We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation in Cancun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Cancun Yucatan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Club Med Cancun Yucatan to your Saves list
Club Med Cancun Yucatan
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Punta Nizuc, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great family vacation in Cancun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a great vacation destination! We stayed at Club Med from February 1st through February 9th, 2013. It was our first visit to Cancun and also first visit to Club Med.

The location on the beach along the waterfront on the Cancun strip is outstanding. We had one day where the waves were pretty large, but the closer you get to the reef, the smaller the waves were - many days the beaches to the north were on red flags and we still had yellow or even green flags out. We walked many times 2-3km north of our resort and the waves were too large for our 6yr/10yr old to play in - at the resort we never worried about it. When we were there the resort was never more than 70% full, and there was always space on the beach with the many seats and padded cabanas available. The service on the beach was great, always a beach boy to offer drinks and a smile. You are pretty close to the airport, so it is not quiet with all the planes passing over and nearby - but never too much bother. The pool was COLD, but the people in it enjoyed it, and they also had lots of workouts, activities and events there.

Read a lot of reviews about the lack of internet. When we arrived they were just in the process of replacing their current internet provider, and things were not quite working yet as expected. We did not opt for this service, although it is pretty amazing that Club Med doesn't include a good working free internet in this day and age!

Our 10yr old spent a lot of time in the kids club. He actually spent an afternoon in his 7-10yr old age group first, but asked to go to Car Wash afterwards and never looked back. They took him sailing, he played basketball and soccer, they played in the pool and the ocean, and enjoyed the ping-pong and billiards.

Our 6yr old didn't want to spend any time in his kids club, so he played with us, sailed with us, walked with us and helped himself to many strawberry smoothies at the bars.

The food was awesome! The buffet always had lots of choice, whether it was simply lots of bread, cheese or entrees, to the always changing desserts. The food quality was excellent, we never had any sickness issues. I loved the roasted chicken, venison in a guava sauce, many varied seafood salads and the crepes for breakfast. Lots of fresh fruits and veggies every day balances the choices. Due to the large amount of French people there, we often had foods particular to their culture, which was great. I was not a big eater of the Mexican fare, however, it was varied and well liked by my family. We ate everyday at the buffet and were never bored - we did try the steakhouse one day and it was very good, but the buffet was better. Reservations were not an issue.

Our room was near the circus area (Amatista building room 1011 and 1013) and consisted of a king bed with an attached room for the boys with a pair of single beds. Pillows and sheets were clean and very comfortable. There was TV with about 40 channels consisting of French, Spanish and English channels and lots of sports and kids channels available (when you wanted to actually sit in your room). The cleaning service was excellent, but I still wonder why they change the towels everyday when they have a system to make sure that guests have a choice to not change them. Also noted that they talked about all the recycling that they do, but when you looked at their garbage containers, everything seemed to be thrown in there. Rooms were spacious enough and the shower was excellent, although for small kids there is not a bathtub. Being on the first floor the noise from outside was sometimes an issue, and only on the second Friday did we feel the music was a little loud.

Of the guests there during our stay, I would guess that they were pretty evenly split between English, French and Spanish. For those that didn't have internet, they had a great feature at check-in of a daily 4 page Canada, US and France news service.

Drinks were plentiful and varied, although I found that I could drink a LOT of beer in one day without any effects. They served free Spanish house wine in Red or White with every meal, and at dinner you could order special bottles of wine with prices starting around $40 up to $200.

Security was fabulous - very obvious, but we never felt there was any security issues at all. Our 6yr old could go anywhere he wanted on the property and we never worried! Walking from our room to the saliling area would take 5-10 minutes, but that was not a problem.

Loved the free attractions - sailing, snorkeling, kayaking, scuba, water-skiing, circus, daily volleyball...but the kids did not take advantage of this much - they were busy nonetheless.

