We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation and great resort....even with Celiac disease!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Cancun to your Saves list
Iberostar Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great vacation and great resort....even with Celiac disease!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just spent a week ( Nov. 3-10 ) at the Iberostar Cancun. We had a great time! Check in was quick and easy with a welcome drink on arrival. Room was very nice, ocean view with a balcony. Asked that same day for a view of pool and ocean and were given one the next day when it became available.Rooms were cleaned daily and the frig was always stocked with beer, water and pop. Cute animals made from towels were awaiting us when we came in for the evening.Grounds and pool areas were beautiful and well maintained. Always someone mowing grass or working on landscaping. Nice stretch of beach area to walk and plenty of chairs at the pool and beach so no need to get up early to try and save one. Great service at all of the bars, never had to wait and the drinks were never watered down. Drink service around the pool and on the beach was nice. Food was plentiful and very good. Yes, the food does repeat itself but it is no different than any other all inclusive I have been to and with the variety there should be something for everyone to enjoy.Room service one morning was quick and easy. Now, what I am most impressed with is the way they handled my food allergy. I am a celiac,( allergy to wheat, gluten, rye and oats ) so many things I am not able to eat anymore. The hotel gave me a letter in spanish explaining my allergy and I gave it to all 4 of the specialty restaurants. VERY IMPRESSIVE! The chef was very helpful. Some prepared special dishes or changed the menu to accomodate my allergy. The japanese restaurant cooked my rice first with gluten free soy that I provided and the remainder of my meal was prepared in the kitchen. The undestanding of the need to omit certain ingredients and to not cross contaminate my food was EXCELLENT! I really thought I would never be able to do an all-inclusive trip again but I was wrong, and glad I was! Ok, moving on......The entertainment staff were the BEST! Francisco, Arturo, Jesus,Sandra, Brisa, Victor(if I left anyone out, I apologize.) We had the best time with them. Played silly games at the pool, bingo, beach activities. Never pushy if you didnt want to be involved. Did an excursion to Isla Mujeres for the day. Jet boat to the island with drinks, snorkeling and a beach buffet for lunch. Alot of fun! Went to the mall one evening. Bus ride $1.00 each way. Overall.....A great resort with great people to make for a very enjoyable vacation. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Room with balcony overlooking ocean and pool was beautiful! We were on 6th floor. And if you like ig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments about your experience with us, and the preference to our hotel for your vacation.
We are pleased to know that was unforgettable experience as it is our goal at the Iberostar Cancun.

We assure you that we will send your thanks to the people mentioned, for us the main thing is to provide excellent service by friendly qualified and caring staff for our guests. We are delighted that the preparation of special dishes were exactly like you needs and was good tasting.
Thanks for highlighting these aspects of our services.
We hope to receive you again.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,285
    510
    184
    51
    36
See reviews for
813
669
58
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 15-29 October 2012. We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return.

When we arrived at the hotel the check in process was very quick and the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Our room was ready for us by the time we arrived. We paid for an ocean view room with a double bed. We asked reception if we could have a room with one of the larger balconies (fits a table and 2 chairs) which was given to us for no extra cost. When we got to our room we were not particularly happy with the view. We could see the ocean, however the room was at the side of the building and looked onto the roof of the hotel next door. There were also a lot of birds flying into the balcony and sitting on top of the light. We asked reception if we could move to a room which had a view of the pool and the Ocean. They didn’t have one that day but moved us the following day without any hassle.

The room was spacious enough with a king-size bed and sofa. They were spotless and the maids were in everyday to clean the rooms. On the down side the maids came in quite early (i.e. just after 8am). When we are on holiday we like to lie in so this was a little early for us. They do come back later though if you are not up at this time. You can hear the maids moving furniture around through the walls and can hear people talking in the corridors when passing your room which wakes you up really early.

The pool areas were also spotlessly clean. Staff were constantly cleaning and doing small maintenance jobs every day. They really do work hard to keep the hotel at its best. The staff at the pool bar are excellent (Hugo, Adolfo & Maria). We always got service with a smile. There were activities around the pool & beach area every day. The star friends worked extremely hard to keep everyone entertained. A special mention must go to Jesus, Brisa, Atruro, Sunday and Sandra. My husband is a big football fan and Alberto always made sure the match he wanted to see was put on in the sports bar which was fantastic. Alberto was however supporting the wrong team!

