We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay - wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort to your Saves list
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 179 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berlin
1 review
“Fantastic stay - wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Cancun was the highlight of our trip through Mexico, and it was the Interconti which made it just that. The place is just wonderful. It is situated directly on the beachfront to the Caribbean in what is certainly the nicest location of the Cancun hotel area. It is a bit smaller than the other hotels in the area, but has very generous pool, garden and beach premises. That gives the place quite an exclusive but relaxed atmosphere.

The service lives up to five star standard in every respect. The staff is very friendly, polite, and customer-oriented without overdoing it - just the way it should be in a resort hotel. Reception, concierge restaurants, room-service, gym and all other hotel facilities were very well organized, and the employees were clearly doing their best.

The room we stayed in had been renovated just a few weeks before and offered everything we could wish for. It was quite spacious, very well designed in a modern but cozy fashion and had a fantastic seaview.

What we liked most was the extensive pool area and the beach. Both were very well maintained and offered enough space and privacy. Pool-side restaurant, grill and pool-side bar had excellent service and the quality of the food was really good. We also liked the breakfast with its Mexican touches very much.

Definitely a place to go backt to!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
We are glad to know that you liked our property and specially our beautiful beach. This is your home at anytime! Thank you for your comments!

Deborah Iosovitch
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    444
    141
    79
    52
See reviews for
324
551
57
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We booked a great deal through travelocity a few months before our arrival, however we nearly cancelled our trip at the last minute when the first hurricane of the season (Alex) was going through. The storm was going to clear the Yucatan by the time we were scheduled to arrive so we went through with it. We are glad we went, but the hotel was pretty empty. In the evening nearly every night we had the entire adult pool to ourselves with its changing colored lights. The roving waiters outside were attentive to any request (just be prepared to pay a ton). You can relax at this resort, without having to hear the loud thumping techno with obnoxious drunkards yelling like at other hotels. Another observation we made was that there were very few Americans in the hotel, but many native Mexican elites and some Europeans.

During the day there were only a handful of people on the beach. We observed the grounds crew using some sort of sifter to remove any twigs or debris from their beach and smoothing it out. The beach itself was immaculate; we walked the other beaches along the strip and none compares with the Presidente Intercontinental. The beaches for other hotels along the lower, long side of the seven had huge waves with lots of undertow (unsafe for kids). The Presidente's beach was much calmer and shallow. Unfortunately during our trip, after the first couple days, seaweed stirred up from the storm settled in on the beach. The staff tried to clean the water with pitchforks for the first 2 days until it became overwhelming and bulldozers were called in to load truck after truck of the stuff. A couple of hotels nearby did nothing for their beaches.

We stayed a regular, non-club room with a view of the lagoon. The view was fine. I felt that the bathroom could have used some remodeling, but the maids did a wonderful jobs keeping the area clean. The bed was firm but not too hard for me. The walls were a bit thin. We had a couple of neighbors who were loud; I wished it wouldn't have had to hear their vomiting at 2:00 in the morning. If we were to go again we would pay more to stay in the club level.

We weren't bothered by times share people like other reviews have mentioned (probably because we walked fast and didn't make eye contact). The bus stop in front of the hotel made it easy to go into Cancun or back down the hotel zone to the malls. The closest movie theatres were at the Isla Shopping Mall.

For good, inexpensive food, just cross the street. There is a small store with snack-type food, toiletries, and water (much less expensive than in the hotel shop). Next to the store were a line of small lineup of food counters with chairs to dine under the awning. We loved the food at the third one in, just before the pork place; the afternoon cook was excellent. Try the authentic chicken fajitas there and you'll want to get back every meal, but remember that they close at 5:00. Another popular stand in the complex was a french bread sandwich place at the end of the row. Another thing to try is the fresh coconut water from a native stand (there's one next to Walmart).

If you want to book an excursion, do it online or at the store across the street; the expedia guy in the hotel overprices his tours dramatically ($50). We did a Xel-Ha/Tulum combination. Xel-ha is a must; we wish we would have just booked that instead of splitting time going to Tulum. Another place we wish we had gone was the Explore site with the zip lines that we saw from the highway on the bus. I would skip going to Mercado 28; everything is overpriced and the vendors are too aggressive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It is our pleasure to know that you had an excellent experience at the best beach Resort in Cancun! We hope to see you back!

