We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Cancun Yucatan

Save Saved
You added Club Med Cancun Yucatan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Cancun Yucatan
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Punta Nizuc, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 174 hotels in Cancun
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was my 3rd time at club med cancun and it was great fun. You don' t go to club med for the rooms but for the activities and great location. The people always make you feel welcomed, as if you're part of the family. Extra special thanks to Cyndie at reception, Casey (sailing), and Chucho along with the trapeze team. You guys are great at your jobs and a lot of fun to hang around with.
The service at the restaurants and bars from the locals was great, efficient and always with a smile. A big plus compared to olaces in carabeans.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Marie-JoseeD,
Thank you for posting a review about our Club Med Cancun resort. We're so thrilled you had a wonderful vacation and that you enjoyed all the activities our resort has to offer such as the trapeze and sailing. It also makes us so glad you found our staff and service to be exceptional. Thank you again for sharing about your visit, and we hope you visit for the fourth time soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,369
    491
    129
    59
    42
See reviews for
1237
382
63
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millersville, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our first trip to Club Med with children (ages 11 and 15). My hubby and I had been to 8 clubs pre-kids in the 90s - so we knew what to expect. We chose a Club Med vacation since this was the perfect place for the our children to meet people from other countries, try new sports, new foods, and enjoy new freedoms (because the place is so safe).

We went the week of Thanksgiving and our children ARE still talking about their experiences, keeping in touch with the kids they met at the Car Wash (Teen club), practicing their Spanish, met people from all over the world, took 2 great excursions that were extremely well run, and tried many new things - - we took this trip with our Teens as the main focus and it far exceeded our expectations!

The GOs in the teen club really make it a fun place to go with things to do all the time - plus, they interact with the kids. Special "Shout Out" to Louis and Al - Christine and Michael miss you! The kids were able to try new sports that they could not easily be exposed to at home. Our children would usually have one meal with us and were then off with their Teen Club friends trying new things the rest of the day. The shows are always a fun time and the show that all the kids put on was awesome!

Jona and Josh made everything fun and were very genuine and personal and were fun to watch in many of the shows. Ana Behlen in the Boutique also genuinely cared that we had a great time and made a personal connection. Zani was Chief during our visit and was regularly strolling the club and checking on things and talking with GMs. The few times I spoke with her, she really listened and we had a nice chat.

Some people have commented negativley on the Reception Staff and we experienced mixed levels of service. Unfortunately, our son's cell phone was stolen/lost. The GO who helped me make the formal report was right on top of things and concerned. I went 2 times a day for 6 days to check and see if anyone turned it in. Each time, I was told of a different procedure as to how they handle lost items. This made me very nervous that there was no procedure in place and erroded my confidence that if the phone was turned it, someone would know to return it to us. Unfoturnately, it was not but we could have has this experience anywhere. Other than that, they were able to help with our needs.

Someone else commented on the snorkeling GOs and we had the same experience, they just sat there and pointed to where things were, offered little help, and did not tell us the importance of the reef and to avoid touching it. Thankfully, we knew how to snorkel so we were ok.

My husband gashed his leg and had several visits to the nurse - very good care and a special shout out to "Maria Carmen". (no charge for the multiple visits to bandage his leg- it's included).

No trip is ever without a few bumps - so overall - I still say this trip exceeded our expectations. We took the trip specifically to broaden their horizons and introduce them to new things. It was mid-week and our kids were asking to come back next year! My 15 year old daughter has now put being a Club Med GO on her list of future jobs and is studying the website for future visits. This club is a great place for families with teens! We had a trip with memories that will last our lifetime!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Karin D,
Thanks for the kind words! We're so pleased to have exceeded your every expectation! It also makes us so happy to hear you found our staff, Teen Club and activities to be excellent. Thank you for your feedback as we are always thinking of ways to improve and truly appreciate any suggestions our guests may offer. We're so glad you had an amazing stay, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just returned from a week at Club Med Cancun with our 6 and 3 year olds. While the property is an older one and the rooms could use a makeover, the beauty of the area, the kids club and the wonderful staff make up for the aesthetics. The hotel is just a short drive from the Cancun airport, a plus for those with kids cranky after a long flight.

Our son spent a couple of hours each day at the kids club, where Houda, Glenn, Mao and Karla made sure he was always having fun. We had to pay for a babysitter for our daughter, as the club starts at 4 years old, but at 230 pesos an hour, it was well worth it. Miriam was outstanding with our daughter, making sure she had everything she needed and was always smiling. The kids club enabled my husband and I to have a few quiet hours each day.

The main beach is beautiful - clean, perfect for swimming and a great view. There were always chairs available and drinks on hand. The watersports beach is not great for setting up for the day, as it is quite narrow, but it is perfect for the kids to play in the water, as there are no waves. This also makes it nice for kayaking and sailing. My husband went snorkelling twice in the local reef, just steps from the main pool, and saw two baracudas, a giant parrot fish and hundreds of other fish. Snorkelling is included in the all-inclusive package.

The pool is very pretty and there are always seats available. Alejandro is the best waiter, always there to bring you whatever you need, from a fruit smoothie to something stronger.

The food was a step above standard all-inclusive fare. There was always something for the kids to eat - pizza, hot dogs, plain pasta - as well as fresh fruit, salad bar and new delicacies every night. The main buffet is big, so never a problem to get a seat. The staff there are lovely - Ady and Tere always went out of their way to make the kids happy.

