We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience, would definitely go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel Cancun to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% OFF + $1,800 CREDIT
Ranked #19 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Markham, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent experience, would definitely go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We (me, my wife, 3 year old daughter and 9 month old son) stayed seven nights at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun in early February 2013. We had a fantastic time and definitely would come back. Last year we stayed at Beach Palace, which is a top 10 tripadvisor-rated resort in Cancun, so our expectations were definitely high! Hard Rock ended up coming in a close second to Beach Palace.

In summary, the food was above-average, the entertainment was the best we've seen at any resort, the rooms were average and staff were slightly above-average. The $1500 resort credits are a gimmick as you end up paying more with the 11% "service fee" that they charge you. The only exception is the spa allowance that equates to excellent value.

Rooms:
We had an Oceanview room in the middle of hotel on the 9th floor on our first day. We were about four rooms from the elevator. Our first night was a disaster because the noise was absolutely unbearable and our kids had trouble sleeping. The traffic in the hallway did not let up until about 1am in the morning and it was probably one of the noisiest hotel rooms we've ever stayed in. We requested to be moved the next morning and the Manager on Duty Yakimoto (who was excellent) moved us to a different oceanview room at the end of the wing (away from the elevators) on the 7th floor. We were literally at the end of the hallway and the silence was bliss.

In terms of the size of rooms, we found them to be small for the price you pay. Also, there is a jacuzzi in every room, and the positioning near the entrance of the room tends to get in the way making it tight to navigate between the beds and bathroom. Also, most of the balconies were tiny and there was only enough room to just step out and sit. For a five-star hotel, you would expect bigger balconies. In the new room we had on the 7th floor in the wing, the balconies were larger and much more suitable.

Our advice is to request a room near the end of the wings, which are quieter and have larger balconies.

Food:
There are four a la carte restaurants at the resort, the Market Buffet and other dining around the pool area:

Zen (Asian): We ate here on our first night in the a la carte menu area. It was a HUGE disappointment. The sushi was dry, pasty and tasted like it was just defrosted after being frozen for days. We also tried a couple of other dishes like pad thai and teriyaki and again they were disappointing and very far from tasting anything like authentic Asian.

On another evening we tried the Teppanyaki grills. They were fantastic! The food was fresh and tasty and the chef's show was always enjoyable. If they aren't too busy, ask them to make Mayan coffee at dessert time. It tastes amazing and the show is excellent as well. The Teppanyaki was so good that we ended up eating there another two nights.

Ciao (Italian): We ate here on our second night. Again another disappointment for the a la carte menu. The food was no good and one of our waiters actually admitted that people never finish their pasta dishes because of the poor quality. They definitely have to work on their menu at this restaurant. We did not revisit again during our stay. If you are looking for good pasta, go to the Market Buffet and ask them to make it on the grill for you. It was very tasty and actually better than some Italian restaurants we have visited.

Ipanema (Brazilian): This restaurant was Brazilian-style with the various cuts of meat brought around to your table. In general, this was better than Ciao and better than a la carte at Zen, however, the food options at Ipanema were much more limited. We did not revisit again during our stay.

Frida (Mexican): Frida was excellent. The food was great and our waiter was excellent. However, our food took forever to be delivered to our table. Mexican food is generally not on our favourites list so we only visited one night.

Market Buffett: The market buffet was very good compared to other resorts. The food was always hot and the variety was above-average. The grill is an excellent area for having them make eggs, pasta, fish, steak, fresh to order. Our breakfast and lunch waiter Carlos was excellent. He always put a smile on our faces and surprised our daughter with a Minnie Mouse-shaped pancake one morning for breakfast.

Entertainment:
We had the best entertainment experience of any resort we have ever visited! During the day, the DJ was playing top 40 hits. While some people complain that it is noisy for the oceanview rooms, we loved listening to the music in our room and sometimes taking a nice afternoon nap listening to the ocean waves and music. On some nights, there was a band playing around the pool. They played 70s, 80s, 90s rock and they were AMAZING.

For our kids, their kids club was awesome! They had Angelina Ballerina and Barney theme rooms, as well as Bob the Builder and Thomas activities. Every Thursday night they have a huge show at the Theatre, which has all four character appearances. Also there is a very cool splash area for kids at the kids center and they also have various crafts and character visits throughout the week (including character breakfasts).

On other nights, we saw the Fire Show. Make sure you sit further back as one of the flame throwers accidentally let go of his baton while it was still on fire and it landed near the feet of the people sitting in the front row!

