We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Palace

Save Saved
You added Sun Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #4 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Alabama
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

This was our 3rd trip to Cancun and our 1st stay with Sun palace and they had a lot to live up to based on our experience at our previous resort. Our main reson for trying another resort was the wonderful reviews and ADULTS ONLY!!! They not only met our expectations but exceeded them!! From the moment we arrived we were greeted with champagne and a carnation and from then on we received impeccable service. The staff was very courteous and we never encountered anyone who did not try to make our stay absolutely a wonderful experience. The room was the best we had ever stayed in and was immaculate! Our maid visited the room twice a day (unless we had do not disturb light on) and did an exceptional job. The refrigerator and bar was well stocked and was restocked daily with pepsi,dt pepsi,dt coke,coke,ginger ale, beer, apple juice, and orange juice. The only thing we lacked from our previous stays was Corona, which they do not have. The restaurants were absolutely wonderful. We never had a bad meal. Our favorites were the Italian and the Mexican at which we both ordered fillet mignon (because of previous reviews we had read) that was the best we had ever tasted!! They have a quiet pool and an activity pool which were both very nice and they have activities all day long. If you do go and plan on playing water polo or volley ball in the pool I highly reccomend taking aqua shoes because it will scuff up the bottom of your feet. They also have nightly shows and entertainment which is different each night. We went to the Celebrity show, Fire show (on the beach), and kareoke. All were very good and highly recommended. Also they have many excursions that are free but we only did the zip line which was a Blast!! Our main focus was to just relax and spend time on the beach but many other couples spoke highly of the excursions. This resort also has beach and pool service in which you not only can order drinks but food! Included in your all inclusive price also is 24 hour room service which only took at the most 20 minutes. I also forgot to mention the room has a safe that you program with your own code. I cannot say enough about how fabulous this resort is and we plan on extending our next stay to 10 days!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,389
    657
    186
    58
    37
See reviews for
70
2732
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Well what can I say about the Sun Palace that hasn’t been said already in the other fantastic reviews.

As the title says our stay from the 25/05/09 until 8/6/09 for our honeymoon was Absolutely perfect.

We have absolutely no complaints at all about this superb hotel.

The staff are great and very hard working, there wasn’t a day went by when people weren’t busy cleaning or polishing or some other work being done.

They are all extremely polite and the staff looked after us (and our room) Superbly

The food is varied, plentiful and delicious. And the beach is fantastic

Our room on the 8th floor was great and the view was stunning.

And really I don’t know what else to say.

Book the Sun palace you WON’T regret it.

Any questions drop me a PM ill be happy to answer any questions that I can.

Cheers Happy travels

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

Everything that others have said about this resort is true. We got the conceirge level room, which was great. As soon as we arrived, they handed us glasses of champagne and took us to the fifth floor so we could check in with the concierge. The service was fantastic the entire time. The only thing I was slightly disappointed by was the food. It wasn't five-star food, but I had many things (like filet mignon at the Italian restaurant) that were very good.

You'll be blown away by the place and its staff, just not by the food.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We just returned from Sun Palace (5/27-5/30) and it is an awesome Palace resort. The occupancy was roughly 30-35% during our stay so it was definately more quiet than I am sure it normally is. Most (if not all) rooms have a magnificant view of the pools/ocean. Food was very good, but we did not eat at the Mexican restaraunt. Rooms are very good size with many modern updates. Cleanliness was top-notch!! Loved the towel animals and turn-down service each evening which seems to have disappeared at the other palace resorts. Ask for Arlene at the pool. She will definately take care of you. Arlene, you rock!!
Typical excellent service for a palace resort! Beach was very nice, one of the best at any Palace resort in Cancun! This was our first time staying here even though we have visited the hotel to enjoy the beach in years past. Highly recommend for couples or any one over the age of 18! Went from here to Moon Palace for 7 days (also will be reviewing).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Greetings:
We had the opportunity to visit Sun Palace in Cancun from April 24 to May 1, 2009. It was our 4th trip to Cancun visiting a different place every time. The Palace was amazing. We had a group of 8 from Tulsa and meet more friends we travel with from Wisconsin. All the exciting people we meet during our vacation were fun and entertaining. Shout out HI to everyone from Washington, Illinois, Ohio, New York, Massachusetts, and many other states.
The food at Sun Palace was amazing, service was great, many thanks to the bar tenders who put up with a lot and made shots one afternoon at the pool bar. I believe the count was over 165 shots within a couple of hours for 25-30 people and not one complaint. They work extremely hard.
Our room overlooked the pool and ocean and the housekeeping staff keep it spotless. A special thanks to the wait staff serving the Mayan coffee. The jolts keep us going past midnight. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

