We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancun-2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Cancun Yucatan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Club Med Cancun Yucatan to your Saves list
Club Med Cancun Yucatan
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Punta Nizuc, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Cancun
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cancun-2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent hotel on the water, lovely breezes, sand, sea. All inclusive. The Staff are very friendly and helpful. There are tour bookings on site if you want to visit Chichen Itza, Tulum, Swim with Dolphins, Isla Mujeres, Cancun etc.. Trapeze training is also available. The food is delicious, there are several restaurants, reservations should be made at some of them. Water Sports are available as well. The room at Jade was a bit disappointing, however, the rest of the stay was great.

Room Tip: Choose the Jade Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear figuersofia,
Thank you for posting a review about our Club Med Cancun resort. We're thrilled you had a fantastic time and that you enjoyed all the activities our resort has to offer like trapeze, swimming and other water sports. We're also so glad to know you found our staff and dining options to be lovely. We hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,666
    666
    187
    80
    54
See reviews for
1,569
489
78
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I can't say enough about Club Med. The employees were wonderful and always nice, willing to help, always there if you needed anything. The food was great, they know how to cook eggs, breakfast was the best part, home made waffles!! All three restaurants were top notch. The property was clean, beautiful and the only problem is that it went by too fast!!
I recommend this for families as well as couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view. There are many rooms that have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Chandracap,
Thanks for the review! We love when our guests have an amazing experience, and it makes us so happy to hear you had the best vacation ever! We're also so glad you found our staff, dining options and facilities to be terrific. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

First off I would like to say that the arrival and greeting at the airport was GREAT!!!!! So me and my best friend who went to the "RICK SPRINGFIELD FAMILY & FRIENDS trip were EXCITED for it. Well it was a great first impression that was short-lived I must say. The resort and the grounds around it were AWESOME!!!!! My complaint is with the food, I am a picky eater, and I did my homework prior and called the 1-800 club med phone number to get some questions answered prior to leaving the Untied States like a month before too. Well I was told that there would be a variety of food to choose from and if I didn't like something that I could eat off the kids menu. Well that didn't happen at ALL. So all and all I was not happy with the resort or some of the people that worked there too. We would get our drinks set them down and go up and dance at the Concert or at the Club part and our drink would be pretty much full and they would come by and take it thinking nobody was coming back for it WHAT???? I would definitely stay at another Club Med, but just NEVER here again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Opalo building which was right by the JADE building which is the all inclusive buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Renee S,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our resort. We would like to apologize for not surpassing your expectations as this is not the norm for Club Med. Please know we are currently addressing the concerns you mentioned and appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our first time at a ClubMed resort and it was one of our best vacations. We went with a group (20 couples) from our Arizona +55 community. When we arrived there were about 15 GO's (gracious organizers) waiting to welcome us with drinks and to show us to our rooms. This is an inclusive resort, meals, drinks, sports even a circus trapese. There were two restaurants to order off the menu and always a restaurant that served buffets for every meal. The food was excellent. The room was very nice with a balcony, king size bed, a sitting area, safe, small refrigerator and coffee maker. The grounds were always very well maintained and the beach cleaned daily. We sat under Palapas at the beach with beach boys delivering us drinks. Although we never used the pool, it was beautiful. There was a nightly show that showcased the talented GO's and always dancing after the show. The one thing that impressed us was that the GO's would ask to sit with us at mealtimes and it was nice to get to know the staff. Aurea, Nay, Cesaer, Marieangela, Zorro and many others were wonderful. The chief of the village, Zani (or General Mgr) would wander the resort and always ask us if everything was OK. The staff was wonderful.
If you bring children, they have their own activities with play areas with a qualified staff member.
It was a great vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Bernards4,
Thanks for the kind words! We're pleased to hear your whole group had a fabulous vacation and that our facilities, dining options, activities and entertainment surpassed your every expectation. It makes us especially happy you found our staff to be exceptional. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I will start with the positive. Great staff (beyond the front desk who were totally clueless most of the time). Everyone was cheerful and willing to interact. Loved how they would ask to join us for meals and just talk about us and we asked a lot of questions of them. Food was good. Lots of variety especially at the buffet. Location is gorgeous. Lots of interesting things to see, such a iguanas running all over the property. Rooms and other areas were clean. The cleaning staff were always doing something. However, I must say they were doing the best with what they had which isn't much. Weather was very warm and windy.

So now the negatives. Everythings needs to be updated. We never really got the temperature of our room to where we like it. This resort is 40 years olds and you can tell it. It was a tough time trying to get a reservation at either of the two more upscale restaurants. However, when we got there to eat, there was always empty tables so it didn't make sense. Linens were thin and pillows were not comfortable. They did always make sure we had large bottles of water each day in our room, which was greatly appreciated. Front desk really needs to get their act together. They never seemed to have the time to answer questions and sometimes they were down right rude. Most everyone spoke English, which did make us feel more comfortable. Some of my friends stayed in the Jade Building, which is a more private building. They had been told that it included 24 hr room service, a private bar, and proirity reservation services for the restaurants. Room service stopped at 11 pm and they were charged $4 each time they ordered. This place was supposed to be all-inclusive. There was a bar pool side for them, but there wasn't always a bartender available. Getting reservations was a nightmare for them. Sort of glad we stayed in a different building.

