We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time and wont be the last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 174 hotels in Cancun
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“1st time and wont be the last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Flights were late but thats not Cheap Caribbeans fault.
Customs were seriously amazingly fast for the amount of people on our flight for a wednesday.
We got suckered into some timeshare stuff but our driver from the airport then told us to stay away from them as much as we could from then on
The pickup service bought as an add on was flawless. Worked out perfect right out of the airport and did not have to wait long to start the short trek to Iberostar. ( everyone we came into contact with said it was an excellent choice)
Got to the hotel, bags were out of the car waiting for us!
While checking in, our gal was so sweet and turned a 3rd floor room into a 9th floor room (without having a neighbor on both sides. which we totally tipped her for, thank you!) she said it wasnt totally finished getting ready so we should go look at the grounds and have a drink so we did. After finding out we got on the top floor we were excited to also find out she hooked us up with an ocean view room!
Making reservations via email prior to our arrival was the best plan we had. We had no problem getting seated or trying to get a table. Just make sure you get your dinner tickets from guest services.
The pool is AMAZING as well as the ocean beach! We were SO happy for both waters as we are addicted to the aqua life! During December seats are NOT scarce out at either spot.
Restaurants:
Mexican is decent, and the Steakhouse is a step above that and would dine there again if had the need to stay on property. The French/ Gourmet lacks quality. You either like it or you don't. We only liked one plate, and we disliked the other.
Never tried the Hibachi but heard though other guests that it was good an bad. The buffet was good, breakfast was what we thought the best option to take and it serves until 11am (Rafael was our favorite waiter, knew exactly what we wanted to drink before we got seated with plates, most impressive!) We decided to eat off-property 3 nights and were blown away at what Cancun has to offer if you want to pay out of pocket.
Harrys steakhouse is the HANDS DOWN BEST STEAKHOUSE i have EVER been. The atmosphere, service and food are just top notch.
Limonchellos trattoria is a fabulous italian restaurant in the middle of the hotel zone we found driving to and from shopping and bar "experiencing". They can actually MAKE the mozzarella cheese table side! Lastly, we took Fred's Seafood Steakhouse for a whirl and the service was even better than Harrys Steakhouse and the food selections were definitely for the seafood fan at heart. We will be back to all three restaurants when we visit again.
The pool as well as the beach were even better than pictures could describe. The service at the swim-up pool bar was fantastic by Adolfo and Hugo as well as the beach service by Theresa!
We will be sure to return to Cancun as well as coming back to stay at the Iberostar Cancun without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting Iberostar Cancun to spend your vacation, we will keep working hard to reach your satisfaction every time you come.
Glad to know you received the fabulous service you deserve and that you love our pool and the beach which is our main attraction, especially thanks for spotlighting ours coworkers Rafael, Adolfo, Hugo and Theresa who were above and beyond, we will acknowledge them for making your visit even better.
You can come back whenever you want and enjoy everything we have to offer.
We remain entirely at your service.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,149
    451
    163
    48
    33
See reviews for
734
595
51
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We just got back from 2 weeks at this resort and it was absolutely great! We had a great time. For those with kids and Adults I recommend this as a place to go. Victor who is in charge of Kids club absolutely made my vacation. Most days from 10-5 my kids were in kids club doing crafts, swimming, and most of all not bugging me continuously saying "I bored" as I had a drink and laid by the pool or played volleyball. VICTOR IF YOU EVER READ THIS YOU MADE OUR VACATION!

Food was great, there was so much selection you could try new things or stick with making a sandwich. 4 other people that we loved at this hotel are Bartolo and Israel in the buffet restaurant who were always smiling and just awesome servers. We constantly were joking and laughing with them and I don't think I ever saw the bottom of my wine glass as they were always ready and waiting:).

All of the Star friends staff was amazing but the other 2 people were Jesus and Sandra, There would be too many things that I would like to say about these two so I'll just stick to they were great and made our vacation that much better.

