We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All Inclusive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Iberostar Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 175 hotels in Cancun
chicgao
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great All Inclusive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent 7 days here. Staff great, place is immaculate, food was amongst the best we've had in similar resorts (Sandals). Pool is large and fun, large enough to actually do laps if you want; plus two jacuzzis, middle bar. We didn't get to the theater in the large Palapa but it was clearly popular every nite. Rooms were great; clean, staff friendly. Rooms were quiet, bed comfortable. Breakfasts were probably the most extraordinary conmpared to lunch and dinner. Sushi was good, no concern about safety. We only tried the Mexican restaurant, which we great and we went there twice. Only slight concern is that the water there can be very rough, and the life guards are overly careful.. if you wander out further than 10 or 15 feet they will ask you to come back in. Not much else to say. We were very impressed by the 2 birds of prey, that are kept there by a hired bird specialist.. One is an eagle, the other a hawk. They are beautiful birds, whose purpose is to chase away the smaller starlings that eat everything off the outdoor buffet tables. Very cool. The hotel is at one far end of the hotel strip, so it is about a 15 minute taxi ride to downtown.. but we never had the chance to get there. Overall highly recommend to stay there a few days.

Room Tip: If can afford a corner suite, go for it (outdoor jacuzzi, great views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to write this beautiful review. It is always a pleasure to read comments as yours that express how much enjoyed your stay at Iberostar Cancun.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our facilities and all the services. We do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    930
    385
    128
    39
    27
See reviews for
578
493
46
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, USA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stay at Dreams resort food, drinks and service much better than iberostar. Small rooms too. Pool activities were boarding the staff for the activities were in bad moods. . We paid 70 dollars for and upgrade and got a worse view and only difference was one extra sink in the bathroom. They took our money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your vacation experience.

We are really sorry our service was not up to your expectations. We have forwarded your comments to all the involved areas. It is in our main interest that all our guests have a pleasant stay. We are already following up the comments you mentioned in your review.

To get feedback on the experience of our guests during their stay is very important to us so that we can take the necessary actions to make your vacation unforgettable. We are very sorry not to have had that opportunity during your recent stay.

We hope you will allow us to serve you in the future and change the perception you have from your last holiday.

Kind regards

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just returned from vacation in Cancun and stayed at the Iberostar Resort. The resort was beautiful and was exactly as pictured. We were very impressed by the resort staff. They did whatever was necessary to make your stay very comfortable and they were extremely friendly and appreciative. Some of the staff we saw every day and we made sure that they knew we appreciated their service. The food was as expected. Fine for breakfast, lunch. However, we chose to try the Japanese steakhouse on premises instead of the buffet for the first night and that required reservations (no extra cost) thinking that this would be a higher quality food for dinner. We were very disappointed, the cook did not appear to know how to cook the food, it was left way too long on the grill and was dry and overcooked. Therefore the next two nights we went off premises to two excellent restaurants recommended by others and that was very very good! Based on the first experience, we chose not to try the other onsite restaurants. That was the only drawback at the hotel. Otherwise everything else was terrific. I would recommend this resort to my friends.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room with a balcony facing the ocean, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We have taken your feedback to heart and have shared it with our team. We are thrilled to know you had a fantastic vacation with us!!!

In regards to your inconvenience at the Japanese restaurant we really appreciate that you took the time to write this very important feedback to us. We have spoken to our Executive Chef and we are taking care of this problem. We really appreciate your comments as it is very helpful in our efforts to continuously strive for service excellence.

We hope see you soon again, also thanks for the recommendations with your friends.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frisco, tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I just got back from the Iberostar Cancun and I would like to give an honest and brief review.
The GOOD- The resort is nice and clean and the staff is very friendly. They will go out of their way to make your stay more pleasant. The FOOD - My wife and I have stayed at resorts all around the Caribbean and the food is ABOVE average. Don't go into this thinking you are going to get a RUTH CRIS steak dinner. The Japanese restaurant was very good. The steak house was ok. We did not bother go to the other two specialty restaurants, we went to the buffet instead. There is plenty of activities at the pool throughout the day. The BEACH - very nice with blue blue water. BUT......
The BAD- The BEACH- Even though the beach was very nice there are days in which the undertow is very strong. So strong they will close the beach on certain days. Even though when you are aloud to swim it is only at a certain section so the lifeguard can watch you. I am a big guy and let me tell you it was exhausting fighting the current on some days.
MINIBAR- Even though they keep the mini bar full at all times it is only filled with sodas and a few beers. NO ALCOHOL. (rum, vodka, etc.. ) This was the first mini bar I have gone to with no real alcohol. The bar tenders do make good drinks and they use top shelf if you ask for it.
Overall I do recommend this resort. It is very clean and very relaxing. Please bring a few extra dollars for tipping. It does go a long way. Be thankful you can afford a nice vacation. Remember, most if these employees do not even make our minimum wage. Have a great time!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent stay with us.

