We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bye Dreams Cancun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Ziva Cancun to your Saves list
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Punta Cancun s/n, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 174 Hotels in Cancun
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good bye Dreams Cancun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 5 times in Dreams Cancun since 2007. I wrote a review before about Dreams, and I said that the rooms need renovation, but I was not expecting this. I tried different hotels in Cancun and DR, but never seen a hotel that beats Dreams Cancun(Hayett Ziva) when it comes to food or the awesome beach it had. My family and I were shocked to learn about what happened. We had lots of great unforgettable memories at Dreams. The staff made us feel welcome all the time. Hopefully Hayett management team is wise enough to keep the legacy of Dream Cancun alive with it good food, welcoming atmosphere, and reasonable all-inclusive prices. Keeping the old staff will be a great idea. Hopefully I will see Miguel's and lider's smiley faces again at the swim up bar.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,879
    1,063
    428
    205
    190
See reviews for
1,194
1,257
50
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo County, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Checking in seemed to be the biggest turn off. Had to wait over an hour than quoted to get our room. Staff was apologetic, but it seemed out of their hands. Not enough staff to accommodate the guests arriving. The second issue to deal with is the pool chairs. If you want a specific spot, you need to get up real early (6:00 am) to reserve your chair. It is first come first serve. We had some issues during low season. I can't imaging what is like at high season. The staff make it worth while, Eduardo Gonzalez at the buffet restaurant was awesome. Tip, try to get the same server everyday. We did with Eduardo and his service was excellent. He would have our choice of beverage waiting when we came back with our food. He always had a big smile and eager to please. Great guy. Leonel at the ocean side buffet was great as well. We only ate there a few times. He was always ready to answer questions and made us feel at ease. His knowledge of the area was invaluable. Maria, the activities director was nothing short of amazing. She was everywhere doing everything for the guests. All smiles and energetic from hosting water aerobics, cartoon trivia, handing out towels at the pool or hosting the nightly shows which are well worth the time to see. She was everywhere all the time. An outstanding person, she definitely made it fun. And Carlos the buffet manager!! The man took care of us like family. It was our 20th anniversary and Carlos personally waited on us. He was friendly, remembered our names after the first day. He made sure my wife always she the type of wine she liked. We were always greeted by name and a big hug. These people made the trip something to remember. We worth it thanks to all of them. We miss them already.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy, fewer children. For a good sunrise,sunset view again higher floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hyatt can consider their routers fried. I have vacationed there every year for the past 5 years and have never had such amazing times anywhere else in my life. The memories made by the staff and their fantastic personalities, as well as just little things like enjoying evenings listening to music and drinking beverages in the lobby. I will miss this hotel when Hyatt comes in and destroys the peaceful atmosphere and laid-back qualities of the resort. One thing I loved above all was the fact that wrist bands were not required to be worn during your stay. I had stayed at a resort with that requirement and it hindered my experience greatly. I'll miss you, Dreams Cancun. Farewell.

Room Tip: The Hyatt owners knocked down the Pyramid building. All the satisfactory rooms are gone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

most of the Administrative staff and managers are there for just one purpose - to make sure you pay pay pay
The word Service and quality are somehow forgotten.
no pictures of dolphins - buy them in the store, nohelp, no taxi, no phone...tv remote and AC had to be serviced 3 times.Extreme surprise when AC had to be serviced and reserviced....had to change rooms at the end, but equivalent room was not available, co have to pay extra for a better room....
All kinds of cheez like that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It was my first time to Cancun but my second time at a Dreams resort. Had stayed at the Dreams in Cabo. I prefer this Dreams resort primarily because of the location in the Hotel Zone and being steps away from the crystal blue Caribbean water on the eastern part of the property. The food was decent just like the Cabo property - not surprising. My wife and I enjoyed the off-site Mexican restaurant the most. Unfortunately, you have to be one of the first that morning (9am) to make a reservation at one of the limited number of tables set aside for Dreams guests. Just glad we were able to take advantage of it once during our stay. The location is ideal to be able to explore the Hotel Zone in Cancun. All the restaurants, shopping, and nightlife are pretty much walking distance or bus ride from the property. My wife and I took advantage of the amazing water to go SCUBA diving (my wife got certified here and I ventured to the underwater museum at the Isla de Mujeres and drift diving in Cozumel). The weather was very nice and would love to come back, but highly unlikely at this resort given the overabundance of resorts in the area. But we still enjoyed our week here but surprised to recently find out that the Dreams is no longer.

Room Tip: Stay away from ground level and opt for ocean view as opposed to interior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel only for 2 nights during my business trip in 2014. Don't use much service but in overall the hotels seems good and well managed. Don't mind giving 4 star review for this hotel and I can recommend to the other travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabash, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed April 5-9 2014 and was the worst hotel all inclusive our family of six have ever experienced.. Two rooms overlooking dolphins ---both flooded and the bathrooms smell---Contacted the Dreams upper management and AmResorts immediately on arriving home 13 times---Best response I got was essentially "Sorry you weren't pleased" which I will hear one more time here but also thought about pursuing legal steps for fraud and false advertising--(the four star menus online are not the food you get!!!!!) but they wore me down and didn't even offer to reimburse me my water stained ruined backpacks and luggage from their flooded floors. , ..nasty people ----nasty hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Go to Cancun--the X-plor trip with caves and zip lines are are fantastic---Excellent snorkeling oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Ziva Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Cancun

Address: Punta Cancun s/n, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#33 Family Hotel in Cancun
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Ziva Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated readers of Condé Nast Traveler magazine named Dreams Cancun one of the Top Ten Resorts in Mexico. Travel industry publication TravelAge West also honored Dreams Cancun with its prestigious Wave Award, naming it Best All-Inclusive Resort, Mexico. Rave reviews plus Unlimited-Luxury® — both excellent indications that things are very special here.Cancun is a friendly and bustling city voted as the #9 Best Destination in the Caribbean and Mexico for the TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Awards. Yet within our lush 7.1 oceanfront acres, you will be serenely tucked away. One reason is our one-of-a-kind location. Here at the most eastern tip of Mexico, you are surrounded on three sides by the beauty of the azure Caribbean Sea — the only resort in Cancun with this remarkable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Splendia and Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Dreams Hotel Cancun
Dreams Cancun Hotel
Camino Real Cancun
Dreams Cancun Mexico
Cancun Dream Resort
Dreams Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Dreams Hotel
Dreams Resort Cancun Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Ziva Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.