The restaurants I would say are the only real area that let the hotel down a bit. The buffet restaurant was very good with a good selection for lunch and dinner each day. Breakfasts were much the same each day but that was no great disappointment. The A la carte restaurants though have room for improvement. The Japanese is the best, the food was warm, tasty and was good show from the chef. The steak we had in the steak house was not very nice and actually got a better steak in the gourmet restaurant. The Gourmet restaurant was ok, not fantastic though and the Mexican was horrible which was a surprise since we were in Mexico!

The beach was also spotlessly clean at the hotel. There were a lot of sun beds available. There was a small bar on the beach and the waiters served you drinks by your sun bed which was a luxury. The sea at this part of the beach can be a little rough so I would say that it’s not the best for young children to play in but for adults who are big kids like we were it was great fun!

Overall the Iberostar Canucun it is a very good hotel. The service from staff is great and they make the hotel such a lovely place to stay. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony you can sit out on. It is really nice in the evening to watch the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Friend,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and all the future visitors.
We truly appreciate your review and love to hear that you found our facilities and restaurants top notch! And what to say about having fun at Sports Bar, we are glad that your husband have enjoyed to see the matches. It is fantastic to hear that you are planning visit the Iberostar Cancun one more time.

We look forward to welcome you again and make your vacations an unforgettable experience.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Iberostar was great - did the trip thru apple vacations. Close to airport. Buffets were great. Specialty restaurants were average. Alcohol selection, bartenders and wait staff were all very good. Star friends were amazing. Rooms were ok...we really weren't in them very much. Wish we had had a balcony. The beach and the pool are both awesome. Only negative...all the bathrooms on the property need more attention...pool areas, lobby, buffets. We had seven women on our trip and several times we would just go up to our room because the restrooms were filthy, in need of repair (doors wouldnt shut, toilets wouldnt flush) and lacking toilet paper or hand towels. This is the only reason we didn't give it a 4.5 star rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We have taken your feedback to heart and have shared it with our team. We are thrilled to know you had a fantastic vacation with us!!! In regards to your inconvenience, we really appreciate that you took the time to write this very important feedback to us. We have spoken to our area managers and we are taking care of this problem as we speak. We really appreciate your comments as it is very helpful in our efforts to continuously strive for service excellence.
Please come back soon as we would love to receive you again.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had a good stay here last month. Nothing bad to say. This would be a great choice if you want to stay in the Cancun area, but be away from all of the craziness. Great location on the south end of the strip. Great for a family with small children in Cancun! Great kids pool area!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion and for your great recommendation about Iberostar Cancun. Happy to know you loved everything in our resort. We will keep working hard to surprise you with our fabulous service the next time you visit us.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was our first trip to Mexico, and we got the hotel recommended from a colleague. All our expectations were met, very kind personnel and good service from day one. The food was really good, and we loved both swimming in the sea and relaxing at the pool. The activity staff did an excellent job during the days, and we enjoyed the shows at nights. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Cancun, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the short and kind review. We feel so proud for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar Cancun for your first trip to Mexico!! We are pleased that you liked the service and great food. We can't wait to have you back again.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We traveled to the Iberostar Cancun in October 2012. This was a gal’s getaway. All in all it was a wonderful stay. The hotel used to be a Hilton. The interior of the lobbies are decorated with logo rugs and a few other “Iberostar” touches but it still maintains the look of an elegant hotel with heavy draperies, huge ceilings and marbled floors. Overall, the lobby areas may have been a little old fashioned, but very grand and lovely.

The pool is huge and thoroughly enjoyable. There’s always a spot to find for action or for quite. It has multiple areas and multiple levels with hot tubs along the sides somewhat private in the shrubbery. There is also an expansive children’s pool area and it is very wisely located just outside the kids club. There were plenty of loungers all around the pool and most were empty since the hotel was not full.

There is a large swim up bar in the middle of the pool and another large pool bar right at the beginning of the beach. There is a third outdoor bar, which also serves burgers, just next to the pool.

