We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Oriented” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel Cancun to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% OFF + $1,800 CREDIT
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
East St.Paul,Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family Oriented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been to the Cancun Palace a number of times and just for the first time as a Hard Rock this January.
The renovations have updated the resort .The Lobby Bar and Epinima (Brazilian ) restaurant are a great improvement . We feel the pool renovation has cut down on pool space. But on the other hand there is plenty of room on the beach now to compensate .
The Hard Rock is a different concept geared towards young families and teen to 25 year.Deffinately a party atmosphere .We found it noisy as well . WE have stayed at the Hard Rock Punta Cana and could find quiet places to retreat to but this is hard at this smaller resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi Marianne S, thank you for your fantastic comments and we love when our dear recurring guests like the new style and new facilities like the Lobby Bar great place to hang out and make new friends, and to recharge batteries tried the new restaurants.
We hope you come back many more times and we will make your stay a Rock star experience.
SAVE THE PLANET
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,683
    566
    257
    110
    74
See reviews for
924
859
28
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kyle, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Well, we have have heard all the bad stuff about the change of Cancun Palace to Hard Rock Cancun. We were not sure what to expect. I guess some folks just don't like change. First off, yes it is a bit noisy with music for this 70 year old in the lobby but not a problem to get away from in the restaurants and your room. That is the only SMALL negative! We love the colors everywhere and the memorabilia everywhere from Rock and Roll. The room was great and clean. The biggest thing we found was the staff! We bought into Palace many years ago due to many things but mainly the cordial staff. Hard Rock staff is at or above the old level! From Ernesto, our personal concierge, to Veronica at the concierge desk, to Aurora the great towel art champion maid who had the cutest animal art on the bed each day, to Charly on wait staff in the mornings in the Market, to Dany Boy and Alan team in Ciao for dinner, and so many others I can't remember. All the restaurant staff were so friendly and gracious. You couldn't. Set anywhere for long without someone wanting to give you a drink. The food was well above what we have had from Palace in the past which was already great.
What a great place to bring family with teens! Live bands every other night as well as regular shows. Food selections are Mexican, Brazilian(my favorite), Italian, Japanese with menu and Tepanyaki tables, pizza from their own wood fired oven, outdoor grill,and buffets. We need to join the gym when we get home!
Then there is the beach which is beautiful white sand. The pools are big with kids pools and two swim up bars. The kids can go to. A great Kids Club and do many things there including a small water park.
This resort has it all!

Room Tip: Any ocean view is great. Some have bigger balconies than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello jbrecher, thank you very much for your nice comments about the staff, we will let them know you thought their service rocked! And we believe that your feedback is the best way to know how we are doing in terms of service and facilities and we love when our valued Members see a positive change and like the new style, and the variety of restaurants and all the good stuff that makes us your favorite spot to travel with all the family.
We will look forward to welcome you here with open arms in your favorite spot: Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was the first time I have ever been to Mexico and had a blast! My family booked the vacationt for Christmas time and it was 8 of us. The hotel was small enough where we could find each other but also large enough that when we got sick of each other! The hotel's staff was very helpful and always willing to help you with anything that you needed. Never a dull moment in this place! The entertainment staff kept you partying until you couldnt stand anymore. Rooms are spectacular and feels like home! I will not take a vacation any where else after experiencing this fantastic place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hola Sofia A, we are very pleased to hear that you had a blast at our resort in your first visit to Mexico! You truly lived as rock stars partying all day with the Entertainment staff and relaxing at your awesome room.