My fiance and I were at Sun Palace May 24th - 31st.

We booked thru a member so our airport transfer was included. We arrived around 8 pm Sunday night and had the van from the airport all to ourselves! It was a very quick trip from the airport to Sun Palace. As soon as we arrived, I received a carnation and we both received a glass of champagne. Luigi checked us in and since occupancy was low, he upgraded our room without even having to ask for it!

Our luggage went with us to the room along with a staff member (I can't remember his name). He gave us a tour of our room, explained how the lights and AC work along with the maid service/do not disturb lights. The room was immaculate! The jacuzzi tub was awesome! We used it almost every night. This was an excellent way to relax at the end of the day before going to sleep.

The first day, Monday, Zulema helped us to plan our itinerary for the week. She was so kind and helpful. I was disappointed that the tours to Coba and Ek Balam were cancelled. The occupancy was low due to the H1N1 flu, so they didn't have enough pepole to fill those tours. I spent the afternoon at the spa, while my fiance spent time getting to know Nestor at the pool bar.

Tuesday, we went on the Tulum tour and visited the Xpu-Ha Palace. Tulum was beautiful. I was sad that we were not able to get closer to the ruins to really examine the carvings on the ruins. But the view from the top of the cliff is amazing. Our tour guide did a great job of sharing the history of the Mayas and Tulum. Xpu-Ha had a buffet lunch for us that was just ok. We didn't do the snorkeling, but probably should have. Instead, we went to the pool and hung out at the pool bar for awhile.

Wednesday, we went to the sales presentation at Cancun Palace. They gave us lots of spa credit and the Jungle tour for our time. We didn't buy, but enjoyed visiting Cancun Palace. That afternoon we sat by the pool to read and relax. The staff checked on us constantly to make sure we had enough to drink. They really work hard to make your vacation the very best. There was a drum and fire show on the beach that night. It was amazing!

Thurday, we did the zipline. It was fun and scary! I'm not crazy about heights, but I'm so glad I did it! We were back to the hotel by about 10:30. We went to Wet-N-Wild and had the place practically to ourselves. We did not swim with the dolphins, but there were no lines and shared the lazy river with only 1 other couple. The food at Wet-N-Wild was not good. But we enjoyed a few drinks at the bars and got to know the bartenders.

Friday, we went to Chichen Itza. It was a long, hot day, but so very worth it. Archeologists were there starting a new dig. There is something under the big pyramid, but they don't know what it is yet. There were tons of vendors in the ruins, which was annoying. Our tour guides were totally awesome! They were excellent at speaking bi-lingually for the entire bus ride.

Saturday, I was back at the spa in the morning. All the staff at the spa were excellent. I think I fell asleep during my facial. We went on the Jungle tour in the afternoon. Since it was our last night, we went to the Italian restaruant. Johnny Colorado was our waiter and he was so funny! He had us laughing all night!

Most evenings we at the Mexican restaurant. Pablo was our waiter and he did a great job at taking care of our every need.

We did not want to leave "paradise". I figure as soon as I win the lottery, we can live at Sun Palace! lol

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick,RI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

I will keep it short.This place is wonderfull.The service is great.The rooms are spotless and when people say it has the best spot on the beach,they aren't kidding.Go to Mexico and stay at the sun Palace.You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.