We found that 8 days was just about perfect - we never left the resort other than our daily walks north towards the city - so all inclusive certainly does mean that with Club Med. We met lots of other people there and the one thing that really stuck with me was the number of people that were returnees - some as many as 10 times!

I have to say that this is a perfect family vacation spot in Cancun. I am not so sure that this is a spot for big partiers (it is a long way downtown by bus/taxi), or romantic couples (with all the kids around), but they do offer dining areas for adults only and there were lots of couples.

Was pleasantly surprised at departure to have a few GO's come and say goodbye, it was a really nice touch.

Would I return - in a minute! I hope that next time my kids use a lot more of the free services and activities compared to this time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear YVRfamily,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Cancun resort. We're so glad you had an awesome vacation with your family and that our dining options, security and location surpassed your expectations. We're especially glad you participated in so many activities we have to offer such as snorkeling, sailing, kayaking and water skiing. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    542
    149
    65
    44
See reviews for
1,326
415
71
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just returned from CM Cancun and had the best family vacation we have ever had. We travelled with our 2 girls, aged 10 and 7, and they are begging to go back again next year.

We stayed in the Onice building and thought it was great. We had connecting club rooms and although on the small side, the configuration was perfect for us. The location was quiet and private, but less than a 5 minute walk to the main area.

The Mini Club was wonderful. Our girls spent a couple of hours a day at most, but loved Jeff, Coco, and the whole team. They really made the kids feel welcome and the staff ratio was perfect. The little guys were very well supervised and cared for. They are vigilant with the sunscreen!

Anyone who complains about the food is out of their minds. We have travelled throughout Mexico, DR and Cuba, and this buffet was the best we have experienced. Every meal featured a huge variety of fresh fruits, veggies, breads, cheeses and meats, with custom specialty items at each corner. Anyone who finds fault is just acting like a spoiled brat and needs to give their head a shake.

The best aspect of the Club though has to be the staff. David at the bar always smiles as he makes the best Capirinhas and Mojitos, and the wonderful Victor at the pool kept us in smoothies and cervesas every afternoon. Josh entertains on his morning power walks and lovely Johanne is great fun at the water skiing. The Beach Boys brought out and dug in extra umbrellas to the beach, and the life guards cheerfully watched over the little ones jumping in the pool and rolling in the waves. Cyndi at reception helped us out over and over again - no complaints about reception at all.

Thanks again to Aziz and all of his team for a wonderful week. We can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear SLBOntario,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our Club Med Cancun resort. We love when our guests have a fabulous vacation and we're ecstatic that you had the best vacation ever! It also makes us so happy you found our Mini Club, staff, dining options and activities to be fantastic. We can't wait for your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My daughter was literally in tears when we had to leave Club Med Cancun. She had such an amazing time with Mireille and all the kids from all over the world in the kids club. This is a wonderful place and even though it was our second time here - our family can't wait to go back.

Aziz, the chef du Village and his team of GOs were fantastic. They all work very hard to make sure their guest have a great time. I saw Aziz up at the crack of dawn checking everything out, greeting all the grounds staff and ensuring everything was in tip top shape for the day ahead. He was a great performer in the evening shows too. This club med has one of the most international staff with over 25 countries represented at a count one eveing after the show when we met the GO team. Azis was previously at the Mauritius Club Med and I think he must have brought some of his team with him. The tennis instructor from Morrocco ( who also was previously in Mauritius) was very good. He and another girl from Morrocco Amira were fabulous dancers.
The entertainment at night was great. My husband couldn't get enough of Dave the Guitar Guy, who was a wonderful musician and usually played at sunset right after playing beach volleyball.
If you want to be active, then this is the place to go. Margot was a fabulous fitness instructor who did everything from yoga, to zumba to core and weight training.
The tennis program was terrific and the sailing was wonderful. They have 14 and 16 ft catamarans. Kayaks and windsurfers are readily available too. The smaller beach beside the tennis and sailing was a lovely option and made going for the lunch at the restaurant beside it, which is right on the water, a breeze.