We cannot wait to welcome you again here at your favorite stage: Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed there Jan 19 to Jan 23, 2013. Check-in was prompt and they handed us 2 glasses of champagne while we used the resort credit to upgrade to ocean front. The bars served top shelf liquor: Don Julio, jack Daniels, Crown Royal, Frangelico, etc and draught beer was Sol and another local beer with Dos Exxis and others by can. Food was very good and several (over ten) options for entrees at each venue along with hundreds of side combos. If you went hungry it's your own fault since the staff was more than eager to have their chef whip up something not already on the menu or buffet. The staff from the bell-hops to the bartenders to waiters to housekeeping were friendly and helpful. We had several bartenders at the pool bar who remembered our names day after day and made us feel as if we were VIPs. Georgia Florida Line country band was there shooting a new music video and every guest had an opportunity to be in their video for Get Your Shine On. We were allowed to record it and my girls will be seeing the behind the scenes version before it makes it to television. Pretty cool times at Hard Rock Hotel and would recommend to anyone. The staff appreciated our $ tips and treated us great and even those people who sternly sided with the "tips included" and didn't tip the staff were treated equally as well as those of us who did tip. Room was nice, although the in-room hot tub I felt was a waste of space (we have an outdoor spa at home), bed was a bit firm, shower was large and balcony afforded beautiful ocean vistas. I wish the pools were heated as I imagine the country group did too since they were filming in the water from 5:30am to 9:30am and the hot tubs were cold as well. Securing a chair either on beach or around pool was not an issue as others have mentioned. Overall I would say we had an excellent vacation and thank the Hard Rock Hotel and staff for making it truly a memorable experience. Try the Brazillian Steakhouse Ipanema...it is a delicious shower of non-stop grilled meats!!! It is now 6 degrees out and I miss the warm Mexican sun at Hard Rock Hotel!!!

Room Tip: Hallways are marble--no carpet we were lucky enough to get room 208 close to ocean at end of hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello Gregory H, we would like to thank you for your awesome review! It very encouraging to hear that you felt the great service and warmness that characterizes Mexican people and that we made you feel like a VIP, been part of the Flo Rida concert and video, that is the true rockstar treatment.
We hope we can see you again soon and continue rocking’
Strum that air guitar!!
ALL IS ONE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livingston, west lothian
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Yet another visit to Cancun and yet another hotel to write about.
Hard Rock Hotel ( formerly Cancun Palace) is not for those who like a quiet rest by the pool. We loved this hotel because of the fact it plays loud music round the pool and has music playing throughout the hotel
Some good entertainment here too..we were lucky enough to be here when the American band Florida Georgia Line were shooting a video and doing concert on beach .Being British we had never heard of them but they are very very good a d I will download their album from iTunes.
The hotel is lovely, done in Hard Rock style with memorabilia all over the place.
The staff are all very helpful and pleasant in all areas.
The pool is lovely and clean and not too cold once your in.
The view on the ocean side is breathtaking ( room750).
You get free WiFi all hotel which is handy.
There are a lot of children at the hotel but it didn't bother us at all.
The resort credits can be used on many things but be aware that you still have to 11% tax on anything you buy from shops, in some shops u can only use a certain amount of credits but in the Resort Credit Store you can use them all( mainly silver jewellery)
you can use them on a couple of trips too like swimming with dolphins.
This is not a dress up hotel at night which disappointed me as I like to get the gladrags on but felt a wee bit out of place doing so.
The shop in hotel is a COMPLETE RIP OFF and should be avoided like the plague. It cost us $24 for 2 packs crisps when the wee shop out of the hotel only charged $ 13 for the same two packs, a bar of Herschey choc, a Snickers Duo, a magnum, a cornet to and 2 crispy choc bars!!! So you can see they are wayyyyyyy over the mark.Even the cashier asked us when we went to pay of we were sure as they were 12 dollars per pack! We only went there as we had just arrived and couldn't be bothered going out to shop !
Food is excellent in all restaurants , always fresh and hot with a great selection .
We are currently still here on our 9th night,going home on Sat and the weather has been tempremental, had a couple of completely sunny days, couple completely cloudy/rainy days and the rest have been half and half! Still managed to get a great tan tho cos when sun is out its hot!
The beach is amazing and water lovely for swimming however there are serious undercurrents in Cancun and you must not be fooled, there have a few drownings on the coast with people not respecting the warnings! That said the waves are fun as long as stay within the boundaries.
We booked with Thomas Cook and have seen nothing to do with them in the hotel at all, no rep,no info board, no info folder.The flight was ok I. Terms of space and food but entertainment is awful and the films are on a loop which means you can't decide when u watch film unlike Thomsons flights .Thomsons are far better hosts in my opinion!