My advice to you is to maybe try somewhere else. My advice to Club Med is, this is a gorgeous location, but your facility needs to be torn down and rebuild and modernized. Your staff is wonderful, but your front desk people needs to get it together.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear dtregoe,
Thank you for posting a review about our Club Med Cancun resort. We're so glad you found our staff and dining options to be wonderful, however, we apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We are grateful for your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve, and truly appreciate any suggestions our guests may have. Thank you again for sharing, and we hope you give Club Med another chance in the future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Club Med is top on the charts for our vacation experience. The G.O.s,activities,food, and climate were great. Our children liked the multicultural experince of different languages being spoke by all the G.O.s and meeting people from all over the world. Many friends were made that our kids miss. We are already planning our trip back again for this summer/fall. To the staff Mad Max at circus you have inspired our son Brynn to start tapeze back here at home. Your circus team are amazing We hope to see you in the furture at the club. Thank you Marc at land sports for going out of your way for our sons Sean,Tristan, and Kord keepnig them entertained ALL DAy. They had withdrawls when they got back to Arizona. The best watersports team ever with the best conditions to ski and wake board. Casey,Annie, and Monse thank you for taking us all skiing and wakeboard. Our son Tristan's favorite activity. Also thank you Mario for taking us out sailing and flying on the big catamaran. Thank you Francisco at snorkeling, our son Cailen has a new love for the underwater world Eddie from the bar it was always nice to see your smiling face at the beach. Thank you for all those hand delivered drinks. There are so many other people to thank that made this trip a once in a life time memory for our famliy Club Med Cancun staff were impeccable in service which stands out from other places we have been. My husband liked that everything was included in the price, great food, tons of activities, Shirley Temples to Brazialin rum and every drink in between, and good family entertainment day and night. We would have loved to stay there longer. We live in the southwest with only a 3 1/2 hour flight to get there.So it was great traveling with kids. Club Med set up our air so there was no hassles looking for flights for our family. Keep saving those sea turtles:-) The Dicke Family We will be back!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms over the lagoon were nice and quite,but close enough to activities right outside. You can also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear nancyScottsdale,
Thanks so much for the review! We absolutely love when our guests have a fabulous vacation, and we're thrilled to hear Club Med is at the top of your charts! It sounds like you had an amazing time enjoying all the activities our resort has to offer such as our trapeze, skiing, wake boarding and snorkeling! We're also so glad our staff, entertainment and dining options exceeded your every expectation. Thank you again for sharing, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Having been to several Club Meds in Latin America, this one was a real disappointment. Even though the location is superb, unfortunately it is badly managed, which shows in a lot of small and bigger details. Greeting upon arrival was unfriendly. Room was dirty and had to be cleaned upon arrival. Bar service on the beach was almost unexisting. Asking for a drink at the bar was a challenge as the bar personnel seemed to be bothered to serve you. Food was below average, every day the same. Pillows for chaise longues missing. Shows were poor and boring. But most of all, staff was behaving unprofessional, especially Cedric the sports & entertainment manager who's only concern seems to be to undress married women with his eyes, not bothering if they are with company... nice place, I must say!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Cancun Yucatan, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear flamengo1010,
Thank you for posting a review about Club Med Cancun Yucatan. We sincerely apologize for not exceeding your every expectation. Please know what you experienced not the norm for Club Med and know we are currently addressing the concerns you mentioned and that we greatly appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us, and we hope you give Club Med another chance in the future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.7 mi away
NIZUC Resort and Spa
NIZUC Resort and Spa
#8 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#17 of 178 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 2,611 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Cancun
5.0 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Cancun Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Cancun Yucatan

Address: Punta Nizuc, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cancun
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#27 Business Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Cancun Yucatan 4*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the wonders of Mexico in this environmentally friendly all-inclusive family resort nestled on a pristine stretch of world-famous Mayan Riviera beach. Travel to Club Med Cancun Yucatan with your family to enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst the sumptuous amenities, natural beauty and a relaxing atmosphere that make this unique family resort as breathtaking as it is adventurous. Uncover a fresh perspective on the charm of the Mexican culture and experience a vacation filled with enhancements for the entire family. There's so much about this newly redesigned resort that will touch your family for years to come: refined accommodations, excursions* to Mayan archeological sites, a new Club Med Spa by Comfort Zone*, 3 restaurants including 1 fine Mexican dining venue and 1 serving worldwide specialties, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Club Med and BookIt.com so you can book your Club Med Cancun Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Cancun Yucatan Hotel Cancun
Cancun Club Med
Club Med Cancun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Cancun Yucatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.