With regards to safety, there was nothing to be concerned about. There are security guards 24 hours a day all over the resort, in a non-overbearing or frightening way.

Overall, while this is not the most modern of the Cancun properties, it does make for a lovely family vacation and I would definitely recommend it for families with any age kids.

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor, laguna side of the Obsidiana building, which was a perfect location. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear welovetotravel77,
Thanks for the review! It makes us so happy to hear you had a terrific experience and that our dining options, Kids Club, staff and beach exceeded your every expectation. We're especially thrilled you'd recommend our resort to families with children of any age! Thank you again for sharing about your stay, and we hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

today is our last night at Clubmed cancun. We are so sad for it to end. We stayed seven nights in the family suite at the jade building. We loved the Jade building. I think it was worth every penny. the room was large and the breakfast delivery was great. The private pool was so nice and quiet.
My kids, ages 4 and 6 spent all day at the mini-club. They loved all the activities, from trapeze to sailing to the night activities. They loved it so much they ate dinner every night with the GOs. Special thanks to the kids GOs.. Glenn and Mao and Karla.
The food was fabulous. There is no need to eat at the specialty restaurants as the buffet really changed nightly. the food was fresh and healthy. It was constantly being changed and grilled so it was never sitting out. It was more like stations then just rows of food. Fresh fish, vegtables, salad etc. Rows of amazing french cheeses and desserts.
We travel over 4 times a year and I will not be taking my kids anywhere but club med for all of our family trips.
It was fabulous.
Oh and the views at resort are amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Kimb35,
Thank you for posting a review about our resort. We're absolutely thrilled you had such a wonderful vacation and that you enjoyed all our resort has to offer such as the Kids Club, activities and dining options. It also makes us so happy to hear you'll be returning soon! We're so glad you had a fabulous stay, and we look forward to your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincroft, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We absolutely loved the staff at the Carwash (teen club at Club Med). After breakfast, I barely saw my 11 and 13 year old daughters which left me time for relaxing, reading and spending time alone with my husband. All of the staff at the Carwash -especially Sol and Louis - made it the trip of a lifetime for my kids and if they're happy, I am happy. We are now a committed Club Med family.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms at the Topacia (2nd & 3rd floor) are adjoining and perfect for families an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear motheroftwodivas,
Thanks for the review! We absolutely love when our guests have a fantastic vacation and we're so happy to know our staff and activities surpassed your every expectation. We're thrilled you had the vacation of a lifetime, and we hope you return soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent 9 days at Cancun in late November. A big shout out to Chucho (he is awesome) and his circus team. They really made our stay. Rock was especially nice, as well as Oscar and we were really impressed with Bettina's skills on the silk, hoop and spanish web, and Alexandre's amazing swings. Sorry to say that many of the other GO's did not stand out. We have been loyal to Club Med over the years, and miss the old style GO's who often had larger than life personalities, and were quirky and funny and just made the stay so much fun. Many of the young people working there now seem to be putting in time, and not excited about their work. Please bring back the "animator" position!! Another thing we really miss are the tables for 8 that used to be the norm, so you would always be seated with a new group of people at dinner. It was one of the things that differentiated Club Med from other resorts. Perhaps if they just devoted one of the dining rooms to the old style, so that people who enjoy making new friends have that experience.
Other than that the Club was clean, rooms comfortable, food was good, if repetitive, and if anyone is worried about safety, be assured you are ok at the Club, it seemed there are security people around every building.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Lucy295,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay at our resort. It makes us so happy to hear you had a fabulous vacation and that you found our staff, dining options, entertainment and location to be lovely. Thank you for your suggestion as we are constantly thinking of ways to improve and truly appreciate any feedback our guests may have. We're so glad you enjoyed your vacation, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is one of the best beach resorts we've been to. Unlike many other hotels in Cancun strip, this has enough space outside. Great advantage is beach front on one side, much like all the other hotels have, and reef on the other where you can do snorkeling. Plenty of activities from kayaking to sailing, all included, well-organized so you don't have to wait for hours in line. Friendly personnel. Many things to do for kids of all ages - trapeze, water skiing, kids club and more.

One thing though: the place is Frenchy. You are OK with English or Spanish, but those with symptoms of xenophobia (and are not French) may want look for other options.

Great place to be! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Michael P,
Thank you for posting a review about our resort. We're pleased to hear you had a wonderful vacation and that you believe our resort is one of the best beach resorts you've ever visited! We're also so glad our staff, activities and location exceeded your every expectation. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Cancun Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Cancun Yucatan

Address: Punta Nizuc, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cancun
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#27 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Cancun Yucatan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico in this environmentally friendly all-inclusive family resort nestled on a pristine stretch of world-famous Mayan Riviera beach. Travel to Club Med Cancun Yucatan with your family to enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst the sumptuous amenities, natural beauty and a relaxing atmosphere that make this unique family resort as breathtaking as it is adventurous. Uncover a fresh perspective on the charm of the Mexican culture and experience a vacation filled with enhancements for the entire family. There's so much about this newly redesigned resort that will touch your family for years to come: refined accommodations, excursions* to Mayan archeological sites, a new Club Med Spa by Comfort Zone*, 3 restaurants including 1 fine Mexican dining venue and 1 serving worldwide specialties, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Cancun Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Cancun Yucatan Hotel Cancun
Cancun Club Med
Club Med Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Cancun Yucatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.