We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun to your Saves list
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed in room 1621 once you opened the double doors the room was amazing with a huge balcony. The ceilings were extremely high. The room overlooked the resort which was even better. Cecilia was great at the front desk and so was Eduardo. Thank you for the hospitality

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Service Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear about your experience. Your thoughts regarding our colleagues are very important to us, be assured that the Front Desk Manager will hear about Cecilia and Eduardo hard work. We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Thank You

The Westin Resor & Spa Cancun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    642
    266
    134
    96
See reviews for
368
670
86
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel! Stayed here for 2 nights in January. Plenty of pools available and our room was huge! Enjoyed the food at the restaurants and we also liked that this was one of the first hotels on the hotel strip in cancun. Great location, super clean beach, and plenty of lounge chairs available every day. Would definitely recommend. My only complaint was when we needed extra towels they never came. It was much quicker to find the cleaning staff and get it directly from them rather than calling the front desk.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Service Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to leave us your opinion about your stay. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experience be assured that your comments will help us improve. We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Thank You

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

As an SPG Platinum member for many years now, I expect a lot from hotels in the chain and this one hasn't let me down. The staff is extremely nice and willing to help. We stayed at the Royal Beach Club, so wouldn't know what the rooms were like on the other wing, but these were amazing, had a great ocean view and they will drive you with a golf kart if you're not willing to walk. They have several restaurants, cafes and pools. The Spa service is fantastic as well as the therapists there! The only minor complaints are the location (one of the last hotels down the Hotel Zone, far from everything) and they prepare the worst cocktails during the 'hors d'oeuvre' at the RBC lounge.

Room Tip: Try to stay at the Royal Beach Club, with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Service Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest:


Thank you for posting your review. We are very pleased to hear your experience with us and that you had the opportunity to relax at our Heavenly Spa. We hope to welcome you back in a near future and provide a fresh Westin Experience.

Thank You

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed here for one night with my family at this hotel. They have two properties, the main hotel and the more upmarket spa hotel further along. We stayed at this second place.

The room we were initially given was on the garden level, which I didn't like at all as anyone could see into the room, or walk in for that matter, and I have always liked to get fresh air when in the tropics. The room that they moved us to when we complained was on the 1st floor over the dining area, in the corner, with a seriously restricted view--so our ocean view in both cases was a bit of a misnomer. Also, there was always noise from people hanging out and talking in the restaurant--it was almost as if they were in the room with me.

The room was clean, though a bit dark because of the angle, and the hotel is a bit old, so it was a bit tired. The coffee making facilities were a plus as it was also good coffee, and the ice machine produced an abundance of ice.

The internet facilities worked perfectly.

Food offering was okay--not particularly good, not bad.

The pool was very small, and not at all interesting, just kind of rectangular and boring. One nice thing, however, was that the beach at this part of the resort of Cancun was much wider than at other places, so that was very nice to have so much sand almost to ourselves. Also, this resort has a "beach" area on the lagoon side, making it I believe the only hotel to do so…you might not think that this matters, but because the sun sets on the lagoon side, and there is a nice bar area there, you can not only get the most of those last hours of sunshine, but also have a nice drink while doing so.

I think the other reviews have it spot on--worth staying here if there is a special deal, but otherwise, not.

Personally, I liked the location as one of the first/last hotels along the strip as it means fewer people on the beach, less traffic, etc…but some people prefer to be closer to the action and restaurants along the strip, but I don't also because the strip is noisy.

Room Tip: Go for true ocean front and insist on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice in the space of 5 days and the staff is very friendly and ready to help whenever possible. Got recognised the second time with a great welcome and pre booked room ground floor overlooking onto the beach... Amazing choice! Even the restaurant staff is very attentive and helpful. A relaxed atmosphere in the over 40year old westin. even when busy doesn't feel packed. I would recommend it for all of you with a relaxing break in mind. (Rooms 1131-1129-1127-1125 are the best as have French doors onto the patio overlooking the beach)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Service Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear your experience and we hope to welcome you back again in a near future.

Thank You

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After a week long vacation in the Cancun Merida area we stayed (me and my wife) stayed for our final night Westin before heading home to San Diego.
The check in was a breeze with no problems, the front desk agent was very courteous making conversation about our vacation and hoping that we liked it and return again.
HE asked us where have we been so he can make suggestions about other places of interest.
Beautiful beach, great pools,i will return hopefully soon.
Gustavo Perez was our c\i agent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Service Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your review. We are excited to hear about your stay with Westin Resort & Spa Cancun. We take very seriously the comments that our guests do and I assure you that we recognize the hard work of our colleagues, like Gustavo, as we strive each day to achieve our guest expectations.

Thank You

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I came with my daughter in December 2013- she had a few days off after working 25-7 for the past 14 months as a new lawyer..She desperately needed a vacation and the Westin Resort and Spa Cancun gave us theeeee best time possible. WE have been to almost all of the Starwood beach resorts so have something to compare this to.. May I say that this is a terrific place in every aspect. The property itself is so conveniently located- easy to get to from the airport.
And on a beautiful section of the beach- where it curves around so it is so nice iful to walk up and down the beach, easy to get to restaurants in town and nice location if you like running.. The property itself is just lovely- the pools are very pretty with comfortable chairs and umbrellas, the beach is beautiful – with really nice huts to sit under.
We had one junior suite in the regular building and one room in the Ambassador building- both beautiful, clean, well-kept and appointed. Loved the regular room as it had a lovely balcony. And great to stay there because you have the most outstanding service from all of the staff and you have a most delicious, beautiful, plentiful complimentary breakfast including champagne!! And then at 6 pm you can come back and have drinks and gorgeous, delicious appetizers!! All served by theeee most lovely staff members.. they couldn’t be nicer, friendlier or more helpful. In fact, all of the staff was just lovely- from check-in to the concierge group, to the staff in the restaurants, the spa, around the pool.. everywhere! The General Manager and his administrative person are just so lovely too! Every request we had was honored, and some were even anticipated!
The food in the restaurant was beautifully presented, delicious and most plentiful. I got to play tennis on the roof- which has turf courts- new to me but fine. All the arrangements were made by the concierge staff which was perfect! WE had massages at the spa which were delightful! Every part of the resort is well-kept, from the grounds, to the pool area, the rooms. My daughter and I enjoyed every moment of our visit to this resort .The only downside—we had to leave after four days… I can’t wait to come back!!

Room Tip: rooms with the balconies are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin-Cancun, Guest Service Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for posting your nice comments. We are very pleased to hear your experience with us. We hope to welcome your family in the near future for another relaxing and fun Westin Experience.

Thank You

The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#53 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Westin Resort And Spa Cancun
Westin Hotel Cancun
Westin Cancun
The Westin Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.