We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for spring break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SUMMER SALE-30% OFF
Ranked #29 of 175 hotels in Cancun
Redding, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not for spring break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel has good accommodations, but is FAR too NOISY during spring break. Music blares throughout the day and it is impossible to rest, indoors or out. Those who are not members seem to over-run the place and can be quite rude, cutting in line at the buffets, getting on the elevator before allowing you to get off, children running and screaming everywhere, etc. I may have to check out the other Palace resorts to find something more accommodating to a senior. While I was aware that Hard Rock was designed to appeal to the younger crowd, I thought it would be able to satisfy a broader spectrum of age groups.

Staff is especially wonderful and will try to meet any need you might have.

Will need to check the calendar better next time or go to an adults only resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hey Ronald T! Thank for your post, we are glad that you had the opportunity to live the Rock star experience were sorry you didn’t get to enjoyed it 100% Spring Break it’s just not for everyone. We will let our staff know that that their service Rocked! As you said for your next visit review the calendar I recommend you travel between June to October is a great time to spend on the beach with great weather and not to crowded. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
SAVE THE PLANET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,070
    394
    172
    78
    60
See reviews for
579
597
15
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I read a million reviews for this place so I thought it was only fair to write one.
Food: Hibiti -amazing . Brizilian - awful done waste your time ! Mexican - bland but good ! We only eat at the breakfast buffet same choices everyday gets old. Outside grill- good but make sure the food is fully done. Italian - amazing

Services - so so so slow . WHEN ORDERING DRINKS GET TWO!!! alcohol or not it takes for ever . There are 3 amazing bartenders but that is it.

Checkin/checkout- we got our reservations wrong . But the figured it out with a few upset words from the boys. Check out - as soon as they cut the wrist band off we asked for waters before we left. The guy who just took our wrist bands of told us we now have to pay for them.

Room was amazing even though there was not alot of space

Pool - awesome great entertainment !!
( we were rude an when we went down to the pool 25% were taken 75% were saved by towels. By the 3 rd day we got sick of that so we sat in saved seats an no one even said anything . We asked the people around the chair if anyone had been around normally they hadn't seen anyone so we just sadly down . I advice it)

Disco- if you tip the dj an bar tender they stay open late



We loved it over all an would come back for sure !!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Travelermandi hola!! We appreciate that you took some time and posted your comments. Were pleased you loved our unique style rooms, we regret that Ipanema restaurants didn’t deliver the culinary experience we strive to portray, but it seems that Ciao was amazing; we will let our Executive chef your comments in order to make the adjustments. Regarding your concerns on people saving pool chairs, we are implementing new strategies to deliver a Rock star service.
However, we are very glad to know that these inconveniences did not affect your overall stay. We hope the year goes by fast… we can`t wait to see you again!!
SAVE THE PLANET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were there at hard rock march 6-13 and I have to say that me and my friends that were there all said that we will differently come back to this hotel !

Lets start with checking in we checked in before the other 2 couples that we were with did and I asked for an up grade and the guy at the front desk said it wasn't available and was much in a hurry I don't know why since it was 6:00 pm and there was no one else checking in but us!

Our friends were next to check in and he tells them that they will be getting a better view than us there getting the lagoon view!

Then the third couple checks in and we are all there waiting and he tells them that there getting a really nice view, well guess what ? they got ocean view without even using there resort credits and I was amazed for the reason is that we were there celebrating our 15 year anniversary and invited friends to join us and they got better view than us , ok well we get to the room and my view was looking dead into a wall and I asked again that I want a different room and there excuse was that they were all full , so they said tomorrow and tomorrow became tomorrow so I let it go

So now the next day we get to the pool and it was amazing the view of the ocean the swim up bar and the cooks on the north side of the pool is so friendly forgot his name but didn't forget about angel at the bar with the white glasses he was so friendly and the best we had a blast out there

Now the restaurants are also amazing and the Buffett all the employees are so friendly in the hotel from concierges to bar attendants especially Martha in the inside bar we will never forget her she was so humble and always helped us when we needed something friendly and hard worker she is a big asset to the hotel

Will we ever return absolutely we are already making plans to return next march this time with our whole family!

There's much more I can say but it's getting to long like I say why fix whats not broken I will be back hard rock !

