We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sun Palace to your Saves list
Sun Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #4 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
brazil
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

It is an adults only hotel with great service and wonderful food. drinks are fantastic compared to what is normally seen in all inclusive resorts. swimming pools are great, have wonderful ocean view.The room we stayed in had this wonderful bath for two from where you could see the beach. don´t know if all rooms are like that. I would totally recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We had booked a room which had no ocean view. upon arrival we asked how much an upgrade to an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
In general our views are quite impressive. And the room is made so that you can sit in the whirlpool and enjoy a beautiful sunset (although the sun sets on the other side, the hues in the clouds are fantastic).

Thank you very much for your feedback on our resort. We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again in not a too distant future.

With our best wishes,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,538
    688
    195
    62
    37
See reviews for
74
2,891
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just back from a week stay here, Me and my wife loved this place.
Rooms fantastic, sea view
Food excellent, every meal was great.
location great. At bottom end of hotel zone, bus stop right outside to take you all round hotel zone.
Can't fault anything at this hotel.
Beach is stunning, also resort credits were great to use.

Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Your kind words are most appreciated.

It is our privilege to have met with your expectations thus being singled out as a good venue for romantic and relaxing vacation.

We hope this will be the first of a series of trips that you will taketo our destination and will be standing by for your next voyage

Best regards,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Went there for a quick 4 nights stay and I which i could have stayed 2 weeks...This hotel is just OUTSTANDING!!! Great food, Great service, friendly staff, spacious and clean rooms with balcony ocean view. The beach is long, nice and clean...in fact the beach is better then riviera maya. The hotel is adults only, which makes it a great hotel to relax and enjoy the pool without yelling and splashing kids...Definitely recommend this Hotel and we will most likely be back there before long!

Room Tip: Take the room with Ocean view and the large balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
It has been our pleasure to host you.

When your travel to our resort it is an imperative for us that they have a good time.
This is what we do and we do it quite well.

But of course, this cannot be done without you. Your desire to have some happy days is paramount to the consecution of a great vacation.

So when we get your positive feedback, signifying that you enjoyed it is like getting our report card with only A's. We did well by you.

That is all that matters,

With warmest feelings,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at Sun Palace for a week of no rain and great weather, hot and sunny! We chose SP for its location, adult only atmosphere, after trying to get back to Secrets the Vine for our 3 free days- they would not communicate with us. At SP we were greeted at the door, taken back to check in where there were sandwiches and drinks- we needed both. In our room quickly on on the beach fast! Enjoyed lunch every day at the pool, burgers, seafood, chicken on the grill, cooked right there with fresh vegetables. We felt this was the best food of the place, especially they day they had just caught grouper! The restaurants were good, but nothing special. Enjoyed the afternoon "teas" in the lobby bar with sandwiches, chips, and treats- especially during the World Cup! They had a big screen TV up just for us soccer enthusiasts! And the bar tender served some awesome drinks!
We did the wine tasting and chefs dinner. Fun and entertaining.
Beach was awesome! Not as small as I believed it was going to be after reading the revues. We spent most of our days at the pool, playing water volleyball, bingo, just relaxing. Unfortunately I got a bad case of the Azetec Two Step, I did not drink the water or even use it to brush my teeth! The only thing I can think of was at the buffets, the yogurt, salad dressing and such were not kept cold enough.
The rooms were nice, but we were spoiled by Secrets Jr. Suite. The bathroom at SP was crowded when both of us were in there, with the closet being in the same area. Shower was nice, only used the jacuzzi when I was sick and could not get warm. I would have liked the space in the room to be able to move around more. Balcony was also very small, and the door ridiculously hard to open.
Used the spa for my free massages, facials and pedicure. Although they were relaxing, they were nothing special. Used our credits for this- had to pay tax and tip, but it really wasn't that much, and I think it added to our weeks experience. Hubby had his first manicure! We did not leave the resort, everything we needed was there.
The entertainment wasn't much, but we did enjoy it (when i was healthy) the shows somewhat cheesy, but what do you expect? As a dance teacher, I was not really impressed with the talent, but understand how hard it is to get high quality performers at such a venue.
But they still entertained us! I had to leave the Chef's dinner early, but hubby said the entertainment after was very good- a mentalist. We also did the wine tasting- recommended. Learned a lot about wines, good pours for a tasting, and paired it with food- so it wasn't just drinking, they fed us too.
We did use a lot of our resort credits, I think we had $200 left, and our bill for the taxes was $160, which is a lot less than if I had paid for this myself- 1 hour massage, 1 facial, tequila to bring home, spa facial package, we go free with our room 2- 1/2 massages and a manicure and pedicure and one upgrade wine. don't think I could have gotten all this for that price!
Only had bad service one time, at the Steak house. We were seated and forgot about, order a bottle of wine, and our food came before the wine. Needless to say, we rejected the wine, the Main chef came and apologized and gave us a glass of the upgraded wine on the house.
Overall the service was great, poolside servers knew if you were thirsty or stayed away if you weren't heavy drinkers. Never had trouble getting a seat at the pool or beach, we were usually there by 9:30 or 10. Sun was very hot!! June in Cancun!

