We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for vacation and golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel for vacation and golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is overall a great all inclusive hotel with good service and nice rooms with a fantastic view, we had a sea view room with balcony. Quick and well organised check in, easy quick check out. The service is good and the restaurant choices you have is very good. We spent the new years week at Iberostar, a week with a full hotel, but we had no problem and got great service to book the a' la carte restaurants (we had late dinners around 8.30-9PM). We are a golfing family (the key reason for choosing this hotel) with two adult sons and played 5 rounds of golf at the golf course. We pre reserved tee of times over the phone before arriving, no problem and good service. We got a package price of green fees with 4x5 rounds, good price and well handled by the staff. Golf course is only a couple of minutes walk from hotel, all inclusive also on golf course. The course is a nice, alternating and challenging course, several tee options.
The hotel has a great pool area with several options and direct access to a fantastic beach.
We can absolutely recommend this hotel and this is the right choice if you would like easy access to play golf.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments about our work and our services, it is a great pleasure to know that your overall experience was enjoyable. We are most happy to read your kind comments regarding the service you received.

We feel so honored to know that you and your family enjoyed the golf course and we are very pleased that all your expectations were fulfilled. Thank you so much for recommending us!

We hope for the future privilege to welcome you back to Iberostar Cancun.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    469
    170
    49
    33
See reviews for
764
613
52
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Room was clean and well organized, pool activities were very good, evening entertainment: shows were awesome, buffet was very good. Problems: getting the ocean front view we paid for - we had to wrangle for a room with view/balcony. Trying to get a "reservation" in one of the "restaurants" is a chore. They claim they are filled to capacity, but reality is there are only a few tables being used. They want you to eat in the buffet. The buffet-food help is mediocre. The New Year's buffet was good, but felt like cattle, they need a better system to
get that many people fed. It wasnt a bad vacation, but the hotel has a lot of rooms and everyone is just a number (poolside staff was exceptional) hotel lobby and waite staff left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your post.

We would like to mention that we are already checking the points you mentioned on your review. For rooms we usually assign them according to the category reserved at first instance, we are sorry that you felt it was a hassle; it was never our intention to make you feel that way as we always aim to create pleasant moments for everyone.

With regards to specialty restaurants, we recommend all of our guests to make reservations upon arrival, so that you can try the restaurant of your choice. Four sitting times are scheduled during dinner, and we do our best to accommodate small and big parties. Again, we are sorry to know this was an inconvenience to you and we did not meet your expectations, we would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again and show a renewed service.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Having stayed at All Inclusives in Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Turkey and Mexico, we did not have huge expectations. However, my wife, daughter and I had a wonderful time even though it was a tough time to please over New Year's Week. Dec 27 to January 3. We booked via Apple Vacations and the transportation was delayed both ways from the Cancun Airport to the Iberostar and visa versa and one of the Apple Vacation Reps at the Hotel was ornery. However the booking agent on the phone was great and familar with the property!

From check in to check out Iberostar service was GREAT. In particular Lina at Check in, Harold and Elizabeth at Consierge, and Javier at the Mexican restaurant were stars. First of all, I communicated with Harold to reserve times at the a la carte restaurants before we arrived, asked for a particular location of room and inquired about a baby sitter for New Year's Eve. He promptly responded and all things were addressed. Elizabeth provided extra effort with our 20 month old daughter, Sasha. Javier saw her sleeping in her high chair during lunch and without prompting brought over chairs with a table cloth and helped lay her on the chair to resume her sleeping state. Overall, just GREAT SERVICE from A to Z

Rooms were clean, spacious and we were glad we got a balony. I STRONGLY recommend getting a balony in an odd numbered room ( even face more north with less exciting view) from rooms 23-35 for the best view. There are clean spacious bath showers with rainfall shower heads to accomodate adults and children. Due to the configuration of the rooms you are always away from elevators and potential loud ice machines which is a plus.

Beach and Pool area were clean, fun and with ample shade. The bartender at the bar next to the beach was especially nice. Pool bar at time seemed a bit slower. Drinks were great and not watered down.

The beach itself was GREAT. The waves were certainly not calm but people were always in the water. Compared to the beaches at Secrets Capri where entering water was more like navagating a field with landmines in Cambodia not allowing people to easily walk due to plentiful tree stumps, this beach was terrific with smooth sand and very wide and long. Interestinglyl only 1/2 of the beach length is used for recreation at the resort but it is very comfortable and amenable to long walks!

Of note this resort is one of the first next to the public beach ( maybe 1/2 mild walk) and security had to nicely escort a few couples daily away from the bar or sitting areas which they must have thought were public. Safety was never an issue whatsoever!

