We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel only minor flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel only minor flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed 12 nights at the Iberostar Cancun in room 722 (with balcony). My wife and I travelled from London and are in our late 20’s. To summarise:

Positives:

Star Friends (Animation team): They are amazing, they work so hard right from the morning through to early hours in the next day. They arrange many activities such as rifle shooting, archery, bowls, darts, beach and water volleyball, water polo and other random activities. They conduct the evening shows which are great. Magic show was amazing. After that, they organise karaoke 3 nights a week and then hit the clubs every night. We went clubbing with them a couple of times, and they really look after you and organise a VIP area for you. FYI, entrance to the club is about 50 USD, which include an open bar.

Rooms:
Good size rooms. Balcony rooms are nice, although we never sat out there. One side of the hotel only has the view of the beach, whereas the other side has the beach and pool.

Pool and Beach:
Beautiful pools and beach. The main pool is heated, although it was cold on the first 3 days of our trip – too cold to make use of swim up bar.

Staff:
All the staff were very helpful, especially the front desk and concierge. We were offered a free upgrade. Waiters and the barmen were very attentive.

General:
Free WiFi available in lobby. Hotel is very modern, lovely décor. Good location, not far away from the night life, about 10 mins. The local bus goes all the way to downtown, where you can go to Wal-Mart or Mercado 28 – the best place to buy souvenirs.


Negatives:

Food:
It was cold, even in the Mexican restaurant, which is one of the speciality restaurants. Japanese was great, loved the Chef’s tricks. Gourmet was excellent too. Never tried steak. I did get bored of the food after a week, so ended up visiting the local restaurants.

Room service:
Room was sometimes cleaned as late as 3pm. I do not feel as though the room was dusted and our mini bar and drinks were never replenished. I had to ask reception for water, only once I tipped the maid, did she start replenishing the drinks.

Sun beds:
Unfortunately sun beds were being reserved early in the morning, the day beds would go first and would often remain vacant for up to a couple of hours, even though towels are only collectable from 8am. I wish they would remove peoples belongings before 8am as its not fair.

Pricey:
The laundry service is so expensive, you might as well buy new clothing rather than use their laundry service. Also the spa was expensive too, charging about 150 USD for a one hour massage!


