We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Palace to your Saves list
Sun Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #4 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Southern California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Great location, great facilities, (usually) good service from general staff (waiters, bellhops, bartenders, etc).

But Palace Resorts have one major flaw that pretty much ruined our vacation. Horrible Management.

On our first day, we were tricked into a sales pitch (we thought we were getting a tour of the resort and help planning our activities), which ruined the mood for the rest of the week. The "free" gifts didn't make us feel any better because we couldn't enjoy them fully due to lack of information. (They never told us we had 500 pesos we could use on activities until our last day, when it was too late to use them).

We missed out on other activities because, despite several hours we spent with him, Jorge and other staff never told us we had to reserve seats on the bus.

When we met with managers of two different departments to let them know about the flaws in our visit, they kept making excuses about how it was OUR fault and didn't offer much compensation other than sending cheese and wine to our rooms (at a resort were all food and drink are already included).

All in all, if we could redo this vacation, we would have a much better time since we now know how things are run around here.

But, during our first stay at Palace Resorts, we repeatedly had to learn from previous failures and waste most of our time trying to feel our way around. So for first time visitors, good luck.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,687
    742
    214
    70
    37
See reviews for
76
3,093
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

i had such a wonderful experience @ Sun Palace. I am a persistent user of "Trip Advisor" when selecting hotels and Sun Palace definitely deserves all the praise and the rank that drew me to picking it as my vacation place. I won't go on too much...the reviews before me pretty much say it all but I will say some key things.

The hotel is beautiful, clean and right on a beautiful beach. we reserved the cheapest room but got upgraded without asking when we checked in, probably because of the occupacy being on the lowside...either way it was great, the room was beautiful. Some say it doesnt get enough sun in the afternoon because of the position of the building but that suited me just fine...it kept everything relatively cool and relaxed...We ordered room service breakfast most mornings and it always got there at the time we requested it with nothing missing. The service is wonderful..everyone is so nice and helpful...they take care of you, they joke with you and make your trip so enjoyable...we had a mischarge on our bill and was prepared for the typical management hostility but instead they simply made a call and got it taken care of with a smile and with no hassle for us at all.

The food is not 5 star or anything, so dont expect it. It was really hit and miss but nothing was "bad" really...just what you would expect from a regular chain restaraunt or something. if you keep that in mind, you wont be dissapointed. the drinks are weak, but just ask them to tweak it to your liking and they will!

excursions are included in the inclusive...so definitely take advantage. our tour guides were wonderful and kept everything so fun! we had no complaints at all and it really brought value to the place...just book as soon as you get there though, they fill up fast.

lastly, just relax and enjoy. this isn't a hard partying hotel...it's real chill, serene even...no screaming kids...and no matter how busy it is you dont feel like you're on top of other people...it's the perfect place to make have a vacation that makes you feel special.

and please tip. these people work so hard to make your trip great and they deserve it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

It's not really the style of my partner and I. To clarify, the place itself is gorgeous, spotless really. If you are uber-high maintenance you *may* find a *spec* of dirt somewhere (oh... was that sand... by... a... beach??), but we didn't. You won't be lacking for quality here if you are an average jane or joe. We just don't need over-indulgence for more than a few days.

All the staff is very nice, the food is very good (except the Oriental restaurant... but please, Oriental in Mexico? I'd like to see how Mexican is done in China.), drinks are very tasty and can be made stronger upon request. The rooms are impeccable and come with a double jacuzzi, safe, a full bar of liquor and a 24 hour room service menu.

We brought ones (USD) for tipping wait staff, housekeeping and bartenders. I would recommend it, these people work harder and have lower living conditions than most vacationers coming here.

Most of the vacationers were happy to stay in the resort, but that was not our preference. We did not like the Chichen Itza tour. It was too hokey, canned and commercialized. I would have rather gone there on my own and explored without the schmultz.

The Sun Palace is immaculate, but too in-the-box for us. My boyfriend called it the compound! We preferred our rustic hotel in Tulum where we could go climb ruins, snorkel with sea turtles and dive into cenotes rather than the sterile commercialization and kitch of Cancun.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

Can't really fault this hotel at all. Room - fantastic - two double beds, hot tub, balcony, lovely toiletries. Swimming pool - lovely infinity pool with swim up bar. Food and drink on tap all day long. Breakfast is lovely. On the beach they serve you lovely drinks all day long. This hotel really was perfect!!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Va.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