Work out area was above average but became a bit warm in the later afternoon from the greenhouse effect. Free weight up to 50 pounds, 5 cardio machines and one flat bench with up to 45 pound bench in addition to multiple machines in excellent condition were noted.

Food was decent to good. We at all our breakfasts and lunches in buffet settings and except for New Year's Eve stuck to a la Carte restaurants. The tenderloin, pork chops and rib eye at the Steak House were very good. Appetizers and desserts were buffet style there. Excpet for some crowded seating ( bizarre since there were empty seats across from us) the second visit to the Japanese Habachi restaurant, we found it predictable and flavorful. The "gourmet restaurant" was nicely situated off the main lobby and was a nice room. Service was good but the food missed the mark. The items on the menu were appealing but the executiion of taste was disappointing. The highlight of that restaurant was the dessert. Overall I'd give food at the resort a B as it did seem that there were some overlapping dishes at every restaurant. I've never eaten so much hearts of palm in my life :)

The pools were large and accomodating. As the children's pool was not heated, some parents such as us took our child into the shallow area of the adult pool ( at least we took swimming diapers which some foreigners did not...ouch). It is a family and adult oriented place so no one seemed to mind!.

We also took advantage of the free photo session which I strongly recommend. They had some significant bumps in logistics on the day of our shoot, but the result was excellent and worth the money to purchase a album.

Overally, we knew we hit a home run for a family oriented, kids accomodating, clean, great serviced resort within 24 hrs of being there. I would STRONGLY recommend it for both families and couples but not singles. Again while Everyone was nice and service was consistent and very strong, our interactions with Harold, Elizabeth and Javier were simply amazing....great job!!

This resort should be on anyone's radar who wants a relaxing week in the sun and not at a rate to break the bank!

Room Tip: Definitely would opt for room with balcony on the odd side of the hall ( rooms 23-35) for best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your vacation experience and your impressions of Iberostar Cancun Golf and Spa Resort.

We have taken your feedback to heart and have shared it with our team. We really appreciate your comments as it is very helpful in our efforts to continuously strive for service excellence. There is nothing that makes us happier than a guest that leaves feeling glad and renewed.

Regarding food, we have shared your comments with our Head Chef to keep improving our variety and flavour.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon here at your second home in Mexico.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel was beautiful and very well kept. The food was great and the staff was exceptional! We had a balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean. We enjoyed tennis, beach volleyball, and swimming in the beautiful pools. I would highly recommend this place to anyone I know. I will say that it is very windy in December here because of the location of the hotel not having any wind blocks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of Iberostar Cancun. We are happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and we were able to provide a fantastic stay for you.

We are sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent the second 1/2 of our trip at Iberostar Cancun. We recieved a room with a real balcony that you can sit on which was important to us. After Dreams, the food was SO much better. The Mexican restaruant had great chicken wings, cold crab claws, FRESH grilled meats....at that is just lunch.
I have a sensitive stomach. The food here was very very good.
The pool was heated nicely. There was the towel card and wrist band here, but that is normal except for at Dreams. Iberostar staff was noticably freindlier. We really enjoyed our waiters and they appreciated our tips.
So, upside, super staff, great food. The beach bartender invented a drink for me. I wanted to know what he could do with the almond liquer as I love almond. It was fabulous.
Don't bother with the pool bar wait, there is never a line a very short distance away at the bar on the way to the beach.
Downside, they forgot to clean our room one day, but we don't stress on stuff like that. They brought clean towels immediately when we called and offered to clean. It was fine.
The shows at night, particularly New Years Eve, were just terrible, worse than a high school production, but no one forces you to go!

We paid $473 per night and felt like it was a very good value.
Our next trip will be Iberostar Puerto Morelos, I think. WE are Iberostar fans now.
This is super close to the airport. We took the nicest van ride back to the airport with USA transfers. Love them. We pre-paid the $65 in cash and they showed up just like scheduled.

Room Tip: I liked our real balcony on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about our hotel and your comments on your recent stay with us.

We really appreciate your constructive criticism and suggestions shared with us. They are priceless for us, since it gives us guidance in our effort to provide comfort and relaxing moments to our guests.

We are really sorry for the incident with your room, we will share your comment with the person in charge of this area.

We really appreciate your review and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Cancun.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel this past June for a week with all my family and we had an amazing time. The hotel is beautiful and the service is outstanding. There are many things to do within the hotel and there are good quality shows everynight. The food is amazing and the "taquitos al pastor" by the beach restaurant are the best. The entertainment team is wonderful, even when we had three days of all day rain, we had fun and were always entertained by these guys, always making sure you are having a good time. I really like this hotel and as a travel agent, i'll be recomending it to my clients.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view but you will enjoy it way more if you pay a little bit extra for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Cancun, for your very nice comments and for your recommendations with your clients.

