We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El presidente” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort to your Saves list
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“El presidente”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotel was wonderful! There are some complaints regarding the reservations staff, but the service made up for it! We were delayed due to weather and our room was no longer available- so they upgraded us to the executive level! View was spectacular and the breakfast/happy hour was delicious! The staff were superb! Great couples vacation...quiet and relaxing! The beach is perfect!

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacations at the best beach in Cancun! We hope to see you back soon.

Deborah Iosovitch
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    444
    141
    79
    52
See reviews for
324
551
57
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed at the Presidente for a long weekend in mid-December before the height of the Holiday tourist season. We chose the hotel because of the excellent reviews of the beach and location for a relaxing time and it did not disappoint. The Presidente's white sand beach is somewhat secluded from the other hotels on the strip and it lends itself to a more private experience.

The rooms are spectacular and seemed recently renovated, the lobby is a bit outdated but we didn't spend much time there anyway. The food is hit or miss. we found the brunches to be best, lunch or dinner were just ok. Next time we'd probably just eat elsewhere.

We booked an all-inclusive (meals, drinks & snacks) package with our room and found it to be an excellent value, even if most of the staff did not know about it. Tips were not included which wasn't entirely clear on the website, but that's understandable and the service was great. We felt well taken care of from the time we checked in with Alvaro and who fully explained all of our charges on checkout. Final thanks go to George who took great care of us on the beach and kept us well supplied with drinks throughout our stay. He was really great and helped make our trip!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you very much for your honest comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have already spoken to our Chef to season up and we are looking forward to your next visit to the most beautiful beach in Cancun!

Deborah Iosovitch
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, WI, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Get ready to be harassed to sit through a "time share" presentation when you get there, The Club. Embarassing for a 4 star hotel like the intercontinental.

Second they fail consistently to do the little things. They never replaced the used coffee with the coffee machine, even when we called down they failed to replace it. We left a note...still no coffee. Just a lack of attention to details.

Finally, and most important is that they allow a disreputable tour operator (Best Day Travel) to sell from their tour/concierge desk. We booked a tour in the hotel lobby. The tour picked us up 30 minutes late in the morning and completely failed to pick us up in the evening to take us back to Cancun, leaving me, my spouse, 2 children, grandmother and sister and brother-in-law stranded over 90minutes away from Cancun. The tour cost over $100 per person. Why would a 4 star hotel allow this kind of tour operator to have a place in their hotel? To top it off it was Christmas Eve day. After an hour waiting for the bus, Thank God a different tour company was kind enough to help us get home to our hotel at a cost of over 1000 pesos.

It took over 5 conversations with staff to find out when Christmas Mass would be held in Cancun. Finally on Christmas morning the young man and woman at the front desk were able to get me good information.

On a positive, the beach really is the best in Cancun. But be aware the "whirlpools" whirl...they are not hottubs.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beach and facilities. Club Presidente is an external company which offers a “vacation club” concept and we will pass your comments to them. We also passed your comments regarding your tour to Best Day. We take note of your comments regarding the service which we will share with the staff.
Do not hesitate to contact us on your next stay to Cancun and will be delighted to look after you.

Deborah Iosovitch
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

This hotel is past the hotel zone and seems a bit out of the way, but after being in Cancun for five days we were glad to be away from all the bustle. The beach is so lovely and the service was perfect. Although the attendant was not the friendliest guy in the world, every time we needed anything he was quick to come and quick to deliver. No complaints about the professionalism. The valets are really friendly and the hotel would do well to give them the opportunity to actually visit some restaurants and equip them with knowledge on where to go to dinner, etc. They were clueless when it came to recommendations and seemed embarrassed about it. It shouldn't be that way - the same with the front desk. If you did not see the concierge desk tucked away in a corner, you would never know it was there. After we spoke to her on one of our last days we figured out this was the person to go too. Nevertheless, the staff should be able to recommend decent restaurants, spas, shops if they are the employees that greet and come into contact with guests throughout their stay. Just good business practice. I have worked in the hospitality industry and this would be standard.

The rooms are a bit dated, but our bathroom was enormous and so clean you could eat off the floor. The water pressure is intense so beware! The amenities are Elemis and the hotel does have quality products and services for sure. It definitely caters to those with a bit more money and not all-inclusive bargain shoppers. This is reflected in the quiet, low-key, upper income clientele. Having visited a Marriott, ME and Hilton during our business there, we were so glad to have stayed at the Presidente.

One VERY frustrating thing was the elevators are the absolutely slowest in the world! It is insane that they haven't been adjusted. We met pilots and flight attendants that stay regularly and they commented that they hated the elevators too.

