We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC - ready to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort to your Saves list
Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC - ready to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here in April for four nights to celebrate my birthday. It was my first time to Cancun so I didn't know what to expect--but I'm already planning my next visit. If you're looking for an all-inclusive hotel with wild parties and thumping music, look elsewhere. If you want a beautiful property (with the best beach) and a relaxing, romantic weekend, this is the hotel for you.

ROOM: As IHG members, we upgraded to a club-level suite, which was definitely worth it (and actually quite reasonable). We had a spacious king room with a view of the ocean from the bed, as well as a balcony overlooking the beach. The bathroom was large, although it wasn't completely separate from the living space and the glass doors on the toilet/shower areas could make things awkward if you aren't very close with the others in your room! The room, and entire hotel, were done in a retro, Mayan style, which added to the ambiance.

AMENITIES: The club level provides complimentary breakfast until 10 am, which included continental fare and made-to-order eggs, served by friendly staff, as well as evening cocktails and tapas. It would've been nice if the club had provided beverages throughout the day, but we did get water bottles in the room. If you want to go sailing on the beautiful sea, look for a guy named "Paul" wandering around, who moved there from Colorado 30 years ago, who can set you up with a boat and guide for $100/hour.

PROPERTY/LOCATION: The Presidente truly has one of the best beaches in the Hotel Zone--I walked around and looked. The grounds also include two lush pools (including one adults-only pool) and two beach bars that serve good Bloody Marys and tacos during lunch. It's centrally located in the Hotel Zone, about a 15 minute walk from touristy restaurants and nightlife, and there's a grocery store and pharmacy directly across the street. I did not eat dinner at the hotel because it's a quick cab ride to Cancun Centro, with more local restaurants.

SERVICE: The service was consistently friendly. The housekeeping was adequate and the bellhops were especially helpful with getting taxis. I came down with strep throat during the trip, and the hotel called a very nice doctor who came to my room and diagnosed me within 20 minutes for a minimal fee.

CONS: My only real complaint is the wifi. The hotel charges for wifi, but when you try to get it, it's nearly impossible! You have to call the desk for an access code, and most of the time, no one could help. If you're going to make people pay for wifi in this era, at least make it easy to access! Also, the tequila bar in the lobby closed up pretty early by Cancun standards, even though a dozen people must have walked by looking for a drink. Nonetheless, these issues wouldn't deter me from staying again.

OVERALL: When can I go back?!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the club level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest;

Thank you for your compliments and expanding on your experiences with us o your recent visit. We greatly appreciate your review and are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us here at the Presidente InterContinental Cancun.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience, and write such a detailed review. We hope to see you again in a near future.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    400
    134
    75
    51
See reviews for
276
461
47
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greendell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Loved this hotel! Our stay here couldn't have been better. From the minute we arrived- the staff was polite, helpful and attentive. The grounds were stunning and well-maintained. The breakfast buffet was loaded with choices and food quality was excellent. We also had dinner at the open-air dining room on the beach, which features an outdoor BBQ. Servers were very polished and professional. The beach is spectacular and clean. Plenty of lounge chairs and shade. We spent the entire day ther and walked to some shops and town in mere minutes. Bring your sunscreen- you're going to want to spend lots of time on the beach or by one the beautiful pools! Our 5th floor room faced Cancun Blvd and the Lagoon. The view at night was especially nice. We did not notice the noise that others complained about. The room was well appointed, modern and had a safe for your valuables. I would love to have taken the bathroom home with me! the fixtures are modern and beautiful. Amazingly, the shampoos, soaps, etc are first rate and I have started ordring them on the internet since I got back (I liked them that much!). TIP: Save some money on bottled water, lunch and snacks- walk out of lobby and cross Cancun Blvd and walk 2 minutes to the right- there is a small supermarket there and some inexpensive eateries. You can also walk down Cancun Blvd to your left and choose from numerous restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lagoon give you a good view of the entire Cancun region
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear about your excellent stay. We work hard to maintain our facilities and ensure service that will exceed our guest’s expectations. We take great pride in our restaurants & bars, we are delighted you had the chance experience them.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Thank you again for your review and hope you return to our hotel soon.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had an overnight stay here on our way to Merida. The hotel is located 25 minutes by taxi from the airport. We had flown in from SYD via SFO and pre-organised a Gray-Line shuttle from the airport to the hotel on arrival which cost US$15 per person and was a good idea after arriving tired and with jet-lag and confronted by the heat and chaos of CUN airport. For the return to the airport the hotel organised a taxi for US$30, but taxis can be hailed that are quite a bit cheaper if you are a good bargainer. The Presidente looks a little time-worn from the outside, however, we found the inside to be very pleasant, bright and modern and the rooms clean, quiet and with good amenities. Only negative here was the WiFi was not free and cost US$20 for 24 h. The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes walk away from tourist shops and restaurants of which there are a plethora. However, what my wife and I enjoyed very much with our jet lag was a dip in the sparkling, clear Caribbean sea. Right on its back door step the hotel has one of the most photogenic outlooks with an exquisite, fine white sandy beach that is lined with coconut palms. All in all, we can highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again should we find ourselves in this part of the World.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for reviewing your overnight stay at our property and for including some traveler tips. I am glad that you found our location and services convenient for your vacations needs. We hope to serve you again during a future Cancun visit.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was there and I will say that is the nest hotel, the best services if you book a IC room, good breakfast, nice people and so profesional. Room so nices, bar, reception, etc is so good. go there and enjoy the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a IC room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the compliments. It is great to hear feedback from our guests and to feel rewarded when we read we are doing a good job. We hope to see you back soon!

