We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Ziva Cancun to your Saves list
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Punta Cancun s/n, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Hotel in general is very organized and the people are very nice, the food was good, breakfast with fresh fruit was amazing for us, but I don't like the if you want lobster you have to paid $ 35.00.We went to celebrate our 31 anniversary and I was expecting to get at least a sign at the door where said Anniversary, But that never happen, also people try to sale you a vacation plan was very annoyed to us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Gselaramirez,


Thank you very much for your preference and for taking a few moments to write your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your positive notes about the hotel, and I was very happy to read that you liked the room, the facilities.

Your remarks are very much appreciated as the help us improve both our service and our product. In regards to the anniversary amenities you need contact me or our concierge whom will gladly add this information to our system and everyone will know that you are celebrating something.

We look forward to your next visit and can ensure that we will do our very best to fulfill your requirements and demonstrate the type of high quality services we uphold here at the resort.

Kind regards,

Guillermo Graziano
Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drecu@dreamsresorts.com
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,871
    1,062
    428
    205
    190
See reviews for
1,194
1,253
50
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iselin, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Previous reviews all over tripadvisor helped us to know more about Dreams and Cancun overall. So, here is my give away!
View-Dreams has very good three sides ocean views which fits both family and couples.
Rooms- weren't great but good and right on price.
Staff- Very pleasant and Always ready to help
Food- Can't complain got all different options, personally didnt like ocena but it's more due to personal diet choices
Activities- Very good planned and keeps you little busy if you wants too. includes Scuba lessons, Salsa lessons, Pool and beach vollybol, games etc with very entertain staff
Romantic Dinner- Big plus on experience and memory not good with food
Spa- Awesome experience with nice staff (little expensive though :) )
Overall: We found very good honeymoon destination resorts with all needed amenities including excellent staff
Cons: Anything you need to buy is very costly. Also don't get your laundry done it's very costly too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear chdesai84,

We are delighted to hear that this was your second visit here with us at Dreams cancun and we truly appreciate the time taken to write and share such a glowing review.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their vacation. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our entire operational team.

We are looking forward to welcome you back on many future occasions and we will be happy to make every stay special for you.

Kind Regards,


Guillermo Graziano
Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drecu@dreamsresorts.com
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Spent 8 days at Dreams. The hotel is outdated, the lobby rugs are almost threadbare and the furniture could be renewed. The swimming pool is tiny. Wonderful service and the view fromthe rooms overlooking the dolphin pool are amazing. Would go back, but my expectations would be lower. The only restaurant that we thoroughly enjoyed was the Sunset restaurant. Great selection at the buffet and the presentation was good, but not impressed with the food.Also no beverage service at the beach. Lots of timeshare selling at this hotel, but no pressure. Also concierge service wasn't very good. We did enjoy ourselves, but for the money we could have been to a far more luxurious resort. Spa was great!

Room Tip: I would recommend a view of the dolphin pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Abnormel D,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your positive notes about the hotel, and we were very happy to read that you liked the rooms, the service and other facilities

We offer you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during you stay and for not offering the level of service you have come to expect. On the other hand we thank you for bringing this valuable information to our attention. We take your comments by heart.



We do hope that one day you will choose to return here with us so that we are able to do our very best to fulfill your requirements and demonstrate the type of high quality service we uphold here at Dreams Cancun

Guillermo Graziano
Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drecu@dreamsresorts.com
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed and traveled to this resort for a wedding in September of 2012. The resort is pretty small but they were very organized and responsive to any of our requests. The food was good, the drinks were good and that's pretty much all you can ask for on vacation. We took engagement photos while we were there with the photographer on site and we loved them. Our vacation to this resort was memorable and I honestly have no complaints.

Room Tip: We stayed in the VIP area in one of the rooms facing the ocean with a whirlpool. It was one of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Christina M,


It was a pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel and to pamper you newlyweds as much as we can! Hopefully you will come back for your anniversary and I will personally make sure that your next visit will be a perfect one.

Sincerely,

Guillermo Graziano
Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drecu@dreamsresorts.com
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay. There are familys with children, teenagers, young crowd (20-40) and older people. There are nightly shows that are amazing, dolphins in the resort, beautiful beaches, bays, pools and property with things to do. Walking distance to the main Cancun strip including clubs, bars, restaurants and shops. There is no free wifi in the resort, but you can walk down the street or to the starbucks and get free wifi. You can also purchase by the hour, day or week. I highly recommend Dreams Cancun for any age or occasion.

Room Tip: Rooms in the lower levels are noisier than higher levels but are more convenient. The dolphins can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Buck8075,

Wonderful comments such as yours truly serve as inspiration to us as we continually strive to achieve the highest levels of quality and guest satisfaction. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review and share it with us and the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

Regarding WiFi we are working on the unlimited connectivity, maybe on the next couple months it will be available.