Room Tip: Get ocean view if you can , lagoon view is good but don't be like us and stare at a wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hi mrbugless1, 15th anniversary Wow!!... Were so pleased that you gave us the opportunity to record this once in a life time moment a long with your friends, we regret to know that you weren’t able to upgrade your room, it sounds like the luck of the Irish wasn’t on your side this. We’re glad that you enjoyed the pool with the swim up bar and that our culinary artists along with angel made you had a blast. Were pleased that our world restaurant tour was a hit, Martha will be happy to know that she rocked with here service, we will be waiting for your next gig!!
SAVE THE PLANET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have been to the Palace Resorts in Cancun several times and looked forward to the same type of culture - although aware Cancun Palace was now Hard Rock.

Check in was great, although like buying a new car, we were 'escorted' to stations to sign-up for time shares, excursions, etc . We opted to forego these stations and go straight to our room. Very nice room, ocean view, lovely. Room Service was great but if you drink something other than what is provided in the room - good luck.

First night dining in the Ipanema - interesting service with tableside meat cutting. We decided on the turkey and when delivered, found the the turkey completely raw wrapped inside of cooked bacon. O.K. Things happen.

The Market Place - pure buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner - was a maze of jockeying our plates of food down the stairs trying to avoid servers with large platters of dirty dishes bumping into the guests trying to navigate the stairs. One server spilled a wash bucket of chocolate milk - cleaned up - but the sight of a wash bucket being emptied into the chocolate milk dispenser left an icky feeling. Eggs were spilled on the steps and it took several minutes until a guest pointed this out to a person in charge.

The food at the market was o.k. if you crave Mexican food. The omelet station was great which is what we gravitated to each morning. The pool side lunch/snacks again were typical Mexican with the Guacamole tasting like wallpaper paste. No big thing. Just had another drink. The drinks were great and bar service wonderful.

The Japanese restaurant was the highlight with tableside entertainment and good food. Apart from that, McDonalds was looking good. The Head Chef, Bruno, very personable and engaging gave a delightful Food Network-type dinner show - however, Tacos? We can have them here in the States. The rest of the food was o.k. - and again, even the steak knife did not cut through the meat. Strange food. And pricey.

Back to Ipanema, we decided to pay extra for Lobster our last night. The Lobster was so tough, we could not cut I, againt. Upon leaving most of our dinner, the chef came over and said, "Lobster too tough"??? Yes. With no rebate or exchange for dessert, etc.

The entertainment at Hard Rock was absolutely fabulous. The Battle of the Bands felt like being present at a Journey, Foreigner, Michael Jackson concert. The best I have seen in Cancun. Very well done. The young MC, who also hosted the poolside games, seemed a bit flippant and like the trivial pursuit games, catered to the younger crowd, almost making the over 50 crowd feel like intruders.

The female entertainment staff, Vickie and Fernanda and the young man from Korea gave their all. They were ceaseless in their efforts and remembered our names with a hug each time we saw them. Kevin's Spanish Lessons were spent kanoodling with the female assistant and in playing Soccer on the beach, he refused to pass the ball. Very arrogant.

The Entertainment Director, Alex, went above and beyond to deliver a promised shirt to me minutes before we left the resort.

The resort definitely catered to the Spring Breakers making getting a drink at the bar almost impossible unless you bribed with dollar bills.

Don't be deceived by the jewelry stores - grossly over-priced and not real diamonds - just CZs. The Spa was great - best massage, but be careful where you spend the credit money - that credit is a complete misnomer unless you are purchasing excursions or photos.

Room Tip: The ocean view was great - had to ask the maid for an outside ashtray which was never delivered - bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hey HatesWeeds!! Thank you for your review, were are glad that had the opportunity to try out the Rock star style at our unique Resort, Thank you for your comments on the restaurants we will get our culinary artist backstage to get their skills sharp, were so pleased that the entertainment was absolutely your BOOM!! The battle of the band and Michael Jackson are some of the many enjoyable shows that we have here at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.
Thank you for taking the time to mention so many of our collaborators, rest assured that we will let them know that you thought their service rocked!
We sincerely hope you give us the opportunity to change any negative perception you may have towards our service a future visit, and give you the rock star treatment you deserve
SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was our first visit as Palace Resort members. We took our 2 college age students and followed recommendations to get above the 4th floor and away from the elevators. We were lucky and got ocean view rooms. The view and room amenities were amazing! It was our first vacation in 9 years with just the 4 of us - and we thoroughly enjoyed it. There are plenty of restaurants with excellent variety and a lot to do - both on and off the resort. (Thank you, Luis @ Ciao for a very special evening!) Overall, the staff made us feel welcome and pampered. The only negative is that booking the tours with resort credits took an extraordinary amount of time (up to an hour in some cases) and the wifi was non-existent in our room and several sections of the building. All in all, a wonderful vacation for us!

