We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Cancun

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Ziva Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Punta Cancun s/n, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went to Dreams for two weeks, flying on Christmas Day 2012. Our children are 3 & 5. The kids club was fabulous and they loved it, the girls working there were very helpful and loved the children. As a resort, Dreams is exactly the right size, you can get away from the activities if you want, or do something each morning and afternoon. The entertainment team were fabulous and utterly focused on people having a good time. Because our children were so little we didn't do many of the evening activities but every evening there was something different and fun. The food is ok, no better or worse than that and you learn what and how to order as you spend more days there....I would definitely go back, the weather is perfect and the three different beaches are wonderful.

Room Tip: Tray and get up Graded to the premier tower, it is quieter and faces the sunset beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Kate O,



We appreciate your comments regarding you stay at Dreams Cancun. We are looking forward to welcoming you in a near future and provide you with the high level of service we are recognized for and make your stay a memorable one.

Warm regards,


Guillermo Graziano
Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drecu@dreamsresorts.com
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Punta Cancún s/n Zona Hotelera
Cancún, Q.Roo, México 77500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,867
    1,062
    428
    205
    190
See reviews for
1192
1252
50
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We paid extra amd stayed at the Club. Room was very nice on the 14th floor overlooking the sea. Free WiFi was hit and miss. Worked some days and some days could not get on. The service was very good but sometimes we didn't get everything we ordered. The weather was not the greatest. Cloudy some days and also very windy some days. Staying at The Club meant walking practically thru a wind tunnel to get to restaurants. My wife hated the wind. Food was very good. The surf and turf at Oceana was the best but we liked the grill restaurant near the club also. The grouper at the grill was very good. Enjoyed being able to get Negra Modelo beer. I do not like dos equis that much. Too bad you can't find a good pale ale. Entertainment at night was not the greatest. We usually left early. If you are into late night entertainment you can easily walk to Coco Bongos and the other clubs.

Beach was very nice and calm most of the time. Not good for snorkeling but very good for swimming. There is a man made beach inside the property next to the dolphin enclosure and a beach in the bay. I saw more fish inside the manmade beach than I did on the bay side. A few times during the week they brought a baby dolphin into the manmade beach. You could really get close for pictures. Very nice.

The dolphins were a real treat even though we didn't pay for a dolphin encounter, Each breakfast we got a table close to the windows so we could watch the dolphins enteract with the participants while we ate breakfast.

Location is great. You can easily walk to the main street and get a bus or take a short walk to the next pier to take a ferry to Isla Mujeres. We took the ferry for $17 US per person round trip and went to Isla Mujeres and took a cab to the sea turtle hatchery. It was fun to see the baby sea turtles. We then went back to downtown and walked to the other side a town away from the ferry port. There is a walk along the shore and there are some sculptures along the walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Gary N,


We thank you for your valuable comments and for the time you took to share your experience with other. We look forward to hosting you in a near future.

Sincerely,


Guillermo Graziano
Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drecu@dreamsresorts.com
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Punta Cancún s/n Zona Hotelera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We travel a lot but this was our first stay at an all-inclusive. We were disappointed with our experience at Dreams Cancun. While our Jr. Suite in the Preferred Club tower was HUGE and had a million dollar view, it was in a sad state of repair. The handle to our patio door fell off in my hand, the jacuzzi wouldn't drain, marble tile in the bath was chipped and bath fixtures had rust stains on them. Bathroom lighting was horrible and there was NO light in the closet/dressing area. Main pool is small and very noisy; preferred club pool was relaxing most days but often was "crashed" by non-preferred club guests as the staff made no effort to identify who should and shouldn't be there.

We found the service to be lack-luster, at best. Even with tips, the drink service at the preferred club pool and adjoining beach was slow and on more than on occasion, we didn't receive the drinks we ordered. Food was nothing remarkable and after a couple of days became boring. Himitsu restaurant was the one exception. They had great sushi and great service.

Be prepared for a hard sell on timeshares on your first day as they encourage you to "come to the lobby yo claim your resort credits".