Room Tip: Our advice is to request a room near the end of the wings, which are quieter and have larger balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Greetings from the band in Cancun! Hi there CanadianStockDaddy, we are overjoyed to hear that you all had a blast and that you will definitely return, and thanks again for giving us an awesome review and great a score within your top 10 we appreciate it! We cannot wait to welcome you again with open arms, roll out the red carpet and treat you like rock stars!
The crew is ready for the next gig, and the stage is waiting for you here at: Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,938
    616
    286
    117
    79
See reviews for
1,024
982
32
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were part of a group of 12 that stayed at the Hard Rock Cancun in February 2013. The food was top notch and the atmosphere was perfect. If we wanted to be involved with activities, we ventured to one end of the pool. If we wanted to relax in the sun, we went to the other end. The pool was so big you had these two options. The beach was also a great place to relax. I liked the service on the beach. Always a cold drink in hand and I never left my chair. The room was always spotless and a stocked fridge. We took advantage of the spa and had a relaxing 80 minute massage. The staff was very friendly and available.

Room Tip: If you don't mind hearing music from 9am - 9pm, get a room facing the ocean. If you want it qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hey Aaron Z, sounds like the band had a blast with us! Right on! We appreciate your review and we totally love to hear that you took advantage of our facilities and activities to keep you well entertained, and what to say about the service on the beach, who wouldn’t like to be with a cold drink in hand by the soft, white sand and brilliant turquoise-blue ocean? Only our rock stars like you here in Hard Rock Hotel Cancun. We look forward to welcome you again and keep the good times rolling!
SAVE THE PLANET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This resort has great service, food and location is gorgeous - white sand beach!
Staff is fabulous - Saira is the best waitress by the pool - Charly put together a wonderful seafood luncheon for our group. The entertainment staff by the pool does a great job of getting the crowd involved - thanks to Kevin, Andy, Natashia, Fergie, Kikass!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Ocean view room if available - try and stay away from rooms near the elevators - the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hola, Minnesota T, thank you very much for your short and great review, the staff is the soul of our resort, we are thrilled hearing that you loved the resort location, the beach, and that Charlie set up a great lunch for your group! We are passing your comments to our entertainment team, to let them know they rocked your vacations! That’s rock n’ roll!
ALL IS ONE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife,daughter and I had the greatest vacation yet at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun 2013. We loved the hotel,the memorabilia and the room. The view from the balcony was extraordinary and the weather was perfect! We especially loved the entertainment staff. Kevin,Andy,Jackie,Vicki,Natasha,Alex,Kikass and "Fergie" were outstanding,fun, energetic and made sure my 5 year old daughter had the time of her life. From the Mariachi band,to the wrestling show,the Super Bowl party in the Amphitheater,we really had great entertainment all week long. We will DEFINITELY return next year and highly recommend the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun. The All inclusive Hotel was exactly what we hoped it would be.

Room Tip: Ask for an Oceanfront room. The view of the bay is nice but you're in Cancun so you MUST have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Nick K, greetings from Cancun Mexico! Thank you very much for your nice review, we appreciate you highly recommend us and even more to hear that you had the greatest vacations at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun! We are passing your comments to our Entertainment team; they will love to hear that your 5 year old had the time or her life, yeah! These are the type of rock stories we love to hear and we will look forward to welcome you and roll out the red carpet and spoil you rotten!
Keep on rockin’
TAKE TIME TO BE KIND
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Beautiful beach location, our room was gorgeous ocean front 4th floor, a bit loud in the afternoon as the beach bar and band/dj was always playing in the afternoon. We weren't in room much so it didn't really matter. Zen and Tampaneki are the best restaraunts, dont bother with CIAO, not good and took so long for food, terrible food too. Lunch, you have to go to the Grille in the marketplace, order shrimp and steak then outside they will make the best caeser salad...yum. The pools were incredible, if you want a chair you must get ur book and towel on it at 7am to be poolside. The grounds are immaculate, staff work hard at keeping this hotel beautiful, check in is long and they should rethink the setup of their check in process. Really didn't venture into the ocean it was really rough. The only complaint I have is some dollars and medicine went missing. I brought my pain medicine as I have radiculopathy and 100 one dollar bills as we like to tip. The first day my pocket book was moved and money seemed disheveled in bag, didn't know how many ones I had so thought little of it, so the 2nd night I counted my one's 76 and my 7 pills. The next day after we sunbathed came back to room for a siesta, I counted my pills 4 left and my ones there were 69, did the same thing the third night and again next day more missing. Next trip we will lock up our things in the safe. Never wanted to believe this was happening as we always travel 5 star not 4, this hotel, seemed more like a 3 star in reference to clientele they serve. We traveled here last year when it was cancun palace and it seemed more upscale and different. We didnt' pay for the trip well my husband actually worked for it, but it is not a place we would normally book.