Great place, Great service, Great vacation

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Iberostar Cancun to chill out near to the sea. Thanks as well for your so sweet and encouraging comments about your stay here.
We feel honored to hear that you recognized the service from Victor, Bartolo, Israel, Jesus and Sandra , we will share this comment with them.
We are proud that we only provided you with a smashing service, with happiness that you will remember for a very long time.
We are ready to pamper you during your next vacation.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My first comment will be that you get more than you pay for. I know that statement is relative, but for the price we paid to take our family of 4, the value we got out of it was worth twice as much. There are minor things that I would change or wish to be better, but there really should be no real complaints about this place.

Check-in - We arrived very close to 3pm, so check-in went smoothly. Our room was available immediately and the bellhop brought our luggage up right away. We were given the standard drink at the check-in counter (though I'm sure it had no alcohol in it), but it was refreshing. This also gave us our first glimpse of the level of servce we would come accustomed to over our stay. Our son (3 yrs. old) was very excited and climbed on top of the table and kicked over my wife's drink, shattering glass everywhere. Iberostar staff quickly rushed out, made sure our son was safe first and foremost and then told us not to worry about a thing, it happens and they would gladly take care of it, which they did.

Room - Upon entering the room, we lowered the A/C which did get cold enough to be comfortable, though at night, the A/C acts differently than during that day. I think the resort has some sort of control over the cooling system at night, not allowing for the room to stay very cold overnight. But it was bearable and had very little impact on us. The room was nicely furnished with a nice-sized balcony that had a gorgeous view of the ocean and pool area. The balcony was also very private, which I prefer. The beds were comfortable, as were the pillows. The staff quickly brought up a crib for our daughter and though the crib mattress was not the coziest, it was more than adequate and greatly appreciated. The mini-bar was stocked with beer (Dos Equis and Superior), Coke, Fanta Orange, Sprite, water, and another soft drink that I cannot remember. It kept them cold and they fully restocked them every day. The bathroom was not overly impressive, but again, it was more than adequate for what anyone should need. The rain shower was a nice feature and our son loved it.

Service - Our experience in this department was beyond our expectations. The staff does a tremendous job in every area of service. The housekeeping staff was always there when we needed them and were good and efficient. They went above and beyond in my opinion. For example, we had lots of bottles and bottle pieces for our daughter since she is still on formula. The housekeeping staff would wash her bottles and lay them out to dry every day. Now that is service! One day our son wet the bed while napping and they quickly came up and changed the entire bedding with a huge smile on their face. I cannot say enough great things about housekeeping. Everyone else was also very friendly and provided great service. The bartenders were great hosts and willing to make whatever you wanted, however you wanted it. The servers at the restaurants were excellent in every way and always left a positive impression with us. They were all very engaging with our children and for that we are indebted. The Star Friends did a great job too, though we did not engage at all. We could see how they handled everything from our seat at the swim-up bar. :)

Grounds - The grounds were beautiful! It is a very large resort with 7 pools, including a nice, small waterpark for small children. Our son thoroughly enjoyed himself while there. The other pools were mostly small pools that you could not swim in, but could lounge in. The main pool with the swim-up bar was absolutely stunning. It was large, the swim-up bar was fantastic, and the infinity aspect that looked out over the water was priceless. The hotel itself was very beautiful and clean. The lobby bar was large and relaxing with live piano at night. I did not attend the other sports bar or cigar bar. Though I did buy a great cuban at the cigar bar and smoked it on my balcony.

Food - The breakfast buffet was good, but not great. They had plenty of options, but nothing stood out. I did not get to eat at the lunch or dinner buffet, but my wife said the lunch buffet was very good. We did eat burgers and hot dogs at the snack bar and thought they were very good. They were like good grilled burgers from your backyard, but not a gourmet burger or something as tasty as say 5 Guys. The specialty restaurants were all good, with the Japanese and Steakhouse being standouts, they were fantastic. They all were very accommodating to us and our children. The fried rice at the Japanese steakhouse was GREAT and the appetizer buffet at the steakhouse was also fantastic. The steak over cooked well when I ordered medium, but it was a great cut of steak and still very, very good. My recommendation would be to email the concierge prior to arriving and arrange your reservations, it worked liked a charm.

Shows - We did not attend any shows, but got the feeling from others that they were very enjoyable.