Just got back from the Sun Palace with my wife. We enjoyed the vacation and the hotel very much. The staff was more than accomidating to our every needs and they kept the place spotless. The problems I did have is that we stayed in room 109 next to the Oriental Lounge. Every couple of days the staff cleans the Alamo lounge right below us and you can hear them moving the chairs and tables around at 2 and 3 AM. I had to go down to complain because it was so loud and we could not sleep. If you get a room along in this area or on the first floor ask for a different room/floor. There are plenty of vacancies. The place was virtually empty and there was no problem getting a lounge chair on the beach and/or near the pools. Cancun was operating at a 60% occupancy rate. The larger infinity pool is where they have the water polo and volleyball and it can get loud and you might even get hit with a ball. We stayed at the smaller infinity pools where it was more relaxing. If you are going here looking for good good drinks with quality alcohol forget it. They had a couple of good liquors but if you don't ask for it you wont get it. the drinks are weak. Beer was not of good quality and they did not serve Corona's at this hotel which I thought they should, the wine was ok.. The food was very good for the most part.The Italian Restaurant is required "dress up" and the food was pretty bland If you order a dessert in the Italian restaurant you will get a shot glass sized dessert. I am not kidding. We did not go back to that one.
Once you check in immediatly they start pushing the excursions and timeshare's or "memeberships". This can get annoying but I have to admit we did end up buying one. The excursions that they include are ok. We wanted to swim with the dolphins but were told that they bring you to a water park and you spend a couple of minutes in the pool with the dolphin. It was suggested to us to pay a little more and go to Delphinus. We did that and we were extremley satisfied. You spend about an hour with the dolphins and there are six people to a group. A lot of interaction. A little pricey but worth it. Everywhere you go in Cancun someone is trying to sell you something so be prepared. We went to Chichen-Itza and although we were facinated by the ruins the people were all over you in the park trying to sell you something which I thought was tacky and in 100 degree heat with 85% humidity got old real fast. All in all we enjoyed our trip and we will go back. We now know what to do and not do. We felt safe in the resort as well as downtown. You will not be disappointed. One night they had a baby turtle release back into the ocean and this was awesome. You might even see a Sea Turlte come up and lay her eggs at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed at the Sun Palace and it was amazing, adults only, no screaming kids. Very peaceful and affordable. The staff was fantastic. Please leave tips, these people are amazing. Our room was clean at all time. We didn't have to ask for anything. The food was delicious especially The Steak. The tours are awesome too (jungle tour, and zip line). Thanks Sun Palace staff for making our anniversary one to remember.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

