We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if not for the rooms, would be 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Cancun Yucatan

Save Saved
You added Club Med Cancun Yucatan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Cancun Yucatan
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Punta Nizuc, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 172 hotels in Cancun
ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“if not for the rooms, would be 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we were a large group and returned for our 3rd time. The location and beauty cannot be beat! the beach is wonderful, lots of chairs available and the water is perfect. Food is consistently good and fresh. the only drawback is the rooms. In Club Med terms I think they were renovated somewhat recently but they are looking very worn, are very musty (everything feels slightly damp), and the temp controls are inconsistent. They have an unpleasant smell which is a cross between moldy and sewer. I've heard that the Jade rooms are slightly better (though one guest told us that they're basically the same) but there weren't enough of those for our large group.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear nyville,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. It makes us so happy to hear you had a lovely vacation and that you found our beach and dining options to be terrific. We are also so grateful for your insights as we are always searching for ways to improve and truly appreciate any feedback our guests may have. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you visit for the fourth time soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,330
    467
    121
    57
    40
See reviews for
1173
378
63
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Fabulous food, relaxing atmosphere, good snorkeling, and close to other experiences. Their baking staff is out of this world, first rate no matter where you compare it to. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We noticed security was beefed up from our previous visits but we always felt secure and safe. Went with 14 people ages 2 to 90 and all had a good time. Looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Carolyn G,
Thanks for the review! We're thrilled you had such a wonderful time and that our dining options, activities, staff and facilities surpassed your every expectation. We're especially happy to know your whole family enjoyed their vacation! Thank you again for our feedback, and we can't wait for you to return!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings-on-Hudson, New York, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My vacation here was amazing. The food is superb, not surprisingly, and everything about this Club Med was absolutely stunning. The room that i stayed in was great; comfy beds, nice and quaint, everything it should have been. if there is anything that deserves a special mention it is Mireille and the whole Car Wash. She made my trip what it was and she went above and beyond when it came to looking after a bunch of crazy teenagers. She was nice, funny, and always had a smile on her face even when we got her in trouble. The Car Wash was great and meeting all those people was priceless; i made friends that ill keep for a long time. Mary was an amazing GO and deserves some kind of reward for doing what she did this week! i loved this Club Med, and Mary and the Car Wash was the main reason why.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Nick M,
Thanks for the kind words! We love when our guests have an excellent vacation and we're so glad you found our dining options, facilities and activities to be terrific. It also makes us so happy to hear our staff exceeded your expectations! Thank you again for sharing about your stay, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Club Med was this time disappointing for us this year; not as best as last year in Columbus (adults only except during December holidays) or Dominican Republic. It took us 3 days to figure out who the Chef was! CM Cancun Yucatan is listed has the 2nd best CM for kids but we liked Dominican Republic better. The night show starts at 21h30, dinner at 19h. Its late for little kids, those same little kids on the beach were crying and fussing all day... !? They use Club Med time, which is New York time. Its nice for us from the East cost. I travelled with a 12 years old. She didn't use the teens' room. It seems well organized for mini club through 12 but many teens' 13-17 were hanging around in 'large' gangs without GO. Buffet was good but not enough Mexican food. Mariachis music one night only and I don't recall to hear any Mexican music on site. Room 7202. Nice, little, view on the lagoon it was nice, other room have view on the gulf. Beds are little,we had a 2 single beds room, they must be Mayan! I am 5'5'' and their bed sheet are not fitted to the mattress so I slipped towards the end. I wasn't comfy. Large showers with cord to hang clothes, not extremely new or clean to my satisfaction but with a pair of flipflop it was fine. We had tiny-mini ants in the room mostly hanging in the closet, I always have a mosquito spray that I used in there before placing our clothes but they kept coming back. I saw the same ants in our room in CM Columbus. If you leave food on your desk you will see them! I don't care much as living north I leave my luggage unpacked in the snow at 10F for an evening and that do but for others living more south it could be an inconvenient to bring some ants back home. Mayan cleaning ladies clean nicely better than anywhere I went, I noticed they noticed the ants they use a cleaner to wipe them off. Location is a very short drive from the airport, 10-15 minutes. I always bring lots of single $1 USD, they expect 'propina', and those $1 are perfect for tips to shuttle drivers, if you tip. They take Canadian dollars too! They take visa-amex-mc mostly everywhere, if you know your 4or5 digits credit card code used in Canada it goes through nicely. Americans I "guess" the 5 digits zip code needed in some US stores will do, you 'need to confirm this" with someone who use an American credit card!! If you don't have your code they request a passport to confirm your identity. Of course on CM site no need for money only tips for shuttles, if you tip! Pool was nice but cold. Beach, CM is at the end of the bay so the waves are not as big as for the other hotels. Which is perfect with kids. Sand is nice and CM is cleaning every day the algae coming daily in large spot. Steak house for dinner is great. Its open for lake breakfast and snacks in the afternoon. The 24 we had Santa Claus coming with a present for each kids per group age through 13 and separate for girls or boys, which was greatly done. A GYM with treadmills, elleptical, stationary bikes and some other equipments in good condition, the place is warm though, facing the lagoon, with towel and water. I used every morning at 7am and like any other place it gets crowded by 8am, waiting. You can run outside from the entrance through the trapeze and back but its so hot!