Check-out - Went very smoothly and we hated to leave.

Overall - We would definitely go back with our kids or alone. For families though, it cannot be beat.

WE LOVED IBEROSTAR!

If you have any further questions or want more specifics, please message me.

Room Tip: You can take the R-2 bus about 30 minutes to the local Wal-Mart if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests and especially when it includes such wonderful comments. We truly appreciate the time taken to share it here on TripAdvisor.
It was certainly our pleasure to have had you as our guests and we are very happy to know your whole family had a great stay with us at Iberostar Cancun.
We are glad to hear that your family were able to enjoyed our facilities.
Once again, we are truly grateful for the time taken to share your review and we sincerely hope to have the honor of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We loved our stay at the Iberostar Cancun. The rooms were spacious and clean with refreshing blue decor. Had booked a room with a balcony. Good sized balcony and amazing view of the ocean and the resort itself. There are a wide variety of activities lined up during the day, for both adults and kids. Nightly entertainment at the theatre too. The buffet was huge but after a few days you get bored because its repetitive. Well maintained pools and grounds. They have 3-4 restaurants, but its difficult to get a reservation. Try to make reservations for the rest of your stay, as soon as you check in. Guest services were very helpful too. They went out of their way to get my baby's food warmed up a couple of times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Cancun for your family vacation! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are sure your feedback will be helpful to other travelers considering our hotel. But most of all, we're happy to read that you and your family enjoyed both our facilities and the friendly, attentive service of our staff.
Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wareham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hotel was beautiful and only 15 minutes from airport. Breathtaking lobby,( marble floors, ivy growing from 1st floor to 9th floor , across from each other). Lots of seating in lobby where you could sit and enjoy your drink. Rooms were immaculate (our maid was Martha who always left us pillow animals surrounded by rose petals and a restocked minibar). The ocean was beautiful and so amazing. The infinity pool was wonderful and so was the swim up bar. Adolfo and Hugo (hoochie coochie time) kept us well hydrated with great drinks!!!! We went to the entertainment every night. Singers were great. Employees work so hard morning to night. Loved Sandra, Sunday, Alfredo, and Javier!!!! I will definitely come back to this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing or overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to write this beautiful review. It is always a pleasure to read comments as yours that express how much enjoyed your stay at Iberostar Cancun.
We are very glad that you enjoyed our facilities and all the services. Also we feel so happy to hear the best comments about our staff, we will congratulate Adolfo, Hugo, Sandra, Sunday, Alfredo and Javier for the good service.
We do hope we have the opportunity to service you again.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I love this hotel, i recommend it 100%. What a great group of people running this hotel always making sure we had a great time, They were always there to help. the shows at night were fantastic. I must mention some of the great people that i had the pleasure to meet.


Daniela - concierges desk

Joslynne, Miriam, Marisol and J.C. - Friendly and Great Dancers

Aaron - fantastic Singer

Ferdy -great chef from the Japanese restaurant

Roberto - I believe that was his name, the great pianist playing at the lobby

And all the people that made our trip one to remember. We hope to be back in a few months.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this review, and especially for your kind words about our staff, we will passed our congratulations to Daniela, Joslynne, Miriam, Marisol, JC, Aaron and Fredy for such exceptional service.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we all are looking forward to welcome you back to Iberostar Cancun.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very nice place to vacation just got back. Last week. Great beach, clean rooms, good night entertainment, Doris does a great deep message on the beach, and the star group is very energetic and cordial. Sunday, Isabel, and Sandy were very nice "Stars". Volleyball, Polo and other games were good because of the right amount of players. We had no kids but the person in charge of the Kids club was GREAT! Close to the airport, take the bus for a buck into the city or shopping centers. It was nice that all of the rooms have an Ocean View. Free internet in lobby. Just have to figure out how....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable vacation at our beautiful hotel. Thank you for acknowledge us about the excellent service that Doris, Sunday, Isabel and Sandy provided. We will make certain to congratulate and thank´s them for his great work and commitment.
We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again and provide you with the amazing treatment you deserve, see you soon at Iberostar Cancun.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, VISIT US, INC. , Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.