Thanks for visiting us.

Cordially,


Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Young couple early 30s first time in Cancun.Let me just say post card quality beach and view. Best beach in Cancun period.

We will go with the PROS first. Be prepared to be wowed by the beach. The rooms are very clean and the maid service do a thorough job daily. Do your self a favor and pay the extra 20 dollars or so for the breath taking ocean view. Concierge Adolfo is amazing and made my stay awasome. Front desk Rodrigo also was great at customer service.

Cons. Also be prepared to save ur wind for the super inflated daily wifi charge of nearly 30 dollars a day US. And the 25 dollar breakfast per person per day.. To be honest its not very good. Stayed for a week and I ate omelets every day, and the juice tastes very odd. Also lunch not much different burger or pizza is 30 dollars per person. you want to save money dont buy things from the hotel go accross the street. Best prices for snacks in the hotel zone. No nite life at all in the Hotel but just a short bus ride or 10 minute walk 2 party zone. Dont take a cab 10 dollars each way. The bus runs 24 hrs and is super easy to take and costs 1 dollar each way. One otber tip if you buy open bar band at a club its for smirnof and cheap bottom shelf stuff not ciroc or grey goose or patron you get josecuervo. No bueno and its 50 dollars per person .

To sum it up every place has pros and cons the pros far out weigh the cons and I would 100% stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. There isnt a better location and beach im cancun and the room prices were great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Presidente InterContinental Cancun.
I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know Adolfo and Rodrigo will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was a surprise from my wife for my Bday and it was awesome. All staff were extremely nice. Our room was super clean and they kept it every day like that, despite the fact that we had our 15 months old daughter making mess around. They keep the beach clean from seaweed! And have a person sweeping and hauling that regularly (wow!). We tried breakfast and it was delicious and plentiful. We could have stayed there all five days and would not need anything else. If you want to be frugal, you can eat across the street. We loved the food from the Comelito Quesadillas. The hotel gave us the "Hospitality Room", since our flight was almost three hours after checkout time. They let us use one room, no charge, for half an hour to shower and let us use their facilities until we actually left the Hotel. I will come back no questions asked!!!

Room Tip: They had the luxury rooms, a little more pricey but much more comfortable.. No need for beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you regard our hotel to be a Great Hotel. Your kind recognition will be very well received.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to “su casa” in Mexico.

Sincerely,


Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

It's certainly not the fanciest of the hotels in the area but it has a nice pool with close proximity of the beach (due to the non-gigantic size of the hotel). The bus station is right in front of the hotel and there are shops within walking distance.

Rooms are good. In fact, the rooms are in better conditions than the hotel exterior and lobby, which looks small among the Cancun hotels.

We have kids travelling with us and they love the place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie U, Gerente at Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,


I am pleased to learn of your very positive impressions after your stay with us at Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Cordially,

Nathalie Urban
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort

Address: Blvd Kukulcan Km 7.5 | Quintana Roo, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#29 Family Hotel in Cancun
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#32 Business Hotel in Cancun
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidente InterContinental Cancún Resort is all you could ever want in a tropical retreat: comfy accommodations, superb restaurants and a picture-perfect beach. Central shops and nightlife are 10 minutes away, Isla Mujeres is just across the water, and there s a golf course next door. In two hours or less, you ll stand in awe of ancient Mayan ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Cancun Hotel Cancun
Intercontinental Cancun

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inter-Continental Presidente Cancun Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.