Room Tip: ocean front corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi aloha09, thank you for your review. We are happy that you loved your room and enjoyed our Zen restaurant our chefs always try to impress our rock stars!
On the other hand we truly regret to hear that you had some inconveniences at Ciao restaurant with slow service and with your dollar bills and medicine,, be sure that we take our valued guests comments with the most importance; we are passing your comments to our Management Team to ensure our processes are reinforced and prevent any occurrence from happening. We hope you can visit us again in the near future to give you the Rock Star treatment and make your next vacations a hit!
LOVE ALL SERVE ALL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hi All,
unfortunately this resort is not what they say it is.
1) The phone custoer service is the worst. I waited over 2 hours just to make reservations. I'm not kidding.
2) We arrive to Cancun Palace, the line was 2 hours long. We finally had a chance to speak with a front desk person and we were told we had to wait 3 to 4 hours for a room to be ready.
3) We go to make our arrangements for our excursions and 80% of the excursions were overbooked and we were unable to go to the excursions promised.
4) Top shelf drinks, I don't think so. They serve the cheapest alcohol mexico sales. I asked for certain type of tequila and I caught the bartender pouring a cheap tequila into a top shelf bottle. I'm 45 years old and I was sick for 3 of the 7 days due to the cheap alcohol.
5) At the bar or the poolside bar, they simply refuse to serve can beer. I was told by the manager if I want to drink can beer I cannot let other guest find out because they will ask. Again I'm 45 years old and tap beer will ruin my stomach.
6) The shows they have at the hotel are soo cheesy.
7) The only reason I'm giving this resort a 2 is because of their food.
Save your money and get a nice hotel in Cancun. Buy your own alcohol and go out to eat authentic mexican food. You will save a bundle this way.
I know I sound like Debbie Downer, however the truth is the truth.
Don't even consider a membership, stay away from the sharks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear charlie c, allow me to thank you for your review and bring this matters to our attention. We regret to know about your inconveniences making your reservations and at your check-in, as this Is a very unusual waiting time and we apologize for that.
Concerning your inconveniences making your excursions bookings, we encourage our guests to book their activities in advance through our Vacation Planners and telemarketing teams, they will be happy to help you out making your reservations for the spa, golf, beauty salon, special dinners, tequila and wine tastings, tours, activities and excursions.
Regarding the top shelf drinks, our unlimited international spirits list includes: Whiskies such as Jack Daniel's (red and black labels), Johnnie Walker, Ballantine's, and Chivas Regal; Vodkas such as Smirnoff, and Barton, Oso Negro, and Blat; Gins including Beefeater and Tanqueray; Brandies including Fundador, Presidente, Don Pedro and Rums including Bacardi, Captain Morgan, and Baraima. Carefully reviewing, we found no record on file regarding this matter, we strongly urge all of our guests to report any inconvenience during their vacation to immediately bring this up to our attention. We assure you that we only use top brands in our bars, nevertheless we shared your comments with our F&B Director for further review.
Our goal is that every vacation will be a memorable one and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to change any negative perception toward our service and make your visit a true Rock Star experience here at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.
TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I earned an all-inclusive day pass to the Hard Rock Hotel in Cancun in exchange for attending one of their sales presentations. The Hard Rock is a beautiful Hotel. We toured the hotel and found the rooms to be beautifully appointed with each one containing a jacuzzi tub. I was especially impressed to learn that they have a pillow menu! Even though we did not sleep there, we did lie down on the beds and found them to be very comfortable. We ate at the poolside buffet, drank from the poolside bar, and ate at their Braziian restaurant. The food is amazing and the service is impeccable. We enjoyed the poolside music and entertainment.

Compared to the hotel we were actually staying at, the Hard Rock seems more appealing to the quintessential Spring Break crowd. I could not see bringing small children to this hotel, but our teenage and young adult children would love it.

On the downside, while we visited in February (not the Spring Break time of year), all the poolside and beach chairs were being used, which makes me believe it would be too crowded for comfort at a busier time of year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi nerlander, thank you for your review, we appreciate you like our style and facilities and enjoyed our Ipanema restaurant. Fear not, there are plenty of lounge chairs for our rockers, and whether it's all day or all night, we provide entertainment for all ages. The fun is non-stop for our littlest rock stars as they learn, sing, dance, build, dress up, and enjoy an array of activities with their favorite characters at our kids club.
There's plenty of fun for your older teens too on our white sand beach. Teens will be anything but bored in our action-filled environment. When it's time to come out of the sun, kids can hit the game room for Wii, Xbox and Xbox 360 video games, or shoot some pool, play at the Ping Pong table and challenge one another to a game offoosball and air hockey, among other diversions. Plus, during high season, our disco is open nightly for teens from 13 to 17 to totally rock out.
So don’t think twice and come back any time of the year and we will make you feel the true rockstar treatment.
ALL IS ONE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 Business Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a complete rockin’ renovation, Cancun Palace debuted as the all-inclusive Hard Rock Hotel Cancun in October 2012. Featuring enhanced, new facilities and guestrooms and located in the heart of Cancun's hotel zone, Hard Rock Hotel Cancun boasts unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double Jacuzzis, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. The beachfront property also features Hard Rock's signature Rock Star Suite and showcases an extensive collection of authentic memorabilia from international and local music artists, while incorporating diverse music genres throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Resort
Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.