We were very happy with our rooms. Both had waterviews. Ours had a king size bed and lovely balcony on the lagoon and our daughter had an ocean view near the snorkelling beach. (Both were in the 6000 block which is close to everything.) There was an enormous iguana on the walk way beside the ocean just just across from her room. If you have kids, they will be very interested in the iguanas.
The food was excellent - the main restaurant was great and we also enjoyed 3 meals in the specialty restaurants. One is a steak house with excellent sea food and the other is a fine dining restaurant that is "Mexican" but has amazing seafood too. Club Med has great selection so there is always something to please everyone.

The spa was excellent.
We were delighted with the weather - Sunshine every day and no rain! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear westcoastcat,
Thank you for posting a review about our Cancun resort. We're thrilled you had a fantastic time enjoying all our resort has to offer like the activities, entertainment, facilities and spa. We're especially glad you thought our staff was great. Thanks again for sharing your insights, and we can't wait for you to come back!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I typically resist repeating vacations, but after enjoying Club Med Cancun so much in 2012, we went back for the last week of January '13. And it was perfect. We had a bit of rain one day, but that was probably a good thing since it gave us a chance to recuperate from all of the activities. Our 7-year-old basically lived in the Mini Club every day, and the staff was fantastic. It was like he gets a family vacation and a summer camp at the same time.

If you're planning a trip with kids who might enjoy the Mini Club, try to be there on Wednesday, as that's when they put on the Mini Club show for our past two visits. This was easily one of the major highlights for our kid both years.

I had some questions about room selection that I couldn't figure out when originally booking this trip online. I called the reservation number and they were very helpful in getting us the room/view we wanted in the building we wanted.

I spoke to a receptionist while onsite and she said that all of the rooms at the Club are basically the same configuration (other than some suites in the Jade building), but the main differences are the building location and the view. The Jade building looked ideal if you like privacy, but our "normal" location was great and made it easy to mix with guests and be close the main areas. A view of the snorkeling area is a great thing to wake up to.

Another thing we value is safety/security. The gate of the resort in always staffed, and paperwork is filled out when you enter or leave the resort. There are also low-key security guards everywhere. I wore a windbreaker one day and a staff member checked me to make sure I had the right wristband underneath. I was not offended in the least. Knowing that type of attention is being paid makes the resort even more worth it when you have family members spread around the grounds.

No need for me to expound on the activities, food, and staff. Believe the other reviews, the resort lives up to the hype. The resort was 80% full during this visit, but it never felt crowded. Sometimes the line at at the water ski dock got busy (better when they have both boats running), but none of the restaurants or other activities seemed packed at all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear MLNC,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our Club Med Cancun resort. We love when our guests enjoy their stay and we're so glad you found our Mini Club, security, activities and dining options to be excellent. It is our goal to make sure each guest has a wonderful experience and we're so pleased you've visited twice! Thank you again for the kind words, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Club Med was an excellent choice for our family (husband, wife and 2 adult children; 24 and 30) . We thoroughly enjoyed the land and water sports and the food was amazing. We did not get sick!The circus troupe performances were high calibre.The G.O.'s were excellent at making us feel comfortable. Make sure you talk to a G.O. if you require any services from the front desk. There was a lot of resort security,which made us feel safe. One of the rooms had high humidity problems, thus our clothes never dried. The rooms were otherwise adequate. If you love good food and lots of fun sports you'll love this spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear rivka781,
Thank you for posting a review about our Cancun resort. We're so glad you and your family had the best vacation ever! It also makes us so happy to hear you enjoyed our sports, dining options and entertainment. Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve and truly appreciate any suggestions our guests may have. We hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This place is a delight. We spent a week with our children, 8 and 4.

As many others have noted, the layout of the village is unique to Cancun and a big advantage. The village has Caribbean frontage facing east (the gorgeous main beach), southeast and south, which is huge if you want to avoid the prevailing northeast wind, which can be strong at times.

