We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Save Saved
You added The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 172 hotels in Cancun
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Beach Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is only about ten minutes from the Cancun airport. Check in was easy and very quick. We stayed in the Royal Beach Club, which is quite a ways from the lobby. If you don't use a bellman, find a cart to move your luggage.

There are a number of pools thoughout the property. The sun goes behind the building in the middle of the afternoon and only one pool is exposed to the sun after about four o'clock.

The property is at the southern end of the zona hotelara. It is between the sea and the lagoon. You cannot swim in the lagoon, but it has a very nice beach.

The concierge contacted us about a week before we aririved and offered to plan activities for us. We gave her a schedule and she made several suggestions. We met with her when we arrived and she tried to interest us in some excursions. But when she found out we had our own car and that we only wanted directions to sites, she was no longer as willing to help.

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and stay in the Royal Beach Club. The snacks at night and and the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    540
    586
    247
    127
    89
See reviews for
332
596
76
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 6 days, and I can tell you what matched other reviewers complaints. The air conditioners are noisy.....I mean can't hear the TV over the AC noisy....I mean every time it cycles on in the middle of the night it wakes you up noisy. Also, a number of reviews said the hall noises could be heard loudly in the rooms. Yes, and it's the doors to the rooms. They have good sized gaps with no seals around the doors. That coupled with tile floors in the halls and hotel rooms.....no wonder it sounds so loud in the hotel rooms. We went to the front desk and complained about the noise twice and both times were told that a manager would contact us. No one ever did.
Also, their photos show a large beautiful stone fireplace outdoors with a patio/seating area, plus 3 outdoor hot tubs. When we got there we found that ALL of those were overgrown and disrepair such that you can tell that they have not been used in years! Also, like the other reviews have stated, the food in the restaurant is very expensive and the location of the hotel on the hotel strip is far away from all of the restaurants and stores on the strip so you'd have to take a bus to not have to pay $30 per person just for breakfast. We even overheard another hotel guest complaining that it would easily cost $90 per day per person to stay and eat in the hotel for one day.
We've read other reviews that said all the employees were interested in was selling timeshares.....this turned out to be a pretty big issue.....if you weren't interested in the timeshare then they stopped smiling and talking to you,...they really did that. What was good? The room was clean and the beach was nice. But honestly, because of the bad location on the hotel strip, the constantly being woken up from the AC or noises in the hallway, and the very expensive food in the restaurants, we would not go back.

Room Tip: It's better to pay more for a cheap room in a better hotel, rather than paying more for an expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from Cancun, we would like to thank you for your review. Please let us apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. Your feedback is appreciated as this helps us improve our services. Trust that your comments will be taken to higher management to address what was previously mentioned .

Your visit was important to us; our main objective is for our guests to enjoy a relaxing week/weekend in paradise. We hope that we are able to regain your confidence in our services.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went for a family vacation in an <<all inclusive>> resort thought it was like an all inclusive five star resort but it was way less we had to tell staff that we are all inclusive guests in order to open the room fridge and fill it every day.. the dessert was very very limited and the same every day!! there was no variety in food!! hotel restaurents are very limited and the menu stays the same!! staff was very helpfull and trying to please guests!! rooms are dated for a five star hotel!!
Upon arrivel one of the rooms bed sheets were dirty we had to escalate it in order to change them and to be able to sleep on them.
won't go back for and all inclusive hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay, it is unfortunate that you were not happy with our menu selections however we will do our best to set a wider variation. Trust that your comments will be taken to higher management in order to improve our services and prevent issues previously mentioned from happening again.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope you give us the opportunity to show you our improvements in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

First, the service was excellent in every way. I have Celiac and the restaurant staff at The sunset Bar And Grill, esp. David, took great care to prepare off menu gfree meals for me. Same in El Palmar. The rooms are a bit tired but very clean. The property was gorgeous, beach amazing, pools very nice. Quiet and great for families and people of all ages. Go here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for commenting and sharing your experience at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun. We would also like to thank you for commending David, we are very happy to know that he was able to take great care of you.

We hope to serve you once more on your next visit!

Best reards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Let me first say the service was impeccable. From the check-in counter, wait staff, concierge, and maids. All were pleasant, accommodating, and knowledgeable. The property it self was beautiful and well kept. Unfortunately, it is showing some age. Drawers were sticking and falling off the track, balcony locks were rusted and were barely hanging on with the screws. The wooden panels for the slider also were difficult to open and close. For the most part, we ate at Sunset Bar and Grill for lunch as we were at the beach most of the time there. David our server was excellent. My wife is celiac and we had concerns but he was knowledgeable with her needs and when there was a question he would ask the chef. We had breakfast and some dinners at El Palmar and the service was also very good even when we opted for the buffet. Good variety of food as well.

Had a pleasant and relaxing stay at this property.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is about the 3rd or 4th Westin that I have stayed at and I can always count on the service. We had a great experience at this Westin, my only complaint is that they could not guarantee a late check out early in the week. I would recommend upgrading to the Beach Club it is well worth the extra $60 a night. It includes breakfast for 2 and free drinks during happy hour.

The staff was very helpful in giving us advice on things to do and seen in Cancun. They also sent a car to pick us up at the airport

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Beach Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I would give this property a second stay/chance only because of the staff. I experienced a problem with my reservation when checking in, however the staff handled is professionally.
The beach is good. Location is fine, but the hotel is poorly designed. That said, when you're lying pooside or the beach the design of the hotel doesn't much matter.
My room was great, but no balcony with is a shame. I had a Junior Suite and not being able to step out on to a balcony was disappointing (poorly designed). Being a Westin, you can count on a good bed and this Westin delivered. Comfortable bed and good night sleep.
I dined only one night on the property at a restaurant called Arrecifes. A really disappointment. Service was eratic and hurried. Food was not as advertised/expected. However, the buffet during breakfast was very good. Wide array of choices and service was good.
This was my first trip to Cancun (I've visited many cities in Mexico and love Mexico) and I would return. But, not sure I'd return to this Westin based soley on the hotel design. For those who have been or are considering this property, the design is below average, but the staff is very good. The staff is the reason I'd go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargelyC, Social Media Coordinator at The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and writing so highly about our staff, we will pass along your comments to show them that their efforts really do leave an impact on our guests. Please let us recommend The Royal Beach Club Tower for breathtaking views, peace and quiet. These upgraded rooms count with large balconies overlooking the ocean or the lagoon bay side where the sun sets.
We hope you give us the opportunity to show you and to serve you once more in the near future.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun

Address: Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
#54 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Cancun Hotel Cancun
Westin Resort And Spa Cancun
Westin Hotel Cancun
Westin Cancun
The Westin Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.