We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun Palace- March 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Palace to your Saves list
Sun Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #5 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Southington, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sun Palace- March 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Always a relaxing vacation here- superb food and outstanding service. Regardless of the level of activity you want to enjoy, this is an outstanding place. All-inclusive, right down to the mini-bar and room service. No kids, so it's quiet. The current promotion offering "resort credits" is outstanding- only paid for tips on excursions.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
It is wonderful to receive a five point comment. Above all it means that you were happy whilst with us and that is always our goal.

In your case it is doubly satisfying since you already have posted another just as nice review a couple of years back. That tells us that not only did you have a happy stay but also your previous experience afforded us the honor of being your hosts once more.

May we always be fotunate enoguh to be a pleasing and frequent choice for you.

Happiest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,688
    742
    214
    70
    37
See reviews for
76
3,094
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
anaheim hills
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited sun palace as a quick get-a-way for my husband and I and needless to say we truly enjoyed the property, food and best of all the service. We were there from 2/27- 3/3. Erika from PR was extremely attentive, Saul from vacation planners was very helpful in scheduling our spa appointments. Enrique and Cesar went above and beyond at every meal at the buffet. We are palace premier members since 2007 and sure enough with the hopes of upgrading our overall service before and during our vacations we upgraded to diamond level!!! If you are a first timer to sun palace use your points to attend the "dinner with the chef" so well worth it and the staff provides top service, it's fun but yet intimate. We will return to sun palace next year!

Room Tip: Room 634 had two balconies, very quite and amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Certainly a quick trip but as long as you had a good stay time here is not of the essence.

On the contrary. Our goal is to make you forget that time exists. Granted, there are unavoidable situations where it comes in but considering you can sleep or not whenever you please, eat and drink 24 hours a day...and, not worry.

I saw your previous surveys and was very touched by your total committment to our Palace Resorts. You have no idea how good this makes me feel.

Will expect you soon again. Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Beloit,IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spend 5 nights at this wonderful resort in Cancun. First time in 3 years that we left our newest baby behind. So not having any children was a big plus for us. I love the fact that the Sun Palace did not put any pressure on us to do the time share presentation at the Moon Palace, their sister resort. One of the reasons I booked this hotel was because they were giving $1500 resort credits for staying 5 nights, I was afraid that there was a catch for receiving $300 back per day. for spa, tours and other items. No catch, no pressure, just wonderful service. The upgraded wine list which we used resort credits bought us some wonderful wines. I would reccommend the Mexican Barberra. The uprade to the Concierge Level was worth the extra massages,the beach bag and other little amenities. The Spa and massage we had were great and steam room like no other I have been in before. The Steak at the Italian restaurant melted in our mouths, the Sushi and Thai dishes at the Asian restaurant was also top quality. The breakfast in the room or at the poolside restaurant was also great. Thank you for accommadating all of our wishes.

Room Tip: Our room was just like the pictures, I was told by another guest that there are rooms on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Second honeymoons should always be better. Same feelings, no stress. I am always very happy to see second, third and more years honeymoons. It means you are successful in the intricate art of life as a couple.

Children are a blessing but as all blessings one must always be able to step out of the daily comings and goings and take a breather, re-evaluate and forge the upcoming road to best transit through it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Qc
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My spouse and I had a wonderful two weeks stay at the hotel in February 2013. We much appreciated the ameneties, the restaurants (many elaborated menus with fresh daily food, fine list of wines,.. But above all, we felt welcomed by all of the staff at the facilities, from the personel at the front desk, the personel and waiters at the restaurants and bars to the chamber maids. Everybody was courteous and friendly. And being golfers, we want to extend a special allo to the Moon Palace Golf and Spa staff; you guys were great (Ricardo, Adrian,...)

Mucho gratias from Robert & Lyne Turcotte.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I do not golf. Actually was evicted from a couple of golf courses due to my lack of coordination and talent. But I do envy those who have caught the golf bug.

Golfers are a unique breed. I see them early in the mornings with their gear and all ready to go. They all have this special look in them that says: "Today I am going to have my best one." That's got to be a marevlous start!

Golfing in Mexico is extremely costly, compared to other countries. I understand that therfore, our courses and the service in them is very good.

