We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Palace to your Saves list
Sun Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #4 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
lansing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Destination Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My daughter and her fiance were married here in Feb. 1, 2013. My entire stay was delightful! The staff is so thoughtful, courteous, and welcoming! The rooms were spacious and impeccably clean. Service was swift...food was first rate! I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Your very kind words have a special meaning for me today, as I've had to deal with some very difficult issues

It is a breath of fresh air to know that we did good by your daughters' marriage. We know all that this venue enttails and are always extremely happy to know that we've been successful in making your memories special.

I hope that you will return soon and look forward to another opportunity of serving you.

Most cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,688
    742
    214
    70
    37
See reviews for
76
3,094
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our first time to Cancun. The staff, everyone is very friendly who take care of you. The front desks not very friendly, just down to business. If you are there for a vacation avoid the guest relation desk. They just want to take you on a 90 minutes presentation and will offer you resort money which is limited to where you can purchase things. We were there for, sun and fun. The entertainment guys, Juavier, Eddy, Jose were great. Entertainment is limited to one show at night and game during the day. As far the condition of the hotel. It is clean, but it is in need of some upkeep. Things are worn. If you look at the other hotels in the area it's not that bad. Food, is good. Not Great. Do Have the coffee in the Itailian Rest.or Lounge. They put on a little fire show and it taste great. We will go back to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went for a 7 days getaway for my 40th birthday. It was so relaxing and wonderful, the staff was always so helpful and so polite!! We never wanted for a thing. Food was always excellent and good variety . We will go back hopefully next year and check out some of the other Palace resorts. We did take advantage of the hot stone massage......AMAZING!!!! Can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a jr suite , may upgrade next time to the concierge level for a few more perks, would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Definitely music to my ears!

I am very pleased to have been able to host this important date for you and more so to have been the conduct for a great sojourn. It is our guests' disposition that really makes their vacation. We are just the luck y ones who share our little paradise with beautiful people.

Thank you very much for your very kind review and hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sun Palace as our honeymoon spot. We chose to stay here for 3 out of the 5 nights we were in Cancun. It was our first time in Cancun and our first time at an all-inclusive hotel. It was simply an amazing experience. The service was excellent, the amenities were amazing, and we loved that it was adults only (sorry kids...). The food was pretty good and the drinks were yummy. There is absolutely nothing I could possibly complain about, just perfect!
Some tips: I recommend using your resort credit to upgrade your room. We upgraded to the Concierge level. You get a few nice perks for upgrading, such as having a Jacuzzi in your room, better "alcohol" in the fridge, and a nice romantic dinner by the beach. For those who want to venture out for some outdoor activities, there are quite a few tours you can use your points on. Unfortunately, you can't use the credit for places like Xel-ha or Xcaret. Or for those who want to simply relax and stay in, the Spa there is absolutely heavenly. In the end, you end up having a lot of the credit leftover, so use them while you can especially for those who have $1500 or more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

After a two year break from going to Sun Palace, we were so excited to be back the week of the 27th of January 2013...only to be horribly disappointed in our trip. It started at check in when our room was not ready when we arrived at 1230pm...which was fine, as it was before the check in time. So the front desk recommended we talk to one of the 'guest service' desk persons...oh what a mistake. We had Janet, who simply couldn't get it through her head all we needed her for was to book our three rounds of golf we wanted to play...Instead after lying to us about free upgrades to the Concierge floor, and how we needed to go to the 90 minute presentation at Moon and that we didn't have to bring anything....and then at the end of her lying she told us there was a lottery that if we gave them our ID and Credit Card we could enter...Well fine print said it was necessary for the certificate for our round of golf, needless to say we canceled the seminar as soon as we got to the room and read the fine print.

Then the next issue was with our room. You originally put us in 102, which on my reservation stated it was a NON smoking floor, to find out it was smoking. So you moved us to a horrid room 500...It had the jacuzzi outside, no chairs or tables in the room and smelt of rotten trash. The did move us to 202, which they kept on insisting it was a room upgrade...but funny how our reservation said floors one and two...so room 102 was okay and room 202 was some type of upgraded room...oh and to top it off, we loved listening to your maintenance crews sawing and pounding away above the Chinese restaurant starting around 630am.

The food was horrid this time (except the Italian place). I had to have two bowls of soup my first night there because the duck dish at the Mexican restaurant was covered in this disgusting sauce...at the Chinese place I ordered a simple meat dish and it came out so salty, I think the fish in the sea would spit it out. Then, FINALLY we went to the steak place...well there were only 2 cuts of steak, a top sirloin and a skirt steak...oh how cheap you are. They were likely not even 4 ounces and cut so thin, it wasn't wroth my digestive power to eat them. Also, breakfast was mediocre and so was room service. What happened to your eggs Benedict and fired eggs racheros....CHEAP again.

To top it off, we had issues with our TV starting our third night. We thought it was the remote, but found if we unplugged the TV and plugged it back in again it worked fine. Well on the last night, the TV didn't work at all. Only two channels broadcasted, and if we wanted to change channels we had to unplug the TV each time. We did call the front desk and they sent someone up...well I was just glad the TV didn't work at all for him after he spent a half hour reprogramming it. So, they did the proper thing and brought us a TV, but never set it to the HD settings and we were not too happy about it, as we typically love to sit and enjoy a few movies the night before we depart.

So the person who responded to my first comment about us looking forward to coming back, and how great changes had happened over the last few months...I laugh at your comments...and I did contact you with our reservation number...never got an email, recognition for being a return customer, as you promised. All we received was misery and frustration.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I claim full responsibility for not having followed through and at this point can only to tell you I am very sorry you were so disenchanted with my resort.

The terrible onus is that I cannot bring time back to correct the mistakes made and am certainly in no moral position to promise anything.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Incredible!!!! The food was outstanding!!!! The employees were friendly and professional!!!! We are going back in June!!! I've been to cancun 5 times.... And stayed at 5 different places.... This is by far the best and will return to this resort and this resort only!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Oh my God!! You have no idea how happy you've made me.

It is so precious to me to know that you are satisfied and call my little Sun Palace the best place yet. It couldn't have come at a better time!! It has been quite a week.

Anyway...Thank you and please let me know when you've made the June reservation. I want to make your stay just as good or even better.

Happiest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Everything was perfect have no complaints. Service and staff were top notch. Did learn if you have give tips your service is stepped up a notch. Really enjoyed the Italian restaurant and make sure you order the flaming coffee (can't remember the actual name). Also, was very impressed the beach and the ocean. We did go scuba diving and swam with dolphins, which I would highly recommend.

Traveled with now husband in June of 2009

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwinkler, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
June is a usually beautiful month to come. Albeit hot. And being an adults only all inclusive you needen't worry about big families with kids.

Your review is not only very complimentary but also tells me you are made for Cancun. You like the ocean and ocean life...well, there's lots of that here. And my staff is a bunch of very friendly kids. They really are.

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I hope to see you again this June.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Hotel Cancun
Cancun Sun Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.