We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort to your Saves list
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The beach was amazing...very calm and clear. The food was authentic mexican and very delicious. Grounds were very clean and staff were all very friendly. We enjoyed relaxing on the beach and trying the water sports.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    436
    140
    79
    52
See reviews for
319
537
56
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We've checked out from the Intercontinental Cancun today and we cannot wait for a chance to return. We've booked our stay through an online provider for a very attractive price. Nevertheless, ever since we've entered the hotel the stuff was super attentive and seemed to have wanted to make our stay as comfortable as possible. At check-in, after a short conversation with the receptionist, we've mentioned that we were on our honeymoon and were immediately upgraded to a suite on the top floor. We thought that it was a very sweet gesture and happily started our day in Cancun. The hotel has the most beautiful beach in the strip by far! We've spent quite a lot of time there and in one of hotel's two swimming pools. In the evening, after returning from the gym, we went for a short while to the beach. When we returned to our suite we were surprised to find a bottle of Brut Cava and a plate of chocolate coated strawberries! Such an amazing treat to end our lovely day in Cancun. Supper recommended and we'll return for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We got married at the hotel on May 31 and everything went perfect in spite of the heavy rain we had for the entire weekend. We had about 120 guests being about 30% foreigners (most of them Americans) and 70% Mexicans and most of them stayed at the hotel. The plan was to have the ceremony and the dinner afterwards at the beach but at around 1pm on the day of the wedding it started raining and it didn't stop for the next 3 days. The hotel staff was ready with a back up plan and everything went according to plan indoors. We were extremely pleased with the way the hotel staff managed the change in plans, the food was amazing and the service during the wedding was outstanding.

As the wedding party we received nothing but exceptional service from the hotel staff (special thanks to Adolfo the concierge and Celso the waiting staff manager) and we received comments from our guests regarding how helpful the staff was, the quality of the food and how gorgeous the hotel beach is (probably one of the prettiest in Cancun).

On the down side the property is a bit old and ran down on some of public areas but we understand the hotel will undergo an mayor facelift by the end of the year.

Thank you for making our special day perfect,

Rachel and Erick

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Everything about this stay was outstanding, starting with Adolfo and the Concierge desk, to Martine at the beach. Room had a great view of the ocean, and their pool was great. I'm an early riser so I was up to see the staff every morning cleaning up the facilities with great care. Excellent stay!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Was at the resort for a wedding. Was overall very pleasant. The best thing was the beach - really nice - the beach loungers were unfortunately incredibly uncomfortable. the beach food was lovely and the service great - as was the pool - and very nice to have an adult pool as an option. The rooms were a good size. the reception struggled to get credit cards to work which was annoying and not a problem we experienced anywhere else with the same cards in cancun during our stay.

Room Tip: face the pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We absolutely loved our 4 night stay here in July 2014.

ROOM- We had a ocean view room with a massive king size bed, in a huge room. The view was breathtaking and we enjoyed waking up to it every morning. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Ladies, there is a full length mirror, makeup mirror and good lighting for makeup application. Two complimentary water bottles are meant to be given each day. Some days we received ours, others we didn't, so keep an eye out for that.

BATHROOM- decent size counter space with a makeup mirror. I didn't like how there wasn't complete privacy in the bathroom. The door is frosted glass, but you can still see your shadow, there is also cracks in the door where it opens and shuts so you can see through. There is also wooden plantation blinds which you can pull over the shower to give privacy from the room.

ROOM SERVICE- I've never enjoyed having room service this much in a hotel before. We LOVED the hotel food, normally I'm anti eating at hotel restaurants. The menu was extensive, good value and food tasted so good. The mayonnaise that comes with the fries tastes amazing! The room service wait was always 30 to 40 mins.

SPA- I didn't see a Spa or even see any mention of a spa during our stay. I really wish the hotel had one as I feel it would have just made my stay! There was a little beach hut for massages, but I prefer a spa with privacy.

CLEANLINESS- We were happy with our room and overall upkeep of the hotel. In particular the pool area and beach.

STAFF- Very happy, kind and helpful except front desk staff. Always saying hello and assisting us. Maria at the towel stand was just lovely and Fredi the bellboy was one of the best bell boy's I have ever come across.
I found the front desk staff a bit annoying at times. They were very slow and quite often I would be standing at the front desk, waiting for someone to assist me, only to be ignored by staff. Front desk staff need to also have a better knowledge of things, we asked for a currency exchange place that would do AUD to Peso and were told to go to the Plaza currency exchange. Only to find out the currency exchange didn't even exist there anymore and had closed down a long time ago.

LOCATION- Right in the hotel zone with a bus stop right outside the hotel. There wasn't really any restaurants/places to go. Id recommend eating at the hotel or visiting another hotel/eating down town etc. There is several 7/11 type stores around.

INTERNET- there is free wifi for IHG members. If you aren't one, sign up before the trip so you get free wifi, otherwise its quite expensive to pay for it. There is a business centre with a printer which we used a few times as the wifi was often dropping out.

POOL/BEACH- There are two pools, a big one and a smaller adult pool. We only used the adult pool as it was mostly empty. The temperature of the pool was very warm which wasn't always enjoyable. The beach was fantastic, VERY clean with lots of chairs and umbrella's available. There is also an activities area where you can rent jet ski's, go parasailing, kayak etc.

We will definitely be back here next time we come to Cancun, this time though for a longer stay!

Room Tip: Sign up for IHG rewards program to get free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Some issues with booking due to points but overall the trip was a success for our family of 6. Alejandro Noriega, Jimy and Ernesto at the beach side bar provided excellent service and entertained well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#28 Family Hotel in Cancun
#32 Business Hotel in Cancun
#38 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.