mels33! Thanks for your great review and pictures! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself in our beautiful scenery and that you found our amenities, services, staff and facilities to exceed your rock star’s expectations. We hope to be able to host your on our stage once more. Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and roll out the red carpet! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
-SAVE THE PLANET-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This year we decided to spend a holiday with my family (we have two children enrolled in primary school). Somehow I could hardly believe the news agency that the hotel called Hard Rock Hotel Cancun may be the "ideal" place to be for a family. It turned out that way, and much better than expected. In addition to luxury throughout, the administration gave me the luxury of home - free time to enjoy the holiday. The hotel provides a variety of hobby groups for children of all ages. Moreover, they made very high quality, they are professionals and after the first time visit, the children are asked to either themselves take them there, or they themselves are fleeing there. And so is the hotel very much, everything was in excess, but in a positive sense.

There's just all gorgeous, from the entrance to the hotel - all the bars and restaurants. What I would like to especially note - the food at the hotel is just at the highest level. There, in any restaurant, whether it's a buffet, or to order, all very, very tasty. The variety of dishes is impressive, even the buffet is not boring for breakfast.

The staff is very good. We wanted to say hello and thank a very friendly guy Joss who worked in hotel. Everytime when we meet them in hotel he was always so attentive and friendly to us. He was always working hard and made sure we were well taken care of. Joss was eager to get us anything we needed.

The rooms are large with views of either the sea or the lagoon .. The room has everything you need. Soap, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, etc. There is also an iron and ironing board, bathrobes and slippers, self-other.
Mini bar in the room is constantly updated with the drinks there are no problems at all in the room and even a mini-bar is not needed, because there working system of "all inclusive" for 24 hours.Entertainment team did a great job with the pool side activities and the evening shows.
Can't wait until our next trip, and will definitely be looking for a Hard Rock Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello George H! Wow! Thank you for your amazing review. We are glad that although you were not sure of our family friendly environment you had the guts of trying it out and have your expectations exceeded. We are glad that our staff made you feel just like family and be sure we will let Joss know that he rolled out the Red Carpet an extra mile to make your Rock Story a double platinum hit. We are happy to know that you will be back and Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and spoil you rotten! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
-LOVE ALL SERVE ALL-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to cancun for 10 days in may, the weather was perfect, the hotel was amazing! Couldn't fault this hotel at all, the rooms were excellent had our own jacuzzi, room service was great, hotel was spotless and modern, excellent service, lovely food and drinks, lovely staff very friendly and helpful. We used our resort credits to swim with dolphins which was amazing! Only had to pay an 11% fee on this so it worked out two of us swimming with dolphins at about £20! Amazing pool and beach sea very very blue! Took a trip called jungle tours drove our own speedboat and swam in the coral reef which was brilliant, clubbing in cancun was excellent! Best holiday I've ever been on, will definitely be going back to the hard rock cancun!!! Do not read the bad reviews, I don't know how anyone can fault this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Sammy E! Wow thanks for your outstanding review. We can see that you are living up to the standards of a real Celebrity! We are glad to hear that you are planning on coming back! Please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and spoil you rotten! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
-ALL IS ONE-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was our first visit to a Hard Rock All Inclusive property; we have traveled to other Palace Resorts in the past. Booked 3 rooms for 6 of us traveling together under a Palace Diamond Member. We traveled as their guests and booked king bed ocean view rooms. Upon arrival we were greeted outside and brought inside to the check in desk. We did not receive a cool towel/flower/drink as others have. Upon check-in we were told there were no king bed ocean view rooms available only lagoon king and we only had 4th floor rooms. Our friends decided this was fine, we asked for better rooms. Concierge was not available until 4 days into our trip. They did provide us with a double bed ocean view room on the 8th floor and we had housekeeping move the double beds together and that did work out ok. However, you should receive the room that you booked.
In addition were we given silver bands not black VIP bands that we have received on past trips. I questioned the bands and the check-in girl called someone who checked the membership and said this is the bands. She told me that these were in fact their version of the black bands. I asked if we would receive access to the VIP area on the beach and she assured me that we would. This turned out to be a straight lie – there were in fact black bands that other guests wore and we were not permitted access to the VIP section on the beach. Upon returning home we found out that all of us should have received the black bands and VIP access to the beach.
We had pre-booked our tours/spa/golf and everything was in order thanks to Felipe Palacios Ramirez, who was great to work with prior to our arrival at the resort. Also we were never asked to attend the timeshare presentation, which was a nice change from past trips.