Once again, thank you for sharing such great feedback and we hope to have the honor of hosting you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guillermo Graziano
Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drecu@dreamsresorts.com
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, CA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just came back from our vacations. The resort is great for the price!!!.The locations is amazing. Close to the stores if you need anything, no free Wi Fi at the hotel, so the Starbucks just 5 minutes form the resort is a great treat too. You don't have to pay for anything on a resort, well besides if you want so swim with the dolphins, and here is a tip... If you want just a picture with the dolphin your more than welcome. I think its $40 for a good size picture with the frame. You don't have to buy the whole package which is a little bit pricy.

Check in/check out was about 2 minutes!!! Great job! We had a Dolphin room on a 3rd floor with balcony. You get to see a little bit of everything. Dolphins, lagoon and the ocean. The room was very clean and spacious. It was visited by the stuff 3 times a day.

The food was good. You have few restaurants to chose from. You have to make reservation to only one of them, Paloma Bonita. Make sure to book your table at 9am. We came down to main desk at 9 45 am to make a reservation but it was already booked for the day, so we didn't have a chance to experience it. There is a main restaurant cold World Cafe that serves breakfast from 6 30am to 11 30 am, lunch and dinner from 6pm to 11pm. Every night different theme for a dinner. We had French, Italian , Sea Food dinner. One night we went to the Oceana restaurant, right next to beach-no reservation needed. Room service is included in your stay, make sure you have it at least once! There is a little book that has all the food that you can order to your room 24/7.

Drinks are water down, but its only for your safety, believe me!!!. You can ask them to make you a double one if you want, you can have shots, the bartenders do everything for you.
Tips are really appreciated. We took $100 in $1 bills with us
Entertainment team is great too. Each night there was a different show. Fire show, dance show, American Idol show, karaoke night, and DJ at the Desire bar/club.

Thank you Dreams for making our first vacations in Mexico memorable!!! You got our recommendations!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Barbara G,

Thank you very much for your review, it is of value for me and all the associates of Dreams Cancún.

We are all pleased and honored with comments like yours. We really wish to thank you for your complimentary comments about our hotel facilities, and associates. Your remarks are very much appreciated as the help us improve both our service and our product.

We are hoping to have the chance to welcome you back in Dreams Cancun; it would be a pleasure for us.

Warm regards,

Guillermo Graziano
Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drecu@dreamsresorts.com
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned from 5 days 4 nights trip.

First and foremost, $16 per day for SCATTERED WIFI...I paid $16/day for wifi that did not work most of the time, that is ridiculous!

Pros:
Beach was amazing, clear blue water, white sand. Lunch sandwiches at the snack bar by the beach was convenient.

Cons:
Food - very disappointed, probably the worst food I've ever had in an all inclusive resort. Buffet had the same food EVERYDAY for breakfast. Dinners were terrible, with limited variation of unimpressively&poorly prepared food. The specialty restaurants were also not impressive, they need new chefs in all the restaurants. Good food is what I look forward to during my all inclusive getaways.. sadly, probably be the #1 reason why I will not return/recommend this resort.

Bars - there were many bars, however, they use powder juice to mix all the drinks. Their alcohol taste different...smells like rubbing alcohol when you drink anything on the rocks. Champaign was probably the only thing that tasted and smelled real. I started drinking straight champaign by day 3. Theres a cafe, Coco café, they serve "smoothies" made from fruit syrup and powder juice..was extremely disappointed they don't have fresh juice in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Ziva Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Cancun

Address: Punta Cancun s/n, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in
#34 Family Hotel in
#36 Luxury Hotel in
#58 Top resorts Hotel in
#81 On the Beach Hotel in
#160 Business Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Ziva Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated readers of Condé Nast Traveler magazine named Dreams Cancun one of the Top Ten Resorts in Mexico. Travel industry publication TravelAge West also honored Dreams Cancun with its prestigious Wave Award, naming it Best All-Inclusive Resort, Mexico. Rave reviews plus Unlimited-Luxury® — both excellent indications that things are very special here.Cancun is a friendly and bustling city voted as the #9 Best Destination in the Caribbean and Mexico for the TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Awards. Yet within our lush 7.1 oceanfront acres, you will be serenely tucked away. One reason is our one-of-a-kind location. Here at the most eastern tip of Mexico, you are surrounded on three sides by the beauty of the azure Caribbean Sea — the only resort in Cancun with this remarkable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Dreams Hotel Cancun
Dreams Cancun Hotel
Camino Real Cancun
Dreams Cancun Mexico
Cancun Dream Resort
Dreams Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Dreams Hotel
Dreams Resort Cancun Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Ziva Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;