There were so many things about our vacation that made it wonderful……………….. SERVICE Everyone really wants to please you here. The service was great from the front desk, poolside service, restaurants, to the room service, beach staff and maids- it was all good. For example, we ordered room service, and it was always there fast and the food order was always correct. They don't wait around for a tip, even though we did tip them every time. Another example, we went out to the beach, the lifeguard hauled out 2 chairs, a table, and umbrella. He then dug a hole and stuck the umbrella in it for us and ran off. Later, the waitress came down to the beach, and was great about getting us drinks often. Of course, we tipped them too. None of the staff expects tips. But, i think it would be rude to not tip……………… THE ROOM The room was HUGE! We got a great ocean view, the bathrooms were beautiful, the bed linens were clean, the marble floors are gorgeous, the full bar was great, the flat screen tv was nice, a little sitting area came in handy for breakfast every morning, plenty of bottled water, juice, and soda was stocked in the fridge. There was an ironing board, robes, and slippers. Our room was always nice to come back to……………..LOCATION The location was great. The sun palace beach was beautiful- white sand and right on the ocean. The hotel was a 10 min bus ride to another palace resort that you have access to (all inclusive there too, so free drinks, service, pool, food, etc.) Sun Palace is about 15 minutes from downtown Cancun, and that was a neat experience. The bus ride is only 65 cents too! So, i would say the location is great……………… WHAT I LIKED We wanted an all-inclusive with GOOD FOOD and a LUXURIOUS ambiance. And, that is what we got. The food was very good. The Italian restaurant is only open at night, and i highly recommend you go. The food was delicious, the beef carpaccio appetizer, the spinach and cheese soup, the steak stuffed with pancetta, and the dessert were all great. The wine was only ok- not many choices, but that was ok with me. The Alamo restaurant becomes a mexican restaurant by night and was delicious. By day, it has a WIDE variety of food choices, 2-3 small bite appetizers, 2 or 3 soups, lots of vegetable choices- both hot and cold, an antipasto section with breads, cheeses, meats, a section for freshly grilled things, like hamburgers, fajitas, cheesteaks, chicken and fish sandwiches, a ton of different kinds of meats, tuna, salmon, steak, and of course dessert section, which had about 5-7 different kinds of fancy desserts, but there was also a section where you could just pick up a popsicle or ice cream sandwich and walk back to the beach. And, we liked eating lunch there b/c everyday they had totally new items! It was close to the beach and pool, so you could just walk up and sit down in yr bathing suit. They offered towels to sit on so you wouldnt get the seat wet. It was very casual, even though the dining room was really nice. The Thai Terrace restaurant was also very good. The sushi is really bad though! Probably the worst sushi i have ever eaten. But, the appetizers and entrees were all really good. It also has a great ambiance. It sits on a roof top and you get a fantastic view! This was probably the most beautiful restaurant setting, although they were all nice. The room service food was also good and you can order it any time you want, even 4am. The mini hamburgers were yummy, the skirt steak was flavorful and tender, the asparagus soup -AMAZING!, the enchiladas were good, the breakfast was all good, except the waffles were rubbery. But, the coffee was good, the fresh fruit, juice, croissants, muffins, etc.- all good. Overall, we were very pleased with the food and not disappointed at all. I'm not saying it was iron chef, 5 star type food, but it was very very good, and there were a few really outstanding items. I think it was a great value. And i was relieved that we did not have to (or want to) go outside the hotel for a good meal!.............. Other things we like were the SPA! We got a couple’s massage which was one of the best massages I have ever had. First, we went to the sauna and steam room for 15 minutes and they had fresh cold healthy drinks. I don’t know what they were. One was chlorophyll or something? And, it had a really neat flavor, sort of like mint, and its supposed to relax you. They had another sort of fruity type drink, and of course lots of bottled water. The 2 ladies greeted us there and walked us into the room where we had a 50 min amazing professional massage. Afterwards, they leave and we got to shower in the room, which was really neat. When we came out of the room, we they had iced tea, nuts, and prunes for us. That set the tone for the rest of the day. We kept commenting on how relaxed and amazing we felt all day. I highly recommend getting your massage at the beginning of the day and at the beginning of your trip for that reason.................... Our snorkeling / speedboat trip was also really fun. You get you your own speedboat and it takes about 15 minutes to get to the coral reef. The snorkeling was fun; we saw tropical fish, coral reef, and a stingray! On the way there and back you go through mangrove trails, and its really pretty. Being out on the ocean was fun. The speedboat tour was across the street from Sun Palace, which was convenient. We didn’t have to take a van or cab to get there. The entire trip took about 2 hours................. We also liked that it was a couple’s only resort b/c it was quiet and relaxing. This is not the place you go if you want to party hard and meet lots of people. We met some social people, but for the most part people just kept to themselves and relaxed. They had spa-like music playing everywhere, except one pool where they had fun music playing. We saw a few honeymooners. I would say it was a good age group mix. There were young couple’s in their 30’s like us, but also 40’s, 50’s, and 60’s. It was a good mix of people. Not many couple’s in their 20’s though.................. We tried out all the different bars available. In the lobby bar, which has a great view of the pool and ocean, they had a sandwich grill station one day. It was just a special little touch that made every inch of the hotel a fun experience. We shared some drinks and a small sandwich while deciding what we wanted to do that night. And, the whole resort was like that. No matter where you were, there was some kind of little special treat or thing............. We also liked the gym, which was big and had lots of equipment and machines, it was also not crowded and had a beautiful view, with big large windows........... And, the internet connection in the room was great. We didnt have any problems. WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE Honestly, there is not much we didn’t like. I would only change 1 thing. There were not a lot of channels to choose from on TV, and therefore I would have like movie options. I know that we were in another country, so I didn’t expect all English channels, but it would have been nice if they had movie options available, even if we had to pay for it. Because, lots of nights we would call it a night around 10-11pm and my fiancé would fall asleep and I would want something to do because I’m a night owl. But, on a positive note, I was usually able to find something on tv to entertain me. Other than that, there is nothing I would change. …………….. SALES PITCH FOR FREE TOUR AND SPA We did take the 2 hour sales pitch so we could get the $100 towards spa and tours. And, it was worth it to us. We get there around 10am, they take us to another palace resort 10 min away, we eat breakfast in one of the hotel restaurants with the sales lady, she takes on a tour of the hotel, which was nice, and then they explain the membership purchase to us (which is a really bad value), and we told them no, and that was it. We spent the rest of the day at that hotel, but we could have left whenever we wanted. We left from there to go to downtown cancun, which was sort of neat, b/c there was a lot of pretty things to see, locals, and other stuff. We strolled through the market but didn’t buy any of the touristy souvenirs. We hung out a bar and had a beer. We took a few pics, walked around, and an hour later left to go back to the hotel...................... This was my first time in Mexico, and I was expecting a cheesy American vacation, but I was pleasantly surprised and i think a lot of that had to do with Sun Palace. Being at Sun Palace was like being at a spa. It was so relaxing, the beach was beautiful, the food was good, and the service was good. We really felt like we were in heaven. I will definitely stay at this hotel again! It was a great value and a wonderful vacation! We spent about $2200 for hotel and airfare, another $400 on tours, spa, and maybe $50 for tipping. Travelling costs, like airport parking, and boarding our dog made the trip come to about $3000, which we felt was a great value for 5 days. We would have gone to see the mayan ruins if we had a couple more days because that is an all day trip. Maybe next time! Please feel free to contact me with any questions, as i was very thankful for the reviews of other vacationers who helped me pick Sun Palace!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.