If on top of your sport you enjoyed yopur hotel....well...I guess it is all around very satisfactory.

Please receive our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent 10 days at this Hotel in Cancun. As we are senior's chose this location because of no children and size of hotel (232 rooms).
Service was great through out the premises. Staff at pools & beach areas could do not enough for you. Same with restaurants. Italian restaurant rated best with us. Great choices at buffet & cooks would do anything one wishes. Oodles of fresh fruit
A negative was that 2 of the restaurants were outdoor, and found it cool as weather was not the best (windy & cloudy) half the time there.
Found even though all inclusive, tips to staff go a long way to improving service & getting your choice of better grades beverages as well better room cleaning.
L&A K

Room Tip: Book spa, massages, golf & tours in advance as most have a 2-3 day wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This resort had an amazing infiniti pool, great restaurants, impeccable service and using resort credits for spa services and excursions made it a no brainer. We immediately upgraded our room upon arrival and still had enough credit left over for 2 spa visits and 2 excursions. There is nothing special about the drink selection like many of the carribbean resorts ofer, but the restaurants and food were well above what I expected for the price. The free room service made it even better as you could make late dinner reservations and have a snack earlier in the evening. One warning I will give is that Cancun is much hotter than other carribbean destinations. It may take a day or two to adjust to the heat, but you will get used to it eventually.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room immediately with the credits
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Instead of echoing others comments regarding how wonderful this resort was and what amazing service they have, which I completely agree with, I wanted to provide more information on the Concierge upgrade and the resort credits.

RESORT CREDITS: With 5-8 nights you get $1500 credit, with 4 nights - $750 credit.
* Keep in mind that these credits are taxed at 11% so if you fully use them, expect to pay $165 in cash/credit at the end of the stay. They do accept all major credit cards including AmEx.
* There are caps on some services: spa - $300, 1 tequila package (3 smaller bottles) $100, 1 box of cigars $100, $75 towards sunglasses, $100 towards silver jewelry, $300 towards gold jewelry which is available at Moon Palace only.
* Here are some other things that have no limit and can be paid for in resort credits (plus tax mentioned above): room upgrade ~$750, tours that range from $75 for half day trips to $200+ for all day, dolphin swim $190 pp, romantic couples dinner $300, golf (bring your own clubs to avoid fees), professional photos $300, beauty care cream set $390, wine upgrades ~$80+ per bottle
* We got the tequila and cigars, thought it was worth it as gifts for only $22 in taxes. Spa was most definitely worth it - we got couples holistic massage for $250 and a manicure for $30. Silver is very overpriced so $100 credit isn't going to get you anything. Tours may be worth it as well. We liked upgrading the room to Concierge because of all the extras, the room itself is the same.

CONCIERGE room upgrade:
* Extra amenities in the room - aromatherapy pillows, Lavazzo espresso machine, mini bar and mini fridge with beer/pop, iPod alarm dock
* Linen beach bag
* Dinner room service from any resort restaurant
* 25 minute massage per person at the spa (this was the best!)
* Concierge dinner on the beach (second best thing!)

The rooms are all the same, we actually were checked into our regular room because of late arrival and upgraded on the next day but all the extras listed above make it well worth upgrading, unless you prefer spending the credits on trips, tours or golf.

OTHER TIPS:
* If you like to swim in calm waters, walk to the end of the beach (south-bound, away from downtown Cancun) - the laguna is wonderful
* If you like snorkeling, bring a snorkel and walk to the end of the beach south-bound, cross the rocks and veer to the right
* Try to get a higher floor if possible, also rooms above quite pool are better than Activity pool
* Bring plenty of $1 for tips or exchange dollars for pesos at the front desk in $20 peso bills (~$2 value)
* If you decide to take cab to/from airport, negotiate the price first. It should be about $30 USD. The nice thing about this resort, it's one of the first on the strip, so only a 15-20 min ride from airport
* If you like massages and don't want to spend $125 at the spa, walk on the beach towards downtown (north). They have a place on the beach next to Solymar open to everyone. 1 hour is only $40.
* Make sure to take advantage of the steam room and sauna at the spa - complimentary. They close at 6pm though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.