The room itself had a great ocean view and everything worked fine. Loved the rain head shower. We never received shampoo or conditioner in our room the whole week we were there. I had to ask housekeeping for it. Also we never received any towel art the whole week we were there. Our friends on the 4th floor received towel art every day in both their rooms and always had shampoo/conditioner every day replenished. As others have said it is a very loud hotel. We really did not think it would be that big of a problem since I can sleep through a lot! However, we were wrong. A knock on a neighboring room’s door sounds like a knock on your door. We didn’t experience any issues with pool music, just the constant loud noise from the hallways at all hours of the day. Apparently we were on the floor that the timeshare people use for the tours, and they start the tours early in the morning and were VERY loud each and every day. Made it impossible to sleep past 8 am.
We booked this hotel hoping to get that fun 24 hours Hard Rock Party vibe. The hotel itself is decorated with the Hard Rock vibe however not much of a party vibe. The music at the pool was good, the band that sang a few days at the pool was not good at all. Entertainment staff did some things at the pool but it was hard to know what was going on unless you were right by their pool station. At other Palace Resorts the activities staff made it a point to go around and recruit participants in the activities and let them know what was going on that day. That did not happen here. The entertainment staff did a great job every night at the 8pm Karokee fun time at the Lobby Bar. This was by far the best part of entertainment at the hotel but only lasted 1 hour. After the nightly show was over, usually around 10 am, there really is no “party” option. The “club” is really the Brazilian restaurant turned into a nightclub, but the music didn’t start until midnight, not 11 pm as it was advertised all over the resort. The 2 hour lull between the nightshow and when the “club” opened up left a lot to be desired for the Hard Rock party theme. This hotel really needs its own “club. At the other Palace resorts, the dance club music always started right after the shows.
Another reason we chose the Hard Rock Cancun is since it was a former Palace Resort and we have traveled to other Palace resorts, we know the great service these resorts offer. Unfortunately the Hard Rock is no longer a Palace Resort and that was clear by the lack of service received throughout the resort. There were a few exceptions to this: Jonathan who worked pool service, lunch/bartender service inside the Market and at other restaurants was great to interact with and provided great service. Gonzolo in the Japanese Zen restaurant who worked the Sushi bar was a great server and fun to interact with. Lupe at the quiet pool bar and his phenomenal Mayan Rose drink. Also Genny at the Rock Gym was great and we enjoyed her spin class.
We have always tipped during our past trips because we know the workers do not make a lot of money and have always worked hard. Unfortunately we did not get that same service on this trip. Even after tipping, service was never any better, sometimes worse. This was the first trip that at times I really didn’t feel the need to tip all the time. One morning at the International Breakfast Buffett, we got seated but no service at all. We ended up getting our own juices/drinks etc. On another morning at the breakfast buffet, the hostess sat our party of 6 at a table outside. We went to get our food, came back and then the staff started to yell at us for sitting at someone else’s table, accused us of by passing the hostess all together. We explained that this was in fact where the hostess sat us. We had our food in hand and were treated poorly and made to feel bad, all in front of the other guests. We sat down and said we are eating our food. Of course received poor/slow service moving forward and no apology for the way we were treated.
On another occasion at the lobby bar I asked specifically for my favorite tequila in the tall blue bottle. The bartender said they did not have that and I asked what else do you recommend. As I was waiting for my shot, I started a conversation with the group next to me. They had shots of tequila and I asked what they recommended – wouldn’t you know, they were having shots of the tequila from the blue bottle. I again asked the bartender for that tequila, and he told me they didn’t have it. The guy in the group next to me, who spoke Spanish, also asked the guy for me. Don’t know what was said, but the guy next to me said I’m sorry he won’t get it for you. 5 minutes later I walked to the other side of the bar, and another bartender was pouring the tequila from the blue bottle. I asked him for a shot of that and I got one. Not sure what the problem was or why I was lied to regarding the tequila. On past Palace trips, I never heard the word “no.” Only “It’s my pleasure, and we can get it for you.”
We are very laid back people and it takes A LOT to upset us, but the reason we have returned to the Palace brand resorts and the reason we tried the Hard Rock was due to the Palace Service Experience. Needless to say that is no longer part of the Hard Rock’s way of doing business. It’s also not much of a party hotel. They are going through an identity crisis of not being a Hard Rock and no longer being a Palace Resort. If you are looking for either of these experiences, pick a different hotel, you will be very disappointed as the 6 of us were.
