We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First All Inclusive Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Palace to your Saves list
Sun Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #4 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First All Inclusive Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

As they say, better late than never !! We stayed at the Sun Palace November 2012 and it was our first time ever at an all inclusive resort. Many of our friends and family have travelled and shared with us the benefits, pitfalls and disappointments of this type of vacation choice so I did a lot of research and appreciated the " trip advisor traveller's" opinions and advice. So, the great things about Sun Palace is all these services are included 1) Beach ocean view from the room....which has it's own 2 person hot tub !! 2) WINE room service delivers bottles of wine any time 24/7 3) Mini bar stocked with Rum, Rye, Vodka & Tequila, beer & pop for mix. 4) Room service delivers 24/7 a great choice of snacks & meals 5) Reservations are NOT required for the restaurants. 6) No limit on the number of times you can dine at the a la carte restaurants (many resorts have 3 dinner limit for 7 day stay. 7) Resort credits can be used for romantic dinners on the beach, manicures, massages or golf at the Moon Palace. 8) Food was GREAT ! Lunch buffet included fresh scallops, steak and fish cooked to order, Asian restaurant was our favorite !! ONLY THING MISSING was some night life, the lobby bar was the only place to go after dinner and Kariokee is not my idea of a good time !

Room Tip: Concierge level was great - the extras and beach view were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,257
    882
    252
    77
    45
See reviews for
104
3,758
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

When it comes to the Sun Palace, all we can say is AMAZING! This particular trip, we split our time in Mexico between two resorts, one in the Riviera Maya, the other at the Sun Palace. We love the Riviera Maya resorts as they are spacious and had some trepidation regarding going to the Sun Palace as it is more of a ‘conventional’ hotel. When we arrived we were greeted with a glass of champagne and the ‘whirlwind’ began. We checked-in, but since it was noon, our room wasn’t ready yet. We were a bit taken back since we never had to wear wrist bands on a trip before (but you get used to them quickly). From there we went to the honeymoon desk (yes, we were celebrating our honeymoon, more on that later) and then we had to go through a spiel regarding how to spend the $1500.00 resort credit and being asked to join them for a ‘welcome breakfast/presentation’ at the Moon Palace. Since we are NOT fans of timeshares/club enrollments we politely declined as we waited for our room to be ready.

Once we got all of that out of the way, we grabbed some drinks from Nolberto (who was awesome!) and started looking around…WOW! We have never seen water so blue! The views were amazing! The pools were amazing, the beach was amazing!!! We walked around to acclimate ourselves with the hotel (it isn’t large, so finding everything with a map on the first day is easy).

Once our room was ready, we switched into our bathing suits to hit the beach. There weren’t many open chairs, however we did find two and found a couple who told us so long as we were there by 9:30am we would have no trouble getting a GREAT seat for the day with an umbrella (umbrellas are necessary as it is the SUN Palace and it does get HOT!!!) The beach seating is absolutely amazing. They have folks bring you a chair and place the umbrella anywhere you want!! They keep a close eye on people who put towels down just to reserve seats. So long as we were there by 9:30, we never had a problem with chairs!

The dining was PHENOMINAL! Steak Restaurant is outside and if you get there when they open you’ll enjoy the sunset! Italian was where we had our honeymoon dinner and the wait-staff was AMAZING in making the celebration special! Oriental and Mexican restaurants were also great, however we had a LARGE group dining near us who were quite loud and kind of ruined the mood as we could barely communicate with each other… Never a wait for dinner, was able to walk in each time! Room service menu was very large and the service was very quick!

The shows were top-notch as we have seen many Michael Jackson impersonators in Mexico, but this one was certainly the best!! We checked out their Retro-Show and Karaoke, all of which was entertaining! The fire-show on the beach was also tremendous! None of the shows were crowded, not sure why because they were great!

One more factor that separated this resort from any other was the staff!!! The staff was beyond words great and went far beyond to make our trip special. BIG THANKS to Vanessa from the Entertainment Team as some of our best times were with her playing Texas Hold ‘Em and Blackjack IN THE POOL (Yes, they have a floating card table)!! She would even come out to the beach to find us to let us know when a game was about to begin, so Vanessa, thank you very much for making my new wife so happy with your games!!!! Aaron was GREAT as he hosted many of the activities! The wait-staff was GREAT including Ricardo in the buffets, Jose Daniel and all the staff on the beach (sorry, I don't have their names handy but the female waitress was GREAT!) and Pedro at breakfast went above and beyond as well!

The folks who cleaned the rooms were better than ANY resort we have ever been at! Everything was immaculate and they even folded our power cords (laptops) and organized our toiletries!!!

This is more ‘Americanized’ than any other hotel we stayed at with the food and drink. They even have a menu where you can EAT ON THE BEACH!!! We can’t say enough good things about this resort and will certainly be back soon!

One thing that did bother us was the lack of tipping. We come to resorts like this with dollar bills ready to go for drinks and money for dinner. During 5 days there, I think we only counted 5 people (besides us) who were actually tipping! Really sad since the entire staff works VERY hard to make your vacation wonderful! If you are able to, tipping does make a difference as we never waited for a drink to be refilled and service was top of the line!