Room Tip: All rooms are Ocean View, Lower rooms have larger balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

As much as we take care of our handling and cooking of food, we do get the occasional queasy stomach. It certainly is no fun. I hope you realize that being an all inclusive resort there is no way we leave any room for hygiene, temperatures and quality of our food and drinks.But yes, some clients will still get an upset stomach.

In general-and your 4 point review proves it- you had a "good" time. But not great. This is not what we have in mind for our patrons and am sure neither do you.

So I apologize for you not having a fantastic time. We try hard to give you our very best.

Sincerely,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Clean rooms, exceptional service. My husband lost his resort band and they replaced it for free. Nice beach, good food. This was one of our first all inclusive vacations. Overall it was worth the price. I recommend taking at least one tour. You miss so much if you just stay in the resort area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

There is something for everyone. If you are inclined to "do" there are tours to many of the paradisiac places of this area and the erstwhile grandiose epoch of the Mayas.

And the other visitors would rather just stay put at the resort.

We are just happy to host you.

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Sun Palace for our anniversary. What a fantastic place! We enjoyed it tremendously, the service was top notch, and it was difficult to leave. If we ever get back to Cancun, without children of course, we will definately stay at the Sun Palace.

Room Tip: This is VERY important. Be sure to ask for a beach side room. The view is spectacular!!! If you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
You could also come with your kids...if they're over 18.

But at that age they'd usually rather be caught dead than with their parents.

Not to worry. It starts getting better in their mid thirties.

In the meantime, come and enjoy with your significant other. You do deal with your kids 24/7. So save day 358 to 365 for yourselves.

Best feelings,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and i went for a wedding during the beginning of June. It was beautiful and well worth the cash. The drinks were delicious, the food delightful and full of flavor (except the desserts) and the service was superb. We visited the spa and loved our couples massage. The pool was great but closed a bit early. The ocean was gorgeous though the current was very strong our entire stay and we didn't see any fish or sea creatures. We were treated to a romantic dinner for two on the terrace and the food, service and atmosphere were perfect! They sent a bottle of champagne and a chocolate cake to our room as a special treat since we had been married in the last year. My friend's wedding was breath-taking and the staff made sure her day was perfect! We took two of the hotel's excursions: we went to Coco Bongo and Xel HA. Coco Bongo was interesting and fun but highly uncomfortable-wear flats because you are standing for hours on a two foot ledge mashed into people like you are a heavy metal concert. Xel Ha was gorgeous, fun and utterly delightful! I loved snorkeling (until I got a bit sea sick from the choppier waves), the tubing, the drinks, the hammocks and all the wildlife. I would happily stay at this hotel again anytime! :)

Room Tip: *Junior ocean view rooms are worth the upgrade for the spaciousness and awesome view! *Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
When you come to a wedding, expect a good time.

Our Weddings Department is very well versed in taking the worry off your shoulders. They are very experienced! So you can dedicate your time to reconnoitering the finer aspects or our destination.

The ocean is always a reminder of how small we are against nature. Currents, waves are ever present and never to be taken lightly.

I hate to say this but a healthy dose of respect for the ocean is preferable to dangerous self assurance. It keeps you safe and me in business.

I always like hearing that my wonderful guests are ready to come back. Just let me know when.

Best feelings,

pwinkler@palaceresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#4 Business Hotel in Cancun
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.