Room Tip: Higher rooms away from elevators are quieter. Ocean view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hola T F!!!, Spring Break is a great time for all college age students and we`re more than happy that your family had the opportunity to spend this time of the year together after a very long time of not doing it. We are pleased that you enjoyed our room’s style and decor, our rock amenities and the you loved the rockin`views of the ocean, were glad that you took a world tour around our unique cuisine; we are happy to know that CIAO rocked, Luis will be happy to know that you will remember him. Your concerts have been share with our Management team.
Make sure next times you come upgrade yourself to a Hall of Fame, we are looking forward to seeing you again very soon at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.
SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good location and facility. We visited during spring break due to nieces' availability. Otherwise it is a time slot to avoid at all costs. Hotel was more crowded and louder than other Palace/ Hard Rock property experiences. Fantastic food and service. Sommelier Nelson Bouchet put our experience over the top in hospitality and service. His wine selection was superb in the Brazilian Steakhouse!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Marc R, Spring Break? Sure why not!!, were glad that you try out to our unique style and take the opportunity to feel as a Rock star, we are so pleased to know that Ipanema`s cuisine was so exquisite. Thank you for taking the time to mention that Nelson rocked your world. Here at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun we are all about good attitude… service it’s just our nature. We look forward to welcome you again many more times to your favorite stage.
SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We came back to to the former Cancun Palace after 4 years expecting the same resort we'd visited before.

First the good news..Service, room quality, food quality and friendliness are still as they we're 4 years ago.

What I didn't count on was that now as Palace Premier member I appear to be having to take a back seat to the new Hard Rock Legendary membership. The process of booking is more complicated as even though both Palace and Hard Rock is the same booking company, it seems that this booking company can't immediately confirm the booking. Also we were unable to get the presidential suite that was so easy to book in the Palace Resort days. With the changes many of the Palace perks have disappeared. Gone are the transfers to other Palace resorts (we always enjoyed a day trip to one of the other resorts as a break from the home resort ( a big reason we bought the Palace Premier in the first place). We also were told that they wanted to update us on the new program (to dispel our fears about the changes). Unfortunately the promised one hour of update turned into 3 hours of intensely hellish sales pitch (fortunately it was raining at the time). We were told that two on their computer system of our Imperial Weeks had expired, even though we had documentation to show that they had not. The pith included the buy not as this promotion is ending, even though the promotion was something better in ways then the one we bought a few years ago (other than it only includes the Hard Rock resorts).

Our flight arrived in the wee hours (3 AM) and the room assigned was not the standard that I we normally received for Palace Premier. We did get that sorted out the next night. We like the premier area on the beach, with it's more comfortable lounges.

Would still recommend this resort, but caution people to stay away from the sales pitch.

Room Tip: Get an ocean side room above the 4th floor and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan D, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hey Flanuer !! We are glad that since you’re last visited us 4 years ago, you still found our food to be great, the service to be what you remember, and the conform or our new style rooms to be of a rockstar. We know that many things have change but hopefully there for the good of all our guest and members. We apologies for the mix up at your check in but the crew figure it out and secure that you`ll get the VIP plus on your stay. We hope you don’t take too long again to come relax and enjoyed our unique and unforgettable style.
SAVE THE PLANET.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Also Known As:
Cancun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace
Cancun Palace Hotel
Cancun Palace Resort
Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Cancun
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Cancun
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#29 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#29 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Cancun 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a complete rockin’ renovation, Cancun Palace debuted as the all-inclusive Hard Rock Hotel Cancun in October 2012. Featuring enhanced, new facilities and guestrooms and located in the heart of Cancun's hotel zone, Hard Rock Hotel Cancun boasts unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double Jacuzzis, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. The beachfront property also features Hard Rock's signature Rock Star Suite and showcases an extensive collection of authentic memorabilia from international and local music artists, while incorporating diverse music genres throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Venere, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.