We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Rock Cancun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hard Rock Hotel Cancun to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #20 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Berlin, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hard Rock Cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We did not plan to stay at the Hard Rock, but will be back. Food is good, not great, bur staff makes it happen, rooms are nice, and pool and beach are great. Staff members Virgilio, Pollito, Caesar, Margarita, Martha, Klau, Luis, Daniel and Jess really make things go - always smiling. we now consdier them friends. entertainment is outstanding - thanks Panda and all. Special thanks to Dr. Erika (MD).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angel_angeles, CUSTOMER CARE at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Wandy L, we thank you for your review, we are very content to hear that our rock star team rolled out the red carpet for you and consider them your friends, we will let them know each in particular that you have very special memories with them, we look forward to host you again so we can share with you the different taste of our 5 restaurants here at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
SAVE THE PLANET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,825
    584
    270
    113
    75
See reviews for
963
928
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

3.5 Rating (Not available on Trip Advisor)

Having traveled to Mexico for over 10 years this was my first experience at the newly refurbished Cancun Palace AKA Hard Rock Cancun. We stayed at the Beach Palace our last stay, and we had loved the food, service and overall amenities. The fact that we had booked Palace resorts in the past we had similar expectations for this “Hard Rock Hotel”

The Downs / Negatives
Food : The Market (Buffet) Average at best, not too many food choices, poor meat, service was random, ex: we sat at our designated table for 10 minutes and no one came to us, we asked for cappuccino took about 20 minutes. I had a better service at a Bahia Principe for a lot less $$$.

ZEN (Asian): No air conditioning ! Really too hot to enjoy your food, though very good service. Menu was limited but ok choices, nothing spectacular.

Ipanema (Brazilian): Salty meat, off service ex: we were offered meat after having our dessert, often mixed up in the service, staff was not coordinated well enough but very friendly, for example I asked for double dessert and they accommodated our requests.

Amenities: Resort Credits are overrated, This year 11% tax is required and everything is overpriced ex: $325 for Coach sunglasses, Retail 149$ normal price in North America. They will hassle you if you do not use any, I had a phone call at 7:40AM, to ask if we had meeting about our credits !

Rooms: Arrived before 3pm Check-in, They told us room was only available in 20-30 minutes. We went back, we were told the same thing for a second time. Finally third attempt, they said it was available.When we arrived at the room, what a nightmare! (the was room was clean) but we had booked a King sized bed, we got 2 double beds ! It took 4 days to sort this out…..

The Ups / Positives

Frida Restaurant (Mexican) delicious food, great service.

Ciao (Italian) Was better than expected, it killed the Beach Palace Italian type restaurant. Luis our waiter was very friendly, he was the only one who made sure our glasses were full of water. My Wife drinks a lot of water, and if she doesn’t have any left she will dip into mine real quick !

Amenities: The Beach was beautiful, enough beach chairs for everyone, Parasol was available upon request. Infinite pool was nice but no shade. Rooms are quite large, Entertainment was quite good, a Mexican show would of made it better.

Overall it was a good experience, my only concern is the Price. You pay a palace price but get a lower end service and food quality. Would go back if the price was lower.

Room Tip: Avoid Deluxe only room, Book a Deluxe Platinum or Diamond
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimes,IA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just returned back from a week in Cancun (16th - 23rd), were we stayed at the Hard Rock Cancun! Upon our arrival we were met with cool wash clothes and our luggage was tagged and taken care of for us. We arrived around 2:00 so our rooms were not available, and we were encourage to get a bite to eat, and go swim and check back at 3:00. Upon checking back our room was still not ready and were asked to check back again. Finally I was able to check into my room, which was beautiful as ever and had a beautiful ocean view!
Resteraunts were awesome!!!! Pool, pool bar and beach were awesome! Martha our pool waitress is a ROCK Star!!! She is a very caring person, and was spot on when you were needing a drink, went and got extra chairs and umbrellas as we needed them. We actually would have loved to brought her back to the USA with us! She is a great waitress, provided excellent service, and always had a smile on her face. She is a hard worker!

Entertainment staff- WOW they were awesome wether it was water volleyball, sand volleyball, stretching class, water aerobics, trivia, dancing you name it they did it! 'Panda' was AWESOME, so friendly and very carismatic! He always went out of his way to come say hi, give a high five, or even a hug! Entertainment nightly was great. Love the Rock Roll show the best!!!

Air conditioning in the Zen resteraunt was non exisistant, they need to really work on A/C in there and in a lot of the area's in the Hotel! The disco needs to start a little earlier, than 11:00?!? 10:00 would have been better time!