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Seedospend,



We are concern to know that this time we were not able to fulfill you expectations. We thank you for this valuable information. Your comments are taken by heart. However we offer you an apology for any inconvenient caused to you. We look forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

There were absolutely no complaints . The rooms were clean , cleaned every day and the bar restocked . We had ocean view rooms 4227 & 4231 . As an early riser I watched the sun come up over the ocean every morning from our balcony . The resort provided so much activities for our family of 6 that we decided not to leave on excursions that we decided on before we left . The kids swam with the dolphins and loved every minute of it .The trainers were very friendly and made it lots of fun .Expensive but chances are it wont happen again. Lots of memories and pictures. We also had pictures taken with parrots , monkey and snake. Lounging by the swim up bar area seemed to be our main area as this is where most of the entertainment activities took place.We often went into the ocean as the sand and water were fantastic . We ate at the world café most often as the food selection was perfect . We all ate like kings. The staff there was so friendly and we had lots of fun at every meal . They new us all personally especially my daughters that ended up there drinking after we went to bed .
The highlight of the trip was the entertainment group . They knew us all by name , they interacted with everyone on the resort and I often herd them calling out peoples names . Their performance of grease and their love game was a lot of fun . So special thanks to - ARGILIA , BENNY , EMILY , ADRIAN (mini me) , KAYLA , SAVEL , ITZEL and everyone in the café.
Everyone that worked at the resort was friendly smiled and eager to get you anything .I wore a steelers jersey and made a lot of friends while I was there .
We left the resort 2 times to go to the flea market - 5 minutes walk away . We bought a lot of things there. Just try to avoid stopping at the 4 or 5 discount kiosks on the way . Theyre really pushing time share which in my opinion is a waste of a full day when youre on vacation . They even tried to stop us at the airport which didn't work.
Thanks again Dreams and the entertainment staff especially mini me and of course Argilia.

Room Tip: We had ocean view rooms 4227 and 4231 . Saw sunrise . Herd waves crashing on beach. rooms were clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Dreams made our vacation very enjoyable, they came through with the requests we wanted, such as adjoining rooms with certain beds. Our son got married and everything went as planned, very accomodating and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear D0nas,

Thank you very much for staying at Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa and sharing your experience with us.

We really wish to thank you for your complimentary comments about our hotel facilities and associates. Your appreciation is our motivation.

Please let me know if I can assist you in any way to organize your next trip to our hotel.

Sincerely

Guillermo Graziano
Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drecu@dreamsresorts.com
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Punta Cancún s/n Zona Hotelera
Cancún, Q.Roo, México 77500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This resort was perfect, the all inclusive was amazing! The entertainment team kept us entertained the whole time and they were so friendly. The food was amazing, such a diverse range. Would easily go back there again and certainly am planning to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Tegan H,


We are all pleased and honored with comments like yours. We really wish to thank you for your complimentary comments about our hotel facilities, and associates.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back.


Cordially,


Guillermo Graziano
Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drecu@dreamsresorts.com
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Punta Cancún s/n Zona Hotelera
Cancún, Q.Roo, México 77500
+52-(998) 8487000 ext 7625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Dreams Cancun resort is a nice place. Food was good in the buffet , but sometimes cold. Resturants at the hotel were great. The entertainment team was excellent . They treated everybody great , it didn't matter if you are young ,old,male or female. This is the third different hotel we have stayed at in Cancun at this was by far the best entertainment team I have seen. The whole stay was nice, we may go back there just because of them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsEconcierge, Social Media Coordinator at Hyatt Ziva Cancun, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mikecat1960,


We really wish to thank you for your complimentary comments about our hotel facilities, and associates. Thank you for highlighting the professional service you received during your stay, and your comments are shared with all the staff.

We look forward to your return to Dreams Cancun and to having the privilege of being of service to you again soon.


With best wishes


Guillermo Graziano
Social Media Coordinator
econcierge.drecu@dreamsresorts.com
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Punta Cancún s/n Zona Hotelera
Cancún, Q.Roo, México 77500
+52-(998) 8487000 ext 7625
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Ziva Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Cancun

Address: Punta Cancun s/n, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in
#34 Family Hotel in
#36 Luxury Hotel in
#59 Top resorts Hotel in
#82 On the Beach Hotel in
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Ziva Cancun 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sophisticated readers of Condé Nast Traveler magazine named Dreams Cancun one of the Top Ten Resorts in Mexico. Travel industry publication TravelAge West also honored Dreams Cancun with its prestigious Wave Award, naming it Best All-Inclusive Resort, Mexico. Rave reviews plus Unlimited-Luxury® — both excellent indications that things are very special here.Cancun is a friendly and bustling city voted as the #9 Best Destination in the Caribbean and Mexico for the TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Awards. Yet within our lush 7.1 oceanfront acres, you will be serenely tucked away. One reason is our one-of-a-kind location. Here at the most eastern tip of Mexico, you are surrounded on three sides by the beauty of the azure Caribbean Sea — the only resort in Cancun with this remarkable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Cancun Resort & Spa
Dreams Hotel Cancun
Dreams Cancun Hotel
Camino Real Cancun
Dreams Cancun Mexico
Cancun Dream Resort
Dreams Resort Spa Cancun
Cancun Dreams Hotel
Dreams Resort Cancun Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Ziva Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.