This hotel was great, only minor flaws, I would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for this amazing review with the positive and negatives points about Iberostar Cancun.
We feel so proud to know that you liked the facilities and you had the best service from our amazing staff. We loved to hear that you make an especial mention to our concierges and front desk staff, we will congratulate them.
We would like stress our most sincere apologies that your vacation may not have been everything you would have hoped for. We are very sorry that we could not fulfill all of your expectations this time with some of our services. We will certainly take your suggestions into consideration as we try to improve every day. Please be assured that corrective measures have already been taken regarding this points. We would love to have the opportunity to change the perception with the little details you had with another visit in the near future. We would love to host you again.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    465
    169
    49
    33
See reviews for
758
612
52
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was pleased with the service, food, cleanliness, and activities offered at Iberostar Cancun.
This hotel offers great value for you money. Employees are trained well and are very helpful and polite. About the only complaints I have is that there was not a tennis pro available and there was no pool table. The beach was beautiful but the surf is rough and there is a strong undertoe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the Iberostar Cancun. Your feedbacks on your experience with us are very valuable it helps us give a better service to guests.
We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we also thank you for pointing out possible areas of improvement within the hotel so that we can act consequently. We are sorry that you didn´t found a tennis pro and the pool table, we will share this comment with our entertainment manager in order to work on this. We truly look forward to having you back soon, we´ll be thrilled to host you.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Easton Ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I traveled with a group of 5 wonderful women celebrating a "decade" birthday the first week of November. I can't say enough about this beautiful paradise on the beach! Located about 15 minutes from the airport, we arrived in the lobby before 10 am. Yummy drinks were brought to us, and we were actually able to check into our rooms immediately. The Iberostar Cancun is by far the most immaculate resort I have ever stayed at. The security and safety at the resort is such that I would feel totally comfortable traveling there solo. The staff treat you like royalty!! Special thanks to Francisco, Caramelita, Arturo, Alberto, Hugo, Gabriel, Jesus, Brisa, Javier, Marlon and too many others to mention. The birthday gal was serenaded by the Mariachi band and they even took special requests. The wait staff is so impressive. They can't do enough for you. On our last morning before heading to the airport, our breakfast waiter surprised us and came outside to our table with a bottle of champagne!!! We've previously gone on cruises together, but no more. This was the ultimate vacation and all-inclusive to boot. There's so much to do, great activities and shows! Stayed for a week and I never once left the resort. The dining options were amazing. Breakfast at the buffet was a favorite of mine as well as the specialty restaurants. We were able to get reservations at all four with no problem. My only complaint was, unfortunately, that I had to leave the Iberostar Cancun and go back to reality. We were so impressed, we are already planning a return visit!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review regarding your recent stay with us. We are very grateful to you for your preference when selecting our hotel for such a special occasion as your friend´s birthday. We are very happy that you felt the kindness and warmness that characterizes us at Iberostar Cancun. Our goal is to always provide the best stay possible so we are delighted to know about the great time you spent in our beautiful hotel.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back; we will do our best to ensure that you have a wonderful experience.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed in Cancun 5 times, usually at the RIU Palace. The Iberostar was significantly superior. The Hotel is immaculately clean, the service is kind and hotel maintenance was there in 5 mins when we ordered a roll a away bed and within 5 mins when we locked ourselves out of our safe.
The Food was the best ever. So fresh and such a variety. All of the restaurants were great. We especially enjoyed 'Sunday', one of the staff. We were served by Sabastian and Rafael in the Buffet and were well taken cared for. Isabella at the front desk was knowledgeable. Even the bar staff remembered what you liked to drink.
The most impressive part was the beach. It was so clean. The lifeguards saved two lives in the water while we were there and that is absolutely PRICELESS!! They watched everyone in the water like hawks and were so thorough.
This was an amazing resort. Can't wait to go again. Your Hotel can make or break your trip and this one made ours.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your sweet review; we love hearing that your stay was Awesome!! It is always reassuring to hear that our staff made your holiday unforgettable. We will congratulate to Sunday, Sebastian, Rafael and Isabella.
And on behalf of the entire staff, we thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you soon here and have another fantastic experience with you at the Iberostar Cancun.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a great place for a getaway. The beach is on the southern zone of the hotel zone, so the water is blue and clean. Food 10 times better than any cruise ship that I have been on. so many options during the day with all the activities that the Star Friends host, and then at night their is a theater show including games and magic shows, etc... I would go back there any time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you felt so good at the Iberostar Cancun, we feel so happy to hear that you enjoyed all the activities with the star friends and you loved the tasty food.
We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cancun.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel was beautiful, 15 minutes from airport, breathtaking lobby,( marble floors, ivy growing from 1st floor to 9th floor , across from each other). Lots of seating in lobby where you could sit and enjoy your drink. Rooms immaculate, beautiful view of ocean. Only downfall was that my daughter and I reserved junior suite with hottub, upon arrival we were given standard room with ocean view. I have to contact Expedia because we upgraded to suite on site (we thought) however our paperwork stated standard room. It wasnt hotels fault. I just dont want to get charged for suite if I didnt get it. Personnel at hotel so pleasant. Food was ok, prefer American food more. . Would definitely return to Iberostar!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Cancun and for your very nice comments! We are glad to know you experienced a fantastic time.
In regards to your inconvenience, we really appreciate that you took the time to write this very important feedback to us. We really appreciate your comments as it is very helpful in our efforts to continuously strive for service excellence.
Please come back soon as we would love to receive you again.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I are in our 60's and have vacationed in the Cancun/Riviera Maya area at least 15 times. The thing that impressed me most about Iberostar Cancun was the excellent service. The people who work there actually acted like they wanted you there and were happy to work in the service industry. We have traditionally experienced faster service at this time of year as opposed to March or April because it is much less crowded and that was certainly the case this trip. Plenty of empty lounges at the pool and beach and many shaded areas as well. Infinity pool is beautiful and view from pool bar looking out to ocean is great. Beach is wide and beautiful with soft sand but there is a steep incline at the shore to get into the ocean and the sea is quite powerful - not great for little ones or non-swimmers, but it didn't stop me from getting in and jumping and riding the waves. Life guard on duty. The lobby is gorgeous with polished marble and a 10 story (or so) atrium with a bar and lots of sitting areas. Free wifi in lobby but not in rooms. We stayed on the 5th floor in the wing overlooking the conference center. The room was very comfortable but did not have a sitting balcony - you can open the sliders and stand out on the balcony but there is not room for table and chairs. All rooms have ocean view. Next time I would opt for a room in the wing overlooking the pool at the very least and would consider booking a full balcony overlooking pool or a jr suite in that area. The villas looked nice too. They are 2 or 3 story ocean front as opposed to high rise. Housekeeping service very good and public areas of the hotel scrubbed and shined. Only complaint here is bathrooms by the pool/Mexican Restaurant - old and rather nasty. There are restrooms in the buffet and behind the beach bar that are very nice.
We enjoyed the food in the buffet and at the specialty restaurants and everyone we talked to liked the food as well. Actually it was some of the best food we have had at an AI. Drinks were good too - anything from frozen concoctions at the beach bar to a nice martini or mimosa from the lobby bar. Frig in room stocked with water, sparkling water, soda and beer. We met some lovely people there (of all ages) and everyone agreed that the hotel was fantastic. Even the younger crowd had fun and went into Cancun for trips to clubs which they said were outstanding. I'd say the majority of people were couples ranging from 30's to 50's but there were some 20 somethings and a few families. There was a great kid-pool area - very shallow with slides etc.
I will definitely consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, QUALITY MANAGER at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you have taken the time to write such a fantastic review from Iberostar Cancun.
There is nothing that makes us happier than a guest that leaves, was feeling glad and impressed with our service and facilities.
In regards to your complaint with the restrooms by the pool we will pass your comment to the person that is in charge of this place to work on it, remember that Iberostar always look the best for our guest.
Please come back soon to visit us here at your second home in Mexico.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, VISIT US, INC. , Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.