One day we visited Beach Palace and within 5 minutes we had better service here then we had in 4 days at Hard Rock. Beach Palace was a great day and they most likely will get our business in the future. We were planning on going to the Hard Rock Punta Cana on our next trip but after our experience at HRC, we will not be going there or back to HRC. It is apparent that HRC does not wish to provide great customer service to Palace Resort members or their guests. They will continue to loose future business with this poor attitude.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi annevictoria, thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate our rockers feedback; we are sad to hear that you did not feel the special treatment that we try hard to deliver to our valued members, is our goal to make our Members feel as true rock stars! I’m glad that Jonathan, Gonzalo at Zen and Lupe at the pool bar, and Jenny at the Body Rock Gym were there to make it up for you so you could enjoy the rest of your vacation.
Regarding the tequila you mentioned, the name is Tequila Corralejo Reposado, and we would like to apologize if you felt in some way that our bartender did not want to serve you and as you well stated, you were served in the other side of the bar as probably that side of the bar ran out of this particular brand, anyhow we have passed your comments to our Bars Manager to ensure we always have our rock stars favorite spirits at every bar to keep the party going.
However we would love to welcome you again in a future stay to show you our great service and change any negative impression you may have and turn you into a raving fan of the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, Jeah!
TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was our first time at this Hotel, we have stayed at Puerto Vallarta Palace which is now Vallarta hard rock hotel. We have been members x 3 yrs. We had a very good time and the service was great. I wish that the pool was open longer, they stop handing out towels at 5pm. We didn't care for the Italian restaurant much, the Lasagna was not very good, that is an easy dish to make. We loved eating at the Market and the Service was great specially from Virgilio, Yadira and Noel. Our most favorite restaurant however was the Zen the chef was great but particularly the Manager Rene Reyes. He was polite , kind and very professional. They put on quite a spread each time we visited the Zen. We used our free week and our whole trip including air faire only cost $700 dollars. This gave us room for plenty of shopping and tip money. The store at the Hotel also has very good quality Cuban cigars, although somewhat pricey. One of the persons who made our stay a total awesome success was the sommelier Nelson. I really have to recognize him. On my first day there I got a stomach flu and he nursed me back to health by giving me chicken soup when the restaurant was already closed. He was very caring and polite to me and my wife. Each day he saw me who would ask me " How do you feel today?" and he said " don't eat too much until you are better" in a couple of days I was eating all those good dishes. We had an awesome time in Chichen Itza trip provided by the Hotel. We also took the city bus for $1 dollar to church and shopping and met some very nice people from Colombia. We really enjoyed the music, but the DJ needs a little help with some of the selections. We were initially given Lagoon side room, but later requested to be moved to Ocean view and they accommodated us. We heard a few people complaining about how the old Cancun Palace was better and complaints about the vouchers, but we had a great time. Can't wait to go back. Vouchers or no vouchers it's still a great deal. We used to stay before at non- all inclusive hotels and this is by far a better experience.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room go to the Lagoon side it has great sunsets. If you want to hear rock music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Émanuelle L, Customer Care Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello GloriadeOca! Thanks for your awesome review. We are glad to know you are a real rock star and that you got pampered your whole stay. Be sure we will let Virgilio, Yadira, Noel, Rene Reyes and especially Nelson know that they rocked your world upside down. We are happy to know that you will be back soon and please do not hesitate to contact us to help you plan your next trip and roll out the red carpet! Stay tuned on our official website for future shows, promotions and more!
-SAVE THE PLANET-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Hard rock hotel is awesome known for the quality and services. the quality of the room is excellent. my strong recommendation is when you make trip to cancun be a part of HARD ROCK HOTEL .Which is very close to coco bongo.swimming pool and the view from room facing ocean and lagoon are excellent

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Greetings from Cancun, Mexico! Hi ravisshetty128, thanks for the short and sweet review; we agree, naturally the views to the lagoon and beaches are the biggest draw in Cancun. We appreciate you recommend us to our readers that want to become true rock stars! We hope we can welcome you again here at your favorite stage: Hard Rock Hotel Cancun. SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a complete rockin’ renovation, Cancun Palace debuted as the all-inclusive Hard Rock Hotel Cancun in October 2012. Featuring enhanced, new facilities and guestrooms and located in the heart of Cancun's hotel zone, Hard Rock Hotel Cancun boasts unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double Jacuzzis, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. The beachfront property also features Hard Rock's signature Rock Star Suite and showcases an extensive collection of authentic memorabilia from international and local music artists, while incorporating diverse music genres throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Resort
Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.