The beach is probably the best I’ve seen in this area of Cancun. This was our biggest surprise. It is so deep and so soft and the water at the front is a beautiful ocean turquoise blue. There are parts of Cancun that have a very narrow beach, or no beach to speak of at all. This area of beach is wonderful, almost unbelievable at how deep it is. There are a lot of loungers on the beach in front of the resort. These also were pretty much vacant since the hotel was so quiet. If you can travel in October, go and enjoy all the space. We also enjoyed jumping waves and just walking.

All rooms have an ocean view. Some rooms have a true balcony and the rest have the French balcony which means you can slide open the doors to bring in the outside air, however, there is no landing to step out onto. We did not have a balcony, just the sliders. It was fine as it was pretty hot and we would not have wanted to leave the door open. The view was truly beautiful from our room.

Our room category was a standard and it is a regular sized hotel room. It has updated bedding and drapery. I wouldn’t say it is modern, but it is very nice and well kept. We had a mini fridge which they replenish daily with sodas and beer. The electric safe is in the closet. The bathroom sink is outside the toilet/shower area making it easier when getting ready so one person can be showering and the other using the mirror/sink area.

The entertainment staff at this hotel is great. They were very friendly and really tried to get everyone involved, but if you preferred not to, that was just fine too. They even have “rainy” day activities (plan “B” so to speak). In the evenings they had their big shows. They are very on par with the shows we had seen a few years ago at the Iberostar Paraiso Beach/Paraiso del Mar in their Playacar resorts. The only thing that I found sad is that the hotel was so empty there were hardly any people in the big show lounge to enjoy the shows. It was off season for one, and also many people go up the road to where all the Cancun hot spots are in the evenings. They also have a nice sports bar on a second level off the lobby and on some evenings they host late night karaoke in this same bar.

We travel to a lot of all-inclusive resorts that no longer require dinner reservations. Unfortunately, the Iberostar is not this way. We did have to make reservations each day for the evenings. On one day, they did allow us to make two at once. Since the hotel was not crowded, we felt this really was a bit of a pain, but we dealt with it. We were not limited in how many reservations we could make but that may be different in high season. The servers were wonderful at all of the a la carte restaurants. We really enjoyed the food and the service. We ate at the Mexican, French, Steakhouse and Asian a la carte restaurants. I’m not sure which our favorite was as we really enjoyed them all. We also went to the buffet. It is huge and has a variety of choices. They offered two carving stations for meats, a pasta station and other areas where the food selections changed with each meal. We found a favorite server in the buffet area, Norbert. He was wonderful. At breakfast time he had our morning mimosas waiting for us. (Thanks Norbert and all the staff at the Iberostar). We loved the made-to-order omelet stations at breakfast too. We do tip our servers and our room attendants. We feel it is well deserved.

The Iberostar Cancun is a big hotel and it is very nice. It is a high rise, rather than a large spread out resort and the grounds are lovely. It’s close to the action of Cancun but not right in the heart of it. We rode the local bus to go shopping one day and to just walk around another day. It was about $1 USD each way. We didn’t have pesos the first time we rode the bus and it was not a problem at all. We would definitely recommend this resort to others interested in going who enjoy all-inclusive properties.

Room Tip: All are oceanview but if you want a real balcony make sure to book a full balcony room. The others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I want to share the good experience we had at Iberostar Cancun. It is our 4th time in Mexico but, first one in Cancun. I will tell you what make Iberostar Cancun different. First of all, customer service is "Top Notch". Everytime we had a question or needed something, we got served quickly with a smile. Can say enough about the good service we had at the buffet restaurant. We felt like "Prince and Princess" and we appreciated it very much. Employees of all departments work hard. That's one of the reason why Iberostar is the gem of Cancun. The rooms are very clean with a good size ( we had a balcony room). Also, first time the wine taste good in Mexico. They serve bottled wine, which is not the same at other hotels. The food and service at "À la carte" restaurants are number one. The beach, grounds and hotel in general, are very well maintained. Never had to run in the morning to reserve a chair either at the beach or at one of the several pools. Plenty of choice for everyone. You can be quiet or participate at one of the several activities planned by the Star Team. I travelled a lot in US and in Mexico and Iberostar Cancun Is one of the best. So if your next destination is Cancun, don't worry, stay at Iberostar. It well worth the trip. Fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Cancun

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cancun
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#22 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, VISIT US, INC. , Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Cancun Hotel Cancun
Hilton Cancun Hotel
Hilton Golf Spa Resort Cancun
Hilton Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.