Room Tip: Rooms face the lagoon or the gulf. They have balconies. Lagoon side its quiet with a view on the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Nancy B,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our resort. We're so sorry we did not exceed your expectations as this is not the norm for Club Med. Please know we are currently addressing the concerns you mentioned and truly appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope you give Club Med another chance in the future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in early December with our 13 and 10 year old kids and everyone had an amazing time! We stayed in a Jade Oceanfront suite and really enjoyed the Jade pool and bar (thanks to Alex and Luis). The larger room and balcony were nice too, but we didn't spend too much time in our room. The kids LOVED the Car Wash - thanks to GOs Fernanda, Louis and Mirelle for all of the fun.

The location is amazing - the best beaches in Cancun and everything is right there. Snorkling, sailing, kayaking, windsurfing, waterskiing and never a line for anything (it was a quiet time at the resort). The service was first class and the food was very good.

The Jade building is about a 3-5 minute walk to the main area and there is a cart there if you want a ride. Thanks to Edourdo who was always willing to take us back and forth if it was raining or if we didn't want to walk.

We were having such a great time at the resort that we didn't go on any excursions and no one was ever bored during the entire week. We were sad to leave and can't wait to visit again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Bacar123,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our resort. We're absolutely thrilled you had such an awesome experience and enjoyed all the activities our resort has to offer such as sailing, snorkeling, kayaking and windsurfing. It also makes us so happy to hear you found our staff, service and dining options to be terrific. Thank you again for sharing about your stay, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I had a great stay at Club Med Dec 20-27, 2102. What a wonderful place and fantastic group of GO's. Everyone found more than one activity to do all week. My children are 11, 12, and 18. They did not participate in the children's clubs, but it wasn't a problem. They found plenty of new friends anyway. I felt very comfortable allowing my younger children navigate the club together (if I was busy). The food, shows, activities, special events were all top notch. There are two beaches to choose from - one for sailing and the other for swimming. All within walking distance.
A special thank you to the circus team Betinha, Alexandre, Rock, Oscar and the chief, Chucho. My daughter and I were both in the trapeze show - very special.
My husband was impressed with Miami and all the water ski team (Alain, Ivo, and.....). We were also impressed by the sailing team Casey, Juan Carlos, Griban, etc. We enjoyed dinner with Josh, Jona, the Circus team, the water ski team, on various nights.
The shows were super entertaining - especially the musical review. You get to see the very playful side of your GO's on this night.
Club Med is a very special place with very special GO's who go out of their way to be sure you have a great time. Try it once and you will go back again and again!
One complaint - we paid for a week's worth of WiFi and it worked off and on - very frustrating!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear SCW804,
Thank you for sharing about your stay at our Club Med Cancun resort. We love when our guests have a wonderful vacation and we're thrilled our staff, entertainment, activities and dining options surpassed your every expectation. Thank you for your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve and truly appreciate any insights our guests may have. We hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We were at club med from dec 14 to 21. With 2 kids - 9 and 6, we had 2 attached rooms which was fantastic. The property is a deligh. Food is excellent. Facilities are open and well laid out and the beach is a killer. Staff is very friendly ( aziz the property manager is great) and prompt.

Givne some pf the reviews, i would like to add that our welcome was amazing - we were asked to sit n relax in reception area, have a drink and wolla, we had keys brought to us in / min. We landed around1 pm (made own travel arrangements) but had room ready and checked in. Maybe time of year or day but it was great

Only thing to point out is Internet. Despite paying for week long Internet connection, my room connection never worked- only wi fi in select areas. Not a big deal but something that was slight irritant to me and disappointing to kids ( no online movies)

Overall great vacation and would do it again next year

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Rick_J_12,
Thank you for posting a review about our resort. It makes us so happy to hear you had a lovely vacation and that you found our staff, dining options and facilities to be outstanding. We are currently addressing the concern you mentioned and thank you for your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Cancun Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Cancun Yucatan

Address: Punta Nizuc, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cancun
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#13 Business Hotel in Cancun
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Cancun Yucatan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico in this environmentally friendly all-inclusive family resort nestled on a pristine stretch of world-famous Mayan Riviera beach. Travel to Club Med Cancun Yucatan with your family to enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst the sumptuous amenities, natural beauty and a relaxing atmosphere that make this unique family resort as breathtaking as it is adventurous. Uncover a fresh perspective on the charm of the Mexican culture and experience a vacation filled with enhancements for the entire family. There's so much about this newly redesigned resort that will touch your family for years to come: refined accommodations, excursions* to Mayan archeological sites, a new Club Med Spa by Comfort Zone*, 3 restaurants including 1 fine Mexican dining venue and 1 serving worldwide specialties, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med and Despegar.com so you can book your Club Med Cancun Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Cancun Yucatan Hotel Cancun
Cancun Club Med
Club Med Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Cancun Yucatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.