Just a few negatives (and believe me, these will NOT stop us from coming back). If you stay near people who stay out late and come back a bit inebriated the doors are kind of thin so you may be woken up a few times by noise in the hallways…also, the clanking of room services dishes being placed on carts may wake you up if you are a light sleeper (hey, everything can’t be perfect, just trying to be honest).

The Sun Palace was certainly a very refreshing and modern resort. We can see why it ranks so high on Trip Advisor!

Thanks again for everything!

Kurt and Marla

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Service from the beelman to front desk to the restuarants is excellent. Beach and pool area very well kept and clean, never a problem securing a beach chair or a pool chair, the 24 hour room service is very quick, easy access to walking along the strip or you can hope a bus for $1.00 which is very safe, shuttle to the Moon palace for different atmosphere, but be aware the beach at the Moon Palace can not copmpare to the Sun Palace, excellent resort if you are lookibng a very nice , quiet and relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Room 604 has a large terrace and partial oceanview, most rooms have only regular size balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The food was unbelievably disappointing. If room service food was even Denny's quality, we would have ordered it every night. It was so bad that we gave up after ordering 3 times.
Resort credits are a joke- a bottle of "premium" wine that costs $7 at the gas station next door costs $100 in resort credits- and there's an 11% tax on the resort credits. There's a catch with everything at this place. We would never go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
When you travelled to Sun Palace I must assume you came on vacation, meaning, to have an enjoyable time.

Everything went sour. You mention food and credits in a terrible way. I must then wonder what your expectatons were. I cannot claim to be the ideal place for everyone and know that some reviews will not be excellent. Comes with the job.

But reviews like yours, bordering on hatred must have deeper roots which I'd love to discover. Were we maybe not able to offer the room you were expecting? Was this your first trip to Mexico and something didn't sit well?

It is now academic for as you will not return there is no point in trying to offer anything.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The only reason I gave the hotel an overall rating of "very good" is because they hotel is very noisy at night. It is hard to sleep because noises can be heard on the levels below and above your room.

The service was excellent. Every single member of the staff we encountered was friendly and accomodating. I would give everyone at the hotel a perfect rating. Most importantly, Wendy at the concierge level went above and beyond her duties to help out with any problems or inconveniences we encountered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I am so sorry about the noise situation you encountered but understand fully that it is uncalled for. Some of our guests get a bit carried away and forget their manners. We usually are very successful in asking them to tone it down but once in a blue moon we get difficult situations.

On the other hand, thank you for your kind overview of our resort. I trust the goods overrate the bads and we shall have the distinction of hosting you again. Only this time, to no noise.

Our best regards and once more, our apologies.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Sun Palace. 11/10/2013 - 25/10/2013.We went on holiday with 2 friends and had a totally relaxing time. This is our second visit to Mexico and have not stayed in a Palace hotel before. Our last visit we stayed at The Royal In Cancun. We didn't think any other hotel could match up to The Royal. The hotel at the Sun Palace is spotless and the staff extremely attentive. The choice of food in the restaurants is amazing. All the staff work extremely hard and the chefs prepare food to a very high standard. Always a smile on their faces. The bar staff in the lobby bar and pool area became our friends quite quickly. The choice of drinks and service was top notch. We had an initial hiccough with our rooms at check in. We were on the seventh floor and had requested sea view rooms. Our friends room was not up to scratch the view was obscured by a neighbouring hotel in the process of being renovated. We were disappointed but this was soon put to rights the following day. Using our resort credits we upgraded to concierge level. The room was fantastic as was the view. We had paid an upgrade at the time of booking for a sea view. The staff on the reception desk understood our frustrations and ensured this was soon rectified. Our only criticism is that the loungers around the pool area could do with upgrading. Not very comfortable. We visited the Beach Palace hotel and found theirs to be of a better standard. Also a little quibble but a few cabanas on the beach would have been nice. Overall I would recommend this hotel. Location is great and the hotel is not too busy. The staff get to know you and make you feel very welcome. All looked happy in their work. We took 2 trips using our resort credits. Dolphin swim and Isles Mujeres and Xcaret. Both great days well organized and again staff very helpful. The Spa experience was wonderful and I would recommend a treatment. We would choose a Palace hotel again and will definitely revisit Cancun. Thanks again for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Concierge level rooms all good views and very spacious. Well stocked drinks.Excellent bath/shower pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I will do this backwards only to be different: The "cabanas" once widely used in the beaches have two drawbacks: The thatch they are made with is of a specific plant, a "Chit" palm which is now edangered. The other is that because they are set in the beach if the form of the beach varies, there's no moving them. So most hotels have opted for parasols.

I will look into the pool lounges. ¿The plastic or the woven ones? (pwinkler@palaceresorts.com)

On the general description and feeling of your stay, we thank you very much for such elogious words and your appreciation of our food, rooms and service, which we are proud to offer and you certainly have every right to.

So the only thing missing is for you to return. We will be lookin out for you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Excellent service. Again and again I was amazed at the service. Nolberto was amazing all week in the lobby bar. Very professional and skilled at bar tending. Made us very happy during the poor weather. Great food also, made to order. I will miss Nolberto!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Never been to Jamaica so I take your word for it. I guess this is a factor best explained by historic differences.

But as long as we come out on top, you're certainly not getting flak from this side.

I've made sure Norberto gets your kind words on him plus bonus points in our incentives program.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
4.5 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
6.0 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 4,290 reviews
3.3 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#3 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 2,213 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#17 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.