We are happy to know you had a wonderful time, and that during the time you spent in the hotel you enjoyed the hotel facilities, restaurants, and service from our staff.

Unfortunately on this season the weather is a little windy, being this the reason you found some days the preventing sign, hopefully on your next visit it will be much calmer.

We hope to see you again very soon!!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We loved the hotel, its staff and the facilities.True value for money. Very spacious rooms with good views, good service in all restaurants and poolside. The staff were ever willing to serve and remembered our preferences.
Getting better WiFi would have been great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to read that you had an amazing vacation, thank you very much for sharing your experience with our future guests.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed of our facilities, restaurants, pools and the service provided by our staff.

We take note of your recommendation about the WiFi, we will work on it.

We will be waiting for you on your next stay and we will be sure to repeat and surpass this experience.

Quality manager
Iberostar Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at the Iberostar Cancun April 14-20, 2013.

The good: Service throughout the property was very good. The staff was exceptionally friendly, courteous, accomodating, and really went out of their way to provide a good experience. Check in, guest services, Star Friends, bartenders, wait service, and housekeeping were all exceptionally good.

The meh: We'd booked a standard room (it was all that was available when we booked the trip), and it was just that, standard. The room was slightly run down, the air conditioning never got the room quite cool enough, and the patio door opened but we had no balcony. If you made the mistake of opening the door, the air conditioning shut off and you had to jiggle the door extensively to get it to close properly.

The food was average at best. I'll admit, my husband and I are foodies, so satisfying us at an all inclusive is a tall order. None of our meals were exceptional. I'll start with the buffets....while the food was passable, there was very little variety day to day. By the end of our six day trip, we'd had enough of the same things over and over. We tried each of the specialty restaurants and were underwhelmed by each of them. The mexican restaurant's first course was served from the buffet and offered the same variety of foods elsewhere. Our fish was slightly overcooked, and my son's shrimp was rubbery. The margarita here was by far the best we had all week (thank you Marco!). The gourmet restaurant was seated service. My son and I both had the asparagus soup and found it undersalted. My husband's steak was decent and my lamb chops were quite tough. The japanese restaurant was probably the best of the fare. The show was fun for my son, they offered some sashimi options and agadashi tofu as appetizers, and the hibachi food was pretty much consistent with what you get in most hibachi restaurants. The steakhouse appetizers and dessert were both served from the buffet and offered nothing extrodinary. My tenderloin was tough. My husband ordered the cowboy platter and sampled a variety of steaks and sausages. It was our first taste of blood sausage and we were both pleasantly surprised.

The bars...while service was good, and decent brands were represented, the drinks were watered down. Unless you were drinking beer, you were guaranteed a thimble full of alcohol in your cocktail unless you asked the bartender for more. Even at that, we suspected the actual alcohol was watered.

Activities: The pool was nice and there was plenty of space, though it was tough to get a spot in the shade and let me tell you, as a pale faced girl from the northeast, you don't want to be left with no shade option in Cancun. For little ones, the kids area is very nice, but it wasn't entertaining enough for our 7 year old. The surf was so rough at the beach, we really didn't utilize the beach at all. Also, there really weren't many activities outside the beach and pool for kids. Finally, the evening shows were pretty amateur.

Overall, I think the resort is a decent value, but would not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your vacation experience and your impressions of Iberostar Cancun. Your comments on your experience are very valuable for us.

We have taken your feedback to heart and have shared it with our team, especially with the food and beverage department. We really appreciate your comments as it is very helpful in our efforts to continuously strive for service excellence.

We hope you give us the opportunity to have you again as our guest in a future and show you our improvements.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

First time staying at this hotel and we could not be more pleased. First and foremost the service by all the employees was well above what we expected. The food was exellent from the specialty restaurants to the buffet (I probably gained a little weight because I could not stop enjoying all the great food) I want to mention Bartolo at the buffet restaurant for his great smile and superior service. From the minute we left we started talking about next years return to the same place. I was a bit concerned with some of the reviews criticizing the food but I must say that I do not know if we ate at the same place because all the food was exellent..... Stay the couse and do not change a thing!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your accurate description about your experience in our resort. Thank you also for being part of the Iberostar Cancun Experience!

We look forward to serve you again in the future, and offer you the required environment to relax and enjoy this beautiful and friendly Caribbean treasure.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Iberostar Cancun Hotel
Hilton Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Cancun
Cancun Hilton
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort
Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cancun
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 Business Hotel in Cancun
#15 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.