I had room service every morning and the portions were enormous and the food was well prepared and arrived hot each time. Impressive and worth it.

Nice equipped fitness center too. We had it all to ourselves and it is thoughtfully laid out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your honest comments. We will continue the training with our staff to feel more confident when recommending restaurant, tours, etc.
We are glad you enjoyed your holidays. We hope to see you back soon at the best beach in Cancun!

Deborah Iosovitch
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East of England
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I`d booked this online before we went and when I got there was a little disappointed at the look of the hotel from the outside. The hotel zone in Cancun is full of 5* hotels looking all shiny bright and better than the Intercontinental. HOWEVER, the reason that this hotel looks older than the others is that it was one of the first hotels to be built and so has one of the BEST LOCATIONS on the strip. Huge pool area with two pools - main one plus `quiet zone` one. Several restaurants and bars and an enormous private beach. When you walk along the beach you will immediately notice that some of the newer hotels only have small, crowded and rocky beaches plus very small pool areas considering the number of guests they must have.

Now the rooms. The room we stayed in (very cheap at $105 per night room only) had obviously been state of the art when it was first designed ..................... in about 1980! Small rather worn bathroom with shower (not a power shower) over the small bath. Tiny washbasin set in marble surround, grey marble wall tiles and grey stone floor. Gold taps and door handles!! Elemis toiletries - excellent. Large towels. Comfy large bed. Adequate but old fashioned air con.


Restaurants are OK but you will do better by eating out on the strip in Cancun. Taxis plentiful and cheap - about £5 to main restaurant area. Seafood and Mexican restaurants are FAR better than the hotel offerings and about half the price.

Golf course next to hotel is fine but expensive at £120 for a round including buggy. All drinks and snacks were included but thought it was a heavy price. Golf course next to the Hilton is a better course and £50 inc buggy and club hire

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do recommend on your next visit to please try our fully new, renovated rooms. Please let us know when you will be back so we can help you with better rates at the Pok ta Pok Golf Club.

Deborah Iosovitch
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Plains
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

I was dubious about staying at another Intercontinental Hotel after they allowed all of those credit card numbers (including ours) to be stolen this spring, but we were very happy with the Presidente. It was the most reasonable we saw, we could get it without the "all-inclusive" option, and it is at the edge of the Hotel Zone, rather than in the middle (if you want to have a Las Vegas experience without the gambling and free drinks, stay in the middle of the hotel zone).

Beyond that, the rooms were clean, and had good views. The grounds and pools were well maintained. The staff was friendly and efficient. The breakfasts (which came in our package) were truly excellent. And the beach was great--a long expanse of sugar sand. Our only complaint was that they tried to hustle us into a "presentation," which they said was not a time share but which would involve them trying to sell us something. But, hey, that's Mexico.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Thank you very much for sharing your honest comments with us and we appreciate that you have decided to stay again at the InterContinental Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the best beach in Cancún and we will let the Chef know your comments regarding the breakfast. Our staffs always try their best to be efficient and friendly to all our guests.
The Club at Presidente is an external company and we already had given them your comments. We will be waiting for you in your next trip to Cancun!

Deborah Iosovitch
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I actually stayed here last year, but decided to catch up on my reviews. Better late than never!

I really, really, liked this hotel. The location is great--close enough to walk to the "hot spots", but not in the middle of any loudness. Can also catch the bus right there if you need to go further.

I thought the rooms were fine, even before any renovations. If I recall correctly, the bathrooms were pretty huge and nice that the shower was separate from the sink area so two people could be getting ready at the same time. Now that the rooms are being renovated, I imagine they will be very nice.

The beach. Ahhhhh. what can I say? I had been in Aruba a few months prior to coming here, and I have to say, I like the beach here better! It was calm, clear, and shallow way out. The sand was fine and white--just really nice. I had purposely picked this hotel based on people saying it had the best beach, and I am so glad I researched--it did not disappoint.

We were only in Cancun about three days. We had lunch each day at the outdoor restaurant near the pool, and it was good food, and reasonably priced. Did not eat breakfasts or dinners at the hotel, so I can't comment on that. My one gripe would be that the price of sodas and water was kind of high, especially if you're sitting in the hot sun all day and need to drink! (stay hydrated I mean)

To be honest, Cancun was never really at the top of my "must go" list--the whole spring break thing kind of grosses me out. (since I'm way past college age). But I would definitely stay here again, and in fact, make this hotel a reason to come back to Cancun one day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments. We are glad to know that you liked our property and specially our beautiful beach! Please let us know when you are coming back to Cancun.

Deborah Iosovitch
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Business Hotel in Cancun
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.