We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best beach in the world” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort

Save Saved
You added Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 172 hotels in Cancun
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The best beach in the world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Super location, close to every night life place you can imagine and one of the best shopping malls in town. Restrictions are a part of every hotel, but only one floor offers rooms with balcony and that's the 6th floor, of course, the upgrade will cost you 100 bucks per night. Internet lightening fast (and that's a plus for business travelers). Food quality is excellent and staff always friendly like anywhere in Mexico. By the way THE BEST BEACH IN THE WORLD, looks like a pool, a giant pool at that!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our property. I am happy to see that the friendly staff and clean accommodations were exactly what you needed for your trip.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us when staying in Cancun in the future.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    470
    384
    131
    76
    50
See reviews for
247
432
46
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I've been to different intercontinental hotels before and yes, they all vary from each other. I just got in this hotel today and from the get go its been one misstep after an other, a very underwhelming experience.
The service at the restaurant was very average, taking into consideration that there were just 3 tables at the time. At the front desk, their check in time is supposed to be at 3 pm, and I had to wait for my room until 5pm, a colleague that travelled with me had an upgrade to a better room and got his an hour before mine, which only overlooks at the parking lot, when I'm supposed to be staying at their new remodeled tower.. I really don't want to know how their old rooms are. I call to the front desk to ask about this a d their answer is that I just had bad luck and my colleague had better luck with his room assignation. Not acceptable and unprofessional answer.

This hotel is part of the IHG, I've been to holiday inns that have way better service, rooms and food.

In a destination like Cancun there are various options of hotels that are true five stars, this is not one. Think twice before booking your stay here... I'd like my money back this point.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for the service challenges you experienced during your stay.
We strive to provide the highest level of service and in this instance we clearly were not able to meet your expectations.

We truly regret the difficulties you experienced at the Front Desk. The problems you mentioned are certainly not the standards here at InterContinental Cancun and we are taking the necessary steps to be sure problems like these do not happen in the future.

Although we never want to learn that a guest has had a bad experience, comments such as yours allow us to take an honest look at our operations and make necessary improvements.

We hope you will return in the future and give us a chance to regain your confidence in our hotel and our services.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed 7 days at Intercontinental President Cancun Resort. Great service, food, decor, cleanness, swimming pools and amazing beach.
We had only 2 problems but the staff solved our problems reasonably quickly. The first is related to the street noise. We had booked a garden view room but upon arrival they upgraded our room to lagoon view (4th floor). It was a great room; very spacious; however, it was impossible to sleep because of the street noise. The next morning when I talked to one of the hotel's receptionists, she offered us another room: garden view, 1st floor, facing the swimming pools (no street noise). According to her the only problems were the room had two double beds instead of one king bed and we would have to wait until 4pm. But for us, those were not problems at all. We loved the new room. It was a little bit smaller than the first one but it had a veranda. It was great!
The second problem is related to the safer. For some reason, it was not working properly. Since they could not fix it, they changed it for a new one. Perfect!

Breakfast: simply delicious! Just one tip: book it with the room. There, it will cost you about 25dollars/person/day.

We did have lunch and dinner once there. As always, the food and service were great. It was not expensive.

Beach: It was the main reason we booked this hotel. We had read many hotel's reviews before going to Cancun. The president Cancun Resort seemed to have have the best beach. And it was true! It is just outstanding.

Things that you can find a few steps from the hotel:
on the right: small grocery store, laudry service (25 pesos/ kilo of dirty cloth. We left our clothes there early in the morning and picked them back in the middle of the afternoon. Our clothes were nice, clean, soft and smelling good).
on the left: about 5 minutes walking you will find restaurants, Santander bank, Starbucks, malls,..

To summarize, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our property. I am happy to see that the friendly staff and clean accommodations were exactly what you needed for your trip.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us when staying in Cancun in the future.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I had an amazing time here, the food was excellent and so was the service. The beaches were also very calm and beautiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel since it is a 10 minute walk to downtown, where everything is happening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay and impression of the hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us what a positive experience you had.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Cancun.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Room was very pretty and refurbished; nice balcony with hammock, nice bathroom, nice lightning, nice everything, very enjoyable buuuut the bed, OMG, hard as stone, i travel very frequently and i'm very easy going but this was hard, hard.
The beach is one of the best in Cancun, absolutly gorgeous, food is average and expensive. Staff very nice and eager to help. You can run if you like jogging in front of the hotel and you can walk to the best night life attractions like Carlos'n Charlie's or Sr Frog's. Would go back if they guarantee a better mattress.

Room Tip: Ask for a soft mattress, all rooms seem to have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for your comments and feedback.

I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and in general you had a positive experience. I have taken note of your recommendations and your opinions were shared with staff.
We do believe each comment give us the opportunity to improve and will work on it.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience.

Sincerely yours,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The area by the beachis a beautiful area equiped with very comfortable camastros and small useful tables, every one of them is covered by a nice palapa, eventhough it is a familiar resort there were no many children playing around, so it is an excelent place to relax, read and take a nap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,


I am pleased to learn of your very positive impressions after your stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had a business meeting there for a couple of days and my wife and I stayed over through the weekend. I really like the wide, white beach and the fact there were some trees on it plus the shelters to relax under.
The rooms were cool, the housekeeping was great, and the restaurants were very good. We had a very relaxing time.

Room Tip: Arrange with the hotel to have dinner on the beach. It's a really nice experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thank you sincerely for commending our Housekeeping team in this regard. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

I look forward to an opportunity to welcome your return to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 Family Hotel in Cancun
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#33 Business Hotel in Cancun
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancún Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.