Anyway ...wud I return to this hotel? Probably not as its not usual for us to go back to same hotel , however I wud definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Get a room on ocean side.. Use credits to upgrade and see amazing sunrise! 4th floor up for good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi, margot1968, thank you for your fantastic comments, we loved that you were here for the Flo Rida concert it was awesome! This is part of the true Rock star treatment! We love to hear when our rockers adore the service and our facilities; we do feel sorry you had a bad experience at the shop, however, we are very glad to know that this inconvenience did not affect your overall stay and you had a blast.
Thanks again for recommending us as your favorite stage, we hope you come back soon to hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Keep on rockin'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel chain can thank Christian in reservations to finally put me over the edge and write this review. Christian had to be the rudest, nastiest, unhelpful person I have ever spoke to in reservations (I certainly hope they are recording his calls). The hotel and staff at the Cancun Palace are great! But do not let them sucker you in to buying any type of membership to Hard Rock Legendary. I upgraded to the presidential membership and a long list of lies. I was told I would be able to use my points to buy things at any of the shops on location, not true. Even using the points at the spa is very restrictive. No more massage and pedi included and if you want to travel more than 7 days you need to buy "days", that wasn't included with my presidential membership. As a presidential member you are supposed to be booked on the concierge level, unless you call back for a week straight and demand it it just doesn't happen. When you call to book your room you will get a different story from each employee. Confirmation letters of my booking took me 3 call backs to get and about 4 hrs hold time. Its so sad because we love the resort and the people that work at the actual resort. The ocean is beautiful and blue and the hotel is close to town. But if you think for one minute by investing in a presidential membership you will get preferred service or anything at all special think again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hi Jonnygym, we would like to thank you for your review as it gives us the opportunity to address your concerns; Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay; this is certainly not the image we strive to portray at our Resort to our valued Members. It is our commitment to make our Members feel as they deserve and this is why we regret that you did not feel our warm service and our special treatment on your recent visit to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.
Rest assured that we take all of our Members comments with the most importance and based on such, we take the necessary steps to prevent them from reoccurring; We have passed your comment to our General Manager for further review.
Nevertheless we hope that you will give us the opportunity to change any negative perception you may have towards our service in a future visit to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun.
ALL IS ONE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went down to the Hard Rock with about 28 friends and we had a blast. They made every effort to accommodate us. We're a group that likes to eat and drink and we did plenty of both. The staff kept the food and drinks coming. Asian and Brazilian restaurants were awesome. Staff was extremely friendly and hospitable. Martha (waitress) was incredible at the lobby bar and Panda, Benny, Jovani and the rest of the crew outside and poolside were lots of fun. They let us let loose, and have a good time. They make every effort to make everyone feel comfortable and welcome. Some activities were not my cup of tea water aerobics activities but then they put together volleyball games and horseshoes on the beach as well as tequila volleyball in the pool. Would def. recommend this place and looking forward to going again!! thanks guys

Room Tip: Our jacuzzi tub was right in the middle of our room, I heard others were in the bathroom. Also we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro M, Customer Service Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hi Joe T, greeting from the crew at the Hard Rock Hotel Cancun! Thank you very much for your awesome review! We are thrilled to hear that you all had a blast with us, and loved the food and drink at the various restaurants and bars! We will let Martha Panda, Benny and Jovani know that you thought their service rocked!!
We cannot wait to welcome you all again and make your next visit a double hit here at your favorite stage: Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Cancun

Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14.5, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#21 Business Hotel in Cancun
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a complete rockin’ renovation, Cancun Palace debuted as the all-inclusive Hard Rock Hotel Cancun in October 2012. Featuring enhanced, new facilities and guestrooms and located in the heart of Cancun's hotel zone, Hard Rock Hotel Cancun boasts unmatched, all-inclusive luxury accommodations including in-room double Jacuzzis, fine dining, top-shelf drinks, 24-hour room service, live entertainment and more. The beachfront property also features Hard Rock's signature Rock Star Suite and showcases an extensive collection of authentic memorabilia from international and local music artists, while incorporating diverse music genres throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cancun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Resort
Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Palace Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.