Deborah Iosovitch
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

There's nothing terrible about this place, but lots of minor negatives add up to a place that I wouldn't recommend. We stayed during a very stormy week and the soundproofing was non-existent, so sleep wasn't great. We also couldn't make much use of the beachside location because the sea was constantly clogged with seaweed, though this may have been a temporary condition due to the weather. There isn't much choice of places to eat, and we were kept waiting over an hour for breakfast one morning. The lobby is huge and deserted, and the place generally feels sterile. It's a shame - you just expect more of a wow factor from the InterContinental brand.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Our location on the Caribbean Sea makes Cancun vulnerable to tropical storms and consequently to unusual quantities of seaweeds which we try to clear up as fast as we can. As you have seen, it is very labour intensive.
In our property we have two restaurants and two bars where you can buy from a hamburger to a lobster tail. We also added sushi rolls and niguiris at our Tequila Bar. During high seasons we have live music.

Deborah Iosovitch
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We were in town for 1 day and decided to stay here. The breakfast buffet was delicious and not expensive. I love that they had a relaxing pool for adults. Freddie our bellman gave us the breakdown of everything and recommended a great restaurant to us. I'll be back but next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Please let us know when you are coming back to Cancun. We are happy to have you and Freddy will be waiting at the entrance door.

Deborah Iosovitch
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Awesome hotel, unbelievable beach, water and view only rivaled by the impeccable service are the perfect ingredients for an unforgettable dream vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
We are glad to know that you liked our property and specially our beautiful beach! This is your home at anytime! Thank you for your comments!

Deborah Iosovitch
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Hello Everyone: I am not your regular tourist traveler, I have stayed in many hotels in Cancun over the 22 years or so of cancun's being developed. I have also been a V.P. at a major hotel in Atlantic city in chargeof operations for over 3,000 rooms and all details of the hotel functioning and operations from Restaurants to rooms.

My comments are as follows: This Hotel is exceptional due to the upper management from its General manager to its various staff members on down.

A. Their courtesy and attention to their clients is exceptional, they are really being trained well from reception, to the maids who services your room daily.
B. The rooms are newly remodeled and are exceptional in all details as follows, the air conditioning works perfect and the room is super fresh in spite of extremely hot humid temperatures in Cancun in this time of year..August.
C. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel uses only 600 thread sheets and wonderful goose down pillows.
D. The room is supplied with very nice shampoos and soaps for your usage.
E. The maids are very well trained and are very considerate of your needs and sometimes wanting to sleep late.
F. The room service menu and foods are also quite excellent delivered promptly 24 hours a day.
g. the hotel is located on the best and safest part of the beach in Cancun and you can walk out quite far and only have the warm water up to your knees on the white fine sand.
this really makes it perfect if you have small children you are bringing to Cancun.
h. the grounds provide 2 large swimming pools where there is an abundance of chaise lounges so you never have to fight for a space by the pools. the hotel also offers a very large area on the beach underneath palapas with umbrellos to just spend the entire day reading or sleeping and having whatever drinks or food you would like brought to you.
h. The hotel also offers a breakfast buffet with a huge assortment of fresh fruits/yogurts/mousses/eggs, meats, salmon and other ethic dishes for your enjoyment.
I. this hotel is not for the persons who want to party all night, but is designed for couples young and old who wish to come to relax and enjoy the tranquility of the ocean and the wonderful service by its excellent staff.
I give it an A and would recommend it to all my friends, and this hotel is still working on making it even better...Its not a flashy place like some of the bigger hotels with the big lobbys and beautiful gardens inside, but this hotel delivers the promise of making your stay really exceptional on all the things that really count.

Robert Gilbert
rgilbert@vgtworld.com

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you back at the best beach resort in Cancun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We had such a great time staying at InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort. We have been travelling a lot in the last few years and stayed in great hotels, but we must say that the InterConti in Cancun is really fantastic. Very helpful staff, state of the art room, best breakfast I had in a hotel with a great view. And the beach, incredible!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUNConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It is our pleasure to know that you had an excellent experience at the best beach Resort in Cancun! Hope to see you soon.

Deborah Iosovitch
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Business Hotel in Cancun
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.