We are really happy to know you experienced a fantastic stay. Your feedback means a lot to us and makes us strive even harder to achieve our goals as a company.

Please come back soon as we would love to receive you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just got back from 8 nights at the Iberostar Cancan and loved it. It was everything we expected and more. Personally I’m surprised how anyone could be disappointed.

Facilities: The hotel is just gorgeous. If anybody reading this does not already know, the Iberostar Cancan originally was a Hilton and Iberostar took it over and invested over 100 million dollars to refurbish it. It has only been open for about a year. The rooms were redone, the common areas in the hotel like the lobby, restaurants, and pools and beach were all redone. The beds were very comfortable, the chairs at the beach and pools were plentiful, and everything is kept spotless and well-polished. Even when you read the negative reviews I haven’t come across anybody complaining about the beauty and physical condition of the hotel.


Service: Personally I think service at any Iberostar resort is among the best of all the all-inclusive resorts. By the way our family has been to many other chains. I don’t know how they do it, whether the pay there employees a little more than other resorts, or they have better training and management systems, or they are just very selective when hiring, but the staff at Iberostar have one goal to and that is to make you happy.

Entertainment: Here is an area where Iberostar stands out by themselves. Besides the nightly shows which are performed in the theater, there is a group of people call the Star Friends who are there to make sure you are never bored, These people are the ones who are entertaining you around the pool during the day by running the many daily activities like the beach volleyball, water polo, bingo, archery, dancing lessons etc. They are the same people who will mingle around you at the bar in the evening. There the ones who will do a warm up show/activity in the main theater before the main show. They are the ones who will make you laugh, teach you the latest dance steps, or just answer any question you might have. Their job is to make you happy, and from what our experience they did a great job. Kudos to Arturo and his staff!

Front Desk/Guest Services: Once again our experience was excellent. A far as check-in/ check out it was quick and easy. Here we did have one small bump which was quickly resolved. We booked 3 rooms of which one was requested to be a handicapped accessible room. Turns out there are a few different types of handicapped rooms. The one which was originally assigned to us was definitely a handicapped room because the bathroom was modifies so a wheelchair could maneuver easily and it had safety bars installed. The only issue was it had a bathtub and we were looking for something with a walk-in shower so the is no need to step over the bathtub. I called down to the front desk, explained the problem. I was told that they did have a few rooms with walk in showers however none were available at the moment. By the time I got down to the front desk a solution was available. We were offered upgrades for all three of our rooms to Villas (which had Jacuzzi bathtubs and walk-in shower). Turns out the handicapped person in our party loved the spectacular ocean view from the high floor of the main building and decided to stay in the current room for 2 nights and until a room with a walk-in shower was available in the main building. Most other hotels would have stated that handicapped rooms are not guaranteed and are subject to availability. They might even have offered an upgrade for one room in the party but to offer an upgrade for all three rooms was going beyond what they needed to do. Also I want to mention that this was offered without argument, yelling or aggravation. Once again I would like to recognize Edrei, Dario and Linda.

Food/Drink Personally I had no problem with the food, but I realize everyone’s taste palette differs. What I can say is the food drink is plentiful, presented beautifully and appears to be prepared with high quality ingredients. As far as the buffet goes I thought there very plenty of choices, there is always a fully loaded Salad bar, Pasta Bar, Deserts Bar and Cheese bar, besides the many many entrees and sides dishes in the steam trays. They even serve lobster and crab.
We had no trouble getting into the Specialty restaurants; In fact we ate the specialty restaurants 6 out of the 8 nights of our stay. If you’re worried about it try sending a email request prior to your stay.
As far as the drinks go I did not feel they were cheap or watered down. Besides the normal house bands they offer top-self brands of alcohol, you just have to ask for it. I thought the service was excellent, and quite frankly it didn’t make a difference if you tipped or did not tip. There is plenty of servers walking around the pool and beach area during the day and in the bars and night clubs at night so the wait is never long.

In summary Iberostar Cancun is 5 star resorts, which is run outstandingly. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Email ahead of time of your worried about getting reservations for the specialty resturants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share with us this wonderful review about your holidays at Iberostar Cancun. Also, thank you so much for recommending our hotel!

We are very pleased to know that you had a very nice experience in our facilities and you enjoyed all the activities and the service offered at the different areas. Our staff always tries their best to meet and surpass our guest expectations, thank you for recognizing their hard work; they will be thilled to read your comments. Also, we feel really glad to learn that we were able to cover your needs with the handicapped room.


Again we appreciate your comments; they give us the opportunity to know our guests’ valuable opinion, since this is the key to our success. We hope to see you again and pamper you as you deserve.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#13 Business Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.