Most of the staff was good, but I've stayed at the Cancun Palace prior to it becoming Hard Rock and the staff was far more accommodating when it was the Cancun Palace. I still love the Resort, but think they need to work on some of the staff, and Air Conditioning in some of the areas! OVERALL I'd say they still ROCK!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited this resort for the first time after becoming a Hard Rock. The Staff went above and beyond making sure we were taken care of. They were so friendly especially Alex and Manuel, who made our stay there amazing and went out of their way to make sure everything was just perfect for us!
Charly at the beach made sure that we all were comfortable and well taken care of. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was super fun. You truly felt pampered and on vacation. We'd go back there in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor, which was perfect, not too close to the ground floor, so you had more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angel_angeles, CUSTOMER CARE at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi LoriCamarillo, thanks for taking the time for this great review, we love to hear that Alex, Manuel and Charly to name few of our rockers grant you the ultimate Rockstar Experience, we are delighted with your visit all the way through the many delicious plates the restaurants had offered you, we hope you give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations one more time in your next visit here at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.
ALL IS ONE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have been to Cancun 3 times now and up to now have had 2 wonderful experiences. This was not a wonderful experience by far. Let me start by stating that upon arrival the front desk person was horrible to deal with and could care less. It took him a half an hour to find our reservation and when he did it was wrong. I booked a King room and was given 2 less than full size beds. I was there with my fiancé on a romantic trip and we had to sleep in separate beds for our entire stay since no kings or upgrades were ever available. Also the beds slide all over the room and do not stay in place. Horrible.
As far as the $1500 dollars credit. The only good thing was $300 towards the spa. I tried booking a romantic dinner for 2 on the beach and it was not available until after we left and we were there for 6 days. I was told on the last night after having no more credits that we could have used our credits in the Italian restaurant towards a lobster dinner. The prices in the shops are different between cash price and using your credit. An example if I paid cash for this one ring it was $180 where credit was $320. You can only use $50 towards a watch, $75 towards sunglasses and there are only 4 excursions you can use your credits towards. Silver you can use up to 50% and stainless steel you can use all of your credits. So in the end we used $300 towards the spa, $100 towards cigars, $100 towards a tequila sample box and $1200 on over priced stainless steel and don’t forget that 11% service charge, about $165.
So it sound like we like to complain and this is not the case at all. This is the first negative review I have ever written. So let me continue on a few other issues and then I will move on to the positives.
You cannot make reservations for dinner so there is always a wait. The pool closes at 8pm which is truly uncalled for. The hot tubs are cold. They ran out of light beer, chardonnay wine and even straws for frozen drinks at the pool. The night club did not open until 11pm and when it did it was dead. Also the hotel rooms were air conditioned but the Hotel itself was not air conditioned and there was only 1 bar. Why no bars outside in the evening?
Some other points now. The pool and beach were wonderful along with the great weather. The wait staff was awesome. The Italian restaurant was the best. Not only was the food awesome but there service was amazing. The Chinese restaurant was not air conditioned and was about 90 degrees. The waiter was sweating and so were we. The appetizers were awesome but the entrée was not good at all. The staff was great though. The Mexican restaurant was just not even edible, hate to say that for being in Mexico. I thought it would be the best not the worst. We did not care for one thing. The buffet was only good if you had something made fresh at the grill. The food on the actual buffet was either cold or not good. The pool food was amazing. Anything from burgers to clubs, chicken tenders, pizzas, nachos. All awesome. The drinks by the pool and were great too along with the staff. The entertainment was wonderful and the entertainment staff was friendly and very good.
If it wasn't 85 degrees every day and we didn’t have a nice pool we would have had a horrible time here. So overall I have been on many cruises and have done all inclusive many times as well and this hotel ranks at the bottom. I paid extra for the HARD ROCK name and the fact that we had a $1500 credit and that was a huge mistake. There are so many other great Hotels. My favorite for a little bit more money is Moon Palace. Nothing but Awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

What an absolutely perfect vacation! The Hard Rock Cancun delivered on every expectation. The resort itself is beautiful and spotless. Food exceeded my expectations everyday and I loved having the choice of premium brand liquors. The base room here is as nice as the top room categories at most resorts. The resort did deliver fully on every expectation and blew me away with all the extra's I did not expect such as: $1500 resort credit per room for golf, spa, room upgrades, free Wifi throughout the resort, free long distance calls within to Canada & the US, Mini bars and Jacuzzi tubs in all rooms.

The next time and every time I go back to Cancun from now on the Hard Rock will be where I stay. Can't wait to vacation at there other properties!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the resort. All rooms are extremely luxurious and have a great view anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angel_angeles, CUSTOMER CARE at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Superb KevinTimney, We are overjoyed to hear that you found our rooms to be inimitable and spacious; we are pleased to be the spotlight of your perfect vacation; Our Executive chef will be devoted to know the high scores you gave to our restaurants and food quality levels.
We are very happy that you lived the Rockstar experience with all its perks with the Resort Credits as you mention. We are looking forward to meet you again and have another perfect tour here at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun as our main singer.
SAVE THE PLANET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our first trip to Mexico and wasn't sure what to expect. Everything went smoothly and we were impressed with just about everything for newbies! The staff made our trip even more enjoyable. Felix Martinez a great bartender was friendly, attentive and fun! He made us feel comfortable and right at home...as well as Elias and Wilbreth. They are all such hard workers and seem to enjoy their jobs. I was impressed with all the food, so many choices...so little time! Everything was great, I have no complaints. We will be back! Sooner than later I hope! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a complete rockin’ renovation, Cancun Palace debuted as the all-inclusive Hard Rock Hotel Cancun in October 2012. Featuring enhanced, new facilities and guestrooms and located in the heart of Cancun's hotel zone, Hard Rock Hotel Cancun boasts unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double Jacuzzis, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. The beachfront property also features Hard Rock's signature Rock Star Suite and showcases an extensive collection of authentic memorabilia from international and local music artists, while incorporating diverse music genres throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Resort
Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.