As a recovered architect, I appreciate what the designers have done here with an odd assortment of tiny scraps of sand and bog. Those scraps, buffed and polished, are the green spaces of the village, and much of the structures are in fact bridges and platforms built over the lagoon to connect them. It all works so seamlessly that you might never notice.

The kids thoroughly enjoyed the Mini Club. The website shows little of the facility, but no worries – the Mini Club occupies a large and prime portion of one of those sandy scraps, right on the beach and cleverly designed with a variety of cheerful areas.

The GOs in this village are awesome. Lots of friendly Mexicans, the always outrageous French, and the even more outrageous Brazilians. It is the perfect antidote for New York, where you count only if you are a VIP. Here, it’s all about making the ordinary person smile and take a chance. Mexico has a proud history and a bright future (especially if we up north can learn to live without, as Barrack so famously put it, a little blow), and I like visiting a country like that.

I have snorkeled all over the world and the reef right at the resort is a jewel.

I agree with “Hansu123” below -- Hacienda, the main dining place, is amazing. The others, Pergola and Las Cazuelas, have their advantages but Hacienda rules.

We had visited the Club Med in Punta Cana twice. On balance I prefer this one, mainly because the beach is much better, the food is much better, it is Mexico, I can practice my Spanish with the staff and the Mini Club is in English for the kids (whereas in Punta Cana French prevails throughout). But there are nice things about Punta Cana as well: There, the main pool is better, the kids’ pools are much better (do not come to Cancun for the pools), and, just because the landscapers had much more to work with, the grounds in Punta Cana are more spacious and naturalistic.

P.S.: My wife would knock off a point because she did not like the paint job and the floor tiles in our units, but I am not doing that. I did not come to examine those things and frankly I did not even notice them. We stayed in two of the Onice units that Hansu123 so berates, and they were fine. At Club Med, your unit properly is just a crash pad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Andris V,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Club Med Cancun resort. It makes us so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience and that our Mini Club, staff, dining options and beach surpassed your expectations. We're also thrilled to hear you found our snorkeling to be fantastic! Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you visit again in the future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful location and friendly staff. Food and beverages just fine. And who cares about internet while on vacation for those that complained on here about internet. There were 4 computers with never a wait and wifi in the main areas but not in rooms. Only needed it to confirm the flight home. The staff was friendly and the nightly shows were fun. (yea Margot!!!). We had ocean view as per request and the lagoon is by no means ugly according to one viewer. Lots to do and if you have kids, a great place and if not, it was just fine and actually fun watching the kids and families have fun with the activities. Look forward to returning another time. A and B of NYC.

Room Tip: Pick ocean view! it is amazing to wake up to see that gorgeous ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear joe c,
Thank you for posting a review about our Cancun resort. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit and that you thought our dining options, staff, activities and entertainment were great. It also makes us especially happy you look forward to returning another time! We're so glad you loved your vacation, and can't wait for you to visit again!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Cancun Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Cancun Yucatan

Address: Punta Nizuc, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cancun
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#27 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Cancun Yucatan 4*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico in this environmentally friendly all-inclusive family resort nestled on a pristine stretch of world-famous Mayan Riviera beach. Travel to Club Med Cancun Yucatan with your family to enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst the sumptuous amenities, natural beauty and a relaxing atmosphere that make this unique family resort as breathtaking as it is adventurous. Uncover a fresh perspective on the charm of the Mexican culture and experience a vacation filled with enhancements for the entire family. There's so much about this newly redesigned resort that will touch your family for years to come: refined accommodations, excursions* to Mayan archeological sites, a new Club Med Spa by Comfort Zone*, 3 restaurants including 1 fine Mexican dining venue and 1 serving worldwide specialties, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Club Med and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Med Cancun Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Cancun Yucatan Hotel Cancun
Cancun Club Med
Club Med Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Cancun Yucatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.